Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

dxjb
post Mar 23 2012, 12:02 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Mar 22 2012, 04:39 PM)
At Astro SuperSport HD 2 (Same programs as Astro SuperSport 2).

So go here to check... http://www.astro.com.my/epg/event.php?id=6296852
Most WWE HD are on Astro Supersport HD 2 (CH833)

WWE RAW is on Tuesday at 10:10 pm

This post has been edited by dxjb: Mar 23 2012, 12:26 AM
dxjb
post Mar 23 2012, 12:24 AM

807 posts

To clear up (or mess up more) about the situation reagrding Astro and EURO 2012 & also the Olympic Games 2012, I do remember a few months back when it was announced that Astro would be coming up with something new for these 2 sporting events..

The new option is for Astro subscribers who are not Sports package subscribers, BUT they wanted to watch the whole of Euro 2012 and the Olympic games, they do not need to sign up and subscribe to the sports package..they can just take up on the special offer where they would just need to pay to watch these 2 events..

it would be something like Astro Box Office Sports or something..

so what about the RM50 situation we have right now? Im guessing, and this is just a guess..anyone who is not a sports pack subscriber after 1 April 2012, those who want to subscribe to the sports pack, will have to pay RM50, and that amount will be refunded next January..

HOWEVER,

Those who do not want to subscribe to the sports pack but want to watch Euro 2012 or the Olympic games only, they can pay RM50..this amount will not be refunded to them since they are paying it as a one off..

I dont think this whole situation affects those who are already have the sports pack..whoever have sports pack now, will get to see both sporting events like usual unless they want to mess up their situation..

Thats my take..people will say Astro are making more profit..but u have to remember..last year..there were people who just subscribe to the sports pack for the World Cup and then unsubscribe..so I think this time, Astro wanna make sure they can 'Clear' profit if there are subscribers who wish to do the same thing again, they will have to fork out RM50..RM50 that Astro will definitely get..

Thats my take on this..if Im wrong then i appologise for my views smile.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Mar 23 2012, 12:28 AM
dxjb
post Mar 31 2012, 10:36 PM

807 posts

Looks like WWE Wrestlemania wont be available in HD..shame really since WWE have just acquired and started to show WWE programming in HD for 2 weeks..thought it woud coincide with Wrestlemania in HD as this is the pay per view of the year..

This post has been edited by dxjb: Mar 31 2012, 10:36 PM
dxjb
post Apr 13 2012, 01:44 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 12 2012, 10:26 PM)
Is the current promotion for B.yond PVR installation at RM150 ?
yes..until January 2013
dxjb
post Apr 22 2012, 12:28 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 21 2012, 07:26 PM)

They should've learn from Singapore Digital TV progress. sweat.gif  Anyway, i was thinking that Asthrow maybe pulled Astro @15 'cause the Euro 2012 SD channels. hmm.gif
Really? I think this is the channel that Astro least want to pull..its the most easy money making channel Astro has on its platform..our opinion is that it should stop coz its not worth a channel..but for Astro, the channel=easy RM.. nod.gif

Besides..this is not the 1st time Astro will have extra channels for football..we have faced this problem since the 2006 World Cup and yet from that time, Astro still found their way to broadcast those extra channels..

This post has been edited by dxjb: Apr 22 2012, 12:31 AM
dxjb
post May 17 2012, 01:20 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(castelloz @ May 17 2012, 12:46 AM)
Guys, i just upgraded to Astro Beyond with super pack 1 package which it says includes recording service. But when i click on the Record button, im getting a message 'PVR functionality is not available'.
U need to buy the PVR decoder which is on pomotion right now for RM150..or u could use ur ext HDD but u need to call up astro to activate that function for u
dxjb
post Jun 4 2012, 04:10 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(hawnauk @ Jun 4 2012, 03:19 PM)
all sifus,

I plan to upgrade my normal astro to astro byond and may I know is this FOC provided I return the old decoder, smart card but no satelite dish as I'm living in a condo where centralised dish is provided.

arigato!
Not sure if there has been any changes, but from what I know before this, condo residents need approval from the management to install byond..if ur condo already has byond dish, then no problem n yes it is FOC..

Correct me if im wrong smile.gif
dxjb
post Aug 9 2012, 12:05 AM

807 posts

hello Jamesleetech.. smile.gif

I need some advice and I hope I can get it from u..

I am using Byond PVR..everyday from 2pm to around 7pm, some of my channels will be lost and out of service as if it was raining when in actual fact, its bright and sunny outside..some of the channels affected are TV3, Astro Warna and ESPNEWS to name a few..

As I have faced this problem before at my grandparents home, I know this is a dish alignment problem..at my grandparents home, the problem was that their dish was not properly mounted on to a concrete platform or wall..it was mounted onto the zink/genting on the roof and the way I fixed it myself was I put a piece of wood to help maintain the dish in its proper setting..once every 4-5 months, I would go up to the roof and fix the wood again and there would be no problem..

However, as for my dish at home, it is properly fitted like any Astro dish would to a wall/concrete..I have had this problem ever since the day I got my PVR installed back in April..

