Lawyer's Corner v2, One-stop centre for any legal queries

nookie188
post Jun 25 2012, 12:39 PM

2,515 posts

hi dario

to cut a long story short, i sold a leasehold landed prop with title to a pakistani..ok, fast forward 8 months later, the deal is not completed yet..

i) the buyer threatened to break the lock to the property and start renovation as he blamed my lawyer for the delay...can i make a police report if he does?

ii) currently we are at the stage where we are waiting for the discharge to charge docs to be sent back to the lawyer as the docs are with the bank. Both the vendor and the buyer used the same bank..

Could you summarize for me what would be the next steps to completion from step ii of above?

Thank you

nookie188
post Jun 25 2012, 03:28 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jun 25 2012, 03:14 PM)
i) Of course you can lodge a report as such action is trespass to property. What is the duration of the completion date as in the SPA? When does time start to run? As long as it is within time, what is the purchaser's problem? He ought to have been properly advised that leashold property which requires consent would take longer than a usual SPA transaction.

ii) Basically once the original documents have been returned by your financier, the purchaser's solicitors can send the MOT for adjudication of stamp duty and once duty has been paid, it will be handed over to the purchaser's financier's solicitors (together with the discharge of charge, original title and withdrawal of caveat forms, if any) in order for the purchaser's financier's solicitors to present the above for registration. With the receipts, the solicitors can advise the bank for release of the balance loan sum, thus completing the transaction.

icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks..
i) duration for completion is 6 months from date of consent..so due date for completion is actually end of june 2012..now that it looks like that the completion cannot be done within this time frame, then there will be interest imposed as per S&P..the problem is that the purchasers' lawyer has been delaying some of the processes, and has told the purchaser that the fault lies with my lawyer so now lots of finger pointing..

MY LAWYER SAYS to me :- The discharge of charge is sent to your Bank on the
basis they have received the redemption sum and to return to us
together with original security documents for our onward transmission
to Purchaser's Financier's solicitors UNQUOTE

So what is the next step once the docs have been sent to the purchasers financier's solicitors? is it Registration?

unfortunately the purchaser does not understand the process or have not been advised adequately by his lawyers and have been accusing everyone of delaying the completion..

well, Dario, at least I learned something from this episode..

This post has been edited by nookie188: Jun 25 2012, 03:59 PM
nookie188
post Jun 25 2012, 04:30 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jun 25 2012, 04:24 PM)
Fingers can be pointed in any direction but it would be futile as the trail of documents and acknowledgement copies would be conclusive evidence of delay by either side. This will be done at the end of the transaction by your solicitor, and if the purchaser disputes, his solicitor has to back up his assertion with some documents.
I think my answer in my last reply has already your question.  icon_rolleyes.gif
ok, understand - just that there is a discrepancy between what my lawyer said and your answer in your last reply..so wanted clarification..
that is all..

do you have a post somewhere that outlined the process for selling a prop right from the beginning till completion ie leasehold landed with title??
nookie188
post Jul 8 2012, 07:22 PM

2,515 posts

hi Dario

pending completion of the house which is at its final leg (waiting for final disbursement from the purchaser's bank to seller's lawyer)
can the buyer terminate TNB and Syabas accounts ?
rationale was that since no one was staying on the property, might as well do it and the buyer can apply for new accounts upon completion...

nookie188
post Jul 8 2012, 08:33 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 8 2012, 08:12 PM)
No, can't until the keys has been handed to you. Up to that stage, you are not the owner yet.  You can try to talk to the vendor though. If he agrees then you can go ahead.  icon_rolleyes.gif
gosh..sorry. ..my mistake .should have my kepala checked!

I meant can the SELLER terminate the electricity and water supplies first before completion since no one is in the premise..?
nookie188
post Jul 8 2012, 09:09 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 8 2012, 08:53 PM)
Of course but make sure that he informs you about it or else you'd be left in the dark  biggrin.gif
oops am the seller...smile.gif
I thought I will only inform the buyer upon completion to get the utilities reconnected under his name..

