12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 07:50 PM

684 posts

Hehe... nice chit chat you guys have over here.

Yes, I fully agree that channel 109 @ 15 is useless for me... I mean for old guys like me... but may be popular for teenagers and young adults who spent their parents money on chatting there without understanding how difficult it is to earn it. Hehe... wait till they left school to work. My sis locked the channels that she feels are not suitable for her children. Anyway, I have no right to "teach" any parents on how to bring up their children because I remained single due to my handicap.

Long-time Assteruk subscribers will remember the previous time when Assteruk have the game channel where people used premium priced sms to play the stupid game in that channel. Oh my dear god... paying RM 0.50 or RM 1 just to make a single move in the game !

Hehe... watching Titanic (Part 2) on Fox Premium Movies 433 now (07:28 pm 17-04-12). Missed this great 4 part mini-series previously. The 5.1 surround sound is great, vocals from the center channel is slightly over emphasized, rear surrounds are okay, channel separation between the main left and right is good but should be improved more. Yea... 5.1 surround audio quality depends on the HD source and should not always be the fault of Assteruk.

Anyway, in my opinion, about 70 to 80 % of the time, the picture and audio quality of Fox Premium Movies is one of the best. Hehe... I know others here will feel one or two others have the best quality so I do respect such opinions.

I am continuing watching the mini-series Titanic and waiting for Part 3 or 4 to hear only a few (I think) explosions and bass effects when the cruise liner begins to sink and breaks into two. Will see just how good is this mini-series HD source for LFE low bass from my sub-woofer speaker. Somehow the colour is a bit de-emphasized with light colours which are not so strong and vibrant when compared to the Titanic movie (1997) shown in cinemas long ago. The skin tone colours are okay. Maybe the producers want to project a a historical period atmosphere from 1912. Mmm... can't wait for the blu-ray release in Sept 2012.

Well... its the 100th year anniversary of the cruise liner tragedy so this is why Fox Premium Movie is showing the mini-series. This mini-series concentrated more on the "story" so I don't expect big bangs and booms action when compared to the 1997 James Cameron movie.

Peace... carry on the chit chat while I continue watching the mini-series till 11:00 pm. cool.gif

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 17 2012, 07:52 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 08:15 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 07:39 PM)
who know what screw are being use on astro beyond decoder?

I am not using Byond PVR, only using Byond decoder. There are 3 crossed screws behind the Byond, one screw is holding the HDMI port.

If you have not lost ALL the 3 screws, and only lost 1... then remove one of the other 2 and find a replacement that matches this from a hardware shop.

Or, if you know an Astro installer and is able to contact him/her, maybe you can request that installer to help find the correct replacement screw.

Sorry for being not much help here. Maybe others here can offer better help.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 17 2012, 08:17 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 08:21 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Apr 17 2012, 08:16 PM)
why dont u snap a photo of the screws and head down to jalan pasar to find? should be good.

Snapping a photo is not enough because he needs to know how long is the screw and how thick is the thread lines on the screw. The best is to get the actual screw from the remaining ones and show it to the shopkeeper in Jalan Pasar. All the 3 screws behind the Byond decoder should be the same type. Hehe... he will have problem if he lost all 3 screws and have to bring the whole Byond decoder to the hardware shop to find one that fits.

ADDITION
Oops... you are right... he can always put a ruler next to the screw and snap a photo. Sorry.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 17 2012, 08:28 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 08:56 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 08:27 PM)
its strange coz in the middle got some tiny dot, i think its has to be an allen key but have to be hollow in the middle

Funny, I did not find any tiny dot or small round hole at the back.

I snapped a photo of my Byond back as shown here (inside spoiler)...

I got my Byond in 2010 so your one maybe slightly different.

I hope you did not open up anything. If the "dot" is already there on the date of installation then maybe it is for technician use. I don't know the actual answer. When your Byond is working properly, it is better not to "touch" anything that you are not supposed to.

If you just want to know why the "dot" is there, then maybe you can ask your installer. I also don't know.

I am curious... so is it possible that you snap a photo of your Byond back and post it here ?

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 17 2012, 09:02 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 09:40 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 09:13 PM)
i mean this screw bro..

see that dot inside the screw?

Oh I see !

My Byond have the same type of screws as yours (no pun intended).

Its actually a screw with a special head with 6 "fingers" in the shape of a flower. We need to have a special screwdriver to fit into this screw properly to open the casing. The special screwdriver have a tiny protusion in the centre to help it "grab" the screw better and prevent slipping.

Such screw heads make it more difficult for people to open the Byond casing eventhough it can be done. Nowadays, many products used special screw heads to make it difficult for anyone to open the casing.

This is what I believe so I may not be correct. I think its only important when we want to try opening the case, then damaged the screw or lost it.

I don't know what actually happened in your case. Yea... I am guessing that you have tried to unscrew, managed to do it and damaged the screw head... and cannot screw it back again ? If this is the problem... then you can just try to find a screw with a normal "cross" type head but the screw must be the same length, thickness and screw thread. I think the "tiny" hole is not important.

