Are property prices going to up further? V4, nothing's gonna stop us now

TheDoer
post Nov 25 2011, 02:03 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(sweety9797 @ Nov 21 2011, 07:46 PM)
2008 said crash and property will go down.
2009 said the same thing but property up.
2010 said the same thing but property up up
2011 said the same thing but property up up up
What do you think in 2012????
up up up up or down down down down???
A kid is blowing a balloon.

He blow-blow-blow... we said becareful it will pop.
He blow blow blow somemore... we tell him, it will pop if he keep blowing.
He blow blow blow somemore.... We tell him, now seriously it will pop.

Boy replies, you said it will pop long time ago, still haven't pop, do you think if I blow somemore it will pop?
TheDoer
post Nov 25 2011, 02:24 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 25 2011, 02:13 PM)
The balloon can stay elevated for years, and never pop, as long as the balloon is not overblown.

When the balloon seem too big, inflation pressure shrink it back.
5 years ago, 500k terrace house seems overblown, but the 500k balloon stay there, then inflation coming in shrink it back + income has risen (due to inflation pressure as well), eventually now seem cheap.
So can withstand second round of blowing, and so on and on.
make sense,

that is provided our salary increase.

In which case we have to ask ourselves, what's the value of money, if inflation is so high.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Nov 25 2011, 02:25 PM
TheDoer
post Nov 25 2011, 02:51 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 25 2011, 02:30 PM)
We are also the culprit making it happen.
When we work, we always demand salary increase over the time, despite we are working the same and same output.
This is a source of inflation in mini-scale, which then bring it to macro scale.

Salary is keep on increasing one only exceptional during recession, which normally won't last 1-2 year.
Try not to give salary pay rise to your employee, see how they react, and pressure by employee to the employers.
Even contractual workers, in contract, it is very norm to see pay rise x% after 1 year or when renewing time.

Gov salary pay rise
Private salary pay rise.
While this pay rise never related to productivity, this is a root source of inflation already.
I see, pay rise for staff as being normal. because they become more and more proficient at their work.

What is not normal is pay rise because of inflation and not because of performance. This would not be a remedy, but rather like a dog chasing its tail.

We are avoiding the real problem, hate to say this but "scarcity".
TheDoer
post Dec 1 2011, 02:00 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(spydermind @ Nov 29 2011, 09:08 AM)
Well...i sort of agree to this, and this is one way or another similar to the Monkey story with reference to Stock Market....

But, one thing we need to realize is that, A owns 2 coin is because he traded or he invested.....so, if you worried too much and not investing....you will remains owning 1 coin...well assuming that inflation doesnt take place, you are still just ok.....I prefer to be ended up like A or C as at least C has someting to trade again......after a few years....the story of A, B and C will happen again....people tend to be forgetful..
Well, you missed the key point. Which is, if you play the game, remember to pull out in time. And be "A"

But how many people can be "A" exactly?

It's nothing more than a gamble.

As for C. In real life, C will quit his job, buy a big car, and live a luxurious life, thinking that he is "rich". When the bubble burst, he would be effected as well.
TheDoer
post Dec 2 2011, 01:58 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Dec 2 2011, 12:03 PM)
ya, 99.9% workers are actually busy working in the factory.
Those guys are busy measuring the road. Everybody has a job to do.
TheDoer
post Dec 8 2011, 04:35 PM

1,853 posts

Regarding China's influence in Malaysia. Want come come lar. It's nothing more than 2 people fishing by the beach, see the is friend keep getting fish, and want to swap places. It's still the same. No change.

Everybody is just chasing after the non existent god of fortune.

Fortune none the les still come from our own pockets.

Let the chinese come, only then will the Malaysian know the problems about speculation.
TheDoer
post Dec 9 2011, 11:06 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(R o Y @ Dec 8 2011, 11:55 PM)
Recently the Singapore government imposed additional Stamp Duty on foreigners and local investors in order to cool the market.

I believe we will start to see new wave of Singaporeans investing here. At the same time some of the investors who were eyeing Singapore may decide to divert their funds here instead.
So all the other countries are trying to cool off, but Malaysia still trying to inflate the prices. Something is wrong isn't it?

