myvi auto shaking and choking during idling, sifus please help

TSbotack
post Nov 6 2011, 01:48 AM, updated 9y ago

349 posts

hey guys,

i have a problem where my car is literally shakes like hell when i dont step on the gas.it happened a couple of days ago and its getting me worried. It seems like the shaking came from the engine itself but i cant confirm whether or not its a transmission problem or a spark plug problem or is it something else going on inside the engine itself. The engine itself is shaking and choking like its going to die on me. Does anyone have encountered this sort of problem before and what are your countermeasures? Any sifu please help especially myvi sifus..i'm driving a myvi 2006 auto.

dares
post Nov 6 2011, 01:52 AM

834 posts

My first guess : one or more of your spark plugs have expired.
Shawnzz
post Nov 6 2011, 04:03 AM

1,911 posts

Throttle body dirty? Just a wild guess
TSbotack
post Nov 6 2011, 07:20 AM

349 posts

bro dares,

is it? i'm using denso iridium spark plugs..will try to open up the spark plugs and see if its OK.

bro Shawnzz,

i've opened up the air filter and see the throttle body..seems ok i think but anyhow will try to open up again.

Update:-

now every gear is shaking and choking...gear 1,2,D,N,R and even P..i think i dont have much time left with this car..please do help me..sad.gif
dares
post Nov 6 2011, 09:53 AM

834 posts

I experience this before, when not pressing the throttle the engine chokes as if it's gonna stall. Everytime slow down when making a turn also shake like driving an old car.

Mech replaced the spark plugs and everything was OK again, which is why I suggest to check the spark plugs.

If not the spark plugs, then maybe the plug cables or the alternator. Send it to the workshop and check.
vr2turbo
post Nov 6 2011, 12:18 PM

Yup, too little info given. Please send to mechanic for check up.
To me probably low idling speed, because when step on accelerator you mention okay, right?
megat89
post Nov 6 2011, 05:25 PM

278 posts

check ur map and maf sensor also..
TSbotack
post Nov 7 2011, 01:24 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Nov 6 2011, 09:53 AM)
I experience this before, when not pressing the throttle the engine chokes as if it's gonna stall. Everytime slow down when making a turn also shake like driving an old car.

Mech replaced the spark plugs and everything was OK again, which is why I suggest to check the spark plugs.

If not the spark plugs, then maybe the plug cables or the alternator. Send it to the workshop and check.
I see...d mechanic suggested me to change the fuel pump and i've changed to a newer one..but i think that is not the problem..will try changing to a newer spark plugs tomorrow.

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 6 2011, 12:18 PM)
Yup, too little info given. Please send to mechanic for check up.
To me probably low idling speed, because when step on accelerator you mention okay, right?
apparently, the idling is OK..it stays at 800rpm during the shaking. but will try to visit the mechanic tomorrow morning.

QUOTE(megat89 @ Nov 6 2011, 05:25 PM)
check ur map and maf sensor also..
oh,ok bro..do you guys know any good mechanic around sunway which has the myvi module? because my dad's mechanic doesnthave the myvi module..he told me to go to SA to check the ECU.

vr2turbo
post Nov 7 2011, 07:25 PM

Was that the same mechanic who ask you to change the fuel pump??
khoe_pingu
post Nov 7 2011, 07:31 PM

Could it be mounting problem?
TSbotack
post Nov 7 2011, 11:50 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 7 2011, 07:25 PM)
Was that the same mechanic who ask you to change the fuel pump??
ya..its the same mechanic..sigh..after changing d fuel pump, and the problem still persist,he told me to go to SA to check on the ECU. Will have it sent to perodua glenmarie to scan the ECU tomorrow morning.

QUOTE(khoe_pingu @ Nov 7 2011, 07:31 PM)
Could it be mounting problem?
I've changed my mounting to a newer one a couple of months back.I dont think its d mounting problem.

