benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 12:36 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Nov 14 2011, 12:34 PM)
anybody know where got selling usb OTG for note? the sgs usb OTG can be used on this?
YES, the SGS II USB-OTG cable works well
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 01:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Nov 14 2011, 01:00 PM)
Artistic.  thumbup.gif

Added on November 14, 2011, 1:00 pm
any local/LYN seller selling it?
Contact user EIRAKU , SGS II user at garage sales or at the SGS II thread
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 02:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ Nov 14 2011, 12:51 PM)
anyone can update whether the USB jig work with SG note ?
Only can put it to download mode. It will not erase the flash counters
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 02:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 14 2011, 01:32 PM)
anyone tried connecting a 2.5" mobile HDD with the OTG cable?  is the power enough for an external 2.5" hard disk?

I am thinking of using the following setup, dun know possible or not:
1. Connect the OTG cable to a USB hub.
2. Connect a SD card reader + mobile hard disk to the USB Hub.
3. Transfer file from SD card to the mobile hard disk.

If the normal USB Hub not enough power, use a USB hub with power adaptor can be the solution?

Need the above setup to backup photos taken with DSLR when going on overseas trip.

Thanks.  smile.gif
I don't think is possible without a powered USB Hub.
Even connecting directly a USB 2.5 inch harddisk ( formatted in FAT32 320 gb need the harddisk to be powered)
However if you connect to a USB hub and plug in a USB thumb drive, the NOTE can still detect the thumb drive ( I tested with Kingston 16 GB)

Added on November 14, 2011, 2:42 pm
QUOTE(syedakmal @ Nov 14 2011, 02:31 PM)
anybody know how to rearrange the dock?
refer attachment.
Open your app drawer, hit menu then EDIT.. change your View Type to Customizable Grid.. You should be able to press and hold the dock icons and swap them/rearrange out with whatever you wish

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 14 2011, 02:42 PM
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 03:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 14 2011, 02:57 PM)
hmm, wonder how much is additional battery(ori or trust-able) for note? any idea bro?
Expansys.com is selling it for £29 exclude delivery, probably about £34 inclusive delivery

Added on November 14, 2011, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(Raiko @ Nov 14 2011, 03:01 PM)
guys how to check if the note that im buying comes with 1 or 2 years warranty besides just the words that they're saying ? tongue.gif
You should recieved a SMS reply from Samsung after your seller has registered your phone with Samsung. Example my set from seller I recieved following SMS :

Welcome to SAMSUNG E-Warranty. Warranty for IMEI.359548040720703: 12/11/2011-11/11/2013. Need help, call SAMSUNG service consultants 1800-88-9999.

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 14 2011, 03:10 PM
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 07:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(moony88 @ Nov 14 2011, 05:54 PM)
i think you've helped clarified a big chunk of doubt, thank you!
so just to confirm, even if i installed a paid app for free, it would still be able to receive updates, right?
Paid apps not purchased cannot be updated through official market. When you try to update you will be prompted to pay for it. Android apps are generally cheap, support the developer and pay for it. If you can afford a rm2k phone, I am sure you can afford to pay the average rm3-10 ringgit for the app
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 08:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(syedakmal @ Nov 14 2011, 07:56 PM)
+10000000 smile.gif

btw any recommeded apps that can help slow down the battery drain? unplugged the charger at 230 pm, left 40% battery.
I have posted this earlier :
The battery life will be improved after several days of usage . For new Android users do refer my posts here page 1 post #3 Q16-Q16d to understand better battery issues and how to have better battery life

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2104508

Added on November 14, 2011, 8:03 pm
QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 14 2011, 08:01 PM)
+1 good deal must share mah. smile.gif
He already said he bought it at JB IT Fair

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 14 2011, 08:03 PM
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 08:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nicholaslbc @ Nov 14 2011, 08:19 PM)
Anyone done MNP from Maxis prepaid to Celcom before?
I submit the form and get the celcom sim card already.
Pending Celcom porting then will be a SGN user..

Agrhhh...
Anyone know how fast porting can be done?
Roadshow guy told me 1-5 days.
Cant wait to collect my SGN once Celcom line activated.
About 3 months ago, I remember I last ported my Celcom postpaid to Digi postpaid - it was done within 10 hours
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 09:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

No need to worry about battery life. Just know what to take care and how to control your data downloads ( see my earlier posts above). The battery life in the NOTE is way much better than the SGS II
It can easily last me 12-14 hours : average 2+ hours browsing, every 30 mins email download 3 email accounts, RSS, Tweeter, Newsfeed ( Greader, Newsroom) every 30 mins, weather update every 4 hours, few calls and about 10 SMS, no gaming . My 3G is always on 24/7 and most of data usage mainly on 3G unless I happen to be in WiFi area. Such usage the most I could get on SGS II was 8-9 hours
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 09:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(RaplaJingga @ Nov 14 2011, 09:34 PM)
im done changing the resolution and adjust via the sparepart for Papago. but still the resolution is not accurate. Someone can upload the file and share link here?
What do you mean resolution is not accurate ? This is only a tweak - do not expect perfect . You want a nice GPS app with beautiful, stunning, good resolution get SGIC AURA. It now cost Euro 19.99. In June I pay only Euro 9.99 for it for my SGS II. Now price increased . I first bought it in March for a unbelievable Euro 30 for my Dell Streak !!!
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 09:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Nov 14 2011, 09:38 PM)
Wow very good yr battery. mine cannot like that how come? guess i should spend time perform the battery calibration. but the method require root right?
BatteryCalibration app need root. OR you can try the LONG TEDIOUS method posted yesterday post #1133 by syedammar. I would say it is more of how you control your apps. Freeze those ( you need root) that you never used at all - especially those Samsung apps