Yea... finding the exact screw head is difficult and you may never find it.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 17 2012, 09:51 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 17 2012, 10:23 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 10:04 PM)
in my case, i just wanna open the box

Yes, understood. Hehe... I also want to know what is inside, such as what chips are used, etc. The only problem is to find the suitable screwdriver to open without damaging the screws and without showing any signs that the box have been opened ! The warranty sticker can be removed using special chemicals that can lift the sticker without damaging the sticker or glue, my installer friend told me.

The Byond box, Byond PVR box and smartcard technology is provided (and maybe manufactured) by Pace Ltd, a UK firm.

I google searched and could not find any photos of the insides of Byond box. I will continue to look for the photos.
jamesleetech
post Apr 18 2012, 11:22 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 17 2012, 10:37 PM)
thats y i wanna open it, and share here too hehe..hope i can find the screwdriver soon huhu

I cannot promise anything now so you can still continue to find the correct screwdriver needed.

I have ssshh... very quiet inside source (I cannot reveal the person's identity) from a friend of a secret friend who have all the tools and all the decoder boxes. I don't even know who that person is because I respect my friend's decision to keep that person's identitiy a secret.

Anyway, no promises so I have a very good chance of getting these... Byond box, Byond PVR and Byond DMG (for schools)... that is opened and snap photos of its internal boards.

If I can snap the photos, then many of you can avoid taking the risk of warranty issues and termination of account. Eventhough I have a very very good chance, I say again that I do not promise 100% that I can get the "opened" boxes to snap photos which should be a few days or a weeks time because that person is not from my location.

I believe many of you here also want to have a look inside, hehe ! If anyone here feel that showing such photos is not proper or wrong, just reply with your complain with proper and valid reason and I will not post them later. Anyway, I think its not illegal to snap photos of the genuine product and show it... the only possible action is to terminate the account of the subscriber who have violated the terms and conditions by opening the casing. Its NOT piracy or illegal act that include reverse engineering, illegal hardware duplication, hacking of software, etc.

After having said that, I can now post a few photos of the PVR Easi external harddisk box which was "lent" to me. Actually I have taken the photos a few weeks ago but I promised that person not to show them until its officially launched a few days ago.

Unfortunately I do not have a professional digital SLR camera so I used my 8 megapixel phone cam to snap the photos.

I believe some people have seen the PVR Easi before and have it too but have never seen inside !

Here are the snapshots of PVR Easi which I have reduced in size and quality (inside spoiler)...

Some PVR Easi Product Information

Enough said and will wait for my friend to receive the "boxes" from that unknown person, hehe. Again, no promises.

Legal Declaration Notice (inside spoiler)

cool.gif

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 19 2012, 03:29 AM
jamesleetech
post Apr 18 2012, 11:31 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 18 2012, 10:05 PM)
Apa pasal Rais Yatim mahu cakap tentang ni sedangkan Assteruk diberikan monopoli secara melampau selama melebihi 15 tahun !

Sama pemikiran seperti menyatakan dulu oleh Rais Yatim bahawa Assteruk tidak berhak untuk menaiki harga tanpa memberitahu pihak berkuasa. Lihatlah apa berlaku... Assteruk membantah dengan mengatakan bahawa kelulusan telahpun diberikan terlebih dahulu. Apa akibatnya ? Senyap sunyi kemudian. Kalau berlaku terhadap saya, sudah tentu saya rasa amat malu.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 18 2012, 11:41 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 19 2012, 07:34 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Apr 19 2012, 03:50 AM)
This concept will launch what starhub is doing (look at the current euro 2012):

http://www.starhub.com/euro2012.html

Look under mio tv singtel subscribers

I think you pay starhub and you get to watch it on mio tv, lol..

"Making It Easy for SingTel mio TV customers
No need to get another set-top box. Subscribe for UEFA EURO 2012™ with StarHub TV and watch the tournament on your existing SingTel mio TV set-top box!"

I think there's a very BIG difference between Singtel+Mio pay TV and Free-To-Air (RTM, TV3)+Assteruk satellite pay TV !

* FTA : Free-To-Air TV stations

Yes, I agree its a good thing that the 2 pay TV broadcasters share the costs and benefit subscribers... BUT this is between 2 Pay TV broadcasters.

I will use an example to explain what is going to happen for people in Malaysia when that idiot Rais start this in May 2012.

Previously and currently, RTM or TV3 have always telecast live (or delayed) for various events, opening and closing ceremonies of the Olympic Games (remember the Beijing Olympics 2008 ?). Already these FTA TV stations have always continued to choose some events for live telecast and they have paid Assteruk for the rights. I can still remember watching the Beijing Olympics Opening Ceremony live telecast on RTM2 and was also shown on Assteruk.

