5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Simple FAQ for Secondary School-Leaver, Guide for moving into tertiary education

feynman
post Mar 14 2006, 06:56 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Mar 14 2006, 05:56 PM)
I didnt get credit for my maths, so thats the end of my studies ? Almost all of the courses in the colleges needed a credit for maths to enroll. Can someone name me some colleges that doesnt needs credit for maths to enroll ?

I got only 7 for it.. Im not sure why I did that badly. Sigh..
Don't even bother thinking about colleges which allow you to enroll yourself in their no-need-maths-credit mathematical based programs . You are just there because you can foot their bills.

you should retake the maths paper, you can choose either SPM or O-levels.
feynman
post Mar 14 2006, 07:16 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Mar 14 2006, 07:01 PM)
I cant bear to wait until July for the retake of the paper. Im hoping to proceed to the next level as soon as possible. Is a pass for maths acceptable ?
For me if you want to do something like engineering or a course which has a heavy mathematics content, I would say no. As I said, some colleges don't care what you get, they only want your money. In fact, even a business course would require a credit in maths simply because there are maths in the degree which require secondary school maths to build up from.

It is your future, what's the point in getting a ciplak degree at the shortest possible time?

you can take O-levels, it is some time in may or june.
feynman
post Mar 14 2006, 08:50 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Dr@gon @ Mar 14 2006, 08:41 PM)
There is a GCE-O after the English's result on the SPM result slip, I got 1A for my English but 2A for that GCE-O. What is that? Will it influence anything?  unsure.gif
not really.....it is just for show.

i don't think that it is regarded as another A.......it is just the grading of your continuous writing of paper 2.

feynman
post Mar 15 2006, 03:22 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 15 2006, 02:57 PM)
MOE is Malaysian Ministry of Education.

GCE is UK board which stands General Certificate of Education.
Actually no, GCE is a type of qualification, very old indeed. You have GCE O-level and GCE A-level. You can still get GCE qualifications in singapore, Hong Kong, Brunei, Sri Lanka. GCE O-level is obsolete in the UK, GCSE replaces the O-level.

There are currently 5 boards in the UK which offers GCEs. Edexcel, AQA, OCR, WJEC and CCEA.
feynman
post Mar 16 2006, 05:44 PM

4,781 posts

As far as I know, the GCE-O that the universities are talking about is the GCE O-levels/GCSE english. Ours is SPM, not GCE O. If you want the real one, try taking Singapore O-levels and you will see the big difference.
feynman
post Mar 19 2006, 01:13 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 19 2006, 12:29 AM)
guys, as im a spm leaver n just got my result few days ago.....n now im in a dilema of choosing which step. in the very first i wanted to pick-up medicine coarse but my result has shatter that dream......so i choose my alternative route of getting biomedical or biotech. so basically, should i pick up stpm as my mum always wanted me to enter form 6 than enter local uni......as my mum say studying a-lvl will need to spend unnesasary money on my education as my spm result isnt that good coz of only getting 1 A2.
To be honest with you, it would be suicidal for you to take STPM.Why?

Firstly, you want to do biomed or biotech. you should be aware that these two courses are very popular, as popular as pharmacy or engineering and if one wants to do either one of these in one of the public universities, one must at least score an B+ or an A- in chemistry and bio in STPM. Besides, the cutoff CGPA would be quite high too.

If you can't score at least an A2 in SPM chem and bio, it is very likely that you won't be able to cope with form 6. So in the end, if you don't get the grades, what are you going to do? It is very easy to fail STPM, it is not a joke............

you should talk to your mom and discuss whether is this the best option for you.
feynman
post Mar 19 2006, 09:45 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Shenyang @ Mar 19 2006, 02:07 AM)
Now that isn't entirely true. I got C3 for my bio and ended up getting an A for STPM.

Everything requires hardwork, just keep your goals in mind and spend the rest of your form 6 years wisely, though even that doesn't gaurantee you a place in the course you desire to pursue in.

I have to agree though that STPM isn't easy. I wouldn't dare say it's easy to fail, I would say that getting that A requires alot of effort and sacrifices on your part.

My advice, if you're willing to risk 1.5 years for a place in a local U and that you're really willing to study, take the risk. Otherwise, don't.

I don't know if it's true, but I'm told that A-levels is a little easier than STPM but effort still matters nonetheless.

Lastly.. try to explore your options. Don't ever restrict yourself to Med or other popular courses.
Assuming one does STPM in the same manner as one did SPM, do you think it is easy to fail STPM?
feynman
post Mar 19 2006, 11:45 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(misao @ Mar 19 2006, 11:06 PM)
Not only because of that... A-lvl's scope for syllabus is much less wide, also I think they are tested year by year? No need to remember all 2 yrs' worth for 1 exam.

Uhm, allen, thanks... ewww all this merging giving me headache haha..
True. It only covers things that are essential.

What is the point of learning electronics and circuit theory in STPM when only a handful will go into E&E. Besides, what is the point of spending 3 years in a university when you have more or less covered the course materials for the first year?.
feynman
post Mar 21 2006, 12:52 AM

4,781 posts

A-levels......anyone can do it so long one has 5 credits.
feynman
post Mar 21 2006, 11:49 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 21 2006, 11:35 AM)
but my result can compete with other students who has better result than me?
It is not a matter of competition at A-levels. What is important here is to score as many As as possible.
feynman
post Mar 21 2006, 01:51 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 21 2006, 12:50 PM)
i only got 1 2A
what do you mean?

