irise.ufall
post Dec 7 2011, 07:02 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 2 2011, 12:49 PM)
Boss,

Why you call me Mr Foo?  rclxub.gif I'm just dariofoo la.  rolleyes.gif

Anyway, it looks like you've got a SP clause there so you can compel them to complete the SPA and get vacant posession.
This is where you must understand the difference:

1) If you go for SP, then the costs which you can recover from the vendor would be the legal costs of litigating the matter in Court. That is all. You can't ask the vendor to pay you for legal fees for SPA and other costs related to the SPA as you are seeking that the vendor honours the SPA and completes it.

Don't be confused with legal fees - if you pay your lawyer xxx amount to file the suit in Court, don't expect the Court to award you the same xxx amount as costs. It will surely be less.

2) If you don't go for SP, then you terminate the agreement and the vendor reimburses you 10% plus another 10% as compensation. That compensation is meant to cover your expenses incurred throughout the SPA. You're not supposed to profit from it - the extra 10% is meant as compensation.

Hope that clears it up for you a bit?  nod.gif
Hi Dario, thanks for the clear explanation. thumbup.gif But, y u called me 'boss' r? I am not. tongue.gif

Ok, back to the topic.

I hv told the lawyer i will bring the case to court and the owner was threatened and considering to change her mind.

However, i did not hear anything from the lawyer since then.

I would like to share with you some of my SPA lawyer's problems:

1) According to the SPA, the Completion Date (3+1 mths) shall start when the 2nd MOT is in favor of me.

On 22/09/11, the SPA lawyer advised that the Completion Date & Extended Completion Date shall fall on 12/12/2011 and 12/01/2012 respectively.
I refered to the email & sent her email to ask her for the evidence for the 2nd MOT, she NEVER reply. And she didnt send the original letter to my loan solicitor!

2) On 21/10/2011, the SPA lawyer emailed to me and said:

"We wish to confirm that as follows :-

(a) The First Memorandum of Transfer ("MOT") entered between Developer and the Vendor(s) has submitted for adjudication on 3/10/2011 and the same is pending Notis Taksiran issue by Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri;
(b) The completion date for the Sale and Purchase transaction falls on 25/12/2011 and 25/1/2012 respectively;
© We still pending th fresh Redemption Statement Cum Undertaking from the Vendor(s) Financier, HSBC Bank (Malaysia) Berhad upon receiving we will forward the same to your Loan Solicitors to proceed advise for partial loan sum
"

I was pissed-off and sent her email to ask her y she advised 2 different Completion Dates & Extended Completion Dates, AGAIN, SHE NEVER REPLY!! and She dares not to send out the original letter to my loan solicitor.

3) On 1 December 2011, the SPA lawyer said in her email that (fyi, same date at night, the SPA lawyer called me to tell me about the Owner's intention to cancel the deal):

"(a)    Original Redemption Statement Cum Undertaking in favour of Malayan Bnking Berhad;
(b)    The duly stamped Statutory Declaration by the Vendor(s);
©    The duly adjudicated First Memorandum of Transfer dated 7/11/2011 entered between the Developer and the Vendor(s);
(d)    The duly adjudicated Second Memorandum of Transfer dated 29/11/2011 entered between the Vendor(s) and the Purchaser(s)
(e)    Official receipt issued by Management office
"

My loan solicitor wrote to them officially to ask for all the B&W from her, she has not reply. So my Completion Date is not started yet since my loan solicitor has not received any B&W from the SPA lawyer. shakehead.gif

Angel Dario icon_question.gif , pls give me some advices. The SPA lawyer is playing all the tricks and didnt care much about her Client.