What Rais said is that all Free-To-Air TV stations "could choose what event they wanted to broadcast" and that means these FTA stations CAN choose any or ALL of the events for live telecast. What the FTA stations need to do is find enough sponsors to pay for the live telecasts. I know its not likely but what happens when the FTA stations found enough sponsors to telecast ALL the events live !!

I think there is a "hidden" reason why Rais wanted this. FTA stations used sponsors to pay and viewers get to watch more free live telecasts. Assteruk gets to make more money from FTA stations who pay and existing Assteruk subscribers still continue to pay monthly fees to watch the same live telecasts that other people can watch for free now. Because Assteruk subscribers already paid for the live telecasts, Assteruk can charge less to FTA and the FTA sponsors can pay less... a Win-Win for everyone except Assteruk sports pack subscribers.

It sounds so nice and goody good when Rais said ... "enable all sporting events ... to receive wide coverage" and "enhance integration and unity in the spirit of 1Malaysia" but I think this is bloody as* bull-shit ! Sorry for my bad language.

Do you think its fair to existing Assteruk subscribers to Sports Pack who still continue to pay the same monthly fee when others (who did not subscribe to Assteruk) get to watch even more FREE live telecasts ? *@!?+&% Grrrrrr !

FTA stations have always been able to telecast "delayed telecasts" and "late telecasts" so there is no such thing as monopoly in this area by Assteruk. What is the most important effect from Rais decision is primarily the "Live Telecasts" which can grab the most viewership and earn more from higher advertising revenue.

Its totally different for people in Singapore. Both Singtel and MIO are subscription based Pay TV companies... you can subscribe to Pay-Per-View Pack for Euro Cup 2012 from Singtel and get to watch eventhough you are a MIO subscriber. This a Win-Win situation... Singtel and MIO share costs and profits and the subscribers from both sides are all happy.

Is MediaCorp TV an FTA station ? I have not been to Singapore for more than 25 years so I hope I am right.

Anyway, I am using MediaCorp TV only as an example. What happens when the Singapore government said that Singtel and MIO cannot limit or stop MediaCorp TV as FTA station from choosing and getting any, some or all live telecasts. If this happens in Singapore, Free-To-Air TV stations can find enough sponsors so that most Singaporeans can watch lots of free live telecasts... and Singtel + MIO subscribers who paid S$ 58.85 are stupid idiots. Unless I am really a football gila fan who can watch ALL the live telecasts, then paying to Singtel is not stupid. If I am not a gila fan who cannot find time to watch all the live telecasts... and if I know that I can watch 50% live telecasts from FTA, I will be very stupid to pay when I can watch for free. I am just using Singapore as example only BUT Singapore do not have Rais Yatim in their government. Sorry if I have offended any Singaporeans here.

When you mentioned... "This concept will launch what starhub is doing"... you believe what is happening in Singapore is similar in concept to what is going to happen in May in Malaysia. Its a different concept in Singapore when two Pay TV shared cost and profits to benefit their own subscribers. Its a different story between Free-To-Air TV and Pay TV.

I am giving my personal opinion only and when I inform my sister later about this, I believe she will feel like a stupid fool and shout unfair eventhough she cannot cancel Sports Pack because its included in SuperPack 3. For me, I am 2000% NOT going to pay RM 50 special one-time fee to Assteruk to watch London Olympics 2012 when I can get to watch more free live telecasts from RTM, TV3 or NTV7. Even if there is not enough of sponsors to get more live telecasts, I won't pay... PERIOD !

Thanks for your info and sorry for being a bit rough in my reply here. Only a bit hot at Rais, hehe.

Somehow I am getting a bit fed up of the constant stupid S A T U M A L A Y S I A appearing everywhere for sooooo many years... even got 1Malaysia Mee Goreng ! Lain kali, kalau saya rebus telur, saya boleh menganugerahkan telur ini sebagai Telur Satu Malaysia dan kalau rebus 2 telur, Telur Dua Malaysia dan seterusnya. Ya... saya amat bangga sebagai orang Malaysia tetapi bukan kerana slogan 1Malaysia.

ADDITION
When NJOI was initially launched, many of you already knew that we have to pay one-time charge of RM 388 including installation and no monthly subscription forever for a miserable 18 TV channels.

But I wonder how many of you here actually know that Assteruk gave away NJOI package totally for FREE to the first 1000 people who subscribed ! Pay nothing for the Byond decoder, dish, smartcard, cables and installation ! That means a total of RM 388000 as lost expenses for Assteruk and more bandwidth used totally for free. I do support the NJOI special package as it will benefit more people who are poor BUT I am not happy when 1000 NJOI subscriptions are given away totally free to anyone (poor or rich).

This totally free first 1000 NJOI subscriptions were quickly finished within about 1 week !