This post has been edited by botack: Nov 7 2011, 11:53 PM
SUSceo684
post Nov 8 2011, 03:04 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Use regular spark plugs and check the air filter. If u use insert-funny-metal-name-here spark plugs u have to make sure that the heat range is correct. Drain the fuel tank abit just in case water collected inside.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 8 2011, 03:05 AM
vr2turbo
post Nov 8 2011, 08:46 AM

QUOTE(botack @ Nov 7 2011, 11:50 PM)
ya..its the same mechanic..sigh..after changing d fuel pump, and the problem still persist,he told me to go to SA to check on the ECU. Will have it sent to perodua glenmarie to scan the ECU tomorrow morning.
I've changed my mounting to a newer one a couple of months back.I dont think its d mounting problem.
Just hate those mechanic trial and error by changing parts and cannot locate the problem..... blink.gif
ThunderGod_Cid
post Nov 8 2011, 02:52 PM

158 posts

why don't you get a set of original spark plugs and see first? it's no more than 50odd bucks

Added on November 8, 2011, 2:52 pmwhy don't you get a set of original spark plugs and see first? it's no more than 50odd bucks

This post has been edited by ThunderGod_Cid: Nov 8 2011, 02:52 PM
vr2turbo
post Nov 8 2011, 06:11 PM

One set normal plugs only around RM20..... biggrin.gif
TSbotack
post Nov 8 2011, 06:16 PM

349 posts

guys, already changed to a regular spark plug..will see the condition of the car for a couple of days..perodua glenmarie told me that they could not find any problem with the car..they've checked the ECU and spark plugs but everything is normal..i'm puzzled..
vr2turbo
post Nov 8 2011, 06:20 PM

QUOTE(botack @ Nov 8 2011, 06:16 PM)
guys, already changed to a regular spark plug..will see the condition of the car for a couple of days..perodua glenmarie told me that they could not find any problem with the car..they've checked the ECU and spark plugs but everything is normal..i'm puzzled..
ohmy.gif
TSbotack
post Nov 8 2011, 07:43 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 8 2011, 06:11 PM)
One set normal plugs only around RM20..... biggrin.gif
really aa?i changed to a regular spark plugs from SA..cost me rm30 woo..they say..its original and its NGK..
vr2turbo
post Nov 8 2011, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(botack @ Nov 8 2011, 07:43 PM)
really aa?i changed to a regular spark plugs from SA..cost me rm30 woo..they say..its original and its NGK..
Try checking the spare part shops..... tongue.gif
taaron
post Nov 8 2011, 10:36 PM

49 posts

bro, try disconnect the battery negative terminals and leave it overnight..next morning, re-tighten the battery positive and negative terminals..might help hopefully..
vr2turbo
post Nov 9 2011, 07:49 AM

You mean to reset the ECU?
TSbotack
post Nov 9 2011, 12:06 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(taaron @ Nov 8 2011, 10:36 PM)
bro, try disconnect the battery negative terminals and leave it overnight..next morning, re-tighten the battery positive and negative terminals..might help hopefully..
bro, is this to reset the ECU?
vr2turbo
post Nov 9 2011, 06:01 PM

QUOTE(botack @ Nov 9 2011, 12:06 PM)
bro, is this to reset the ECU?
Probably, but no need overnight, just a while will do......
TSbotack
post Nov 9 2011, 06:37 PM

349 posts

I see,but the Perodua Technician informed me that there is nothing wrong with the ECU..until today..no shaking at all..does this mean that the spark plug is causing all of this unusual shaking?
dares
post Nov 9 2011, 06:50 PM

834 posts

So after changing the spark plug the car is back to normal?

If so your problem is most likely solved.
vr2turbo
post Nov 9 2011, 07:12 PM

QUOTE(botack @ Nov 9 2011, 06:37 PM)
I see,but the Perodua Technician informed me that there is nothing wrong with the ECU..until today..no shaking at all..does this mean that the spark plug is causing all of this unusual shaking?
Since the only thing you change were the plugs, then probably was the plugs...... tongue.gif
TSbotack
post Nov 10 2011, 07:49 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Nov 9 2011, 06:50 PM)
So after changing the spark plug the car is back to normal?

If so your problem is most likely solved.
QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 9 2011, 07:12 PM)
Since the only thing you change were the plugs, then probably was the plugs...... tongue.gif
guys, this morning, the same poblem happened again..th car feel underpower at all rpm range..idling rpm is almost 500. is there a possibility that one of the piston has gone bust?
zeone
post Nov 10 2011, 08:10 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(botack @ Nov 10 2011, 07:49 AM)
guys, this morning, the same poblem happened again..th car feel underpower at all rpm range..idling rpm is almost 500. is there a possibility that one of the piston has gone bust?
Main Perodua SC kenot identify & rectify prob? Something's very wrong.... doh.gif sad.gif
dares
post Nov 10 2011, 09:11 AM

834 posts

Ignition coil?
TSbotack
post Nov 10 2011, 10:08 AM

349 posts

guys, i've been thinking, does it have anything to do with the 'tepet' (i don't know how to spell it but often people adjust the tepet)?
vr2turbo
post Nov 10 2011, 10:13 AM

Not piston gone bust. Piston kaput cannot start even......

