Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V13 !, Le D4 is awaiting you @ 6000 bucks only

lonelywolf90
post Nov 25 2011, 04:03 PM

363 posts

Guys, are there any rumors of upcoming DSLRs?

I'm considering the D5100 for now. Will there be a D5200 around the corner?

I'm very new so I'm open to all suggestions and opinions, please do. Thanks smile.gif
lonelywolf90
post Nov 25 2011, 04:22 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 25 2011, 04:09 PM)
no rumor of D5200 since 5100 just launch this year... hmmm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of...on_DSLR_cameras

you can refer this time line and estimate D5200 release date. unsure.gif  whistling.gif
I suppose I should just go for the D5100 XD
Based on the time line, it seems to refurbish in 2 years time, hopefully it's accurate.

I won't regret this right?
Will it be very heavy?

I was kinda worried about bringing it around since it's kinda heavy and bulky.

I'm either leaning to this model or the Lumix GF3 or Olympus PEN E-P3 which are m4/3.

It's just hard to decide rclxub.gif
lonelywolf90
post Nov 25 2011, 04:44 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 25 2011, 04:25 PM)
go berjaya times square nikon center or KLCC to play D5100. for me it is too small to grip lol...get used with DSLR liao  tongue.gif
Ya, I will do that the next weekend when I decide to head down to KL smile.gif

What is too small to grip? A m4/3 you mean?

QUOTE(seather @ Nov 25 2011, 04:28 PM)
i think chances of D5100 successor launching is close to nil next year... due to the flood in Thailand... might not even appear until late 2013.... (also check prices b4 u buy, some shop mite jack up prices due to supply shortage)

go to a shop and ask to try out the cameras b4 u make a decision... weight is a subjective criteria... btw.. a good camera bag helps alot too smile.gif
Lol, you're quite right, let's hope that the timeline is accurate whereby a newer model will be released in 2 years time.

I last checked that the price of a D5100 is around RM2.5k, is that the price range?

Speaking about bag, I'd have to source for one too, so many things to check out =.=
lonelywolf90
post Nov 25 2011, 05:13 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Nov 25 2011, 04:47 PM)
I suppose I should just go for the D5100 XD
Based on the time line, it seems to refurbish in 2 years time, hopefully it's accurate.
I think ur trying to say replace, refurbish means  fix.  biggrin.gif

I won't regret this right?
Will it be very heavy?
IMHO, the learner to enthusiast range of DSLR are not that heavy and the range of lens u will be using for these DSLR will be relatively light. So, don't worry bout weight till u think u are a serious enthusiast that considering to turn pro  biggrin.gif

I was kinda worried about bringing it around since it's kinda heavy and bulky.
Why not just get PnS then? really depends on what ur purpose tho... If u wanna learn photography with DSLR then u shouldn't complaint bout carrying them.  biggrin.gif

I'm either leaning to this model or the Lumix GF3 or Olympus PEN E-P3 which are m4/3.
From here, I can tell u definitely assure that u "want" a DSLR but "need" a PnS. Get a PnS mate  biggrin.gif
You almost read my mind but I was actually indecisive XD

I'm planning to share this with my girlfriend, that's why I don't know whether I should go for m4/3 or a DSLR rclxub.gif

But like what you said, if I wanna learn about DSLRs, I shouldn't complain about the weight, I asked for this smile.gif

PnS won't be suitable for me, I love the effects of a DSLR! drool.gif

I have a friend who recommended me to purchase a 18-105mm Nikkor lens instead of going for the normal 18-55mm lens. What would be your suggestion? Would that lens be a great start for me? I don't intend to invest on lens, costly shocking.gif

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Nov 25 2011, 04:59 PM)
speaking about heavy..u should go try D3X with 600mm LOL whistling.gif
LOL, I'm sure you mean that it's much more heavier.. Fine fine, I won't whine about the weight.. Around 500g seems good enough already actually smile.gif

0.0183sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:29 PM