(WTA) 2 months old kitten, need help

TSCrownedclown
post Nov 21 2011, 03:22 AM, updated 15y ago

Hi,i adopted a cat 2 days ago,which is just 2 months old...everything is just fine..it's active and all but he is not eating so much,which he only took few bites and he's done...He doesn't drink any water also...is this symptom normal..a little help here...it's my first experience as well..any help would be appreciated...!!!
stargamer
post Nov 21 2011, 03:27 AM

282 posts

google.com search for kitten diet. go pet shop buy kitten food. and give clean water on standby so they can drink when they r thirsty.

This post has been edited by stargamer: Nov 21 2011, 03:29 AM
TSCrownedclown
post Nov 21 2011, 03:34 AM

i did...bought a brand called Iams cause the previous owner fed him that too...i prepared clean water for him already and been swapping quite frequent too but he still won't drink
syamirc
post Nov 21 2011, 03:52 AM

838 posts

Try another food.. Chicken meat or fish..

This post has been edited by syamirc: Nov 21 2011, 03:52 AM
demolationz
post Nov 21 2011, 03:53 AM

LYN Dedicated Member
2,250 posts

QUOTE(syamirc @ Nov 21 2011, 03:52 AM)
Try another food.. Chicken meat or fish..
I think cacing . tongue.gif go , buy ubat cacing instead smile.gif
dirtyrat
post Nov 21 2011, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(Crownedclown @ Nov 21 2011, 03:22 AM)
Hi,i adopted a cat 2 days ago,which is just 2 months old...everything is just fine..it's active and all but he is not eating so much,which he only took few bites and he's done...He doesn't drink any water also...is this symptom normal..a little help here...it's my first experience as well..any help would be appreciated...!!!
I would say, be patient and try to wet her food with a spoonful of water each meal. Hopefully it's helps with the water intake.

I adopted a kitten - picked her up at a mamak in KL (bring back in a bike, stuffed her in my jacket). About two weeks old kitten with the same problem, not eating much and not drinking at all. After vet check, de-lice (and it's a lot of lice) and de-wormed, I started experimenting with food.
Noticed that she liked wet food, first I gave pro diet and whiskas kitten, with a bit of water added in.
Slowly introduce kibbles - , cheapo whiskas, IAMS, Blackwood and now Golden Eagle.
Didn't see her drink, I tried a lot of things, bottles, critters bottles, let her lick the water off my wet hands etc.
I remembered the day I saw her drink, I actually called my wife to tell her the good news.

Now she is about 3 months old ++. I mainly feed her canned food - fussies cat, snappy tom - morning and evening. Golden Eagle kitten kibbles in between. Also have fresh water around.
She'll eat the kibbles a bit but will always wait for me to feed her wet food.

BTW - I have some leftover Blackwood kitten to give away. About 200gram plus. My cat "mengada" tak nak makan.
pm me to book and pick it up either at USJ or Menara CitiBank on weekday. Such a waste to just throw it away.
TSCrownedclown
post Nov 21 2011, 04:57 PM

thx for replying ...appreaciate it a lot...my cat has been vaccinated dewormed and spayed....just that i think cause the previous owner used to feed him wet food as well...i asked a vet and she said that wet food doesn't contain enough nutrient for the cat...and she said it's best to stop feeding her wet food also..
emy_xvidia
post Nov 21 2011, 05:28 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(Crownedclown @ Nov 21 2011, 04:57 PM)
thx for replying ...appreaciate it a lot...my cat has been vaccinated dewormed and spayed....just that i think cause the previous owner used to feed him wet food as well...i asked a vet and she said that wet food doesn't contain enough nutrient for the cat...and she said it's best to stop feeding her wet food also..
which vet said that? doh.gif well it is true to certain extent, if you buy the Econsave ones. try purina fancy feast, or if you're in KL area, it's easy to find the Royal Canin wet food in pouch. they're expensive, but you gotta feed him if he simply doesn't wana eat kibbles.
verulin
post Nov 21 2011, 05:56 PM

33 posts

IMO, feeding raw is the best for cats, but very messy and inconvenient.
cats don't have a very strong thirst drive since they're decendants of desert animals. so raw meat gives them the water they need. the bones also help to clean their teeth.
wet food will help with the water problem, but it doesn't help clean their teeth.

some cats don't like to have their water bowl near the food, try and put it further away, maybe in another room
and maybe she doesn't like stagnant water. try and see if she drinks running water from the tap

do you leave food out for 24 hours? some cats prefer to just eat a small amount throughout the day.

This post has been edited by verulin: Nov 21 2011, 06:13 PM
TSCrownedclown
post Nov 22 2011, 04:24 PM

well i think that helped a lot he's starting to eat more each day.......and been drinking water also....
C-Lynnie
post Nov 23 2011, 04:10 PM

sorry, just a question, can you spay a 2months old caT??
TSCrownedclown
post Nov 23 2011, 09:09 PM

QUOTE(C-Lynnie @ Nov 23 2011, 04:10 PM)
sorry, just a question, can you spay a 2months old caT??
well i think it can be done because mine is spayed..!!which happened before he reach 2 months according to the previous owner..

0.0179sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:43 PM