Gold investment corner v4, Will gold price achieve USD2000 by 2012?

ooorait
post Nov 14 2011, 01:46 AM

554 posts

hi all gold gurus..

i interested with this gold investment stuff but..... im not understand the concept of it

how do we get the money? is there a dividend paid evry year like asb?

diff between physical gold and paper gold?
my fren said physical gold is better, but she didnt said y...

pls help me to understand it..
ooorait
post Nov 14 2011, 11:21 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(mingophoria @ Nov 14 2011, 08:47 AM)

Added on November 14, 2011, 9:09 am
Gold is kept for capital appreciation. It doen's give dividend / interest like the ASB. If gold rise u earn the profit, if gold drops, u rugi lah. Same like shares. However,Gold is a tool for hedging inflation. Money value will depreciate over time. example, 10 years ago ur nasi lemak will cost u around Rm1.00. Now price is almost reaching RM3~5. This is call inflation.
Here are some of the points of having paper/physical gold
Paper gold
1) easier to manage
2) no need crack head where to ''bury'' the gold
3) save cost in terms of spread between buying and selling
4) easier to deal. Bank will buy back in any price at their spot rate. physical Gold need find willing parties to buy and depending on your negotiation skills.
Physical
1) get to admire gold everyday
2) no need waste petrol and time go bank to keep on top up or sell gold.
3) Rumors rumors say bank will go bankrupt. Then they got no money to pay u back your money that u have invested.
    example Lehman brothers and the recent MF global.
thx for the reply... so actually physical gold is like u purchase a gold ring for ur gf and gadai it when u dont have money la??

ok from the pic attached above, it seems maybank is the only choice that i can afford sweat.gif sweat.gif

but when i open the maybank website, it stated kijang emas and maybank gold investment..
whats the different? which one is better.. one is in oz, another in grams??
ooorait
post Nov 14 2011, 12:49 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Nov 14 2011, 11:49 AM)
Dear gold taikorsssss,

Currently have 10k in hand to spent for gold investment. Should i buy at this time or wait after Christmas eve ? (read thru some opinio, the price shall be lower after Christmas)

Thanx.

Added on November 14, 2011, 11:57 am

Dont get confused easily.Its clearly stated there, there are 2 types of gold by Maybank :

1. Maybank Gold Investment account - paper gold.go and bring money to open an account.then u just hold passbook to buy and sell in grams.
2. Kijang emas bullion coins - physical gold.Issued by BNM and comes in 3 size (1oz, 1/2 oz and 1/4 oz). 1oz = 31.1 grams...it is international standard.
paper gold means we can only do transaction with the bank only kn? and kijang emas we can go and sell it to any gold shop (kedai pajak or whatever; since u said it is international standard)?
ooorait
post Nov 14 2011, 04:33 PM

554 posts

if i invest in maybank 'paper' gold, i can only do transaction with maybank only rite? coz i saw in bank website, the gold price is quite vary..
ooorait
post Nov 14 2011, 04:55 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Nov 14 2011, 04:35 PM)
yes...maybank with maybank, uob with uob and so on...btw, what do u mean 'vary'?
different between one another.. or maybe the timing is different???
coz uob selling at 180, maybank is at 184..... lebih kurang la
ooorait
post Nov 15 2011, 01:58 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(mingophoria @ Nov 15 2011, 12:46 PM)
woohoo gold drop....  faster drop somore smile.gif
peliss drop summore.. i want to enter this gold investment XD
ooorait
post Nov 15 2011, 03:01 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Nov 14 2011, 05:32 PM)
yeahh..selling price are different from each banks...u can refer to this link for comparison...

http://goldabout.blogspot.com/p/malaysia-b...gold-price.html
when i refer to this link, it seems uob have the lowest spread and price..
does this mean it is the best place to get my first paper gold?? laugh.gif
ooorait
post Nov 16 2011, 12:17 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 16 2011, 11:37 AM)
1. Wrong concept.  smile.gif
Physical gold you buy at Rm200, even the spot price up Rm10, let say RM170 to RM180, you may only can sell back at RM180, not RM210.
Who is the person to buy at RM210 from you?
Unless you become the goldsmith to sell at retail price. But this is like doing business trading already, not investment, or sell back.

The real worth of gold is based on spot price, nobody want to buy above the spot price.

Physical price is always based on spot price or paper price, there won't be disconnection issue.
As if there is, many will take advantage of the spread and correct the market back.
Market is always efficient, you let people to have change to do arbitrage, the price correction come it to reconnect back.
im sorry.. but what is spot price? blush.gif
ooorait
post Nov 18 2011, 11:16 AM

554 posts

if usd strengthen and gold drop... how will it effecting our gold price?
ooorait
post Nov 18 2011, 01:57 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(kakiayam @ Nov 18 2011, 12:30 PM)
there's alot reason for the gold price up n down. You dont need to worry so much if you holding the real gold on your hand, unless you holding a gold saving bank book with numbers inside smile.gif
y do you say so? rclxub.gif
ooorait
post Nov 18 2011, 03:06 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(kakiayam @ Nov 18 2011, 12:30 PM)
there's alot reason for the gold price up n down. You dont need to worry so much if you holding the real gold on your hand, unless you holding a gold saving bank book with numbers inside smile.gif
QUOTE(kakiayam @ Nov 18 2011, 02:37 PM)
why do you buy gold?
still havent bought it cos people say will drop summore..

just wanted to know why no need to worry if holding real gold than bank book gold..

many things i still dont know.. sorry for my noob question blush.gif blush.gif
ooorait
post Nov 20 2011, 08:14 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Nov 20 2011, 07:50 PM)
UOB, u can actually close the gold account to avoid the penalty.

next time, just open a new one...
we can close and open multiple time?
ooorait
post Nov 22 2011, 03:05 PM

554 posts

hope will drop until end of this month..
wait for xtra cash to open with mebeng =)
ooorait
post Nov 30 2011, 04:36 PM

554 posts

just open MGIA..
hoping for a good investment down the year xD
ooorait
post Dec 1 2011, 10:31 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(this.ia.a.ball @ Dec 1 2011, 10:24 AM)
I have read from page one to this page yesterday. Most discuss the gold price and time to invest and stuff like that.

Eh wat u mean by go bank do online transaction? I already have maybank2u online account. So is mean I can direct buy sell from my laptop during working office  right?
iinm, maybank only allow u to view the MGIA..
cannot topup or sell.. coz i just opened MGIA yesterday, and check it online..
nothing can be done.. pls correct me if im wrong
ooorait
post Dec 7 2011, 09:50 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Dec 6 2011, 10:04 PM)
if gold price shoot up to 2000 or down to 1200... you will see all ppl coming back
if down to 1200, then i can topup as much as i can tongue.gif
ooorait
post Dec 12 2011, 10:21 PM

554 posts

gold dropping fast now.. but sadly, my salary is not until end of the month..
hope the trend will continue until end of the month..
i dont hv enuff money to invest in physical gold..
will withdraw it for physical when i get enuff amount..
iinm, maybank allowed to convert from paper to physical right?
ooorait
post Dec 19 2011, 11:50 AM

554 posts

will paper gold lost it value?
i want to topup my MGIA, but afraid coz its dropping faster than it recovering..
ooorait
post Dec 23 2011, 07:17 PM

554 posts

hope it will continue dip until i get my extra saving to make the investment...
ooorait
post Dec 27 2011, 10:40 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Dec 26 2011, 10:47 PM)
loading up at 1600... now or never guys!!!  hands.gif  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
its dropping to 1595 now.. going to maybank after lunch hour.. thumbup.gif

0.0205sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:28 AM