Some ignition timing out, plug wire leak......
TSbotack
post Nov 10 2011, 10:54 AM

349 posts

does myvi have a wire plug? i thought all myvi uses distributor...
ThunderGod_Cid
post Nov 10 2011, 11:12 AM

158 posts

myvi uses coin on plug.

Have you cleaned the throttle body lately?Now we can already rule out the plugs so no worries.
TSbotack
post Nov 10 2011, 11:39 AM

349 posts

no, i didn't clean the throttle body..but i've open up the air filter and did not found anything unusual on the throttle body.
ThunderGod_Cid
post Nov 10 2011, 11:48 AM

158 posts

clean it up. That's one everyone said... until I inspect it myself
TSbotack
post Nov 10 2011, 12:14 PM

349 posts

ok,will try to clean up the throttle body..but out of curiousity, does it have anything to do with the tepet?do the tepet need adjusting?

edit:-

the correct word is engine tappet.

This post has been edited by botack: Nov 10 2011, 12:17 PM
vr2turbo
post Nov 10 2011, 01:40 PM

If noisy then needs adjustment.....
TSbotack
post Nov 10 2011, 07:01 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 10 2011, 01:40 PM)
If noisy then needs adjustment.....
i've sent the car back to perodua and let them drive the car for a few days to determined the real problem..hopefully they will know what's wrong with the car..
SUSceo684
post Nov 10 2011, 09:49 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

tappet sound is when u tekan, the sound is krek krek krek (like running a manual in too high a gear, not enough rpm)
vr2turbo
post Nov 11 2011, 07:24 AM

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 10 2011, 09:49 PM)
tappet sound is when u tekan, the sound is krek krek krek (like running a manual in too high a gear, not enough rpm)
Tappet if loose, idling also have sound. If tekan got sound maybe knocking already......
TSbotack
post Nov 11 2011, 07:54 AM

349 posts

but this one..if tekan.only vibrate a little oni..but during idle it gives a knocking sound..i can hear the sound clearly..
vr2turbo
post Nov 11 2011, 11:37 AM

Problem is, it is intermediate, right? Sometimes okay, sometimes knocking. Like that really need to leave there at the SC for check up..... sad.gif
TSbotack
post Nov 11 2011, 12:11 PM

349 posts

ya..sometimes the car is running smoothly..no issues at all..then all of a sudden..the problem starts and then it is ok again. the funny thing is, when i was on my was to SC, the car was shaking the whole journey. right after i enter the SC..all of the shaking is gone..and went for a test drive with the mechanic..the car is OK, no issues at all. *this car is playing games with me*
vr2turbo
post Nov 11 2011, 02:06 PM

This is normal, happen to me a few times also. Most of the time I am able to diagnosis the problem, so I will just tell my mechanic, but of course at times there are special cases that I don't know what is wrong also, and every time I reach mechanic shop everything is okay.
I remember this case when the car has warmed up there is a creaking sound coming from the right front wheel, so mechanic, take out wheel to check, jack up with wheel on, jack up whole car to check under carriage but still cannot find the problem. Problem is once it cools down slightly no more sound.
So got one time when the sound came, I drove all the way to the mechanic, and ask him to check immediately, so he jack up the whole car. This time he had his workers to move the car up and down as like going over the bumps that creates the sound. He finally found the sound coming from (you will never guess) a dried up tie rod end but the left side one, not the right side one. The sound channeled itself to sound like it came from the right...... blink.gif
TSbotack
post Nov 11 2011, 06:24 PM

349 posts

damn...its quite troublesome to identify the problem if that is the case. and it consumes a lot of our precious time just to identify the problem. but in your case, you have a good mechanic there..i puts in quite an effort to rock your car in such a way just to replicate how the car moves when going over a bump. most of the mechanics i've known will not go to such extent just to find the right problem..hence they opt going for the guessing game.
vr2turbo
post Nov 12 2011, 11:36 AM

Yup, it is true. He had a new customer who was introduces by one of his customer. The new customer have some jerking problem when driving and mentioned that previous mechanic he sent to had changed the spark plugs, the plug wires, the distributor cover and a whole lot of things already and still not solved. So he got fed up paying for all the things changed but problem not solved.
My mechanic after checking his car called me up because I happen to own a similar car and needed to try out the ignition pack. So I drove over and he use my car parts as guinea piggy blush.gif . Yup, the first thing he transferred over and the car was running fine, so he just ordered that part and changed it. The new customer was so happy, so became his long time customer now.... biggrin.gif
TSbotack
post Nov 12 2011, 10:31 PM

349 posts

woo..where r u living?if its near sunway area..then i can oso be a long time customer to your mechanic if that mechanic have that sort of commitment and passion in solving his customer's car problems..anyway,i still didn't hear any news from perodua regarding my car..its been 3days of testing..if they couldn't find the source of the problem,then i give up..sigh..
vr2turbo
post Nov 13 2011, 04:04 PM

Let them try out first. SC have all the equipment, but not sure of the personnel only.....