May i know:
1) Is email an valid evidence for me to lodge a complaint to the Bar Council? (She always CONFIRM many things in the emails but never send over the original cover letters, even my loan solicitor requested for it)
2) My fren asked me to request for a Performance Monitoring from the Bar Council. Does it work?
3) I doubt she has submitted the 2nd MOT for adjudication. Is there any way to check without going thru her?
4) How can she simply advised the Completion Date? and changed the Date at her wish? What can i do?
5) Pls give me some advices on dealing with Lawyer like this. Even my loan solicitor cant stand the SPA lawyer oledi.

Pls icon_question.gif

Thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by irise.ufall: Dec 7 2011, 07:10 PM
irise.ufall
post Feb 20 2012, 11:10 AM

72 posts

Hi Dario Foo, good morning.

Hope u can still remember me. blush.gif

So.... new problems arise.

To make it short:

My bank has paid to the vendor the 1st payment to clear their loan with their bank since early of January 2012.

But unfortunately they are still dragging and keep delaying as at today. I am still waiting for them to hand over the documents required from the bank to my bank.

May i know:
1) Is there any legal way to force them to give the documents within a certain period? Their lawyer has been sitting with it until now.
2) The vendor is supposed to bear for the interest charged to me by the bank right?
3) They hav been ignoring my loan solicitor's letters (3 letters) which they request for the necessary documents. What can i or my loan solicitor do?

Pls help. notworthy.gif
irise.ufall
post Feb 27 2012, 12:56 PM

72 posts

Hi Dario,

My loan solicitor is waiting for the documents from my SPA lawyer before the bank releases the 2nd payment

Would like to check with you:

Can i terminate them as soon as they have furnished all the documents to my loan solicitor?
irise.ufall
post Feb 27 2012, 02:19 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 27 2012, 01:07 PM)
Terminate them? Like Terminator?  sweat.gif

Why? It's almost done. 90%, I'd say. You want to appoint another one and pay full scaled fees to do 10% of the balance work.
I believe u can still recall my story right? cry.gif

The reasons behind why i want to terminate them are bcoz:
1) They hv been dragging & dragging. I signed the SPA on May 2011, bank paid the 1st payment on early of Jan 2012, until today they still cant send the docs like original strata title & etc to my loan solicitor.
2) Main reason - my marked up in the SPA. It was agreed between the Vendor & myself (letter drafted by the SPA lawyer). Now i m worried that i couldnt get back my marked-up money bcoz the SPA lawyer do not have a physical office. They only hv a virture office. So if they run away with my money, i am gone.

So my intention is to terminate them (i am very sorry to use this word but if they really can act professionally, i won't be so fed up already cry.gif ) as soon as they handed over all the docs to my Loan Solicitor. So that the bank will pay directly to my new SPA lawyer instead of them.

Or can i seek for your advice? notworthy.gif

irise.ufall
post Feb 27 2012, 06:16 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 27 2012, 06:11 PM)
Have you paid their fees? If you terminate them at such late stage,  you would still have to pay them full legal fees as invoiced. Are you prepared to do that?

Vendor not represented?

Even if they have a virtual office what's the big deal? There's a law firm in Brickfields who shares his firm with a tailor, side-by-side, and he's a decent fellow.

You can sue the partners in their personal capacity. No need to worry about money as all firms have professional indemnity insurance, so the insurance company will pay you. How much is the marked-up amount?
The marked up value is only RM25k. The current market value of the said property has exceeded the marked-up value oledi though.

Will the insurance company pay for the 'illegal' marked-up value?

I really dunno how to deal with them oledi. Call them, no answer, never return call.

They sent email to my loan solicitor (c.c. to me) on 24/02 (but backdated the letter to 22/02) to send some of the docs to my loan solicitor but my loan solicitor has not received anything yet until today (27/02/12).

My loan solicitor sent 3 letters (1 letter & 2 reminders) to them to ask for such documents including the original strata title but they (the SPA lawyer )didnt even mention it in their letter/email.

They have been giving excuses and lies throughout the whole period oledi.

