[WTA] No Service Problem! IOS5?, This is kinda frustrating....:(
azbro
Nov 9 2011, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 7 2011, 07:17 PM) Hey same problem here on maxis, but i solved it. iOS 5 no jailbreak. Go to settings -> carrier -> turn off automatic and manually search for ur network. Problem solved. I also have this 'No Service' issues after upgrading to iOs5. My place No Service sometimes kena, but with iOs5 cannot recover from it. Now I need to do the flight mode thing if it happens. Sometimes OK, sometimes not. I will try your method. Thanks
azbro
Nov 9 2011, 09:45 AM
My workplace got restricted areas that are designed to block phone signals, so 'No service' is normal for me...but what is not normal is ios5 doesn't search back for the telco signals after the 'No service'. QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Nov 9 2011, 01:42 AM) hey bro..hows ur problem??still happen or solve?? Yes...so far tried this morning...its OK...I mean 'No service' still happens, but can recorver from it...no need to go through the flimsy process of toggle around with stuff. I wonder why need to set it to 'Manual' at achieve this.
azbro
Nov 10 2011, 12:42 PM
So far for iOS5, after selecting 'Manual' setting its OK for me...unlike Automatic setting..
Dunno why Auto setting cannot lock back to the telco...
Thanks for all advice.
azbro
Nov 12 2011, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 11 2011, 11:30 AM) Tethered jb is out wat. Anyway i am updating now OTA, will report back. Man..I'm stuck with 'No Service' since morning...can't do a reset since mine is Tethered jb. Manual searching takes forever...it will revert back to Auto after a while... Sure my boss and wife gonna screw me cos cannot contact my handphone today I hope the IOS5.0.1 is cure the problem
azbro
Nov 13 2011, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(lck @ Nov 13 2011, 08:34 AM) i have updated to iOS 5.0.1 and the problem is worse. DUH...
azbro
Nov 13 2011, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 13 2011, 11:07 AM) Try doing a fresh restore from itunes. I'd do that too but i need my messages to be intact, itunes doesn't allow me to only restore itunes and contact, which is stupid. I restored to 5.0.1 yesterday, seems fine, call in call out everything working. shucks iphone. uhh...wow...5.0.1 is even worst!...got signal telco and everything but still can't make a call I'm trying the restore method.. Things started to suck since ios5. Best for me was 4.3.3
azbro
Nov 13 2011, 09:16 PM
Trouble is, with the ios5. It's is no signal. But with the iOS 5.0.1, it's looks normal....but cannot use phone function! Yes Phone looks normal but with the signals and telco sign on . But cannot use phone function.
Previously I was using semi tethered. Now I take it out. Using normal tet version....which sucks if the phone hang. I really hope they cure this.
azbro
Nov 13 2011, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(Mini Nici @ Nov 13 2011, 09:19 PM) One way to check whether your phone could reconnect the carrier is to press *#06# to check your IMEI. If IMEI appears mean your phone is okay. If there is no response with this command means your iPhone is not connected to the carrier. People can call you but your phone will not ring. It's like your phone lose its identity to the carrier. That's what I observe. Some time a reboot helps. Some time it won't. A restore can immediately resolve this but possibility of recurrence is there. What I do is call my own number....if it say 'currently busy at the moment' means ok...but if its completely quiet...like dead...means A LOT of trouble This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 13 2011, 10:58 PM
azbro
Nov 14 2011, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(andyloke2611 @ Nov 14 2011, 08:44 PM) ios 5 user, try to restore ur phone to 5.01 its will solve the problem( have suscess 3 iphone adi) problem with hang, no service n cant call in....de Yeah...each time need to restore waste me at least an hour
azbro
Nov 18 2011, 07:00 AM
I'm going to KL this weekend...hope my iphone OK...mine is JB tethered version...not bringing my laptop.....really sucks...have to bring my HTC phone as well as a backup...haha..
azbro
Nov 22 2011, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(huiqing88 @ Nov 18 2011, 10:30 AM) You didn't install semi-tethered? So that your phone can still be used (with limited functionality) after restart... I actually install semi tethered right after I JB...but the no signal become worst...and no way to make any calls even with Signals. I dunno if this gotta do with semi tethered or not but after I did a restore, I didn't install it again. Anyway, so far it's ok. Even after no signal at some areas it does search and pickup the telco. Can make calls also. Hope it remains ok
azbro
Nov 22 2011, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(huiqing88 @ Nov 22 2011, 12:07 AM) Restore works. But only works for few days and the problem will come back. I can confirm that this No Service bug is not caused by jailbreak nor semi-tethered. Because the first two times where I faced this problem my iPhone was not jailbroken. And from my experience, after restore your phone will work flawlessly, but only for a few days before it comes back. Thx for the info. I will install semi tethered again. Kinda troublesome bringing my old HTC as backup.
azbro
Nov 22 2011, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(huiqing88 @ Nov 22 2011, 12:07 AM) I can confirm that this No Service bug is not caused by jailbreak nor semi-tethered. Because the first two times where I faced this problem my iPhone was not jailbroken. And from my experience, after restore your phone will work flawlessly, but only for a few days before it comes back. Yes, i tried installing semi-tethered again and it worked....probably i got unlucky the first time...so i tot the semi tet was the problem.
azbro
Nov 22 2011, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 22 2011, 06:43 PM) http://www.engadget.com/2011/11/21/thanks-...i-connectivity/Finally a coverage by engadget! Great. Now can apple faster respond to this issue? I dunno abt other ppl but my Wifi (ios5) seems Rock solid!....better than lets say 4.3.1.
azbro
Nov 23 2011, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(DjKenji @ Nov 23 2011, 05:26 PM) setting>general>phone>sim>off have anyone try these, help? It wont work..I even take out the sim phyically a few times...no go..
azbro
Jan 1 2012, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(flix @ Jan 1 2012, 03:35 PM) Having the same issue here. Using Hotlink prepaid on an iphone 4 5.0.1. Noticed that most of the people facing this problem is using Hotlink. Anyone using other telco having the same problem? I'm using Hotlink too...happened a few times, anyway, I changed my casing to a more signal friendly case (non metalic case), so far no issues for weeks oledi...hope dun happen again.
azbro
Jan 7 2012, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(hunkofaman @ Jan 7 2012, 08:05 AM) 4S having "Searching" problems and droppped calls. Anybody try the latest 9A406 build of 5.0.1?? Did it fix? Please help I'm using this firmware now (9A406), no signal was very bad, cannot recover from the no signal. But now so far all ok. Even if no signal it can find back the signal when it auto scan.
azbro
Jan 7 2012, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(hunkofaman @ Jan 7 2012, 12:47 PM) But where I'm in a full signal area also can go to "searching" and get dropped calls. Not sure abt that cos my workplace signal only 1~2 bars. Some areas totally not signal because high security area. So signals are blocked. So most of the time my iphone will be searching for signals. Its normal for me, but whats abnormal is searching but never recover from it. Even after bring the iphone to a better coverage area. But so far its OK now for quite sometime oledi, I hope it stays that way.