PlayStation Kopitiam | V11, PS3 Firmware 4.50 Released

terryfu
post Jan 2 2013, 02:26 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(menghua84 @ Jan 2 2013, 01:40 PM)
bought ps3 a month ago and bought the ps plus for asia region for 1 year.. then only i realized that there's difference between region for ps plus.

is it worth it to buy ps plus for other regions also? which one is better? US or UK? other region have so many free games!! sob sob..
I have PS+ US, PS+ UK, and PS+ MY now. 1-year subscription costs as much as 1 game but will net you 10+ free games for the whole year.
terryfu
post Jan 3 2013, 01:58 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jan 3 2013, 01:27 PM)
US PSN PLUS gave free NBA JAM on fire! hell yeah!

really reminds me of NBA2K times on Dreamcast
EA closing servers on NBA Jam. Not sure if it includes NBA Jam On Fire or not.

http://www.ps3trophies.org/news/news-8675-...This-Month.html
terryfu
post Jan 3 2013, 02:11 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jan 3 2013, 02:01 PM)
doesn matter for me as i dont play online..dunno why i dont like to play online..antisocial kot
Even Solid Snake needs some friends bro tongue.gif
terryfu
post Jan 4 2013, 10:59 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 4 2013, 02:43 AM)
Can say bye bye to our PlayStation Store thread and Console Garage Sale if this gets patented -

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/y2013/0007892.html
http://www.gamechup.com/sony-patent-new-te...and-game-sales/

TLDR version: Sony has found a way and has filed for a patent to suppress second-hand games.

And yes, that entirely means locking one disc to one console.
Not sure whether to support or don't support. I can understand why developers are peeved because instead of getting revenue for 100k people who are playing their games, perhaps only half of them would pay while the other half would buy it 2nd hand (whereby the developers don't make money).

On the other hand consumers should have the rights to do whatever to their physical discs they bought (just like any other material stuff eg Blu-ray discs, electronics, etc.).

So the line is quite blur between selling gaming experiences vs physical hardware.

I hope they do not do it in such an extreme way as the current gaming culture frowns upon such practices. If they want to help developers perhaps another method would be an unlock key that they need to pay (at a minimal amount say USD 0.99) whenever the disc changes hands (or console). They should also factor in that hardcore gamers may have 2 or more consoles (due to YLOD or whatever reasons) hence they can't limit to just 1 console.

Let's see how this goes ...
terryfu
post Jan 6 2013, 03:12 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 4 2013, 03:30 PM)
Honestly, I doubt prices will get cheaper. It never did with each subsequent generation since the usage of optical media went mainstream (with the PS1). Development costs for games will continue to run higher, it's an open secret.
Could be leaked, but all pending patents can be posted freely by anyone on the internet until it gets trademarked.

My only hope is that the second-hand market don't die, they can cut it down but don't kill it.
Agree. Doubt if prices r to come down. If Sony prides itself of catering to serious gamers, they should factor in this issue.

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Jan 4 2013, 09:09 PM)
what "if" 1 console 1 game

imagine you got 50 title game...and you have 50 console as well laugh.gif
LOL laugh.gif

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Jan 6 2013, 12:42 PM)
my ps3 gen1 starts to show some worrying symptom....each time i boot it up...it goes beeping few times wif the red light blinking and it does not boot up...

wat does this mean?

Added on January 6, 2013, 12:44 pmn jus now the system goes restart itself when loading a game n now due to improper shutdown, its checking itself for any file corruption... doh.gif
My 1st gen slim also is on its last legs after almost 3 yrs of non-stop gaming. Shuts by itself off, and having difficulty to start as well. Time to retire it. Suggest u get a back up ps3 now or send to one of the shops and see they can extend its life further. Anytime it can go heart attack on u.
terryfu
post Jan 6 2013, 11:14 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Jan 6 2013, 10:51 PM)
sigh....
on the backup thingy...i can alwiz insert the current hdd into my new ps3 right?
then thr new hdd i can use it for other purposes....
save me the trouble of transferring backup files here n there...
Shah's right, you can't do that. You need to back up on a separate harddrive and then restore backup into the new PS3 hdd. Because your current HDD is encoded to tie back to the PS3 unit so you cannot simply transfer it around. Or you can do LAN transfer as well. Or be like me, just save your games (either online or on a USB drive - note some games cannot be save on USB and only online which you can get via subscription to PS+), then later redownload all again in the new PS3. Works well if you got fast and unlimited broadband (i use this method). Backing up takes forever!
terryfu
post Jan 8 2013, 10:03 AM

514 posts

I like the pretty lady on your profile tongue.gif
terryfu
post Jan 21 2013, 02:29 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 21 2013, 01:25 PM)
You can now top-up your US PSN account wallet with Paypal. Finally!!  rclxm9.gif
Nice! Though i think some of the PSN cards rates sold in the forum still cheaper smile.gif
terryfu
post Jan 29 2013, 02:28 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 29 2013, 02:04 AM)
PlayStation Plus one-year subscription includes bonus three months for limited time

And no guys everyone who already purchased their PS+ for 1 year does not get this offer. Unless you guys bought and stack the membership for another year. US region btw. Not quite sure about other region.
That sux. I just renewed my subscription early this month.
terryfu
post Feb 1 2013, 11:55 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 1 2013, 10:08 AM)
Sony is teasing something new!
Hopefully the PS4 biggrin.gif No PSVita slim please lol!