Each time our government spends money, taxpayers like me are paying for it. Now I feel the same thing when Assteruk gave away totally free for the first 1000 NJOI subscribers ! I have even actually heard of one stupid subscriber who got everything free (as one of the first 1000 NJOI subscribers), and complained about too few and lousy channels to watch... and then cancelled his forever free subscription... and then returned everything !

Nasib baik pekerjaan profesional saya berkaitan dengan bidang komputer dan tidak bekerja dengan Assteruk... jika tidak, amatlah sakit hatinya kalau bekerja dengan Assteruk !

Because of my huge post, when replying, please use spoilers or just refer to my ID name without any quotes. Thanks.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 19 2012, 09:06 AM
jamesleetech
post Apr 19 2012, 01:37 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 19 2012, 09:40 AM)
Agree with you James,Rais thinks he has done a good job and perhaps trying to get more attention,he is one of the useless ministers still in the cabinet,Your theory is correct,our system is different,Astro still benefits most,next is media prima NOT RTM which is basically useless.Note MP is not on NJOI again there is a dirty tactic here!TV pendidikan sold to astro,so what abt that?!!* 18 channels from family pack are free on njoi but we still pay 37.95 as entry fees!
Note also its not all games some semi finals,finals...etc !ASSTRO is still the winner,Good job rais!!
http://www.skmm.gov.my/attachment/pdf/Min_...orts_Events.pdf
Looks like this is not mandatory its still an option to FTA stations to carry the games or not!
You mentioned... "Note also its not all games some semi finals,finals...etc !"
My reply... its all events/everything for the Summer Olympic Games, Commonwealth Games, Asian Games and a few "ikan bilis" games. Yes for football such as... only Semi-Final and Final matches of the FIFA World Cup... and some other selected Cup matches.

Rais used his ministerial powers to enforce an Act into law making it mandatory for any broadcaster who bought telecast rights to the listed games and matches to sell rights to any FTA broadcaster.

Of course its not mandatory (only an option) for FTA broacasters to buy because they need to find advertising sponsors to pay for the purchase of telecast rights.

The issue here is that... its completely mandatory for any broadcaster (Pay TV and FTA) who bought broadcast rights to sell these rights to any FTA broadcaster who have the ability to pay. Its 100% that Assteruk as Pay TV have enough money to outright purchase all rights to become the "Official Broadcaster"... so with Rais law... its MANDATORY for Assteruk to sell live telecast rights to any FTA broadcaster. When any FTA broadcaster (such as TV3) found enough advertising sponsors to pay, then Assteruk MUST sell the rights.

Yes, FTA is only allowed to buy the rights for Semi-Final and Final matches of the FIFA World Cup but its different for some listed games such as the Summer Olympics. For the Summer Olympic Games, the door is completely opened... if any FTA can find enough advertising sponsors, it may be possible that most or a big percentage of the events and matches to be sold to FTA and .... THAT... is not fair to Assteruk subscribers who paid to watch all the Olympic Games events.

At first I may be thinking of paying RM 50 special PPV pack to Assteruk for the London Olympic Games BUT after what Rais have done, I will not subscribe now. I will just wait and hope more and more advertising sponsors come in to support FTA so that I will have a good chance of watching more events to be telecast live. Why should I pay when I can watch much more free live telecasts of a lot of Olympic Games events. If this happens, I pity the Assteruk subscribers who have paid for the Sports Pack / SuperPack.

Selling of rights is mandatory, Buying of rights is only an option. This is what the ministerial enactment signed by Rais means.

There are a total of 37 channels in Family Pack included in the basic lowest subscription of RM 37.95. Nat Geo Wild, AXN and many others are not included in the NJOI 18 channels so the NJOI free subscribers cannot have the same enjoyment as those who paid for the normal basic subscription.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 19 2012, 01:42 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 20 2012, 07:35 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Apr 19 2012, 06:25 PM)
When a Mio subscriber pay to Starhub to watch Euro Cup 2012 by subscribing to Starhub PPV package, what Starhub will do is relay the transmission to Mio so that the Mio subscriber can be able to watch Euro Cup. That means Mio is also using its infrastructure to receive relay broadcast from Starhub and then transmit to Mio own subscribers. When Starhub received payment from Mio subscribers, I don't believe that Mio will not get anything (zero income) to benefit Mio subscribers because Mio also have costs too. I can be sure that Starhub and Mio already have signed joint agreement that Starhub receives payment from Mio subscribers... Starhub keeps a portion of the money received as broadcast rights payment and returns the balance back to Mio. Starhub gets to make profit from broadcast rights payment and Mio also gets to make a profit too. There is no need for Starhub to let any subscribers know anything about the joint agreement between Starhub and Mio... so Starhub can choose not to show anything about this at their website. What Mio and Starhub subscribers are only interested is "pay" and get to watch the games.

I don't think Mio (as Cable Pay TV) is stupid to allow use of its own infrastructure to benefit its own subscribers and did not get back anything from Starhub who received payment from Mio subscribers. Mio is a business corporation and not a charitable organisation.