What I want to ask is, if I was to call Astro and ask for a technician to come and fix this problem, would they come? I once tried calling them and they tried to help me pout fix it by trying to remotely change the satellite settings and all..I trued but I knew it wouldnt work and it didnt..so would they come if I explained to then that my dish needed realigning? would they charge me for this? or should I go to a nearby Astro dealer and ask for their help?

My preferred choice would be for me to fix it myself..however, i do not know which part of the dish I should go and touch and fix..LNB or dish and if so, I dont know which position/angle it should be directed in..and I am scared that I would make things worse..

So what should I do? your advice and feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Aug 9 2012, 12:06 AM
dxjb
post Aug 10 2012, 12:31 AM

807 posts

Thank you very much for your in-depth explanation that I greatly appreciate..No disrespect to other experts here, but I feel a lot more comfortable getting some advice from u..and sorry for being too direct blush.gif

As a summary of mine to ur questions, these are the things I feel are important..

1) April 2012, I upgraded from Byond to Byond PVR with the 500gb hard disk inside..previously for around two years since I upgraded from old Astro to Byond, I never had this problem..

2) If Im not mistaken, when I upgraded from old Astro to Byond, my satellite cable was not changed..and at that that time it was already 10 years old..and the thing is, my cable runs from the 'side' of my house, to the middle portion of my house as I live in a corner lot terrace house..I can estimate how long the distance form the dish to my TV is, but my point is, when I upgraded from old box to Byond without changing the satellite cable, it never caused me any problems..everything that was supposed to be changed, was changed like the dish and all..

3) When I upgraded to Byond PVR, I knew about the two LNB output so yes I paid attention to that point when it was being installed..however, what I did not know was whether the installer changed my old satellite cable..i definitely know the installed the new one to make it two cables running to my PVR box however, I do not know whether both cables are new or just one of them..my gut feeling and from what I remember, maybe one old and one new..if thats even possible..I cant honestly remember

4) I dont use a splitter so for me that is out of the window

5) Yes, it is the same channels that will are affected everyday and approximately at the same..I will do what u asked me to do first..those 6 steps u noted down before calling Astro should the problem still occurs..

My gut feeling is still that the installer did not align my dish correctly because I have gone through the experience before at my grandparents home..same channels, same time, everyday..gosh I hope I still had a pic of how ridiculously the installers fixed the dish..need kayu to support the whole dish from kendur or hanging..that was a case off them being malas..coz for God's sake there was concrete walls to the left and right of where they positioned the dish..they were malas to do the drilling and all..and some more, old folks home, so they think nobody will climb the roof to see their shoddy work..and heck, my grandparents home is not kampung kayu house ok! in the middle of PJ some more..! but hopefully they wont be facing that problem anymore coz my atok recently fixed his leaking roof, and he asked the Indon contractor to move the dish to the concreted wall..and its even properly aligned..!heck Indon can do better work than the so called Astro technicians..no need expensive satellite gadgets and all! laugh.gif

Anyways, I will give it some time, hopefully the next two weeks and do the survey u suggested..will also check the cables to see if got any problems before reporting back here and calling Astro..useless to call Astro now..they will just say no technicians, or after Raya only can come fix.. shakehead.gif will wait after Raya only do the calling..

Again thanks man for ur useful advice and again I really appreciate it notworthy.gif
dxjb
post Aug 10 2012, 01:00 AM

807 posts

Can I just ask another question? To anyone who has the inside track on this or have knowledge about this..

Is it costly, hard/not beneficial for Astro to do something with their season football like they are doing with the Olympic channels right now? What I mean is, set up extra (temporary) channels, maybe just for the the weekends, to cater all the football they can show?

Im asking this is because, Astro sometimes are on the end of football fans bashing when there is more than 1 match being played at the same time..usually Astro will pick the more important matches or sometimes they favour the more popular leagues like the EPL or Spanish La Liga..when that happens, the other match will either be delayed or not shown at all..sometimes, it may take up to three days just to watch a delayed telecast and by that time, its already old news..this will usually drive the fans of the match not being shown mad..u can usually see this on Astro's FB on most weekends..these fans will demand an explanation from Astro as to why they are showing their beloved team on delayed since they also pay for Astro and so on..

N sometimes, Astro are also blamed for sacrificing other sports just to cater their football coverage..some times the non-football fans will still want to watch their Formula 1, or tennis or badminton etc..they too will not be happy when Astro favour football

So my question is, an its an honest question that I just want to know the answer, whats holding Astro back from doing an Olympic style channels just maybe for Saturday, Sunday and Monday to show football? If they could do that, they would probably avoid being attacked by fans whose teams are not shown on TV or by fans who just dont like football and want to watch other sports..

Is it the costs? bandwidth (although I dont want to get too technical on issues like this), hard to manage so many channels? not enough space? Astro do have the rights to many football leagues if not all..theyre the only ones who have them in Malaysia so why not utilise it? They paid for it..

SkySports in the UK and many other sports broadcasters around the world give their viewers the option to pick and watch what match or what sport they want if they are many of them being played simultaneously..does Astro not have that in them? (honest question) nod.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Aug 10 2012, 01:08 AM

0.0235sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:33 PM