My mechanic is in Puchong..... tongue.gif
felicia666
post Nov 13 2011, 04:24 PM

Validating

This post has been edited by felicia666: Dec 2 2011, 12:04 PM
TSbotack
post Nov 14 2011, 10:28 PM

349 posts

Guys,after 4days of extensive test drives..they finally concluded that the problem is the car wiring.they changed the ECU, spark plugs,cleaned the throttle body and checked the pistons but couldn't find any problem and they told me that their last bet is the wiring of the car..whats the connection between the wiring of thecar and the engine? I just don't get it..my friend told me maybe thereis not enough electricity going to the engine..doesn't make sense to me. But last time, i remembered my dad changed his wiring harness for his benz but forgot why and he also forgot why he changed it. Does anyone have any ideas? It will cost me 700 to change to a whole new wiring system.
dares
post Nov 15 2011, 09:17 AM

834 posts

You car have many wires and cables, did they say which one?

If it is the ones going from your alternator to your spark plugs, then it makes sense since they are the ones supplying electricity to your spark plugs. (Sorry, I dunno how the spark plug cables are set up in a Myvi, but that's the gist of it anyway)
TSbotack
post Nov 15 2011, 06:15 PM

349 posts

they say that its the harness wire..the wiring to the engine...sad.gif
vr2turbo
post Nov 15 2011, 08:48 PM

Could be an intermittent problem with your wiring, but have you asked them what happens if it is not the wiring harness problem?? Change for nothing? Not cheap woh!
TSbotack
post Nov 15 2011, 10:29 PM

349 posts

ya,i've already asked them but they give me an answer like..that is the absolute solution for my problem..its like..if its not the harness wire,then,they couldn't think of any other possibilities other than scrap the car...and that is not good at all.
felicia666
post Nov 16 2011, 10:51 AM

Validating

This post has been edited by felicia666: Jun 2 2012, 02:05 PM
TSbotack
post Nov 16 2011, 01:26 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(felicia666 @ Nov 16 2011, 10:51 AM)
should confirm wiring spoil and change it first before changing ecu. but it's easier to change ecu than the whole wiring. so they basically make guesswork on your problem and change the ecu w/o solving the problem at the same time made a killing on spare parts sales since ecu cost more.

i would think the spark plug wires (cord set) would be a concern rather than the wiring harness. btw, ask them to list out the p/n, description and cost of each wiring needing replacement so you know which.

try this buddy:-
change fuel filter (if not changed every 40k)
check wiring
check alternator voltage (change if low, also change battery at the same time)
check spark plug cable (change if spoilt or car already 100-150k)
check distributor

it took me 2 years to solve my problem but i'm not sure if mine is same as yours. the problem appear once in a while and may something not occurred at all until major breakdown. you'll need to provide more detailed symptoms.

ps. sa love naive drivers and will bs you all the way while spending little time troubleshooting (4 days become 1 hour for them) and replace parts by trial and error manner without confirmation the real cause.
1. i've already changed the fuel pump..the fuel pump is connected to the fuel filter. i dont know if myvi has another fel filter at the engine.
2. what wiring are you talking about?
3. the alternator voltage have been checked by AAM member and it is OK.
4. the SC has already tested using a new spark plugs but still the problem persist.
5. the distributor i dont know. will have them check first.

i dont know how to provide more detailed symptoms as the ones that i have described is the ones that i am encountering right now.
vr2turbo
post Nov 16 2011, 01:48 PM

I think Myvi is direct coil over spark plug, right? If that is the case, then no distributor.....
felicia666
post Nov 16 2011, 01:50 PM

Validating

This post has been edited by felicia666: Jun 2 2012, 02:05 PM
vr2turbo
post Nov 16 2011, 03:45 PM

SC trial and error also, because don't know what is wrong?
TSbotack
post Nov 16 2011, 05:15 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(felicia666 @ Nov 16 2011, 01:50 PM)
2. wiring that sa mentioned. funny how sa conclude it's the wiring yet change the ecu first.
5. sorry myvi don't have distributor.

does your rpm fluctuate up down? any engine light on? do you do periodic service as recommended by car manufacturer?

i think it's your 3x spark plug ignition coil assy (see pic below, connected above spark plug). check it and if your car is already 100-150k might want to just change it.

note: i'm not a mechanic or expert, just fellow car user (not myvi)
during the shaking...i noticed the rpm fluctuate a bit..from 800rpm to 500rpm..
engine light is ok..no issue..
yes,i service at perodua SC every 10k because my car already reached 138k

oh, is it? will have it checked and replaced it then.