For FTAs in Malaysia, they have never and will never open new temporarily TV channels to telecast any global sports events such as the Olympics. FTAs such as RTM and TV3 will only slot the live telecasts into their own channel schedule.

You say that "pay tv vs FTA will not be possible for now". I have a different opinion. Its not only possible, I believe that it will happen. I have so many examples and scenarios to explain my belief but I will try my best to keep my post here short.

As an example... Olympics have football as an event. In Malaysian time, (1) Japan vs USA match starts at 6:30 pm, (2) France vs Brazil match starts at 10:00 pm and (3) England vs Italy match starts at 1:30 am. If these 3 matches are preliminary round matches, previously Assteruk can say no to RTM to live telecast (2) and (3) matches but now Assteruk must allow it. The only question is whether RTM can get the advertisers and sponsors to pay for all three. Its easier to get sponsors for (2) and (3) because of much more viewership potential. So, previously people only get to watch (1) for free from RTM but now we can watch (2) and (3) for free. RTM may not choose (1). There are so many individual events in Olympics that are popular so Assteruk (as Official Broadcaster) cannot deny RTM (who is ready with advertisers/sponsors) to pick and choose much more popular events. Now RTM have the right to choose more popular events that advertisers/sponsors like and willing to pay.

What will happen is that more live telecasts can be broadcast by FTA because Assteruk cannot say no ! Actually it is not Pay TV versus FTA. Assteruk already have income from its subscribers, so can sell rights slightly cheaper to FTA and make more money. FTA can pay slightly less and make money from advertisers/sponsors. More live telecasts allowed to FTA means Win-Win for both Pay TV and FTA ! Okay... who loses ? People get to watch more live telecasts for free but Assteruk subscribers continue to pay to watch the same live telecasts.

Yes, its not possible for ALL the events to be broadcast live from FTA because of various reasons. You already know why FTA cannot simply open new temporary channels. I do know there are problems faced by FTAs such as RTM with only 2 channels by trying to fit live telecasts into its program schedule but there will still be lots of opportunities to fit more live telecasts. I have already given the Olympic football example to show such opportunity. Rais have opened the door to FTA to pick and choose so I can expect more live telecasts from FTA which is unfair to Assteruk subscribers.

My point.... when FTA can pick and choose now, FTA can get more advertisers/sponsors for more live telecasts... people can watch more free live telecasts (wonderful !)... Assteruk subscribers pay to watch the same live telecasts (unfair !)

You mentioned about "maybe a better chance with digital TV". It may still be quite far into the future and is not related to the present issue here. You may ask why ?

Terrestrial Digital TV transmission uses a higher frequency spectrum which future TV channels will use after the lower frequency spectrum of analog TV is discontinued. Terrestrial Digital transmission replaces the existing analog ones. This frees the spectrum used by the analog transmission so that mobile phone operators can use for 4G services. In Malaysia, if I am not wrong, 2013 is supposed to be the year where all FTA changes over to digital transmission.

Maybe more space is available for more FTA channels in this "digital" spectrum but I honestly don't know. When RTM1 and RTM2 channels switched over to digital in the future, we may not see new RTM3 or more channels because of costs. Also, we have to look at the issue of nationwide coverage too. Much much more time is still needed to upgrade the existing infrastructure such as upgrading the equipment of all the existing repeating towers located nationwide. What about the broadcast equipment for digital transmission ? What about the existing LCD/LED TVs that still do not have digital tuners ? What about providing digital tuner boxes for TVs that do not have digital tuner ? New latest generation TVs are now sold with digital tuners but most people in Malaysia with LCD/LED TV still have analog tuners so an external digital tuner box is needed. Our Astro Byond box is already a tuner which receives digital satellite transmission and outputs digital signal to the LCD/LED TV HDMI connection... but the TV tuner inside the LCD/LED TV that receives the signal from TV aerial is still analog, hehe. I believe that there are already a very few models sold in Malaysia that have digital tuner inside. Oh... even the TV aerial may need to be changed too. Hehe... I believe many people still do not know about all this and many haven't even heard of "digital TV channel"... don't believe me ? Just ask anyone from the pasar malam or kedai kopi... especially the older people. Oh yeah... some may say Astro is digital TV channel... yes... from satellite but not from TV aerial.

As you can see from my explanations on the terrestrial digital TV transmission, there are still lots to be done for nationwide coverage. Will complete in 1 year ? Nope. 2 years... nope. A few years... maybe. In 10 years, possible. I don't know ! All I can say is maybe a few more years. Nationwide digital TV transmission in 2013.... are you kidding me ? So lets hope but you can forget about it now.

Yes, I do know that RTM already have test digital channel now. Anyone heard anything about TV3 test digital channel ?

* I will clarify later about your "And I do not understand why you say more bandwidth is given free?"... I am a bit busy.

NOTE
I have just received 3 "boxes" from a "third" party. I am a bit busy but will snap photos of Byond, Byond PVR and Byond X Plus (for schools). When done, will post photos later.