It doesn't matter if you only have 1 A2 in SPM, what is important is to score As in A-levels......

I am sure you have heard about the guy behind tuitionhamster.....go and find out about him.

This post has been edited by feynman: Mar 21 2006, 01:55 PM
feynman
post Mar 21 2006, 05:04 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 21 2006, 02:25 PM)
i got no idea who is the guy behind tuitionhamster sweat.gif
then google tuitionhamster and read about him......
feynman
post Apr 12 2006, 09:34 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Sim (2) @ Apr 12 2006, 07:41 PM)
sorry to said that.. u have to retake spm again.. or u can take SAM.. that's what i heard from other forumers..
Without 5 SPM credits, you won't qualify for SAM.

QUOTE(unstoppable @ Apr 12 2006, 07:45 PM)
ok, but i found that SPM retake date closed, issit true? where can i check from?
try O-levels.
feynman
post Jul 21 2006, 02:28 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(vivek1988 @ Jul 21 2006, 01:21 PM)
all the fresh graduate from secondary school want to know about best college or university .to tell you the truth if you go to govement university you couldn't choose for the course you want the only give the course which are available . if you are applying for a course that are readily available such as IT and Biotechnology it ok but you going to apply for course which is difficult to get such as medicine and engineer i am very sorry . if you are applying for a public uni you are adviced to take stpm or matriculation but if want to apply for pr4ivate uni or overseas uni you should take A-level or american degree program . where you cant get best college for this pre u ????????????You all can check out all the college which are providing you with the pre u programme such as HELP UNI , KDU , taylor's college and many more . so if you want to know about HELP UNIVERSITY COLLEGE PLEASE FEEL FREE TO JOIN OUR FORUM TO ASK ABOUT ANYTHING OK .
Huh? What's this?
feynman
post Oct 21 2006, 01:12 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(chris_xi @ Oct 21 2006, 12:35 AM)
I am an art stream boy. But I am pretty much connected with interests that are related to science, I like Psychology & Chinese Herb, but since I am an art student, I wonder if I could apply to study anyone of them? And if so what is the suitable route for me? I am sitting for SPM 24 days later  tongue.gif , and still sorting out whether STPM for me or college life.... Thanks in advance.  smile.gif
You don't really need STPM unless you are aiming for IPTAs.

To do psychology, take a good pre-u course and apply directly to the universities that you are interested in. Otherwise, do ADP and transfer.

feynman
post Oct 22 2006, 12:43 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(chris_xi @ Oct 21 2006, 06:06 PM)
THANKS for the reply. At least now I get a much clearer view on that. According to route 3, where am I going to study for Pre-U? In the college or the private university? What about route 4, are you trying to say after SPM go to the college to finish a diploma and then transfer to private university?

Is UTP(University Teknologi Petronas) consider a private U? If so that means I can apply to enter UTP and do a foundation after SPM? In other word, SPM > foundation > Private U?
Foundation IS pre-u. A-level IS pre-u, STPM IS pre-u.......Anything that prepares you for university IS pre-u.

The only difference between them is the standard and recognition.
feynman
post Nov 12 2006, 03:09 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(huqinlehe @ Nov 4 2006, 04:29 PM)
Wat's the choice/road after A-level science?
Almost everything.
feynman
post Nov 19 2006, 02:46 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Canopies @ Nov 18 2006, 05:12 PM)
lol..hey i wanna ask...which college offers law subject which hv twining to australia university?
Almost none. But it doesn't mean you can't apply directly to the university. You just have to do it on your own without going through a twinning program of a particular college.

Law is always a subject to be done in the UK. You may want to look into that.

This post has been edited by feynman: Nov 19 2006, 02:48 AM
feynman
post Nov 29 2006, 02:03 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(hyumi @ Nov 28 2006, 11:21 PM)
hmm.. would like to compare a few foundation course..
is A-level or SAM or Mufy beter?
i dun really see the diff between them.. kinda confused..
my frenz said he regreted going in A-level because it's too hard lol..
Don't waste your money doing MUFY, if you want to do something australian, do either SAM or AUSTMAT.

Do A-level, if you intend to do traditional courses. You may be given credits in Canada, Australia, NZ and US.

Your friend is either too lazy or too stupid to do A-level. Nothing else.

This post has been edited by feynman: Nov 30 2006, 06:16 AM
feynman
post Dec 8 2006, 01:04 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Dec 7 2006, 08:41 PM)
So if i take SAM i can only go to Aus or i can go other countries as well???

I dun want to take A lvls coz its 100% end of year results and im nt fond of it..But i heard dat SAM,which is 50:50 is also tough too...

Third question: For business courses muz the person be very good in maths??

Thx for answerin my question...
Yes, you may. Don't take it purposely if you know you want to go to UK or HK or wherever.

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Dec 7 2006, 10:21 PM)
I'm thinking on going for Foundation in Engineering then moving on to EE after that. What are the job prospects of this profession? Plus what are the key subjects that are needed to get into Foundation? Good place to take up this course? Where? What if I don't meet the min req to take the course? Can I go take up A-lvs then go for the degree?
Why and where foundation?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0281sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:34 AM