20 More days!?!? Damn sweating in my pants now.

http://www.vg247.com/2013/01/31/ps4-playst...comment-page-1/
terryfu
post Feb 6 2013, 04:13 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(DrLaboo @ Feb 6 2013, 04:07 PM)
HELP I CANT SIGN IN TO MY PS3!!

OH WAI-
Go play starcraft on your powerhouse PC tongue.gif
terryfu
post Feb 6 2013, 06:53 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(DrLaboo @ Feb 6 2013, 06:28 PM)
suck at RTS
only owning at FPS
climbing to the top of foodchain in MULTIPLAYER ONLINE BATTLE ARENA
missing ACTION ADVENTURE

terryfu
post Feb 8 2013, 04:45 PM

514 posts

Happy Chinese New Year to all PS3 Gamers !!! Soon we will see Power Snake 4, and more Metal Gear Solid stuff smile.gif
terryfu
post Feb 11 2013, 10:32 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(Odinsama @ Feb 9 2013, 01:39 PM)
guys, help me please, how do i know bandwidth usage for online multiplayer????? it getting me frustrated everytime i play online game E.g. battlefield3, easy to DC. i have change my playtime, from afternoon to evening.. and now 1 a.m to 4 a.m... first, i play it very smoothly, no DC. but now, even 1am and above, easy to DC.. i have change from wifi to direct line... any idea?  icon_question.gif
Unfortunately that's the story of Malaysian broadband scene. Though some maybe luckier than others. I've tried so many telcos from streamyx to maxis to unifi etc and still there will be days got problems and days where it's smooth. Never particularly nail down time of day or location but Maxis home fibre so far is the best I used .

QUOTE(jeerie @ Feb 11 2013, 09:06 PM)
what happen to my game(free and discounted) if my PSN+ expired?
I nearly subscribe this...afraid it's not worth..

..ok..i'm a lazy guy to google..
U will not be able to play free games until u renew. Discounted games that u paid for is for life ( or at least until Sony stops existing).
terryfu
post Feb 19 2013, 08:06 PM

514 posts

Uncharted series is da bomb! Just finished my 3rd playthrough on Uc 2 coz I wanna play the game. The graphics doesn't seem to age at all even after 3 yrs and the cutscenes still r fresh and funny.

Here's hoping more UC goodness when PS4 comes out.
terryfu
post Feb 28 2013, 11:24 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(vahre5165 @ Feb 26 2013, 08:22 PM)
just wanna ask u guys if the BD plastic cover outside one
same size or not with ori?
some reputable seller give a broken plastic cover
my last with him after dealing w almost 20 titles frm him
Its the same for all PS3 games. You can buy an empty case and replace it.

QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 28 2013, 11:03 AM)
btw. do people still do those DLC group buying/sharing thing that used to go on back in the day?
Hardly any longer since Sony cap to 2 systems per account (instead of the previous 5). Still got some so just search around smile.gif
terryfu
post Feb 28 2013, 11:42 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 28 2013, 11:35 AM)
NOOOo!! haiz... suxxors. im DL-ing a lot of old games that i already had on my old account. hopefully i can play those. i think those were linked on 3 ps3's.... but one YLOD, one is my bros... hopefully old games still 5 accounts are ok....
Old games still ok. If not mistaken anything before Dec 2011 or around that period can still have up to 5 machines. This rule happened after the hacking.
terryfu
post Apr 1 2013, 05:26 PM

514 posts

Did someone just bump a bunch of old PSP threads? So many bloody searching for PSP threads appearing on the 1st page.
terryfu
post Apr 2 2013, 10:02 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(ajis @ Apr 2 2013, 08:13 AM)
april fool? sweat.gif

Almost got me when relyonhorror news informed that Capcom sold DMC series to platinum games and Hideki Kamiya will direct new DMC5 dry.gif
LOL, that and Journey having Deathmatch DLC and the release of PS Vita XL tongue.gif

Btw, anyone here knows who can help fix up my PS3 which went YLOD (at cheapest cost possible)? Preferably somehwhere near pj/subang. I just wanna retrieve the save games.
terryfu
post Apr 2 2013, 10:55 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(cycheah @ Apr 2 2013, 10:16 AM)
if u wanna fix, you can look for deyamato, his shop is in summit USJ.

if u wanna retrieve your save file, does it work if you place your HDD into another ps3 unit? i don't mind use my PS3 to backup your saved files (only)... games excluded as it will take hours.... i read other people backup 50+GB files take 8 hours ++++ :s
Ah yes, I think I inquired deyamato before. Maybe will have to drop by one day.

No unfortunately the HDD is tied to the PS3 and not across others (otherwise would have done that long time ago).

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.1401sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:10 PM