Here is a small sample photo of Byond PVR that I quickly reduced in size...

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 20 2012, 08:02 AM
jamesleetech
post Apr 21 2012, 01:56 PM

684 posts

I am not from Klang Valley where some parts in this area can receive the digital transmission. From what I read from many websites and blogs, the RTM terrestrial digital test transmissions had always been DVB-T and DVB-T2 only and tests started sometime in 2006.

New Correction : Added DVB-T2... I rechecked some info... so maybe RTM will choose DVB-T2 and such test transmissions may have started (I don't know).

This was announced by the Malaysian Deputy Minister of Information (at that time) Lim Siang Chai on 5th October 2005. About 2,000 households had been selected for the pilot project, and about 50% of them were given set-top boxes to receive the digital signals.

You can read and follow the sequence of past events here...
http://www.dvb.org/(RoxenUserID=96fa9beffb5deca643d842a74d96b993)/about_dvb/dvb_worldwide/malaysia/index.xml

Well... we all know these are RTM terrestrial digital test transmission only which means it can be on the air for some months, off air and went "missing" later, and then on air back again much later. No need to explain why the test transmissions goes off air (missing). Many aspects need to be tested such as broadcast transmission equipment capabilities, signal strength over the coverage area, quality of signal, TV aerial type compatibility, etc. When tests are completed, transmission ends. After a few months, when new tests are needed, transmission again starts which maybe on different frequency.

Unfortunately I am in Pahang so there are lucky people in Klang Valley who got to watch the test digital transmissions.

Here's a link from a tech forum...
http://forums.techarp.com/general-hardware/25004-my-dvb-t-experience-compro-u2800f.html

Here's a Youtube link of RTM TV2 terrestrial digital test transmission...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elLMwXxyKxs

Here's a Wikipedia link about RTM TVi (not RTM TV1)...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TVi_(Malaysia)

According to the report in Wikipedia about RTM TVi... refer to link above... the RTM channel TVi on Astro Channel 180 was used and multiplexed and transmitted on UHF frequencies (channels 44 and 46). Mmm... what I don't understand is... digital TV transmission is supposed to be in a different frequency spectrum so why UHF spectrum is used ? So is it VHF spectrum that will be discontinued and replaced by mobile phone 4G ? Or have I misunderstood the portion in the report that mentioned this, which I quote here (inside spoilers)...

Interesting development of events for terrestrial digital TV transmission which shows that it should be launched officially in the future. As I have always said before for Cable TV, the same and most important question for me is... when will terrestrial digital TV transmission become nationwide ?

I cannot verify how accurate or how true are the contents from the links I posted here so please take note of this.

There are lots of information on this topic of terrestrial digital TV transmission in Malaysia in the internet. I cannot post all of them here.

I believe the RTM terrestrial digital transmission test TV channel or channels will still continue for short periods into the future... so when it goes "missing", it will come back again a few months later (maybe on different frequency), and then go "missing" again... and so on.

I have used the term "terrestrial digital transmission" which is not the same as "satellite digital transmission" to prevent some people who may misunderstand it to mean Astro. Terrestrial digital transmission uses ground towers over-the-air transmission to the TV aerials on our rooftop. Satellite digital transmission uses satellite dish to receive direct from the orbiting satellite above, no ground towers used. Yes, both types are digital transmission but the delivery methods are different. I am only talking about the "digital" type here so, of course, the technical specifications of satellite transmission is more complex.

* Please feel free to correct me if any of my info or comments here is/are not correct. I don't mind as I also learn from my mistakes.

cool.gif ...back to my source codes, cracking my head on a bug inside, hehe.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 21 2012, 03:55 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 21 2012, 10:28 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 21 2012, 07:26 PM)

They should've learn from Singapore Digital TV progress. sweat.gif  Anyway, i was thinking that Asthrow maybe pulled Astro @15 'cause the Euro 2012 SD channels. hmm.gif
Here are my own personal opinions.

Yes, I agree that they should learn from the Singaporeans or even from the Thais ! What I mean is ... learn to have the right work attitute to put more effort to learn, to be hardworking (not to be lazy) and must learn to be much more efficient and productive, lol !

The coverage area for the Klang Valley is much smaller than Singapore but yet, RTM is slow by taking 6 years just to test terrestrial digital TV channels since 2006 !! Maybe (I don't know) RTM is waiting for 2013 or 2015 as launching date in Klang Valley. Maybe for others, its not slow... but for me, its slow.

Obviously Singapore is a small country with a much much smaller nationwide coverage area than Malaysia. To be fair, its much easier in Singapore to implement new TV transmission technology such as terrestrial TV transmission, Cable TV, IPTV, superspeed broadband, fiber cables infrastructure, etc. So its not easy for Malaysia for nationwide coverage. It is obviously easier to upgrade existing equipment on ground towers for terrestrial digital TV transmission but what about fiber cables for nationwide use for cable TV ? Oh my dear god ! Cable TV using fiber cables may not even be nationwide !