nookie188
post Jul 9 2012, 11:45 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 8 2012, 09:19 PM)
rclxub.gif  doh.gif  rclxub.gif   Ok do tell him in advance that you wish to do so.  At least if there is a final inspection before/ during handover of keys, it can be arranged in the daytime. It would take a few days for thr purc to sort out the new accounts so it would be ethical to inform him in advance.  icon_rolleyes.gif
-the thing is i have already disconnected the electricity and water and did not inform buyer prior to doing that..
but completion is still about one to 2 weeks away..i miscalculated the timing of the completion
due to busy travelling schedule and thought that if completion happened while i am on the road, my lawyer could hand the keys over to buyer's lawyer in my absence..the house is totally empty and there is no inventory list ..so sold as it is where it is..
(had to also terminate account as the TNB meter was faulty as i ended up with a RM300+ bill even tho the house was empty)..

anyway the buyer is now aware that the meters have been disconnected and get this, he made a police report that someone stole the meters.!.

before the SPA was signed, the house was empty until now. so no inspection is needed ?.

- since no completion yet, cant i just tell the seller to anyway go ahead and apply immediately to reconnect the utilities in his name?

- this seller is asking me to clean the house and cut the grass to make it habitable for him at completion and this is not in the agreement anyway, and i did not agree to do that verbally either...buyer has a half past six lawyer who is not helping matters..I dont wish to conclude this sale on a sour note ..

what is my legal obligation in this case?

This post has been edited by nookie188: Jul 10 2012, 09:43 AM
nookie188
post Jul 10 2012, 09:06 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 10 2012, 05:53 PM)
Yes of course. Why not give him the keys now as well so that he can have access now itself, as TNB might want to access the inside of the premises?
If you do not wish to conclude it on a sour note then you and the purchaser needs to reach a compromise. Normally cleaning and clearing of the premises would be done by the purchaser. Perhaps you can reach a middle path by agreeing to give him the keys earlier (since you said there's just another 2 weeks left) and in return, the purchaser would bear the cost of cleaning and clearing. He has already benefited by getting the keys early. I don't think you ought to pay for the cleaning and clearing though, since it was not raised up earlier in the SPA.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks Dario..

for the caveat, when will this usually be lifted by vendor's solicitors - shouldnt this be after completion?
nookie188
post Jul 10 2012, 10:26 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 10 2012, 09:40 PM)
Vendor's caveat? Aren't you the vendor?  rclxub.gif
yes, am the vendor ..smile.gif

the caveat must have been lodged by the bank that provided me with the mortgage..but now that the loan has been redeemed, when will the caveat be
lifted? after the final disbursement due to me has been paid by the purchaser's bank?
nookie188
post Jul 10 2012, 11:20 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 10 2012, 11:02 PM)
No, your bank has entered a charge over the property, not a caveat. The charge will be discharged at the smae time as the presentation of the MOT to transfer the  title. Once that is done, together with the presentstion of the charge in favour of the purchaser's bank, only then will they release the balance sum.  icon_rolleyes.gif
what i dont understand is that since both the vendor and purchaser are using the same bank so why the need to discharge and then charge again? rclxub.gif
nookie188
post Jul 11 2012, 12:08 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 10 2012, 11:23 PM)
Because the chargors are different. Previously you are the chargor,now the purc is the chargor.  icon_rolleyes.gif
oh ok, that makes sense..smile.gif

nookie188
post Jul 11 2012, 05:41 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 10 2012, 05:53 PM)
Yes of course. Why not give him the keys now as well so that he can have access now itself, as TNB might want to access the inside of the premises?
If you do not wish to conclude it on a sour note then you and the purchaser needs to reach a compromise. Normally cleaning and clearing of the premises would be done by the purchaser. Perhaps you can reach a middle path by agreeing to give him the keys earlier (since you said there's just another 2 weeks left) and in return, the purchaser would bear the cost of cleaning and clearing. He has already benefited by getting the keys early. I don't think you ought to pay for the cleaning and clearing though, since it was not raised up earlier in the SPA.  icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks dario ..I find that some times in this world it does not pay to be nice as it could be interpreted by the other side as
"weakness" for which they will try to capitalize on it more by making more unreasonable ie crazy demands..
its not a standard procedure anyway to clean up a property that one has sold ...

the buyer has now padlocked the outside gate so does that means he is forcibly taking VP before completion? So let us say in a brief moment of madness,
i decide to get the house cleaned and grass mowed, i cant even get in so macam mana?

guess he has to take me to court to get the lawn mowed and the house cleaned!

my lawyer is getting exasperated .

the buyer got his half past six lawyer to write us a letter demanding that we made good of the
"defects" (?) or otherwise he is going to do it himself and send the bill to us...i know he does not have a case but i think i am dealing with someone who is actually quite mad to put it mildly..

lesson learned - think twice about selling your prop to certain foreigners ...my lawyer warned me about it but i did not heed her advice..
nookie188
post Jul 11 2012, 09:44 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 11 2012, 09:21 PM)
How can he padlock the gate before setting the balance p price? That is wrong.