Price of prop go up because of foreign speculation, until locals can't afford. What good is that?
TheDoer
post Dec 29 2011, 09:30 AM

1,853 posts

With regards to "location" to disqualify one as a gambler, well professional gamblers or common gamblers are still gamblers, no one can tell for certain which area will go up, just as you can't tell whether you're going to win the next round of betting.

It's just "informed" guess work.

As for end of the world. well if it's true, I'm gonna liquidate all my assets and party like there's no 2012. wohoo...

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Dec 29 2011, 09:31 AM
TheDoer
post Dec 30 2011, 04:09 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Dec 29 2011, 04:25 PM)
how do you category a "gambler"?

for me, if the person lose the gamble & cannot cope with the losses. That is a gambler

If you are well informed about properties do & don't...i really don't see it you will fail miserable.
Even if you don't fail miserably, you are still a gambler.

Even if someone knows the odds, when to bet high or low at a casino. Doesn't make him any less a gambler.

You may win ones or twice, the fact is nobody can ever beat the system, anybody who thinks they can, are gamblers.

The casino/the developers are not the gamblers, casino guest/those who buy the props for profit are.

---

if profit comes from added value then it's called a business with certain risk.

Eg. we could make nasi lemak ourselves, but when the nasi lemak seller, gathers the ingredience, cooks them, and serves them to us, then its a business.

If someone buys all this nasi lemak, in the hopes that scarcity will drive the price up, without adding any value to the nasi lemak, then he is a gambler.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Dec 30 2011, 04:19 PM
TheDoer
post Jan 3 2012, 02:52 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Dec 31 2011, 02:07 PM)
Apa ini?
Speculator = Gambler, therefore.. Developer = Casino
This is the funniest statement I ever read in this thread  thumbup.gif
Halo.. please look at it from the context of the argument.

The rule of thumb has always been, in a gold rush, be the person selling the tool, and not the people looking for gold.

Whether there is or isn't gold. Profit is made from selling the tools.

A casino makes a profit without considering how "lucky" someone thinks he is.

The developers are the same. They make profit by selling houses. Whether the speculator makes money from the houses or not, is none of their business.

The only thing developers care about, just as the mining equipment hardware store, just as the casino; Is people's perception that you will profit from doing business with them.

You really can't see the similarity??
shakehead.gif

Added on January 3, 2012, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(lucerne @ Jan 3 2012, 01:22 PM)
boycott developer , boycott subsales.. what if all developers are selling at future price? many developers are cash rich..some go thru cash rich marketing agent/investors co, REIT, which have high holding power.
what if subsales also matching developers' price?

so stopped buying prop?
That form of reasoning is the same as the mamak saying, "so what if 1 or 2 people don't drink my teh tarik? I'd rather make a short lost, but with the posibility of future gain."

So it'll be a waiting game between the service provider and the consumer.

Like the story of the stork and the clam.

Of course that doesn't play out directly in real life. you are stating a raw, uncivilized revelation on what things are, rather than what they should be.

The point is: they "maybe" able to but "should" they?

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Jan 3 2012, 03:16 PM
TheDoer
post Jan 5 2012, 09:23 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(cerocor @ Jan 4 2012, 04:11 PM)
But y not buying at lower price when economy is slow?? y pay higher price??
Pure optimism.

Just a question of how long it can last.
TheDoer
post Jan 5 2012, 02:00 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Jan 5 2012, 01:50 PM)
Bro, if you buy land, I think Maybank will give you 3/4 generation loan lah  rclxms.gif
If like that, they might as well give forever-loan. This is what we call progress. rclxms.gif

I thought we buy props and make money to make life easier. End up people have to share their debt with their descendants.
TheDoer
post Jan 6 2012, 10:00 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jan 5 2012, 03:45 PM)
good investors look forward and sometime need to take some calculator risk.
it is imposisble to make big $ if everyone follow same. only those making differences can win the game.
that's why rich are always lesser coz not many can smell the opportunities when come..
The same things a gambler would say.

"Not everybody can be rich from gambling... but I believe some can. Because they have the nose for it, and they make inform bets. No risk, no gain."

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Jan 6 2012, 10:12 AM

0.0562sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:23 AM