Maybe I expected too much but the reality of the situation as shown by the 6 years of testing terrestrial digital TV transmission in such a small area in Klang Valley do not give me much confidence that nationwide terrestrial digital TV channels will come soon... I guess maybe only happen after 2018 ! History is repeating itself... RTM first started "black and white" analog transmission in 1967 so do anyone here remember how many years it took for colour transmission to become nationwide ?

My personal views on ABN (inside spoilers)...

Yes, probably the reason that Astro @15 was terminated maybe due to not enough channels available for Euro 2012. Well... I can also suspect that Assteruk wanted to reduce costs to make more profits... so that Assteruk can pay less royalty payments for MTVs and because of increased costs from Celestial HD and Kixx HD channels ! Bring in 2 new channels and take out 1 lah ! Next time, maybe bring in 4 new channels and take out 3 existing channels, lol !
jamesleetech
post Apr 22 2012, 07:48 PM

684 posts

Was tied up a bit in some work. As mentioned in my previous post, here is a set of 4 photos of the insides of Byond box. Will post Byond PVR and Byond X Plus later.

Unfortunately, I tried to find a way for some time but could not detach the heat sink on the Byond CPU because the sink clamp is soldered permanently on the board. Refer to photo No. 4. Too bad I could not find out what CPU chip is used. Mmm... could it be a Sigma or Realtek one or custom one from Pace ? The Byond box is still a working unit so I was told by my friend not to "damage" anything or remove any board screws. Picture quality is not so good due to 8 MP snapshots from my android phone.

Byond Internal Photos inside spoilers here...

Legal Declaration Notice (inside spoiler)

jamesleetech
post Apr 22 2012, 07:49 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(chikana @ Apr 22 2012, 04:27 PM)
ABN = Another Bullshit & Nonsense....
he ha he ha... ka ka ka ka ka notworthy.gif or I can call it as Asian Bullshit Network. Hope they don't sue me, hehe.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 22 2012, 07:58 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 24 2012, 04:13 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Apr 23 2012, 10:15 PM)
hey guys,

not sure this is the right thread to ask this or not, if wrong kindly redirect me smile.gif

wondering are u familiar with the AEM xtra link 2 device? was wondering does the device transmit IR signal only or it transmit Audio/Video as well?

Is the AEM Xtra Link 2 the same one shown in this picture (inside spoilers)...

If its not the same, all my explanations below may be useless. I hope not.

This is a "Made In China" product, lol ! I contacted my helpful online friends and got the above photos found somewhere... I think should be obtained from the internet. Yes... this device also transmit and relay audio+video by using co-axial cables, not network cables. The same type of cable used for the TV aerial and satellite dish.

If you wish to use this device with your Astro decoder, then "maybe" you have posted correctly in this Astro Byond thread. I cannot answer if you intend to use this device for other purposes.... so I will only reply on using this device with the Astro decoder box.

There are many such similar devices available in the market which basically allows us to share the same satellite TV channels on more than 2 TVs. There are many poor quality ones with low specifications such as AEM Xtra Link 2 or higher quality ones which support HD with HDMI port. Expensive ones uses wireless to transmit even HD such as the Sarowin device.

This AEM Xtra Link 2 (same as others) have 2 separate units... (1) the Coupler unit which connects to primary source and sends audio+video using 75 ohms co-axial cables to (2) the Injector unit connected to the 2nd TV.

Mmm... its easier to explain AEM Xtra Link 2 connections using graphics instead of words, as shown below (inside spoilers)...

There is a problem here... if you are using Byond or Byond PVR box ! Both Byond and Byond PVR box do NOT have RF output as shown in picture below (inside spoilers)...

Therefore, you need to connect the RCA out (Red, White and Yellow) from Byond or Byond PVR box to a "Line to RF signal converter box" and then connect to this device. I am not sure but I believe there will be a problem with the IR signal when connected in this way because the "convertor box" may not relay the IR signal to the Astro DMT box so you may lose remote control use in the 2nd room !

There will be NO problem if you use the old Astro DMT box as shown in above picture because it has RF output so its a "direct" connection to the device.

I don't know whether this device use a different RF frequency output from the one used in Astro DMT box RF out. If its different, you must use the 2nd TV to find and lock to the device RF frequency which is easy by using auto search on VHF and UHF wavebands.

Please take note of these points when you use co-axial cables to carry RF signals from the device (inside spoilers)...

I am sure you already knew that many people have been using devices similar to the AEM xtra link 2. Usually many people refer to the device "IR transmitter/emitter" for remote control use as "Cat's Eyes".

As usual, I have explained too much when you only asked "does transmit audio/video or not". I repeat, if its the same device... the answer is... Yes. Sorry for my over-explanation here.

