Model Kits LYN Aircraft Modelling Thread, Death from above !!!! ......

aztechx
post Apr 21 2007, 03:14 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

hello guys!!im new to this hobby..so i guess i should start off with the ready made die cast models right?im a big fan of russian planes but everywhere i go..they sell mostly american planes only..wud be really pleased if u guys can share sum pics of russian modern warplanes models just to satisfy my cravings.. laugh.gif

i wud love to have the su 30,su 33 or the su 35 for a start..the city square shop got sell?its very near my home..can go and check out this weekend.. smile.gif

btw..are there any threads discussing about modern warplanes..i havent found anyone who is interested in modern warplanes whom i can speak to.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by aztechx: Apr 21 2007, 03:30 AM
aztechx
post Apr 21 2007, 04:22 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

hey!nice pics there!thats an su27 right?what a beauty,im drooling..are we allowed to discuss about real planes other then models here or shud we use a new thread? blush.gif

btw..what are the price range for a decent detailed plane?scared i over spend.. sad.gif

QUOTE(Mclaren82 @ Apr 21 2007, 09:15 AM)
Hi there, i used to like US plane but now I'm starting to like russian aircraft too but like you say it's extremely hard to find russian plane at shops. I just manage to get a Su27 flanker only so far and i think there is no diescast on Su30 , 33 or 35 yet . I'm also interested in Modern Warplane .
hello!u hav an su27?where did u get it?ive went to toycity,toys r' us and sum tiny stores in lowyat ony so far..nothing much there..must find sum more 'grown-up' stores if im ever going to find my beloved SUs..
aztechx
post Apr 23 2007, 08:10 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(Mclaren82 @ Apr 22 2007, 02:15 PM)
I've got it from Hong Kong, they got quite a lot of diecast there . The price range a decent diescast is RM 100 - RM 160 if you purchase them directly in Hong Kong . I noticed the Witty Wings are selling quite expensive here. I think Toy's City in Jalan Bukit Bintang got sell Witty Wings but can't remember if they got SU-27.
Yeap , its the su-27 that I have and it's witty wings.
for now id go for any russian fighter jets i can find..cant wait for this weekend!!

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 22 2007, 02:52 PM)
DW Dun hav SU but witty wings also hard to find in malaysia .........

Added on April 23, 2007, 9:10 amfuh ! last night watch a DVD ...... a russian movie hehehe talking bout military newest stealth fighter plane !! Su -27 rolleyes.gif
su 27 stealth?in the movie 'stealth' the su37actually made an appearance but was shot down like pieces of paper..i felt like crying watching that.. sad.gif

just read about the accident involving the blue angels acrobatic team..was just watching a 'lock on' game version of them a few months back..wud like to wish my condolences to the family of the deceased..
aztechx
post Apr 25 2007, 01:13 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 24 2007, 05:13 PM)
sleep.gif it was because there's no such jet in the world like in "Stealth" movie ? tongue.gif tats y they can shoot down SU37 so easy

btw this is my old collection .... i hav bought some more new plane model but havent take pic

su 37...theres only one prototype currently in the world right?

whoa..nice collection u have there..3 guesses which plane appeals to me most.. laugh.gif
the f16 in the pic..izzit diecast?

u guys are going to pay for making me drool this much..gimme a few months.. vmad.gif tongue.gif

aztechx
post Apr 30 2007, 02:05 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 25 2007, 09:17 AM)
aztechx .......... no i mean the "stealth" fighter jet tongue.gif real life where got such plane...  the 3 plane u tr interested issit 747 Hibiscus and 777 Heliconia and Airbus A380 ?  rolleyes.gif
erm..its the airasia manutd plane actually..haha..how cud u have got that wrong? tongue.gif
where did u get those MAS planes?the hibiscus one especially..
of course la that 'stealth' plane dun have in real life..if got id cut a limb to get anywhere close to it.. laugh.gif
but ive read sumwhere that theres no longer any su-37 terminators around coz sumthing happened to the prototype or sumthing..i loved that plane.. sad.gif

