Lawyer's Corner v2, One-stop centre for any legal queries

AridEyes
post May 6 2012, 12:24 AM

18 posts

dear sifus,

I'm purchasing my first house... pretty new at this, so need some help. i have a few questions:

1. I've signed snp with vendor, but there was some problem getting consent. I've already paid the 10% dp. at that time when viewing the house, the condition of the house was good, only 1 person staying there. however, since its been almost 8 months since that period, the landlord decided to rent it out to bunch of african students. what can i do about this? I'm afraid the condition of the house will get bad.. since many people staying there. Also i have a feeling the vender purposely stalling this deal.

2. I think the lawyer that i hire is not doing his job well. lately, he's been avoiding my calls. its been 6/7 months since i signed snp but i don't have anything other than the papers (snp), I've lost around 40k (dp + lawyer fees... which i already paid in full... ). I know its a mistake to pay in full, but I'm still new at this, so its a lesson for me. every time if i can call him, he say nothing he can do, since its the land office that is slow. any advice on this? I'm actually thinking of changing lawyer.. but I've already paid him full amount. i don't know what to do...

sorry for long post, but I'm having so much trouble purchasing this property. i dunno how many months more i have to wait. now I'm renting a place, but this money should have been used to pay the house monthly installment.

appreciate all the help. Thanks!
AridEyes
post May 8 2012, 10:13 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ May 7 2012, 11:10 AM)
1. You can still inspect the house before accepting the keys , but note what is stated in your SPA. Normally, ''fair wear and tear' is accepted. If there are serious defects, then the vendor has to rectify it. Of course, this is only applicable if it is stated in your SPA,so do check.

2. It is normal for fees to be paid in full upfront. Does the vendor have his own lawyer? Consent is for the vendor to obtain, not the purchaser. So, if there is a lawyer for the vendor, then the delay is coming from there, not your lawyer. If your lawyer is the one who is handling the consent, then ask for correspondence to show that he has indeed put in the application and if he has followed up from time to time with reminders to the land office.
Thanks dariofoo.

How long does transfer of consent normally take? Mine is already almost 3 months. Yes, vendor has his own lawyer. Any method to hasten this process? They have submitted application its just waiting for it to be done. I feel like there is no protection for the buyer in this case. This can drag on for years and years... and nothing I can do about it right.

0.0159sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:18 AM