The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

jackiewong
post Oct 17 2012, 08:11 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 17 2012, 12:24 AM)
What about the Seiko Spork?
dont think the price is lower than my budget.. and it is hell big shocking.gif .. bigger than my monster abt 2 mm..
jackiewong
post Oct 18 2012, 09:14 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 18 2012, 12:33 AM)
~ RM300 or so... at least in Taiwan la.
My bezel spring on my old Tag broke.
wa,, tag so lousy ga?.. shocking.gif
jackiewong
post Oct 19 2012, 08:37 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 18 2012, 09:03 PM)
Fuh.. Congrats!!

And I think it deserves a proper photoshoot.
-------------------

Hmmm... saw this in hodinkee. Quite interesting... affordable...HK brand

how affordable is your affordable? hmm.gif
jackiewong
post Oct 19 2012, 06:42 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 19 2012, 09:41 AM)
It's titanium, sandwich dial, original design, does that whole Panerai strap change character change thing... for like less than RM800.

And their honest about their roots... none of the Swiss and heritage blah blah blah.

Somemore comes with a tool box... good value.
wow ... that is cool!... may have a look next time.. I'm broke now after bought a orient ray.. cry.gif
jackiewong
post Oct 19 2012, 09:47 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(ziafang @ Oct 19 2012, 09:29 PM)
Ah, my bad for not stating my budget, thanks for the links given in the info though. I might not be able to stretch my budget until around 5K for now. Probably around RM2K?

Regards,
ziafang
japanese then.. seiko, orient.. they do make nice dress watch..
jackiewong
post Oct 20 2012, 05:18 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(andy6000 @ Oct 20 2012, 12:37 PM)
[attachmentid=3110761]
nice watch there.. thumbup.gif .. I saw the Stormchaser dlc glow in MV.. the lume damn nice.. drool.gif

This post has been edited by jackiewong: Oct 20 2012, 05:19 PM
jackiewong
post Oct 24 2012, 08:20 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(AceOfSpades @ Oct 23 2012, 07:14 PM)
Hey all sifus, what is the retail price of the new version of Ball's diver? The engineer master II diver. what kind of discount can i expect for ball watches? thanks!
There is 1 shop in MV ground floor opposite of uniqlo can get roughly 25% for ball.. u may go there n have a look..
jackiewong
post Oct 26 2012, 10:00 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 26 2012, 05:28 PM)
Amazing.. such a small country can beat US and China mainland! Eye opener for me...
If only u know that all fashion related goods in hongkong are mostly cheaper compared to any other place u can find it out of hongkong.. a small tip to u guys.. if u go there for shopping.. anything with a 30% off u can treat it as same as our 50% off.. if they give 50% off.. it is equivalent to around 70% off in malaysia as their starting price is about 70%-80% of our retail price here.. this is what I've been told by a professional retailer.. so i was not surprise with the chart..

This post has been edited by jackiewong: Oct 26 2012, 10:01 PM
jackiewong
post Oct 29 2012, 06:58 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(bosco1314 @ Oct 29 2012, 05:22 PM)
At certain degree do agree with u , but CK is not well known for watches, more on fashion n apparel. Can't reli compare with watches makers like MIDo,just my thought blush.gif

Your bro friends works there ?syok,ask him la, maybe we can make bulk order,can get cheaper price hehe
u are right.. but that is only because we are WIS and know about watches.. for ppl who dont.. they will rather judge it by the name.. and CK is somehow a wellknown name in fashion..
jackiewong
post Oct 29 2012, 10:23 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 29 2012, 07:15 PM)
if it were me id get the rollie and forget the tag. my fave in your budget is the no-date submariner smile.gif
YES!.. no date submariner is the best looking diver watch!..
jackiewong
post Oct 30 2012, 11:22 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 29 2012, 11:07 PM)
best looking divewatch is the seiko monster la.
its so ugly that its beautiful tongue.gif
and I have 1 too tongue.gif
jackiewong
post Oct 30 2012, 11:27 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Oct 30 2012, 11:05 AM)
yonggoh,

There was a small discussion on WUS some time back on the feasibility of that AP as a dive watch.
I personally voted it down because of the lack of a functional uni-directional rotating bezel and dodgy legibility underwater.

Functional dive watches should be easily operable with minimal fiddling/fumbling (even with a dive glove) and very legible at one glance (particular the bottom time measurement, which is typically where the minute hand meets the bezel indices).

That AP will no doubt look great on land, but I will probably stick to my Sub/Bond for underwater escapades if anything.

However, in that WUS discussion (and I may also have mentioned it in this thread previously), I went on to say that dive computers are usually the norm now, and dive watches are pretty much a novelty these days.
I have since resigned my Bond to the hotel room when I go under now. Plus, I look silly with a watch on each wrist laugh.gif

This huge behemoth now graces my wrist on dives

(not my wrist shot, just took that picture for size illustration purposes laugh.gif)
second this.. I nvr an AP nor PAM guy but seem like a lot of ppl hu-ha with AP and PAM.. for dive watch i will still stick to the classic look with a proper uni-directional bezel..

0.0549sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:49 PM