Just wondering if anyone can help me. I am selling my property and engaged a lawyer to handle the sales on behalf of me since I am away overseas. The buyer already appointed their own lawyer to handle the S&P.
Here is the breakdown of the bill they ask me to settle before my lawyer proceed:-
BREAKDOWN OF DISBURSEMENT & LEGAL FEES
RM
RM
LEGAL FEES
1. Consent to Transfer
DISBURSEMENT
1. Location Plan
2. Official Land Search
3. Filing Consent
4. Registration for Consent
5. Transportation
6. Miscellaneous
7. Fax & Postage
8. Services tax 6%
TOTAL :- Ringgit Malaysia Six Hundred Ninety Eight Only.
BREAKDOWN OF DISBURSEMENT & LEGAL FEES
LEGAL FEES
1. Discharge of Charge RM300-00
-------------------------------------------
DISBURSEMENT
1. Stamp Duty – Discharge of Charge RM 10-00
2. Registration – Discharge of Charge RM 60-00
3. Transportation RM 50-00
4. Miscellaneous & Postage RM 50-00
5. Services Tax (6%) RM 18-00 RM188-00
-------------------------------------------
TOTAL: Ringgit Malaysia Four Hundred And Eighty Eight Only. RM488-00
LEGAL FEES
Professional fees conducting the sale (including drafting, perusing, vetting and completing the instrument of transfer)
of the sale.
DISBURSEMENT
1. Stamping SPA
2. Stamp Duty for Transfer* (subject to assessment notice)
3. Adjudication
4. Registration Transfer
5. Land Search
6. Bankruptcy Search
7. Courier Charges (according to the bill) advance
8. Affirmation – Statutory Declaration
9. Transportation
10. Miscellaneous & Postage
11. Service Tax 6%
TOTAL :- Ringgit Malaysia: Two Thousand Four Hundred
Seventy Three Only.
In total I need to pay RM 3659 just to sell the house. I was thinking it will be only costing me about RM1200 just to do the transfer and discharge! Any one can figure out if the rate quoted is reassonable?
Lawyer's Corner v2, One-stop centre for any legal queries
Feb 2 2012, 08:35 PM
0.0530sec