Note: If others find any mistake here, please correct me. I don't mind so that we can give better help to "turion64".

cool.gif

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 24 2012, 07:28 AM
jamesleetech
post Apr 24 2012, 06:18 PM

684 posts

http://costablancasatellite.blogspot.com/2...or-showing.html

http://www.satandpcguy.com/forum/showthread.php?66504

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 24 2012, 06:43 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 24 2012, 06:42 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Apr 24 2012, 02:45 PM)
Thanks so much for ur very detailed explanation! The answer is spot on!hehehe
Indeed I am going to use it on beyond and this device seems to not very suit my requirements.
Will definitely look for the sarowin device... Thanks bro!
My pleasure. You are welcome. Mmm... I am already hooked on HD and Dolby Digital 5.1, blu-rays with 1080p picture and DTS-HD Master Audio/Dolby True-HD/DTS Hi-Resolution... so SD video and stereo audio is not my preference now. The only analog stereo audio that I will forever love is the audiophile sound of LPs from turntables when I got addicted as a teenager in the seventies !

╠═╬═╣░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░▒▒░╠═╬═╣

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 24 2012, 10:57 AM)
Good and very detaild explaination but a bit inaccurate on how it operate. I've been using this device on Asto Byond for more than a year already. The device does not retransmit RF TV signals but inject additional RF signal for IR control onto the passthrough RF cable instead. On the receiving end, it detects the control signal and retransmit it via IR LED to control your Astro Byond. My connection is like this: Byond --> RF converter --> IR  coupler --> IR injector --> remote TV. I use it to control from my mater bedroom both Astro Byond located in living room and CCTV DVR in family room. I use 1 injector and 2 couplers for this purpose.
Thanks for your feedback.

Maybe I did not explain it clearly which caused some confusion. Yes... I already knew how this AEM device "carry" the IR signal (transmitted from the Astro remote control in another location) to the primary location that resides the Astro box.

Just like what you mentioned but I will explain more about the AEM device signals...

Under normal situation, the Astro remote control transmit IR signal wirelessly directly to the IR Receiver inside the Astro box to control its functions.

IR signal means Infra Red light signal. The copper inside the co-axial cable cannot carry light signals. Co-axial cable can carry RF (Radio Frequency) wave signals.

The AEM Injector (using its own IR receiver) at second location receives the IR signal from the Astro remote control... "converts" the IR signal into special RF (radio frequency) signal at a pre-set Radio Frequency (VHF or UHF)... and sends this special "converted RF signal" back to the AEM Coupler which reconvert this RF signal back to IR... and then transmits as IR using the AEM IR Emitter... so the Astro box will obey the Astro remote control commands. This is what I can call as upstream direction "special" RF signal from Injector to Coupler.

The Astro box RF output sends RF signal (for audio+video) from AEM Coupler to AEM Injector so that the second TV can receive the same TV channels as the first TV. This is what I can call as downstream direction RF signal from Coupler to Injector.

With both cross-streams (upstream and downstream) of RF signals... one is RF signal (audio+video) and the other is the converted RF signal (from IR signal)... both radio frequencies used different channel frequency to prevent signal destructive interference along the same co-axial cable between the Coupler and Injector. Mmm... I don't have this AEM Xtra Link 2 device with me... so that I can borrow an Oscilloscope to test which MHz frequency is used by the "converted RF signal" from IR, hehe. Just curious only.

Here's a graphic illustration of using a "Line To RF Converter" with Byond Box...

One thing that I am sure now is that the IR signal will still work when a "Line To RF Converter" is used for the Byond box. Previously, I was not sure but later I realised that the IR will still work as shown in the above graphic illustration, hehe.

╠P╬E╬A╬C╬E╣ cool.gif

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 24 2012, 06:56 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 24 2012, 06:57 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(penanghomes @ Apr 24 2012, 06:01 PM)
www.astromurah.blogspot.com

If you want to advertise sales of products and services for yourself or for others, please start a [WTS] sales thread in the correct section. For example... Garage Sales. Please read the guidelines of this forum.

This thread is in the "Special Interest - Home Entertainment" Section which is not a sales of products and services thread.

The person who started the blog as shown from the quoted link you posted, not only provided info on Openbox satellite receiver, he also intended to use his blogs to sell, as shown in this portion from that blog with mobile phone contact given (inside spoilers)...

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 24 2012, 07:14 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 24 2012, 07:25 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Apr 24 2012, 07:09 PM)
Bro, u seem like very knowledgeable in the technicality of Audio/Video..
Btw, have checked out the Sarowin products, although it fits my requirements flawlessly, pricewise is beyond my budget..
Gotta resort to using Ethernet(LAN) cable to wire it manually instead smile.gif

Thanks. Mmm... seem to be but actually only a bit knowledgeable.

I did mention that Sarowin HDMI wireless device is very expensive. Yes, you are right... I forgot about the LAN option which is much cheaper. Using good quality LAN cables is important.

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0697sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:30 AM