○ Galaxy Nexus V2 ○, latest Google flagship

irenic
post Nov 29 2011, 02:46 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

just tested ice cream sandwich and i can say it is perfect.

- the animation is smooth and steady like windows phone
- the looks, the sharpness and the color overall have improved a lot. they are just noticeably prettier than previous android
- it's easy to navigate, unlike previous android. while we are okay with the current android, just try give the phone to your mom and dad (if they havent use android before), and definitely they won't find it easy to use. but this all has changed now. now menus are clear and user will know if there is any submenu or sub sub menu.

i can say android 4.0.1 takes some of the good things in ios and windows phone 7.5 and enhance it to make a better android.

well regarding RRP and when this device will be available in our market,
i cant say the exact info, but i can say it's cheaper than the other samsung phone that just released and it's coming date is just around the corner. however it will be exclusive under telco sad.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Nov 29 2011, 02:48 PM
irenic
post Nov 29 2011, 03:12 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Nov 29 2011, 02:54 PM)
i dont care!!! as long as it is out in Malaysia! biggrin.gif
soon my friend soon!

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 29 2011, 03:00 PM)
Comparing against GNote? That's a bit steep to ease my heart.

Can say it's cheaper than S2's RRP?  rclxm9.gif
s2's rrp is rm1899 now rite? unfortunately nope. it is lower than S2 bigger brother which for me is still a good price!

but after testing it, honestly i can say android 4.0.1 makes android 99% better than what we have now. i can't say how far google has optimize the ics on galaxy nexus but i think if sgs2 gets the same ics (with the same optimization), maybe it will be better than galaxy nexus. maybe...
for other manufacturer i doubt they will be able to reach the same optimization as google does on galaxy nexus..

QUOTE(alieamin @ Nov 29 2011, 03:03 PM)
if this is the specs http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_nexus-4219.php

yes price is arround 1899. (my guess only la) tongue.gif
yeah based on the specs alone it should be lower than sgs2 right!! but nexus phone always one of the expensive android phone in the market. sweat.gif

QUOTE(nerd @ Nov 29 2011, 03:03 PM)
I hope it's the green telco!

And even if it's exclusive under telco, I hope we can buy it without contract smile.gif
why u wanna it to be on green telco? huhu

QUOTE(DuDe5593 @ Nov 29 2011, 03:06 PM)
Geez.. Cheaper than other samsung phone?
That is one great news but realiable?

My friend offered me her S2 at RM 1250. Wondering should take the offer or wait. hmm.gif
we'll see how reliable it is .. smile.gif

QUOTE(ellimist @ Nov 29 2011, 03:07 PM)
Heya,

Is it correct to say that the version released to M'sia telco will be 16GB only? No 32GB option
i dont have info on that. but based on current trend, maybe it will be 16gb only?

QUOTE(djlah @ Nov 29 2011, 03:11 PM)
shit... don't tell is M**** again. until today, NS RRP is still RM2,299 with it's bloody hell call+data plan.
hopefully other telco take it too. the best is purchase direct from SEP.
well we better hope it's not just exclusive for one telco.. and that exclusivity is just for a short period!

This post has been edited by irenic: Nov 29 2011, 03:16 PM
irenic
post Nov 30 2011, 02:42 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

just wanna share my experience based on one day usage:

1) face unlock is fine, as long as the environment is bright. and the angle of the face must be the same as when i first setup the face unlock. if these 2 elements are fulfilled, the phone will unlock in a second! but 99% of the time i have to use the pattern unlock.

2) battery usage is awesome. just 28% decrease in 9 hours and 31 mins. and that with moderate usage and live wallpaper on! sorry couldnt test it hard enough coz it's a loan phone and i dont want to cause havoc in the office that will lead to every single android fans in the office play and test the phone.

3) voice recognition works well either in english or in malay, as long as i specify which language i wanna use and not set it to auto. and the internet connection must be fast and stable.

4) new market works amazingly fast on this ics unlike my note and sgs2, where it's loading time is a bit slow.

5) picture quality is poor. it half the quality of sgs2 and notes and even poorer than my htc sensation.

