btw, most of the time whn i do dumbbell press, the trainer is there
so he lift the dumbbells for me...
lol...
whn solo i got trouble
TSmikehuan
post Dec 9 2011, 07:06 PM

6,160 posts

you're having problems placing the db's on your knees?

=.=" doh.gif

do moar deadlifts. do more pulling movements as well.
and how is it that you can bench 70kgs without the strength to pull 18kg db's on to your knees?

one way is to db deadlift both up then place it on your knees..
razorboy
post Dec 9 2011, 07:16 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

I got no problems putting it onto my knees, or kicking it up to my chest, you know the problem I have? Is when I hit failure, dbs on my chest, and I can't push it up back to my knees and sit up and I have to slowly drop it to the floor so that I don't sound/look like a douche
ChinHong86
post Dec 9 2011, 07:24 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Dec 9 2011, 08:16 PM)
I got no problems putting it onto my knees, or kicking it up to my chest, you know the problem I have? Is when I hit failure, dbs on my chest, and I can't push it up back to my knees and sit up and I have to slowly drop it to the floor so that I don't sound/look like a douche
i dont have prob for everything behind except the first part, which rely makes me frust..
hope they have sumthing like dumbell stand
lol
TSmikehuan
post Dec 9 2011, 08:10 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Dec 9 2011, 07:24 PM)
i dont have prob for everything behind except the first part, which rely makes me frust..
hope they have sumthing like dumbell stand
lol
There won't be equipment to help you do that, that's for sure. But seriously what's the problem? Your grip slips? Can't lift it up from seated position? Show me the problem by pointing it out from the vid.
darklight79
post Dec 9 2011, 11:11 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Dumbbells are kinda meant for moderately high reps. If you have problems putting it on your knees, reduce the weight and build up. Less than 6 reps and it's a waste imo. For dumbbell presses.
TSmikehuan
post Dec 9 2011, 11:13 PM

6,160 posts

Good day today, had my car washed, my hair cut, settled a lot of work stuff, had a family dinner, helped a newb correct his deadlift, on the first try too. Visual cues ftw.

And a pr on the incline db press.
45kg x 3. Video coming next session!

To end a good day, several pints of beer to celebrate tongue.gif.
darklight79
post Dec 9 2011, 11:19 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 9 2011, 11:13 PM)
Good day today, had my car washed, my hair cut, settled a lot of work stuff, had a family dinner, helped a newb correct his deadlift, on the first try too. Visual cues ftw.

I want to celebrate new eating record. I outdone myself again.

Means i get to celebrate with MORE food.

This post has been edited by darklight79: Dec 9 2011, 11:20 PM
ChinHong86
post Dec 10 2011, 03:04 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 9 2011, 09:10 PM)
There won't be equipment to help you do that, that's for sure. But seriously what's the problem? Your grip slips? Can't lift it up from seated position? Show me the problem by pointing it out from the vid.
my grip dun slp, jz my hand nt strong enuf to control it up to my knee,
i can move it to rest on my knee
but struggling

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Dec 10 2011, 12:11 AM)
Dumbbells are kinda meant for moderately high reps. If you have problems putting it on your knees, reduce the weight and build up. Less than 6 reps and it's a waste imo. For dumbbell presses.
i usually do 8 - 12 reps

TSmikehuan
post Dec 10 2011, 10:56 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Dec 9 2011, 11:19 PM)
I want to celebrate new eating record. I outdone myself again.

Means i get to celebrate with MORE food.
=.=" you are part animal, i think.