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 27 2007, 09:14 AM)
mdshahrs i think the size of the plane u say is around 1/400 loh ?? biggrin.gif the one i hav in the pic is all 1/400 .............

honkit ...... u really wanna buy ka ? i help u ask around ok ? i bouth this when it firslty came outl... when A380 was very hot back then... smile.gif but now i did not hear anything bout the plane anymore haha

this hanger is from a guy selling it at ebay biggrin.gif very nice 1./200 scale
whoa...what a beauty..imagine having that in my room..the lighting is relli nice in one of those pics..ive set aside sum money to start up this very interesting hobby..hope it 'takes off' soon.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by aztechx: Apr 30 2007, 02:06 AM
aztechx
post May 8 2007, 12:25 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ May 1 2007, 09:12 PM)
haha ...... eh wat u mean su-37 terminators  ? new Sukhois ?? any prototype picture ?? shocking.gif i love russian Jet...

its very hard to get those Hibiscus and heliconia  rolleyes.gif  i guess i m lucky one hehee bought it from a forumer ......  thumbup.gif
yeap..its a russian prototype which never relli when far due to the lack of funds..its looks similiar to the indian su-30MKi..

heres an image i got

more info on wikipedia..
su 37

an interesting videos on the su 37s extreme maneuverability..still need to ask why i love russian planes? notworthy.gif
Russian SU-37 Manuevers

This post has been edited by aztechx: May 8 2007, 12:31 AM
aztechx
post Jun 25 2007, 03:33 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

i saw a good mag on military planes at MPH a few days back..rm32.90 so expensive...so i sat down and read it there and then.. tongue.gif
it had a very interesting article on mig-35 and mig-29KUB..

later i went to toycity and saw an su-34 of a similiar brand to the stealth bomber posted by our frind a few weeks back..rm34.90..no money dat time..ive given up any hope of finding an su-30 model.. sad.gif
aztechx
post Jun 27 2007, 01:45 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Jun 26 2007, 12:45 PM)
wah ? y dun take some pic and share with us hahaha
aiyo..u shud have told me earlier... tongue.gif

i noticed that kit models at toycity are scarce ady..they hardly sell them and when i saw an f-15 scale model on the front..i asked them the price and they said,"that one display ony"..i felt like crying.. sweat.gif
aztechx
post Jun 28 2007, 10:52 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Jun 27 2007, 09:21 AM)
haha u mean completed model kit of F15 ?? biggrin.gif
yea i think so..but they didnt even have a model kit for any planes..i saw a large model kit of the russian carrier,the admiral kuznetsov thou..sellin for rm800.. shocking.gif
aztechx
post Jul 3 2007, 03:54 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

love the f-16s..miniature hobby in MV..where exactly izzit aa?i remember there used to be a hobby shop at the top floor beside toycity..but yesterday i when it 'transformed' into a comic shop ady.. sad.gif

but i saw an su-27 Flanker B by trumpeter i think..was super excited until i saw the price..rm699..felt like crying..neway..if i was planning to buy a model set..how do i practice(techniques,painting etc.) before going on to the big ones?

This post has been edited by aztechx: Jul 3 2007, 04:08 PM
aztechx
post Jul 8 2007, 12:15 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(mdshahrs @ Jul 4 2007, 12:36 AM)
Hi Aztechx.. MH already shift out from MV few years ago if I not mistaken, to PJ.. Go to http://www.miniaturehobby.com.my for the location map.. Regarding the price of course it kinda high.. Just a suggestion from me.. Buy a lot of 1/72 kits by academy for your practice.. It's cheap and affordable.. If you want to buy a big one, think whether you want to invest for some aftermarket product.. Bigger plane means you can add better details on it rite.. Built the kit out of the box is ok I you dont mind about the details.. If money is a problem, think whether it's economical for you or not..  This is what I think lah.. Plus you have to think about the space also. tongue.gif .. Some giant kits easily can reach 40-80 cm in length/width. Imagine if its a bomber.. : sweat.gif ...
thanks alot for the tips!i when to lowyat and the model shop they got plenty of small scale models from academy..yeap..and they were very affordable but no Su-27..i guess ill jz start with sumthing before moving on to the big ones..im more worried about my painting skills..whatever i buy will be my first and im so very worried dat i might spoil my first model..but at the same time i cant wait to start my first model soon!!!! sad.gif

