SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V2, A Wonder, A Galaxy S+ in disguise

Dannyl
post Dec 9 2011, 08:21 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(xtian900 @ Dec 9 2011, 05:57 PM)
this phone can be used overseas with non malaysian telco?
QUOTE(Kenzany @ Dec 9 2011, 08:01 PM)
what kinda question is this? iphone can be used oversea ma i ask you then
Kenzany, are you sure all phones can be used in all countries? For example, GSM-only phones do not work in Japan smile.gif

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Dec 9 2011, 06:00 PM)
your phone looks like brought over from some telco overseas, like either not ori (maybe AP) or something...or is one of those sets like maxis HTC sensation they get from indonesia - my friend's HTC sensation also got some junk and cannot remove unless u root and remove them yourself.
Asian region Samsung phones normally have Singapore telco software inside. This is the same with my ex-SL as well. It had M1, Singtel and StarHub APKs in it. Although you cannot see it in your app drawer, the APK is in the phone (/system/app if I remember correctly). You can remove them with file managers if you've rooted your phone. Doesn't make any difference, though.
Dannyl
post Dec 13 2011, 11:09 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Dec 13 2011, 09:43 AM)
Interested in Galaxy W and S +, can't decide rclxub.gif

just wanna know is the super amoled screen & bigger screen worth extra rm300 (samsung galaxy s+) since the specs are the same with Galaxy W.. hmm.gif
If buy from Garage Sales, difference is RM200 only, someone selling S+ for RM1050. If you have the cash, sure it's worth it.
Dannyl
post Dec 14 2011, 01:01 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Dec 14 2011, 11:51 AM)
No need to re-download the OS. I believe there is an image copy of the OS in the phone memory. The reset used that to reinstall the OS. No change to firmware. Mine still KJ5 version after the reset.

Edited: Disclaimer. Above is based on my factory reset experience. I can't confirm for hard reset.
The OS resides in ROM. Bear in mind that whatever changes to the ROM will remain EVEN AFTER you factory reset, such as removed stock ringtones, removed stock apps, replaced boot animation, replaced default fonts, etc.
Dannyl
post Dec 14 2011, 04:56 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 14 2011, 12:50 PM)
@CAC@MBO: so sorry to hear about your problem. if using other sd card (try use an empty sd card?) also has same problem, may be the problem is not the sd card liao...

in this case, i do recommend you to factory reset! >.<
Cow! I can't find my installed apps. Both folders also empty.
/data/app/APP.apk (if installed in phone memory)
/mnt/asec/APP.apk (if installed in memory card)
Dannyl
post Dec 15 2011, 09:04 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(samadlagi @ Dec 14 2011, 10:24 PM)
evening, need help to change the ringtone to my fav mp3?
i go to setting->sound setting->phone ringtone
but only manage to see the default ringtones only...
Ringtones go here (internal or external sd also can)
/<ur sd card>/media/audio/ringtones

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Dec 14 2011, 05:40 PM)
aik! why empty? viewing the folder with "root"? without root, cannot see the content of the folder...

worst case, use this steps to find your apk. use Terminal Emulator (or adb shell):

1. su
2. find / -name "*.apk"

sweat.gif

ps: app that "moved to sd" will be stored in /mnt/asec/APP ... no .apk... to backup the APK, move it back to phone, then u should see the APK in /data/app/
Oh... maybe I didn't view with root... now can already. So I just copy these APK files out and they are complete installable files? Can put in another phone to install?

Thanks a lot cow... you really contribute REAL knowledge in this thread biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Dec 15 2011, 09:11 AM
Dannyl
post Dec 15 2011, 09:15 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Why don't you call Maxis and disable your roaming? Data roaming is for data only.
Dannyl
post Dec 16 2011, 08:35 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Anybody found any nice pouch for W? The ones I found either too big or too small.

QUOTE(psYCHopath @ Dec 16 2011, 03:18 AM)
try save "setapak" in T9 mode, reboot your hp and see if it does comes out when you type using T9
I've turned off my Smart Keyboard learn new words function so it won't keep adding rubbish mis-typed words. Added Setapak, yes it comes out. No need reboot lah. What's wrong with Setapak?

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Dec 16 2011, 08:43 AM
Dannyl
post Dec 16 2011, 11:13 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(CAC@MBO @ Dec 16 2011, 10:35 AM)
nope. Actually I don't really know why need ambient light sensor.
I always set 20% brightness and it's enough for me.
if say using ambient light sensor to save battery,
I think got ambient light sensor running will consume more battery. LOLZ.

haha, btw, no problem without light sensor. =D
you can install 7 key widget pro, it can add brightness widget which you can customize from 10% - 100%. haha.
my setting is (20%>40%>60%>80>100%). haha
Actually ambient light sensor is to turn the screen brightness according to your surroundings. When you step out into sunlight, screen brightness goes max. When you step into a dark room, screen brightness goes down. All this for maximum screen readability without hurting your eyes.

Of course can do it manually, like you, but it takes like 7 widgets just for brightness tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Dec 16 2011, 11:13 AM
Dannyl
post Dec 17 2011, 01:11 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Dec 17 2011, 12:04 PM)
btw..anyone here can help me wif my SP?

coz i tear off my old SP due to much scratch..and put Matte type..

but got lots of bubble...anyone here can help me to put new SP with no bubble??
I never get bubbles. I'm only worried about dust.
Dannyl
post Dec 17 2011, 05:01 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ekudz @ Dec 17 2011, 04:05 PM)
Uptown Kota Damansara .. the shop in the middle that sell a lot of gadget acc .. u never miss it ..
another my friend said at uptown danau kota ..
But but Uptown and Kota Damansara are different places, right?
Dannyl
post Dec 18 2011, 10:28 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Besanth @ Dec 18 2011, 02:20 AM)
Quick question, does the Galaxy W need Battery Calibration?
Any phone can benefit from Battery Calibration especially after being used for sometime or after flashing a new ROM.

QUOTE(ekudz @ Dec 17 2011, 06:43 PM)
really u asking me that question? huhu... just came back from oversea is it ? hehehe!!~  doh.gif
There's Damansara Uptown and Kota Damansara... but where is Uptown Kota Damansara?
EDIT: found it:
http://damaipeace.blogspot.com/2011/01/roa...-damansara.html

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Dec 18 2011, 10:33 AM

0.0415sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:54 AM