Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

Lester1987
post Jan 17 2012, 11:47 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(roci @ Jan 17 2012, 11:38 AM)
Lester, Where do you work in singapore? so we no need to pay for income tax yet during our first few month tenure in sgapore?
Singapore income tax structure is "if your annual income exceed $20k, then the tax will kick in." since for the 1st year if ur pay is below $20k, then there is no tax for you.
Unless your pay exceed $20k then you need to declare and pay tax. sorry for looking down on your pay. i forgotten that LYN got a lot of powerful ppl earning more than $10k per month.
Lester1987
post Jan 17 2012, 05:29 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jan 17 2012, 05:15 PM)
Hi everyone, MOM has increased the minimum salary requirement for E and S pass. I received a job offer of $1800 monthly salary which is 200 less than the MOM salary requirement for s pass. so i was just wondering if i should apply for work permit instead? has anyone of you managed to get approval for s pass even though you're getting less than the $2000 requirement?
applying for which pass is not your choice, its your employer that is choosing for you. i manage to get an EP even my pay doesn't hit the required ceiling.
leave it to your employer to decide what pass they are going to apply for you.
Lester1987
post Jan 18 2012, 10:05 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(zeropulse @ Jan 18 2012, 08:25 AM)
how's living in JB like? Everyday travel to sg burden or not?
living in JB is just like living in any part of Malaysia. You get the Malaysian feel when u were there like (mamak stall, shopping centre like Tesco, Jusco, cinema that has all the new movies)
traveling is not really that bad. if u can ride a bike, then just ride a bike in. it takes around 20-30mins to queue at the immigration, other than that its normal travel. so u just need to spend 30 mins extra per trip to enjoy the benefits of spending RM and earning SGD and also super cheap rental compare to SG.
Lester1987
post Jan 26 2012, 02:19 PM

2,017 posts

i am jobless at the moment. Will start job hunting now.. Any call centre or help desk job recommend? 3-4 years experience.
Lester1987
post Jan 30 2012, 11:20 PM

2,017 posts

Just went to a recruiter for interview today, that c*bet say my pay so high already, hard to find another job, this la that la, i got no qualification la. arghh..
really feeling like giving her a slap in the face, she say even diploma holder gets around $1.6-$1.8k only.

anyway, to those that will be going for interview, stay firm on what u are asking for. there is always people that will think u are worth that much.
Lester1987
post Feb 2 2012, 11:07 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 2 2012, 09:48 AM)
Well I understand they are not hirer.. But by personally going to their agency company may let them know that ... I'm really interested in this job area, and hope they can help me on this. Even more they will understand my personal education and working background even better. I just worry whether they are okie to "entertain" people like me if I actually go there next Monday.
seriously, i see no point doing so. recruiters are trying very hard to get candidates to work for their client. they are more desperate than you do.
because they earn commision base on the pay u get from your future employer. in fact, my recruiter actually scare that i would not take up the job offer and ask me to promise her that i will take up the job when she can fight for X amount of salary for me (which is the highest her client can offer).

QUOTE(metalslug @ Feb 2 2012, 10:20 AM)
Yeah, got my PR already. Waiting for the letter to come now...  rclxm9.gif
congrats
Lester1987
post Feb 2 2012, 12:47 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 2 2012, 11:56 AM)
It is true... They do get commission based on their client. But with so many disadvantage towards the malaysian who are applying singapore job. Its better to personally go there and submit resume to show sincerity. Unless you have a good qualifications background. I don't see there is any bad for going personally to submit resume. I don't like sitting duck waiting them to respond. I must take some actions too if this carries on forever.

You can say this is a passion of going to Singapore work.  laugh.gif
seriously, i have gone through that before this. i even wanted to accept a $1.5k job when i am desperately looking for jobs in Singapore.
too bad that company still doesn't want to hire me. then i just continue my normal life in KL until 1 day someone called me form a recruitment firm.
they say they have a $2k++ job in hand and ask me to try it. i completed the 1st interview and when they ask me for a 2nd interview in Singapore, i rejected them.
i told them its hard to get bus/ air ticket because its festive season. so in the end they do the 2nd interview on the phone and hired me.

what i am trying to say is when the time comes, people will definitely see you. if that thing is not yours, no matter how hard u try, u won't get it.
don't push urself too hard. as long as you desire to work in Singapore, just apply it in jobstreet, jobsdb or monster, people will come to you.
don't waste your time doing something that might not be beneficial at all such as coming over without a job or interview.
Lester1987
post Feb 2 2012, 02:16 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 2 2012, 01:41 PM)
Oi, come back from Taiping already lar? Talk things so deep? Cannot understand leh.... laugh.gif

Added on February 2, 2012, 1:47 pm
You must tell people that happened in which year? May be that year, economy is good and many jobs desparate for staffs. So, you sit in your house toilet also will get some durians dropped from the ceiling.  tongue.gif  joking...

To get what we want, we must be proactive. If today, i am jobless and have not enough money to buy food, suddenly, i saw a $100 notes on the floor and i was so lucky to pick it up and i can take care my problems for the next 2 -3 days. So, now, should i go and look for a job or look on the streets instead hoping to pick up another $100 notes? I can tell myself, yesterday, i picked up one, so, why not today? The answer is yesterday, there is an unlucky fella dropped a note, but may be not today. Situation may have changed.....
In fact, economy is actually good this year. I believed that sg newspaper just show that there is 54000 jobs available in the market now. So if you say economy is not good this year, it's not accurate. In fact I am also jobless and I get my new job in less than 2 weeks time.
Lester1987
post Feb 2 2012, 10:23 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(edlonsc @ Feb 2 2012, 05:12 PM)
Hey, Lester u got your job already? rclxms.gif
thanks for asking.. got my new job edi.. will start work soon smile.gif

Added on February 2, 2012, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 2 2012, 02:22 PM)
Huh  shocking.gif ...did i say economy no good??  hmm.gif  getting old maybe.....

Good or bad economy, TS and you is 2 different story, you may want to get a job pay you $2,000, but TS may want a better paid job. A lower paid job is a lot....a well paid job may not come easy.....if no extra effort is used, how you going to get a better job? But hor, even though you try hard, but good job may not come also, but there are still some si beh lucky fella can get it effortlessly, but hor, dont follow that way hor, always try hard and not wait for luck knocking your door, but if luck do come by, we always welcome it, and i waiting my lady luck tomorrow to take home the 10 million ang pao..... drool.gif
if that is the case, he might as well just take a lower paid job and set his foot in SG 1st. then start looking for other company to jump ship.
some company will not hire ppl that were still in msia because they scare that the candidate will not live comfortably in Singapore and cabut after 1 month.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Feb 2 2012, 10:25 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0559sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:23 PM