have been doing sum research about kit model paintings on the internet..still alot of confusing terms...they recommended paint as you go...but if painting is my main concern..how do i move on?

plus where do i get:
1)brushes for modelling
2)modelling tweezers
3)modelling knife
going to Hobby HQ city square tmrw..hope to find it there..

This post has been edited by aztechx: Jul 8 2007, 01:47 AM
aztechx
post Jul 8 2007, 01:55 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

you have an Su-27??!!may i know ur address and where u display it? tongue.gif
the kikir want to use for what?how much is a putty etc aa?paint all?excluding the model itself,how much roughly do i need for the equipments?
1)putty
2)paint
3)do i need primer?
4)or the glossy finish thing
5)brushes
6)knife
7)kikir
erm..thats all right?sand paper can get hardware shop so no prob..
i thot of goin to hobby HQ but called them nobody pick up..scared they close today.. doh.gif
anyway thanks alot for the info.. smile.gif
aztechx
post Jul 9 2007, 07:32 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

hello!!hello!!hello!!!who will be the first to ask why am i the happiest man at the moment.. tongue.gif

jz when to hobby HQ at city square and came back with an Academy MiG-29 Fulcrum..1/48 i think..bought sum brushes,paint trays,modelling blade,putty,etc.but no paint yet..bcos like the MiG for example..need 15 COLORS!!how to buy liddat..izzit advisable for a newbie like me to start painting so early?i when to sg wang later to check out the models when i finally thought..since im also a big fan of MiGs..i dun think ill want to destroy my first MiG..so i bought another F-16 by academy oso to be 'destroyed'..wish me a happy time with my new birds!!coz now im broke.. sad.gif tongue.gif
aztechx
post Jul 9 2007, 08:53 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(mdshahrs @ Jul 9 2007, 08:47 PM)
Wahhhhhhh so nice you have 1/48 MiG??  drool.gif .. Cool man and now I'm jealous of you.. Buy lah some paint Later can see your work.. Enjoy your work yaa.. And don't stress up if the kit have some of problem.. You will understand what I'm saying once you encounter the problem..
hehe..u r scaring me.. laugh.gif

yeap..ive decided to paint it in a TUDM color scheme although my decals are germans..but will take sum time laa..alot of time actually since ive decided to start with the F-16 first..plan to go sloowwww slowwwww....bcos if finish fast oso no money buy new ones yet.. smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif biggrin.gif

icon_question.gif i am scared of painting icon_question.gif
aztechx
post Jul 10 2007, 02:47 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(mdshahrs @ Jul 10 2007, 12:16 AM)
Wahhh.. If you want to paint in TUDM scheme, better you get the RMAF decal.. Go to MH and get one lor.. Dunno how much is the price but it worth your effort.. Dont worry lah about painting.. Like I said before, practice make perfect biggrin.gif .. You are using brush to paint rite? or using airbrush?
im using brush ony..later on ony invest in airbrushes..hmm..nice idea about the rmaf decals..will definitely think about it but im not touching my mig yet for now.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Jul 10 2007, 09:15 AM)
wah i think u should not start with mig 29 ..... should start with plane which have less color first.... and simple biggrin.gif so u will get it done "well" so u have mood to do another one haha if u destroy ur first build... and if its expensive kit ... u wont dare to continue anymore tongue.gif
QUOTE(mdshahrs @ Jul 10 2007, 11:34 AM)
Yep I have to agree with you.. Keep the expensive plane first and experiment the cheap kit... As for the paint, get the important one.. If you can omit others you can save some money since you just started this hobby..  tongue.gif
which is the reason why i bought the F-16 so i can wreck it..hehe..its a thunderbirds color scheme..quite simple..but looks can be deceiving... tongue.gif

