Mountain Biking Heaven V25, Tribute to xandman, our Urban Legend!

silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 11:05 AM

17 posts

Hi all forumers. I am interested to start mountain biking. Only got experience in riding normal bikes. If i have like 4k budget wat can i get? Thanks for the recommendation. Is trek x caliber a good choice?
silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 11:28 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 13 2012, 11:08 AM)
Please read Page 1
Page 1 only shows guidelines for budget below 2k and 1k. And I am asking a specific question whether trek x caliber is a good choice on the assumption that sifus here are experienced in mountain bikes and know what is good and what is not. tongue.gif

My apology if this is not even allowed here. I will post on sum other forum like mtbr then.
silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 11:46 AM

17 posts

Cheers people. I just thought it is a very unwelcoming for a newbie to come and ask a question here and got thrown off to page 1. Anyway i must say i gave a very rude reply to Anthony and i m sorry.

Thanks Xandman for the advice. Appreciate it.

Added on January 13, 2012, 11:51 amTrek X Caliber Specs:-

Frame ---- Alpha Gold Aluminum, butted & hydroformed tubing, cold-forged dropouts & bottom bracket, G2 Geometry

Front suspension ---- RockShox Reba RL 29 w/Dual Air spring, Motion Control lockout, rebound, custom G2 Geometry, 51mm offset crown, 100mm travel

Sizes ----- 15.5, 17.5, 19, 21, 23"

Wheels ------ Shimano M525 alloy hubs; Bontrager Mustang Disc 29 32-hole rims, Tubeless Ready

Tires ----- Bontrager 29-1 Expert, 29x2.2"

Shifters ----- SRAM X7, 10 speed

Front derailleur ---- Shimano Deore

Rear derailleur ---- SRAM X7

Crank ----- SRAM S1000, 44/33/22

Cassette ---- Shimano HG62-10 11-36, 10 speed

Pedals ---- n/a

Saddle ---- Bontrager Evoke 1

Seatpost ---- Bontrager SSR, 27.2mm, 20mm offset

Handlebar ---- Bontrager Low Riser, 31.8mm, 5mm rise, 9 degree sweep

Stem ---- Bontrager Race Lite, 31.8mm

Headset ---- 1-1/8" threadless, semi-integrated, semi-cartridge bearings

Brakeset ---- Avid Elixir 1 hydraulic disc brakes

Grips ----- Bontrager Race Lite

This post has been edited by silvy: Jan 13 2012, 11:51 AM
silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 12:02 PM

17 posts

Ard rm4500 to be more accurate. Is this price still worth?
silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 12:26 PM

17 posts

Cyphereza - looks like it's a very worth bike to get if i can pull the price down to 4300. Haha. I am more confident with the bike now . Before i was just convinced by its looks.

Kaizer - thank you for providing me other brands to consider. I think the x caliber fork made of custom G2 Geometry, according to the specs. So shudn't be a problem. Correct me if i am wrong. And i m most likely wrong

silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 01:55 PM

17 posts

@ chamelion - what does HT stand for?

@ xandman - yeah i gotta try harder beyond 5 % praying for miracles.. my budget is really tight...unless i can find a bike shop selling trek with installment plans..then different story

@ snapshots - we just love biking at the end of the day so lets be friends cheers.. and yup have heard abt scott and especially giant..but i thought they are more pricey. Which models u have in mind for 4500 for giant and scott respectively? i have been surfing through the web but have no clues....

Added on January 13, 2012, 1:56 pm@ Raju - sure u can have a test ride, if my dream of owning a 29er ever come true. smile.gif 29er is the one i m going for as i m gonna ride it ard my hsing areas too, besides going to offroad in kiara.

This post has been edited by silvy: Jan 13 2012, 01:56 PM
silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 02:03 PM

17 posts

cha dou....lolxx
silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 04:30 PM

17 posts

I guess prime reason of me favouring trek is because trekanology is the 1st bike shop visit. And after some online research it is quite a respectable brand as well. Giant apparently is one class higher than Trek and their bikes are generally more expensive than Trek. But for RM 4500 i tot Trek X-Caliber is a pretty good deal (doubt if any Giant model can rival it at the same price). And also dont know which shop offer real Giant 29er for viewing.

Put it this way, since i live pretty nearby to trekanology, buying a bike from them would make pretty good sense. As i can go there for maintenance and component upgrades in case i need them. PROVIDED rm4500 cannot get me anything better than Trek X-Caliber (regardless of brand of course), since i m pretty tight on budget.

