4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V3, RRP RM2299

heavenhell
post Nov 18 2011, 10:11 AM

649 posts

Just bought my note ytd , if want to root need to update firmware to KK1 first ? mine is KJ6 now . First time using android , any noobie guide for rooting and what apps to dl ? Thanks smile.gif

heavenhell
post Nov 18 2011, 11:32 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 18 2011, 10:36 AM)
Not necessary to upgrade firmware. You can root it using zergrush exploit:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2111529/+560&#entry46812706

His guide also has instruction how to root plus install CWM too - just make sure you download the right kernel matching yours

You can than upgrade your firmware after root ; some users has reported the root will remains with firmware upgrade. If you want to have better assurance, you can upgrade firmware first than root

Refer page 101, post #2001 - I have listed some of the apps I have installed on my note . Use it as a reference guide
thanks , btw i read about Chainfire root as well ? any difference from that with the zergrush ?

heavenhell
post Nov 18 2011, 11:56 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 18 2011, 11:39 AM)
Zergrush exploit perform ROOT only while Chainfire CFRoot will give you root plus auto install Clockworkmod recovery ( CWM)

Some explanation of what is Clockworkmod recovery ( CWM):

What is Recovery and how is it different from ClockworkMod Recovery

Thanks , will look into it.

BTW , anyone know how to share internet connection from PC to phone ?
I am using YES 4g dongle only .

This post has been edited by heavenhell: Nov 18 2011, 11:56 AM
heavenhell
post Nov 18 2011, 02:01 PM

649 posts

what is the use of USB debugging ???
I connect the usb to my pc , but my laptop did not detect anything , just charging only ?
heavenhell
post Nov 18 2011, 03:41 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 18 2011, 02:11 PM)
install kies?  I think need the driver inside Kies installation to be able to use even the basic USB storage, correct me if i am wrong.  sweat.gif
QUOTE(entaro @ Nov 18 2011, 02:30 PM)
uncheck that USB debugging for the PC to detect the Note...
thanks smile.gif
heavenhell
post Nov 18 2011, 04:15 PM

649 posts

any recommended seller for micro sd in garage sales ?
heavenhell
post Nov 18 2011, 05:24 PM

649 posts

erm what security concern ? warranty void ?
sorry newbie here smile.gif
heavenhell
post Nov 18 2011, 11:19 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 18 2011, 08:34 PM)
I checked Penang SEP no stock at this moment.  cry.gif
no stock meh ? I tot their stock just arrived on thurs ? as I pre ordered with them earlier smile.gif
heavenhell
post Nov 18 2011, 11:58 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 18 2011, 11:40 PM)
I think all allocated to pre-ordered. Need to wait for another batch probably next week. So you got the free flip case as well? Did you pay pre-order fees or you have paid in full?

Added on November 18, 2011, 11:42 pm

30th? Do you mean you pre-order now but only can get at 30th Nov?  shocking.gif
need to pay deposit rm200 , and yeah with free flip case .

QUOTE(Innovation @ Nov 18 2011, 11:47 PM)
i guess maybe he book fr the white colour
white one is here already ? from SEP ?
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 12:40 AM

649 posts

anyone know how to share internet connection from pc to Note ? try to set up ad hoc network, but note unable to detect ad hoc sad.gif
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 02:13 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 19 2011, 11:55 AM)
Just book the note from the reseller. 2 years warranty plus free flip case. Will go and get it later. Can't wait  rclxms.gif
penang reseller ? or sep at 1st avenue ?

BTW , the screen can only rotate when texting , or view pic etc ? cant rotate at home screen or lock screen ?

This post has been edited by heavenhell: Nov 19 2011, 02:14 PM
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 02:38 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 19 2011, 02:36 PM)
You can rotate your home screen but not the lock screen.
You can use your Note even without update your firmware first. For stock rom phone you can update by FOTA
setting > about phone > software updates
how can I do that ? I have set the auto rotation on , but only rotate while I am texting or viewing pic etc , home screen or application cant ? sad.gif
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 02:59 PM

649 posts

first avenue need pre order lol , I pre-order on sunday and got it on thurs smile.gif , btw tskhor pls check pm smile.gif
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 03:02 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 19 2011, 03:00 PM)
My homescreen and apps drawer on auto rotation
damn I cant do that sad.gif , anyone know whats wrong ? zz

btw what is the 3 icon on ur top left screen ?

This post has been edited by heavenhell: Nov 19 2011, 03:03 PM
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 03:11 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 19 2011, 03:09 PM)
I use Go Launcher EX and LauncherPro without problem though not as smooth as on SGSII. Try it..!!
You can auto rotate your homescreen by enable your auto rotate button on the notification taskbar.
3 icons - screenshots app..lookout antivirus...stock battery saver
already set the auto rotate ON , but only rotate when I am texting , viewing pic etc , not on home screen or application screen sad.gif

edit : do I have to use 3rd party launcher in order to get the home screen rotation ?

This post has been edited by heavenhell: Nov 19 2011, 03:15 PM
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 03:21 PM

649 posts

oh ok thanks smile.gif
For the android market , do I need a gmail account ? or ?
sorry new to android here smile.gif
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 03:33 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(whoknow88 @ Nov 19 2011, 03:27 PM)
Yep , when u open ur new android phone , it will ask u to sign in Gmail one .
Oh ok , thanks smile.gif
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 04:09 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(jjamain @ Nov 19 2011, 03:35 PM)
firmware upgrade guide with photo

http://jjpda.blogspot.com/2011/11/how-to-u...e-firmware.html

Added on November 19, 2011, 3:53 pm

Please save you contacts, calendar, email, task, note on the cloud... you got a new phone.... login to gmail..you will get back you contacts.  DO NOT save to phone..
erm sorry what cloud ? newbie here , previously using 5800 , so no idea about all this lol .

heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 04:26 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Nov 19 2011, 04:18 PM)
My only fear is that "media scanning" will take a significant amount of time to complete. The Note replaces my iPad 2, so I'm filling it up with music, TV Shows and movies. Shame that Android file system only supports maximum 4GB file size. :/
erm max 4gb file ? means if the HD video over 4gb , it wont play ? or ?
heavenhell
post Nov 19 2011, 04:35 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Nov 19 2011, 04:31 PM)
It will not copy over. You'll have to break your file into chunks. Very messy.
hmm nowadays 720p movie also almost 4gb already , break into chunks cannot la like this lol

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0472sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:06 PM