the paint and hobbyHQ running low on stocks..i got what i could but still got sum colors missing..had to grab what i can since tmrrw ill be back in bangi..new sem starting.. sad.gif

btw..for sanding off putty or the extra plastics..what are the orders of sanding?i bought a 360,800 and 1200 sandpaper..do i start with smaller number or bigger?what is wet sanding/dry sanding?

alot of people say its impossible to handbrush an aircrafts entire body..izzit true?i relli cannot afford an airbrush but spray can mebe can la..

This post has been edited by aztechx: Jul 10 2007, 03:53 PM
aztechx
post Jul 11 2007, 02:02 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(mdshahrs @ Jul 10 2007, 11:58 PM)
The sanding part dunno lah.. Use the 800 or 1200 coz if the sandpaper tooo rough, the plastic details will be damage.. If I not mistaken, wet sanding means wet sanding lah.. Use water to wet the sandpaper and the kit..  tongue.gif .. Dry sanding is the usual sanding.. Another tip is mask the unwanted part that you want to putty to minimise the unnecessary puttying..
Thunderbird?? The aerobatic colour is even harder lor.. I mean the masking part.. The plane colour is white, blue and red rite?? Just imagine how hard you need to mask the area.. But hey, thats the enjoying part..
Just a suggestion, Buy the spray can first.. If you want to use brush, the complete one usually a lil bit crude.. Later I will post u a picture of my completed kit using airbrush and brush.. Hope the difference can be spotted in the pict..  smile.gif Use the spray can for major part and use brush for smaller part to save money.. But certain plane camouflage in reality do look crude.. Check your reference.. Don't buy/built a lot of kits.. Look for any art students who want to sell their compressor/airbrush.. Usually they have lah kn... Another stupid idea is use the "duit biasiswa" lah  tongue.gif ... Jahat sikit nie..
hahaha..the duit biasiswa alredi used to buy the kits and equipments..if buy samo means makancucumber and sambal belacan for the next few months..laugh.gif

can i usehardware shop spray cans like anchor brand?will it melt the plastic?read that it is lacquer..

wet sanding is for what?whats the difference?

the thunderbirds provide decals..so jz spray it white and stick the decals and im done right?erm..right? tongue.gif

do u know where i can get the 'penitis' thing we used to have in our chemistry labs?the one with the rubber on top and pointy glass tubes..when to a few hardware shop ady osodun have..i need it so that i can have the same amount of paint-water mixture everytime i paint..any other alternatives?
aztechx
post Jul 22 2007, 08:15 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(direwolf @ Jul 22 2007, 12:56 PM)
Another way to fill seams without sanding (and losing other details). I got it from www.aircraftresourcenter.com.

- Use the putty as usual.
- instead of sanding, use nail polish remover (NPR). Find the one with acetone. If it is one of those 'environmetally friendly' ones, forget it!
- Moisten a cottonbud with NPR but not too much! Wipe it all along the puttied area, removing the excess putty.
- repeat if necessary. Voila! Filled seam line!

The only hard part using NPR (apart from the need to work in a well-ventilated area - but I think you guys know that already) is getting it....so guys, if you to try this method, 'tebalkan your muka' and ask for NPR at the ladies' section!
hahaha..i just read this from scalemodelmalaysia as well..got my npr at guardian ampang park yesterday..and yeap..i had to tebalkan my muka..looked for the oldest and most 'understanding' looking saleswoman and asked her for the product since ive never seen it b4..cant imagine how it looks like..then have to tebalkan my muka another round at the cashier..samo i bought one product ony..

cashier: (showed me the "eeeeee" kind of smile)
me: serious ni bukan saya nak pakai
cashier:tak cakap pape pon...
me:tu tadi senyum..
cashier:takde la..ingat nak buat kilatkan hidung..
me: ...........???...............

end of the day i drove back happily with my 'follow me' NPR..
so basically i just need to dap the npr on the applied putty right?it will melt?