Thanks all the sifus here. U all are quite friendly and really helpful. browsing through the web 10 hours cannot beat surfing through lowyat forums. CHEERS.
silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 05:16 PM

17 posts

Worth to throw so much money in r this hobby? How I wish i can rent a bike from the forumer and test ride it once in kiara and then decide how much i wan to throw in. Hahaha BTW tat is really a cool bike tho i cant identify the model.
silvy
post Jan 13 2012, 06:11 PM

17 posts

4.5k just to create a storage space for my future bikes? U gotta be kidding me kaizer... i have low income.. I really wish i can afford a full suspension, as opposed to hardtail. But Trek rumblefish (full suspension) cost 9k. SIAO
silvy
post Jan 14 2012, 03:12 PM

17 posts

Looks like this is a more active thread than what i thought. Right, let me throw in sth here to make it more volcanic hahaha.

I just came back frm KHS TTDI. Was offered Rm 2.8k for norco nitro 6.3. (Hardtail 26er)

Test rode it. 1st time on a hardtail. Feels pretty good. I rode up the bump separating sidewalk and tarmac on a bike for the 1st time! Overall the bike is okay, but sumhow not have much confidence on the bike like not so stable? I dunno...maybe my riding skills and preconception based on the price. Now will a Trek x-caliber fare much better? A 29er though.

Specs for norco nitro 6.3
Frame Norco double-butted aluminum
Fork RockShox Recon Silver TK, 100mm-travel w/tapered steerer
Rims/Wheels WTB SX-17
Hubs Formula aluminum
Spokes Stainless-steel
Tires Continental X-King, 26 x 2.2
Crankset FSA Gamma Drive
Chainwheel 42/32/24
Front Derailleur SRAM X5
Rear Derailleur SRAM X5
Rear Cogs SRAM PG-1030, 10-speed: 11-36
Shifters SRAM X5
Handlebars Norco riser
Tape/Grips Norco Gradient
Stem Norco
Brake Levers Avid Elixir 1
Brakes Avid Elixir 1 hydraulic disc
Pedals Platform
Saddle WTB Silverado Comp
Seat Post Norco aluminum
Specs for Trek X-caliber

Trek X Caliber Specs:-

Frame ---- Alpha Gold Aluminum, butted & hydroformed tubing, cold-forged dropouts & bottom bracket, G2 Geometry

Front suspension ---- RockShox Reba RL 29 w/Dual Air spring, Motion Control lockout, rebound, custom G2 Geometry, 51mm offset crown, 100mm travel

Sizes ----- 15.5, 17.5, 19, 21, 23"

Wheels ------ Shimano M525 alloy hubs; Bontrager Mustang Disc 29 32-hole rims, Tubeless Ready

Tires ----- Bontrager 29-1 Expert, 29x2.2"

Shifters ----- SRAM X7, 10 speed

Front derailleur ---- Shimano Deore

Rear derailleur ---- SRAM X7

Crank ----- SRAM S1000, 44/33/22

Cassette ---- Shimano HG62-10 11-36, 10 speed

Pedals ---- n/a

Saddle ---- Bontrager Evoke 1

Seatpost ---- Bontrager SSR, 27.2mm, 20mm offset

Handlebar ---- Bontrager Low Riser, 31.8mm, 5mm rise, 9 degree sweep

Stem ---- Bontrager Race Lite, 31.8mm

Headset ---- 1-1/8" threadless, semi-integrated, semi-cartridge bearings

Brakeset ---- Avid Elixir 1 hydraulic disc brakes

Grips ----- Bontrager Race Lite

I need to make a decision fast. I cant wait to start riding! X caliber (29er) rm4500... norco nitro 6.3 (26er) 2800... Help...going crazy!

This post has been edited by silvy: Jan 14 2012, 03:25 PM

silvy
post Jan 14 2012, 03:32 PM

17 posts

whr can i find specialized ?
silvy
post Jan 14 2012, 04:04 PM

17 posts

i think i am goonana buy the trek now damn!
silvy
post Jan 14 2012, 04:28 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 14 2012, 04:24 PM)
try... their main site is no accessible.
http://www.johny2k.com/ghspeedbikes/
calm down,dude  sweat.gif

don't make rash decisions... still time to look around.. furthermore.. CNY is here and no one is gonna ride with you during CNY...
LOL THANKS! I should explore more! Forgot no one rides during CNY break. U have a valid point. Meanwhile, save more to push my budget to 6k. HAHAHHAA...no upgrades in the future.
silvy
post Jan 14 2012, 04:35 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 14 2012, 04:31 PM)
eh... i thought you said 4.5k is the max u willing to spend...

jus go look around la.. can't do you anymore damage except wasting petrol.
Coz got angpao and salary after CNY MAH! hahahaha And gosh i feel so excited abt getting a bike now, after having test ridden a hardtail just now.

Yup i am thinking of paying a visit to GH Speedbikes in Kota Damansara.

This post has been edited by silvy: Jan 14 2012, 04:36 PM

0.0686sec    0.62    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:38 AM