6) somehow i wasnt able to play 720p and 1080p mp4 videos.. these video have no problem playing on sgs2, notes and sensation.

7) no usb mount storage is troublesome, at least for my usage. it can only use mtp like galaxy tab 10.1.

8) somehow usb mhl adapter for my sgs2 / note does not work for galaxy nexus.

9) whatsapp sometimes lose contacts. i have to keep on refresh the contact. i never experience this in my other androids, so maybe it just a compatibility issue between whatsapp and ics

This post has been edited by irenic: Nov 30 2011, 02:44 AM
irenic
post Nov 30 2011, 02:56 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Nov 30 2011, 02:51 AM)
whoaaa..so many problems....is that the engineering or retail version?
err not so many problem. just some weaknesses or limitations of the hardware (/software). overall it's still a solid phone.

anyway i think it's a retail version with unlock bootloader smile.gif
irenic
post Nov 30 2011, 09:24 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 30 2011, 06:24 AM)
Did you remember whether the phone used what firmware version..is it 4.0.0, 4.0.1 or 4.0.2.?
it's 4.0.1

QUOTE(rayzel @ Nov 30 2011, 06:31 AM)
Bro,

How about the sync function of contacts from facebook and simcard? any issue coz i googled about it and found several posting about the setback. Did u face the same issue during your trial run?

I had used nexus one before and it was a pain when it comes to sync function. I had moved to htc and blackberry because these two do way better than nexus one. Correct me if im wrong.

i havent notice if there is anything wrong with the sync. i did logged in to my facebook to try upload some picture, but i didnt look into contact to see if it's sync with my fb contacts.

QUOTE(phantomash @ Nov 30 2011, 06:45 AM)
thanks for sharing.  smile.gif

regarding the video playback, is it just the default player or does it include 3rd party player as well?
i didnt install any 3rd party player. i just play the video straight using default player from the gallery

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 30 2011, 07:16 AM)
Of course, what's stopping you?  smile.gif

Added on November 30, 2011, 7:21 am
From some review videos I have seen, loading of camera on GNex is really quite slow, if I might say.
based on my own timing, it took around 4 seconds for the camera to load!
irenic
post Nov 30 2011, 04:48 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

note is very laggy. i rate it lower than my sgs2 smile.gif
irenic
post Nov 30 2011, 06:38 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Nov 30 2011, 04:52 PM)
erm.... i do follow note thread too.
some ppl said laggy, some ppl said smooth. (probably got something to do with installed apps)

so i hv no idea who to listen to... sad.gif
it's slower than s2. the animation / transition for the homescreen (esp if you have calendar and agenda widgets), and when you open apps, also a tad slower than s2.
even in certain apps, for example in my case. i always backup my sms using sms backup and restore app. and i have around 3700 sms. it took around more than 5 mins to restore them in note, while s2 took around 2-3 mins only.
backup time is very fast for both..

i dunno why, but i had 2 note before the current one, and for me the fastest is celcom set. i had ap set, followed by celcom set, and the current one is SEP set. i think the celcom set i had is not as slow as my current one. i feel fed up using it already.. that's why now i only carry s2 and sensation in my pocket..

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 30 2011, 05:45 PM)
lol but now my maxis number is prepaid
i think buy 1 u mobile prepaid, satisfy then port
if not use 2 number, lolx
wah thanks for sharing your 1 day review
so, full mark 10, how much you give ??
i think i will give it 8 out of 10. sorry if it's a bit lower than you guys hope but i set my expectation a lil bit high. that's why i can still see weaknesses in my other phone like sgs2 and galaxy note.

