Jul 2 2017, 11:35 PM
76 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(johnlauguitars @ Nov 10 2011, 02:25 PM) DIY Self-gratifying Guitar & Bass thread I used to do it at home on my guitar, one of my friend is a lutist and he taught me how.Hi , I'm John Lau from PJ . After soooo many months on twiddling around Low yet net , I decided well.. maybe its time I gain up some guts and share some of my personal knowledge over the years . For some who already know who I am and visited my workshop , thank you . For those who dont , I operate a guitar repair workshop in PJ SS2 , I also conduct several guitar servicing workshop a year in music institutions for the past 4 years , these info are for sharing . Many times people ask "why you sharing? you not cari makan with this meh ? " , My answer is .. Not all work you need to send to a pro , many times , you can do a better job cuz no one knows your playing style better then you do . Every guitar is different , you like it or not.. I dont know if anyone's gonna read this long winded thread , but I guess its an OK attempt .. I'll try update this thread as much as my time may allow . I do have a FB page which constantly have free tutorias , feel free to add me @ JohnLau guitar repair center . For those who would like to share , MOST welcome . I'm still on a constant learning progress , would love to also hear some insights and comments or even ways to improve the DIY services . Please note also , NO SALES PITCH PLEASE This is FREE INFO for sharing . Thanks in advance. For those who have questions or discussions , feel free to contact me @ 012-2666450 or my shop line @ 03-78650722 .. But please be considerate... dun la call me after 11pm... [attachmentid=2528988] You CAN do a SUUUPER pro setup yourself ... I mean PRO !!! Thomas Nordegg ( steve vai's tech) , rené martinez (John mayer's tech) ,Mark Synder (John Petrucci's tech) .. Stay Tune . [attachmentid=2529028] For the first post i'm sharing ... its setting up a 5 string Sadowsky Bass . View Below Post. |
Jul 24 2017, 12:14 PM
3,396 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: KL |
If you ever wondered how different pickup sounds:
which ones your favorite? This post has been edited by quarantined: Jul 26 2017, 09:40 AM |
Jan 10 2018, 03:37 PM
94 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
hi sir..i have bought a starter pbass..i realised it produce some frett buzz at some frets..is it a sign of faulty bass? can it be fixed? newbie here..thanks
Jan 10 2018, 05:32 PM
10 posts Joined: Sep 2013 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(sallehsi @ Jan 10 2018, 03:37 PM) hi sir..i have bought a starter pbass..i realised it produce some frett buzz at some frets..is it a sign of faulty bass? can it be fixed? newbie here..thanks It's more likely that your bass requires a setup. If you'd like to DIY, or you'd like to understand the instrument, read: http://www.studybass.com/gear/bass-setup/ |
Jan 11 2018, 12:10 AM
94 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(raminguitar @ Jan 10 2018, 05:32 PM) It's more likely that your bass requires a setup. If you'd like to DIY, or you'd like to understand the instrument, read: http://www.studybass.com/gear/bass-setup/ Thanks for the link..I followed the instruction..much improvement |
Feb 8 2018, 12:02 PM
2 posts Joined: Feb 2018 |
Hey guys, I was planning to start playing a guitar. Since I am new here and still planning to buy a guitar I might need some help to decide which brand to buy since I am also thinking about the budget. I have been searching online and found several reviews like this one, https://musicadvisor.com/best-guitar-brands/
I am open to any suggestions and I would love to hear some of your opinions on this one:) Thanks This post has been edited by timmyjoe: Feb 12 2018, 08:02 AM |
Apr 23 2018, 02:16 PM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
feels like if i am doing it myself its like i am interacting to my own instrument right thanks for sharing
Jan 28 2019, 06:36 PM
1 posts Joined: Jan 2019 |
So nice! Thanks for sharing.
Jul 2 2019, 06:17 AM
1,576 posts Joined: May 2007 |
I don't know anything about playing guitar, just a bit of the electronics. I can't exactly remember, but I think I used the harmonics method to intonate my friend"s Ibanez decades ago. Half an hour job. |
Sep 30 2021, 11:22 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
Probation
2 posts Joined: Sep 2021 |
cool
Oct 27 2021, 09:52 AM
Probation
1 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
Tanks for sharing broo this is what the community is about
Dec 7 2021, 02:01 PM
64 posts Joined: Nov 2020 |
QUOTE(johnlauguitars @ Nov 10 2011, 02:25 PM) DIY Self-gratifying Guitar & Bass thread bump bump. #sallerbodoh #lolHi , I'm John Lau from PJ . After soooo many months on twiddling around Low yet net , I decided well.. maybe its time I gain up some guts and share some of my personal knowledge over the years . For some who already know who I am and visited my workshop , thank you . For those who dont , I operate a guitar repair workshop in PJ SS2 , I also conduct several guitar servicing workshop a year in music institutions for the past 4 years , these info are for sharing . Many times people ask "why you sharing? you not cari makan with this meh ? " , My answer is .. Not all work you need to send to a pro , many times , you can do a better job cuz no one knows your playing style better then you do . Every guitar is different , you like it or not.. I dont know if anyone's gonna read this long winded thread , but I guess its an OK attempt .. I'll try update this thread as much as my time may allow . I do have a FB page which constantly have free tutorias , feel free to add me @ []JohnLau guitar repair center[/url] . For those who would like to share , MOST welcome . I'm still on a constant learning progress , would love to also hear some insights and comments or even ways to improve the DIY services . Please note also , NO SALES PITCH PLEASE This is FREE INFO for sharing . Thanks in advance. For those who have questions or discussions , feel free to contact me @ 012-2666450 or my shop line @ 03-78650722 .. But please be considerate... dun la call me after 11pm... [] You CAN do a SUUUPER pro setup yourself ... I mean PRO !!! Thomas Nordegg ( steve vai's tech) , rené martinez (John mayer's tech) ,Mark Synder (John Petrucci's tech) .. Stay Tune . [] For the first post i'm sharing ... its setting up a 5 string Sadowsky Bass . View Below Post. you've come a loooong way bro. |
Mar 20 2023, 08:37 AM
Probation
17 posts Joined: Feb 2023 |
Guys, is ukelele recommended for a first time player?
| Change to: | 0.0227sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:13 AM |