6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Table Tennis/Ping Pong V2

empire
post Dec 15 2018, 10:47 PM

2,549 posts

wow.... I baru found out about this ping Pong thread here! Does anyone play Ping pong around Mont Kiara, Publika, Segambut or Jalan Ipoh areas?
empire
post Dec 15 2018, 10:51 PM

2,549 posts

I was very active during my teenage years and was a former District player. Now I dont even have a paddle huhu.... and now I think even a secondary schoolkid can beat me haha. The last time I played serious ping pong paddle was more than 20 years ago. I still love the game.... and am hoping to see meet and play with good players so that I can get back into the game.

The only way to be better is to play against players who are better than you. IN the long run you will improve. If you keep playing against players below your standard, you wont improve.

This post has been edited by empire: Dec 15 2018, 11:56 PM
empire
post Dec 15 2018, 10:52 PM

2,549 posts

Having said that.... I am thinking of buying a good JPen paddle and a Cpen paddle too. I dont wanan pay a lot...so each paddle I budget about Rm200 -Rm250. Anyone can recommend me a good shop in KL ?
empire
post Dec 15 2018, 11:57 PM

2,549 posts

https://shopee.com.my/product/51249120/1432990466/ TO the experts here, is this paddle ok ?
empire
post Dec 18 2018, 11:02 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(tsd @ Dec 18 2018, 04:01 PM)
For yinhe bats, if you are in Klang valley, you can visit tenryu shop in USJ subang jaya, they have alot of Yinhe blades for sales.  As you can see from their website, lots of them to choose from https://www.tenryu.com.my/store/?m=cat&cat_...3&ft=&bt=20&tt=

This shop is opened by a famous former national player, so you can be assured those bad are not fake and are of good quality. Because they have the knowledge on what to stock up and what not to stock up.

for table tennis bat, it is better to be able to feel/touch before buying.  You can also use their weighing machine to check the bat weight.  You know exactly what you will get but online you only have a picture to refer to. OF cos sometimes we have no choice because shop is too far. then just buy online, otherwise it is better to visit the shop.
wow Thx TSD! Appreciate your reply. I bought on line 2 Blades. 1 is a defensive blade with long pimple rubber on 1 side. Another blade is a JPEN blade which I also asked the seller to stick a long pimple rubber behind. This JPEN blade is rated super fast...since that is the style I used to play.

The defensive blade is merely for fun hahah.... to frustrate the attackers every now and then with the irritating long pimple rubber biggrin.gif

empire
post Dec 18 2018, 11:03 PM

2,549 posts

Both blades are YINHE. Original YINHE.
empire
post Dec 20 2018, 12:18 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(tsd @ Dec 19 2018, 09:26 AM)
nice looking bats, yes... those backhand rubbers can be very confusing because everyone use it differently. Sometimes very hard to read the body movement to anticipate the kind of shots coming from those backhand. 

I am also player from the past,  I have not been active for more than 20 years, Started playing during my school days from 1980, peaked in 1992 and stop around 1995. My current bat was bought in 1991, still in good playing condition ( although I do change the rubbers ). Now at 49, feels like getting back into active table tennis.

Few month back I join a small table-tennis competition, still can give my opponents a hard time. Most importantly, it was was so fun, hope to play more in the near future.
rclxms.gif We should meet up for some friendly matches rclxms.gif

Where are you located?
empire
post Dec 20 2018, 12:19 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Dec 19 2018, 01:20 PM)
I wonder if we can get some video on how to use such combination. Never came cross this before.
You mean for the JPEN?
empire
post Dec 21 2018, 01:22 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Dec 20 2018, 07:22 PM)
Double sided with pimple up
huh>? this is quite common wo.
empire
post Dec 25 2018, 06:51 PM

2,549 posts

Looks like this topic is dead
empire
post Dec 26 2018, 11:16 PM

2,549 posts

Sigh...so hard for me to find intermediate players to train and play against. It is no fun playing with beginners all the time aduh... cos I cant improve.
empire
post Dec 26 2018, 11:17 PM

2,549 posts

They cant even return my simple side spin service. Aduh... how la? Any player located near Publika, Jalan Kuching, Mont Kiara, Segambut?
empire
post Jan 3 2019, 12:07 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(tsd @ Jan 2 2019, 06:57 PM)
sorry for a long delay in reply, I went away before Christmas for holiday, came back just before new year and have been sick since then. So darn unhealthy nowadays. Missed those days when I was young, can play in the hot sun for hours, rush out to play football in the rain... yet never worried about getting sick. Nowadays just hit by a few drops of rain, few days suffering in the bed.

anyway, I m located in Subang Jaya. Ya, I would love to have friendly games.
Aiyo.... I am located near Publika KL. So far apart sad.gif
empire
post Jan 3 2019, 12:14 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(tsd @ Jan 2 2019, 07:07 PM)
double sided pimple are very popular among old people smile.gif  Actually any kind of rubber also can play well as long as the player can master it well. However those smooth rubber do have more advantage over pimples. Pimples are very impressive to confuse people but once people are used to it, it could be an liability. Pimples just don't have enough grip to control the ball, you have to depend on your opponents spin. The only type of pimple that is deadly is the short one, they can do those crazy high speed flat smash regardless of what spin you give him.
My handshake blade has 1 long pimple rubber and 1 smooth rubber on the other side. I intentionally chose a super slow blade to pair with these 2 rubbers to play defensive ping pong for fun rclxms.gif
Of course, if the opponent returns the ball high, I sure will go for the kill la hahaha.