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Dec 10 2011, 03:04 AM)
my grip dun slp, jz my hand nt strong enuf to control it up to my knee,
i can move it to rest on my knee
but struggling
i usually do 8 - 12 reps
i guess you need to get used to the movement of bringing it up to your knees. dont think its a strength problem, rather just unfamiliar with the movement?
ChinHong86
post Dec 10 2011, 12:07 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 10 2011, 11:56 AM)
=.=" you are part animal, i think.
i guess you need to get used to the movement of bringing it up to your knees. dont think its a strength problem, rather just unfamiliar with the movement?
part animal
part mutant
part hulk..
lol

maybe... nit mebe few more months to familiarize
statikinetic
post Dec 11 2011, 09:56 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Dec 2 2011, 06:31 PM)
Think you can prolly hit it next week. I'm targetting to 31 Dec get to it.
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 2 2011, 06:38 PM)
=.=" u crazy lol. definitely not next week. im cant even get them to starting position let alone press it.
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 9 2011, 11:13 PM)
Exactly a week!
Go for the 47.5s! It's not even the middle of the month yet. smile.gif
TSmikehuan
post Dec 11 2011, 05:33 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Dec 11 2011, 09:56 AM)
Exactly a week!
Go for the 47.5s! It's not even the middle of the month yet. smile.gif
lol man, you're a fortune teller. no la made tweaks on how to bring it up to starting position, so managed to get it up this time around. have to thank scott herman for that. meh im happy with the current poundage atm. gonna spend the next few session getting used to the weight and bring the reps up, like i always have.

and this new gym dont have 42.5kg and 47.5kg db's. apparently after 30kg DB's its all 5kg increments. i grumbled a while and then thought still okay la, do more reps and then try new poundage, no biggie.

also if i try the next poundage (50kg) i'll probably smash my face in with them. sweat.gif

edit: how goes your 100kg press man?

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Dec 11 2011, 05:35 PM
statikinetic
post Dec 11 2011, 07:10 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Still on the negatives.

Biggest difference now with my earlier weight increments is that at this weight, the bar actually bites and bruises my palms. See how it goes tomorrow, might go for more negatives if I don't see a strength jump.
TSmikehuan
post Dec 12 2011, 10:17 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Dec 11 2011, 07:10 PM)
Still on the negatives.

Biggest difference now with my earlier weight increments is that at this weight, the bar actually bites and bruises my palms. See how it goes tomorrow, might go for more negatives if I don't see a strength jump.
use gloves la lol. dont think it will affect your lift that much right?
statikinetic
post Dec 12 2011, 10:31 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 12 2011, 10:17 AM)
use gloves la lol. dont think it will affect your lift that much right?
I'm using gloves! Shouldn't affect it too much.
Might need to recruit a temp spotter for the lift tonight as I can sooo picture myself getting pinned.
TSmikehuan
post Dec 12 2011, 10:50 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Dec 12 2011, 10:31 AM)
I'm using gloves! Shouldn't affect it too much.
Might need to recruit a temp spotter for the lift tonight as I can sooo picture myself getting pinned.
lol, all the best tonight man! eat more preworkout! tongue.gif
potemkin
post Dec 13 2011, 01:13 PM

143 posts

Not as crazy as all of you. But my target for end of the year would be to hit 100kg deadlift.

Did 90kg's last week for 3x5. Struggled on the last rep/set.

Program states that i should stick with 95 next cycle but mebbe go out with a bang for the heck of it.
TSmikehuan
post Dec 13 2011, 06:33 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(potemkin @ Dec 13 2011, 01:13 PM)
Not as crazy as all of you. But my target for end of the year would be to hit 100kg deadlift.

Program states that i should stick with 95 next cycle but mebbe go out with a bang for the heck of it.
sounds like its within reach man. why not, make a vid while you're at it then i can include you in the list.

and its week 3 folks!
JonYeap
post Dec 14 2011, 08:38 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(potemkin @ Dec 13 2011, 01:13 PM)

Slow and steady bro. Do what your body tells you. If u cannot go further, don't push urself till injured.
Thats what happen to me back then.
My first deadlift was after starting gym 1 month. First day itself, manage to pull 100kg.
Ego struck me and in less than 2 months, i managed to reach 190kg.
Being too fast and didn't listen to my body, my back gave way.
Failed at 200kg and that is the last deadlift i did. Lol...

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0243sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:35 PM