@mdshahrs
bro..i looked high and low for the kikir sets but still cant find what i want..the hardware shop at ampang park sed no more stock..2 other hardware shops were selling for rm16 for a set of 10 kikirs..too expensive and too many kikirs. sad.gif

This post has been edited by aztechx: Jul 22 2007, 08:16 PM
aztechx
post Jul 25 2007, 03:15 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(direwolf @ Jul 23 2007, 08:27 AM)
Haha...I have to tebal my muka even more to get my rigging material. Can you imagine getting to the ladies' section to get a set of PANTYHOSE? (I think once i ran out of that thing, I'm going to use fishing lines, or perhaps the missus's hair cool2.gif  instead)

Regarding the npr, you need to gosok it a bit. The npr will melt, like water. Oh the melted npr would almost definitely get into other panel lines so you might need some npr-moistened tooth picks to clear them out of the panel lines.

And concerning the kikir, for lightweight job like cleaning up seam lines or sprue stub you can use the nail file / kikir kuku....which means another trip to the ladies' section... laugh.gif
hahaha..yea..quite a traumatic experience..the nail file lucky thing i i got plenty..phew... tongue.gif

btw certain parts dunno why the npr make my plastic kasar a bit..and i did a BIGGG mistake in soaking my part in a small pool of npr for like 30 seconds...since i malas want to waste cotton buds and time(padan muke me!),now my part is sort of worn out..lucky thing its just the engine nozzle and hope it looks good after i paint it..

trying to get myself either brake fluids or window cleaners to strip paint off the nozzle..dare not use that npr ady..

QUOTE(mdshahrs @ Jul 24 2007, 07:24 PM)
If like that nevermind lah.. Just use the nail file also can.. just like direwolf explain smile.gif ..  As for nail polisher substitution, I got nothing to do and I use cotton bud dip with a thinner to dilute the putty.. hahahaha apa mcm gila tak.. Still bole jalan.. Well as long as u mask the part where you want to putty, you can minimise the unwanted puttying.. If not sure the kits spoiled tongue.gif ..

Added on July 24, 2007, 7:25 pmBy the way, that pantyhose actually is for what.. I've reading that some modeller used that..
whoaaa..so berani use thinner...hehe..i use the npr as an alternative to sanding off the putty...the masking part is a must since it makes the puttying area look so nice and neat.. laugh.gif
but looks like sanding still produces a much better job or mebe im not that good with nprs yet... sad.gif

btw heres a link for u guys to see the slow progress of my first model kit..but be warned that progress is agonizingly slow.. smile.gif

F-16C,Thunderbirds
aztechx
post Jul 26 2007, 11:10 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(direwolf @ Jul 26 2007, 12:35 PM)
For rigging on ships...or radio antenna on WW2 planes...

Added on July 26, 2007, 12:37 pmaztech...for paint stripping, you can use window/glass cleaning liquid or use Easy Off Bang universal degreaser. But it will only work on acrylics.
yesterday i when to buy an unknown brand of window/glass cleaner form a nearby hardware shop but it couldnt strip the paint off..ill try to look for that easy bang thing..expensive aa?yeap..im using acrylics.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by aztechx: Jul 26 2007, 11:15 PM
aztechx
post Oct 17 2007, 02:22 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

relli envy u guys la..where u all get the time to build all those beautiful kits..im only a student but im complaining about not having enuff time,.. tongue.gif

had to painfully abandon my F16 project as my unis 14week semester is killing me..after this got a 2 month break..bought everything already from future to windex...hope to lepas geram properly on my kits.. laugh.gif

0.0480sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:43 PM