What defects are he referring to? I hope that there is a clause in your SPA that mentions about sale being on an as is where is basis. Look it up.

Get your lawyer to reply accordingly.  icon_rolleyes.gif
he padlocked the gate to prevent me from "stealing" the house i reckon! mad.gif

no idea what "defects" he was refering to as his lawyer did not specify details ..secondly purchaser has no access to the inside of the house yet..
the walls of the house and gate were still there the last i checked..

think he just wanna find fault with me as he is trying to wriggle his way out from paying interest on late completion ...delay due to his lawyer sitting
on the case..

yes, as per spa, house sold on an as is where is basis...his lawyer should explain to him what this mean exactly but he probably does not know either
otherwise he wouldnt have written that ridiculous letter in the first place..when the spa was drafted by my lawyer, his lawyer did not make any amendments
whatsoever - just told my lawyer to just go ahead..not even sure whether he read thru it !

have requested my lawyer to reply to them..need to build up a trail of correspondences just in case..

thanks for all your help..
nookie188
post Jul 12 2012, 08:45 PM

2,515 posts

Hi Dario

1)if the strata title of a property is out, whether or not the owner can transfer direct to the subsequent buyer depends on the developer's consent?

2) if the owner does not hv the title transferred to his/her name within the deadline, what are the consequences if any?

nookie188
post Jul 12 2012, 10:26 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 12 2012, 09:27 PM)
1) consent of developer is no longer required if the property falls under the scope of the HD Act. If got strata title it is of no concern of the developer.

2) deadline imposed by ? The SPA or the land office?
1) since strata title is out, the owner is to execute MOT with developer to get the title registered in owner's name..if owner decides to delay the registration to save on stamp duty as the unit is for sale, is developer's consent for direct transfer required?

2) deadline under clause 40A (2) of the Strata titles Act 1985 ...

nookie188
post Jul 26 2012, 05:49 PM

2,515 posts

Hi Dario

Bought a condo about 3 years ago from the secondary market..
now title is out..

do i have to pay stamp duty to register the title in my name??

tks
nookie188
post Aug 5 2012, 10:09 PM

2,515 posts

deleted]

This post has been edited by nookie188: Aug 6 2012, 10:03 AM
nookie188
post Sep 11 2012, 05:55 PM

2,515 posts

I have an existing tenancy that says that the tenure of rental is 1+1 years - now that the tenancy is going to expire in 2 months, the agent is calling to say that
the tenant would like to continue renting into the 2nd year..

However, the agent is demanding that I pay him another 1/2 mth rental for the 2nd year but I did not indicate verbally nor in writing my agreement to this fee at any time. I understand that usually the one month agency fee is for a tenancy agreement of 1 to 2 years which has been paid prior to the commencement of the tenancy.

Please advise what are my rights in this situation.

nookie188
post Sep 12 2012, 12:42 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Sep 11 2012, 10:17 PM)
I believe the agent is trying to pull a fast one over you. If there is nothing in writing, then there's no obligation to pay. Deal directly with the tenant. Easier.
yes, will do so..thanks for your assistance! rclxms.gif
nookie188
post Nov 13 2012, 04:01 PM

2,515 posts

Dario boss

for loan docs relating to the purchase of a l/h prop under construction is

i) is it necessary for a caveat to be lodged by me (purchaser)?
ii) what is "registration fee for PA/SOD"?
iii) title search ?
iv) winding search?
v) bankruptcy search?

am refering to a quotations by loan lawyers that included the above costs

just want to avoid paying for unnecessary charges..

thank you

Added on November 13, 2012, 4:09 pm
Dario boss

have another query - if there is a discrepancy in S&P and Deed of Mutual covenants with regards to facilities to be provided in a strata
development, which of this 2 docs under the law will be binding?

This post has been edited by nookie188: Nov 13 2012, 04:09 PM

0.0518sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:16 AM