newmediaward.com, The New Media Award 2005

TSsiaukia
post Oct 22 2005, 10:05 PM, updated 21y ago

1,491 posts

Regards there,

http://www.newmediaaward.com

Recently completed one of my first massive interactive piece, using flash, and i'm still an amature in learning as2.0 and other aspects in flash, it's an interesting project for me, since i'll able to face massive challenges in between, the compromise of size vs quality vs cpu load.

And there's indeed a lot of headache in developing the structure for the site using script to dynamically link the transition and content, compared to the lengthy processs of manually animating it. But i'd seriously treasure the experience workingtowards this project, it seriously gave me a big 'headache' lol, in both good and bad way. And it has gone through several optimization because at the earliest stage, the site would use up my 50% cpu load at the main page! (on a 3ghz machine!) lol, that's because i realized there's tons of MCs inside using onClipEvent(enterFrame) for all the dynamic scripts
silly me, but well,i think should slap myself for that..i learnt the hard way...

I'm still looking forward to patch holes around, and it's really hard for me to find any place else that i can optimize for the site, C&C most welcomed!

Thanks and salutes,
SiauKia
alvin_the_chipmunk
post Oct 22 2005, 11:59 PM

329 posts

nice work. Loading time a little bit long. Hmm, i wonder the whole thing wont be so dragging if you publish at higher frame rate? I am not sure though...

I am always a little bit b****y towards an 'all flash' site. Mainly becuz its not accessible by many - screenreaders, people without flash players (or different version), dial up users and no keystrokes support. Flash content is also not searchable by search engine.

But i like the artwork and effort you put into this smile.gif.
StonerJuan
post Oct 23 2005, 12:49 AM

309 posts

It looks really good! Yeah alvin you're right the animation does look like its dragging and one more thing you know the title "the new media award" it looks like its just there for the sake of being there.

What i really like about the site are the simple touch ups you did like the snow and all. Overall kudos well done. Couldn't have done it better myself.
dinodog_Jr
post Oct 23 2005, 02:13 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

very standard cool site...Good effort u spent into this..

the preloader is something big size. (do u try saving ur images in photoshop >save for web )

Jst the radial zoom effect ..dun seems smooth.. Give it More Radial Blur. Der are tutorial teachin u how to make Cool radial blur zoom in animation. I think it is the Animation frame timing. Try shorten the Timelines when the final image is goin to show out.

And, i like Flash~~~ I learnt flash to do my first website. I skipped html class.

For a Movie site..Using Flash thing is more eye candy.
StratOS
post Oct 23 2005, 07:54 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

Not bad the flash, very cool the whole webpage. The animation suits the webpage well...
TSsiaukia
post Oct 25 2005, 09:27 AM

1,491 posts

thanks lot for all the inputs, yeah, for those with sharp eyes and sensitivity would already have notice the flaws on the frames and blending frames, i've to force myself to delete the frames away and opt for this decision because , the time contrainst and though i've deleted so many frames (around 40%!), they still insist and think that the file size's far too big ;s

well, nvm, it's my fault.
dinodog_Jr
post Oct 25 2005, 09:47 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

hmm..yeah, ppl look at it ..talkin like day & night. Der is lotsa trouble behind the stage always in some Looking Nothing Big deal's matters.

The preloader alone oredi stands 600Kb, rite?

Ur preloader only got the Graphics Frames opening animation, rite?
ANything more inside it?

THe rest of sub-menu mc are having faster loading speed.
soggie
post Oct 25 2005, 10:40 AM

Braindead
3,872 posts

Well done! I like the paper styled theme, overall the animations and everything are good. If the images are sharper, or in higher resolution, then it would be much better. Personally I think the text are a little too blurred, especially the orange ones on the frame.

I like the preloader tho.

Usability and accessibility might be a problem tho. But I guess alvin had already elaborate so I don't need to reiterate his points.

Good work!
april
post Nov 2 2005, 01:05 PM

358 posts

overall is really good...how u do the menu?very nice?got any tutorial for us?
TSsiaukia
post Nov 2 2005, 09:37 PM

1,491 posts

will write up tutorial for the menu soon, but in the meantime you'll have to understand how 'function()' works in flash

you need to have basic understanding in flash's event model

http://myflashportal.blogspot.com/2005/10/...n-in-flash.html

dinodog_Jr
post Nov 2 2005, 10:42 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Nov 2 2005, 09:37 PM)
will write up tutorial for the menu soon, but in the meantime you'll have to understand how 'function()' works in flash

you need to have basic understanding in flash's event model

http://myflashportal.blogspot.com/2005/10/...n-in-flash.html
hee..thx man..

Now i learn a little basic idea about Function ..

Can u share more bout Basic AS tutorial?

I really hope to sponge something useful..

Btw, when & where u will use FUnction more?

p/s: How do i maintain a static look of Flash_Btn-clicked(Such as 'Down' btn), then the HTML content will update after clickin on flash built btn.
TSsiaukia
post Nov 2 2005, 11:58 PM

1,491 posts

hmm, hard for me to explain it in a while here, but to give you a brief idea, function are used almost everywhere in a flash movie, almost all the time, and it works best just like a recycle paper, you use and close it and use it again.

for that button you mentioned, you can use 'labels' for it, to tell flash whenever use click on the button, it'll jump to another label and etc etc, maybe i'll cover that for the basic as.
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 3 2005, 02:30 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

good..pls feel free to do one.

I can't find anyway to do it..
wantanseller
post Nov 7 2005, 11:20 AM

anonymous
1,565 posts

Most of the transitions and animations seems very similar (playing with alpha, brightness, and position).
Some of the imported images are not clear (esp. lion head shield) and same goes for the text.
The 'New Media Award' text in red just spoils the mood and feel in contrast to the rest of the serif / medievel font types.
The 'In theaters 3/8th December 2005' text is too well blended with the background. Need to scrutinise closely to read which is a no-no. Same to be said for the inactive options like 'low' and 'med' (why not leave it as 'medium' since you have the space anyway?)
Personally I would've made the background darker.

But regardless, it's very very good for a first one and you seem to be on the right track smile.gif.

0.0144sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:15 AM