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 30 2011, 06:13 PM)
I'm most definitely certain it will be Maxis. If price is around the same as Note, that's not bad at all. Sigh.. I'm so tempted sweat.gif
i dunno if maxis will get it, but one thing i can guarantee u guys is, it wont be just maxis tongue.gif
irenic
post Nov 30 2011, 10:38 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 30 2011, 08:47 PM)
wah not bad
o.O weaknesses ?
and let say you didn't own sgs2 and note before, 3 of them which one would you choose ??
might change from sgs 2 to nexus
It's hard to say.. for now i might choose galaxy nexus, but who knows, in the future i might sell it once sgs2 receive ics update..haha

irenic
post Dec 3 2011, 12:15 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

I have told you guys in my short summarize of the galaxy nexus.. the display is awesome..

irenic
post Dec 4 2011, 03:57 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

just tested sygic aura. the gps signal locks seriously fast.

irenic
post Dec 4 2011, 11:46 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 4 2011, 02:50 PM)
use on what phone to test it ??

on galaxy nexus of course huhu
irenic
post Dec 5 2011, 01:31 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 5 2011, 12:19 AM)
o.O then where u bought and how much u bought in RM ?
o.O, how much u bought if convert into RM ?
it's a test unit. have to return it soon..

irenic
post Dec 5 2011, 02:54 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 2 2011, 12:22 PM)
I got Route 66 installed and running well on this. I don't have Papago.

EDIT: Sygic doesn't work on this.
i have tested and sygic works without any problem on galaxy nexus

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Dec 4 2011, 03:14 PM)
of course GNex lor.. doh.gif
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 4 2011, 03:19 PM)
o.O, because he / she signature haven't update
so i ask lor
hehe sorry mate. i havent update my signature for quite a while. neway i still cant put galaxy nexus as my device.. coz this is just a test phone..

This post has been edited by irenic: Dec 5 2011, 02:55 AM
irenic
post Dec 5 2011, 04:29 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

directd has that galaxy nexus since saturday last week. my friend's friend bought from him already..

irenic
post Dec 6 2011, 12:15 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

just to share my opinion between note and nexus.

smoothness: nexus wins. note menu navigation is super lag!!

video playback: note is a clear winner. nexus video player cant play certain file, and most 1080 file even if it's playable has some lag.

speed: both are fast. but nexus is noticeably faster. i always read e-books in pdf format, and nexus loads all pages instantly. no need to wait for it to load even if i scroll through pages with speed

display: both display are awesome. nexus color is a bit bluish and the white is a bit yellowish. note has brighter and richer color. for me in terms of sharpness, nexus wins, but for color, note wins.

camera: note is better for both still image and video recording.

web browser: i prefer nexus not because it's really good, but note is poor in this. text reflow in note is not working and that is really frustrating..

should i buy the nexus? absolutely! but i dont think it can totally replace my note. the note will be used for watching vids, youtube while nexus will be used for web browsing, reading pdf books.

This post has been edited by irenic: Dec 6 2011, 12:52 AM
irenic
post Dec 6 2011, 12:26 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

while u guys are waiting for ur nexus, tonight i hv to spend the last moment with this loan nexus sad.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Dec 6 2011, 12:27 AM
irenic
post Dec 6 2011, 04:13 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Dec 6 2011, 11:44 AM)
saw this in one the famous mobile store in subang. selling for 2899! WTF!

http://twitpic.com/7o83in
huhu. but now they already drop the price to 2499! (if we're referring to the same seller) tongue.gif
irenic
post Dec 9 2011, 08:04 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

no exclusivity from telco for this nexus. samsung / sep will sell it. sorry because the info i provided last time is no longer valid tongue.gif
irenic
post Dec 9 2011, 10:32 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(xxdooyo @ Dec 9 2011, 08:40 PM)
any news on the release date and retail price?
sadly no. last time i had info because it supposed to be exclusive for this one telco, but now it has changed.

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Dec 9 2011, 08:58 PM)
Just when i thought to bind into contract for this phone...
telco will still sell it, just that they dont have the exclusivity.

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 9 2011, 09:14 PM)
wah nice
where u heard about it ?? got source ???
furthermore like this normal phone shop will selling ori set, yeah
+1  biggrin.gif
if SEP / SME sells it, surely normal phone shop will sell it.. thumbup.gif
irenic
post Dec 10 2011, 06:30 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Dec 10 2011, 04:21 PM)
Will be eating ice cream sandwiches for an entire year thanks to bro irenic.

In other words, add me to the owner's list!! rclxms.gif
thanks to you too mate!

many people are using nexus now and i'm still stuck on galaxy note!! sad.gif

0.0566sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:01 PM