May i know what shld i do? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by irise.ufall: Feb 27 2012, 06:34 PM
irise.ufall
post Feb 28 2012, 04:48 PM

72 posts

Mr. Sifu Dario, overlook my post? blush.gif
irise.ufall
post Feb 29 2012, 08:42 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 29 2012, 12:09 AM)
If the lawyer runs away with the money, he'll surely run away with the balance purchase price, not just your 25k. As such, if anyone is going to sue him, it's going to be the vendor. So the vendor is suing for your 25k also then. If the worst case scenario happens, that is.

I asked if you have paid their legal fees. So, have you?
Hi Sifu Dario, so far i hv paid around RM6k (including the stamp duty for MOT) if i m not mistaken. (My purchased price is RM230k)

I did send email (c.c.'ed to my loan solicitor) and ask them whether i still need to pay any money. They confirmed in their email that there is no outstanding payment from my side.

May i know what should i do?

The Vendor is the lawyer's fren. This thing has been dragging for so long bcoz the SPA lawyer is helping the Vendor to save from the rental. My loan solicitor called them to ask for the original strata title 2 days ago but SPA lawyer said it is still under the Developer's lawyer's custody. Is it common? rclxub.gif
irise.ufall
post Feb 29 2012, 12:20 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 29 2012, 11:06 AM)
I see. Ok at least you've been fair and paid them their dues. But you're looking at another RM2k plus at least if you want to switch lawyers at this last stage.
That is the problem when a purchaser appoints a lawyer recommended by the vendor. There would "indirectly" be a conflict of interest. Although on paper the lawyer is acting for you, indirectly he is assisting the vendor by delaying things. Extremely unprofessional of the lawyer.

Of course if the unit is vacant, the vendor does not profit. When you say "helping the vendor to save from the rental" - are you saying that the unit is tenanted and the vendor is collecting rental as the SPA drags on?  hmm.gif

With regard to the strata title - the original ought to be with the vendor's bank as a security (assuming that there is a loan). Otherwise, it ought to be kept by the vendor directly. I'm not sure why the developer would be holding it. That is not common.
Hi Sifu, the Vendor is still staying in the unit. They ask me to rent the unit to them 1st even after they hav handed over the keys to me.

The Vendor sms'ed me about 2-3 weeks ago and told me that they hv bought a house but they can only get the house 5-6 mths later.

Fyi, they hv even accused me for causing them (and their childrens) to be so worried that they would hv no place to stay after handed over the keys to me. rclxub.gif

I am serving the interest to the bank close to RM500/mth. Tomorrow is the 2nd month oledi.

They are staying there for free and at my side i hv to keep paying for the interest every month. moneyflies.gif

Even my loan solicitor is so frustrated to deal with them.

Layman like me is surely frustrated, but i hv never been unfair to anybody. notworthy.gif
irise.ufall
post Mar 1 2012, 09:24 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Feb 29 2012, 11:14 PM)
So he pays you rent, although you have not paid the full purchase price to him?  hmm.gif
No Sifu Dario, they ask if i can rent the unit to them after they hv handed over the keys to me.

That's y they keep dragging...

Can the Bar Council do something on this? Like monitor them?
irise.ufall
post Mar 1 2012, 03:55 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 1 2012, 10:47 AM)
I see. BC would not interfere in this. If you feel that the lawyer has been dragging their feet and not protecting your interest, the only way is to lodge a formal complaint with the ASDB. Link at first page of thread. Before that it would be better for you to raise your issues in a letter addressed to the SPA lawyer and sent by hand to their office with an acknowledgement that they received it. Give them 48 hours to provide you with an explanation as to the delay, etc. Put in all your complaints there and back it up with e-mails or what was said in phone conversations. State that if they fail to reply, you will lodge a complaint with ASDB. That ought to shake them up. Then you see how it goes.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Ok tqvm Sifu Dario. I think i will engage another lawyer to draft the letter for me or issue the letter on behalf of me.

Thanks again~ notworthy.gif

0.0238sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:49 AM