Added on November 14, 2011, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(RaplaJingga @ Nov 14 2011, 09:39 PM)
im already have sygic also. yups. the menu is in the middle. already change the folder name to 800X1280. nvm. i'll try again. Thanks Uncle Benny. smile.gif
To get rid of menu in middle, google for those cracked Thailand version - as said earlier today, I never bother to try as I don't installed cracked apps in my phone

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 14 2011, 09:46 PM
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 09:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Someone has just posted at XDA DXKKI rom ( android 2.3.5). For those who has upgraded to it, download it and keep as security in case your phone crashed and you need to reflash your rom

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1345873

With this, I am sure you guys will see Chainfire CWM kernel based on KKI will be up soon as he was asking for a full rom to work with

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 14 2011, 09:56 PM
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 09:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Ooops !!! Chainfire has just released his CWM kernel for KKI

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1331784
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 10:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Nov 14 2011, 10:04 PM)
hi new to android here , so this kk1 is the latest firmware for note ? and now can be rooted?
Yes, you can now root plus install CWM if your phone firmware has been upgraded to KKI ( the latest for local sets ). It is a very easy process - just take few minutes
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 10:13 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(razin @ Nov 14 2011, 10:02 PM)
Reading this thread I am still in stone age...
Everyone started similar as you. I was in same position when I started to use Android , the Galaxy Nexus in June 2010. Before that I was a Windows Mobile and Blackberry user.Just spend time do some googling around, reading up the forum threads to understand more
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 10:16 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Nov 14 2011, 10:10 PM)
Uncle benny we need to buy sygic each time we want to use it on another device right?
Yes ; but you can transfer the licence over - just email them your new phone IMEI. I just transfer the licence from SGS II over to the Note. What Sygic will do will - they will delete your old IMEI and when you access Sygic the first time, it will recognize your new phone and activate it - no need to key in any activation code
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 10:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(patayabomb @ Nov 14 2011, 10:14 PM)
guys what are the first 10 apps you've installed on your Note? I have no apps at all LOL. Noob here, coming from iOS.
These are some of the common ones I have installed on my NOTE:

File Manager : Astro File Manager, ES File Explorer
EBook : Kobo, Laputa ( paid) , ISilo ( paid)
GPS : Sygic Aura ( paid )
Password management : 1Password ( free ) but paid version on my MAC
System utilities : SystemPanel ( paid), Android Assistant, Barcode Scanner, BetterBatteryStats ( paid), Bluetooth FileTransfer, Bump, ChrometoPhone, QuickSystemInfo, SpareParts, Speed Test, WiFi File Manager, WiFi File explorer, Quicker ( paid), App Protector ( paid)
Dictionary : ColorDict
Conversion : Currency Converter, ConvertPad
Weather widget : Fancy WidgetPro ( paid), Palmary Weather ( paid)
Social : IM+ Pro ( paid), Google+, TweetcasterPro ( paid), FriendcasterPro (paid)
Handcent SMS
Kaiten Mail ( paid)
Market Enabler : to fake telco to access more apps in Market
Video player : VitalPlayer ( paid ), MX Player, Moboplayer, Tubemate
Music: PowerAmp ( paid)
Data monitor : My Data Manager, Data Counter widget
News reader : Pulse, Newsroom ( paid), GoogleReaderPro ( paid), World Newspaper, News360
QuickOfficePro ( paid)
Note Everything, AK Notepad
Readers : repligo Reader ( paid), EZPDF Reader ( paid), XDA Premium ( paid)
SMS Backup & Restore
Browser: Xscope Pro ( paid ), Dolphin HD
Games: angry Birds, Scrabble, Asphalt HD
Picture viewer: QuickPic
Battery management : JuiceDefender Ultimate ( paid), Battery Monitor Widget
News: Androi Central, Engadget, Mobilekini, ChannelAsia, Newsweek, Economist, FT Mobile ( paid subsription), BBC News, CNN news
Audibooks : Audible

If phone rooted:
Backup-Restore : Titanium Backup ( paid)
Adfree : remove those annoying ads popping up
BatteryCalibration
File Manger: Root Explorer ( paid)
QuickBoot
MyBackUpPro ( paid) ( non root phone can used too but limited features)

Added on November 14, 2011, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 14 2011, 10:31 PM)
That KK1 is Taiwan android 2.3.6 firmware. Can it be use for our KK1 android 2.3.5 Uncle Benny.?
No harm trying . The most is just a failed install. I think it should work

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 14 2011, 10:45 PM
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 10:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 14 2011, 10:48 PM)
that was a nice apps
but, my backuppro can backup those app data too ??
last time used it, 50% of my apps can't restore =.=
so use titanium backup
Titanium is still the best. It is so good I paid 4 times more than the offer price just to support the developer
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 11:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 14 2011, 10:57 PM)
y need to paid 4 times ???
i tot using same gmail and login in as many android phone as u have
then download again is FOC ??
since u paid for it in that gmail @@
weird
i mean I paid 4 times more as a donation ; when the app was develop it was not available in Market yet. After beta testing it I bought it and to encourage him I paid him 4 X more than his asking price
benny888
post Nov 14 2011, 11:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Nov 14 2011, 11:06 PM)
and when i tot S2 was large already. i have long fingers, no worries in that department. just how to carry it troubles me. lol...wont block here and there once in your pockets?
Those who wear jeans might find it bulky but for those guys like me who wears baggy trousers, it fits well in the side pockets and hardly feel it. I even can fit in my previous Galaxy Tab 7" ( with casing on ) in my pants side pockets

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0710sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:27 PM