My JPEN blade also have the same rubbers. I wanna experiment how to play with a back long pimple rubber behind the JPEN. This JPEN blade is rated super fast so it is totally contrasting with my handshake blade....so I will get to play both aggressive all out JPEN attacking style and then switch to defensive style with handshake blade for the fun of it.

Ya you are right, Short pimples are deadly against any type of spin....but only if you are accurate lo....hahaha.... and have to spend hours everyday to practise the accuracy.
empire
post Jan 3 2019, 11:24 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(tsd @ Jan 3 2019, 08:02 AM)
Yes, I agree with you about the accuracy of those short pips, needs a lot of practice. Not just short pips, even the smooth rubber also needs a lot of practice. I have met many people with excellent skills and techniques, most of them have trouble to be consistent in their shots due lack of practice. So your idea of playing defensive+offensive may be highly rewarding, just wait for opponent to throw away points and you can still attack when your opponent becomes accurate. My style of play is different, it is all out attack, unfortunately as I grow older it is becoming more and more difficult, get tired very fast. Sometimes I do feels like trying defensive game but for now I still stick to my original style.

What type of service you like to do with your pen hold ? I always envy pen-holder service. You guys have so much luxury wrist work to twist and turn your bats during service
with JPEN.... side spin, underspin and a fast no spin service also can haha. Service is a BIG factor in ping pong and this is where PENHOLDERS have the edge due to the natural wrist movement that Handshake cant have.

I may buy a CPEN Blade with short pips too after CNY just for fun and play reverse BH hahaha.....and see how different it feels. I am not a serious player now... (though I used to be those days) so it is will be interesting to see how all my 3 Blades and their 3 different playing styles application work.

Yes...pro's will tell you to stick to 1 blade and work on it for years. For me....I prefer to enjoy the best of all blades and have fun. Hey...life is short la....you wanna stick to 1 blade until die meh? Variety is the spice of life rclxms.gif
empire
post Jan 3 2019, 11:25 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(cede1975 @ Jan 3 2019, 10:14 AM)
Average player looking for TT kaki at Kajang area.
sigh.... looks like all the Ping Pong kakis are spread all over sad.gif
empire
post Jan 3 2019, 12:04 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(cede1975 @ Jan 3 2019, 11:35 AM)
Where and when do you usually play?
I dont mind going to Jln Ipoh.
I usually play in VISTA DAMAI condo which is next to DOUBLE TREE Hotel. Google it and you will find it. The condo belongs to my Mat Salleh friend and he was so enthusiastic about playing that he spent more than RM700 on his new blade biggrin.gif
empire
post Jan 3 2019, 07:48 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(tsd @ Jan 3 2019, 05:09 PM)
ya, those new generation rubber do feels nice to play, they do generate very strong shots but the problem is the price. No way I am spending that amount of money on them, unless I am sponsored by someone else. Sometimes we think all the national players are using tenergy, therefore we must use it also. The only reason I believe the national players are using it is because they are not paying for it, they are all getting tenergy for free.

Although those tensor rubber do generate greater speed ans spin, on paper it is an advantage over a player with lower grade equipment, but in reality it might not be true. Producing heavy shots sometimes can be a liability, if you get a good blocker with a regular smooth rubber or pimples rubber, your heavy high speed top spin may come back to destroy yourself. 

So  I feel, a decent rubber with a good grip and consistent in play is good enough.
Wow...from the way you explained it .... you should be a very pro player! Hope to be able to spar with you so that I can improve.

This post has been edited by empire: Jan 3 2019, 07:49 PM
empire
post Jan 3 2019, 07:50 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(tsd @ Jan 3 2019, 06:10 PM)
yes, that is the biggest problem. players are all over the place. Not easy to travel as some of the traffic condition are horrible,
Sad, isnt it? sad.gif
empire
post Jan 5 2019, 11:37 AM

2,549 posts

it is not only the Blade and rubber.... it is the Stroke itself that will propel the ball with ferocious spin and power. Gotta put your whole body into it. Look at RYE SEUNG MIN in youtube. When he top spins.... he put his whole body weight into the stroke. He is well known to have most powerful Forehand during his days.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0434sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:56 PM