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 16 2011, 03:45 PM)
SC trial and error also, because don't know what is wrong?
ya, they also dont know what is wrong with the car,then they go changed everything from ECU,spark plug and air filter..then they cleaned the throttle body and finally, they told me that this is the wiring harness problem, simply because..they have changed every possible solution that they could think of and they say that this is the wiring harness and not other than that. i asked them if i changed this harness and the problem re-occurs, what will happened? they told me that they are very sure that it is the wiring harness..
vr2turbo
post Nov 16 2011, 05:57 PM

Because like you say, they already change almost everything......
Jason
post Nov 16 2011, 05:58 PM

6,356 posts

if it really was wiring issue, the OBD-II scanner in the service center would have picked it up. (duh)

another cheap solution might be grounding.. just fyi..myvi has very poor grounding, even brand new myvi, after installing quality voltage stabilizer and grounding kit can see consistent gains on dyno.
vr2turbo
post Nov 16 2011, 06:00 PM

Problem is only at certain times, the problem surface. When hook up and running fine, cannot detect.....
Jason
post Nov 16 2011, 06:07 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 16 2011, 06:00 PM)
Problem is only at certain times, the problem surface. When hook up and running fine, cannot detect.....
i thought TS left the car with perodua few days? hehehe.
TSbotack
post Nov 16 2011, 07:16 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Nov 16 2011, 06:07 PM)
i thought TS left the car with perodua few days? hehehe.
ya, i left it with perodua from thursday till now..after several days, they called me and told me that the expect 2 issues on the car which are the ECU and the wiring harness.but then i dont understand why is the wiring harness of the engine is capable of making my car shaking like its going to die..fo example..its like you're gasping for air and its like you're going to die..that is the exact situation i'm having when my car shake and choked for air during idling.

vr2turbo
post Nov 17 2011, 07:53 AM

If SC with all equipment cannot detect the problem, then finish loh..... cry.gif
felicia666
post Nov 17 2011, 09:19 AM

Validating

This post has been edited by felicia666: Jun 2 2012, 02:13 PM
TSbotack
post Nov 17 2011, 01:22 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(felicia666 @ Nov 17 2011, 09:19 AM)
This problem is very elusive. Will not appear when you want it. I left my car with sc for several days also cannot detect the problem. On my car, after replacing some parts it disappeared for several months and then re-occurred again.

The jerking you're experiencing I think is due to engine mis-combustion. I suggest just change the ignition coil assy as I understand cars 100k onwards may have degraded ignition coil assy and cause jerking at traffic lights stop. Interestingly enough, I serviced my car every 10k at sc yet they failed to recommend replacing this part before breakdown happens.

Symptoms of bad spark plug coil assy:-
http://www.ehow.com/about_5076673_signs-ba...plug-wires.html
http://www.ehow.com/list_6426093_signs-bad...ition-coil.html

How to troubleshoot spark plug assy:-
http://www.ehow.com/how_5409517_troublesho...e-symptoms.html
http://www.ehow.com/how_7285852_check-plug...multimeter.html

About engine lights, I meant any of the red displays/warning/error code lights that appear briefly on your speedometer display. Take note of it.

Have you done any sound system modification on your car? This and the wiring might affect the electricals but I not sure it'll cause jerking.
hoh,thanks for the links!..its very useful.

yup,already checked.no engine or warning display.

my car is completely stock except for my air filter, air intake and my spark plugs which is using denso iridium IK20 in which it is recommended my SC itself as this type f spark plugs will last longer and more efficient than regular spark plugs.

felicia666
post Nov 17 2011, 08:36 PM

Validating

This post has been edited by felicia666: Dec 2 2011, 12:06 PM
TSbotack
post Nov 17 2011, 11:20 PM

349 posts

hey guys,just got the car back..the SC changed the harness wiring and they changed the spark plugs for free..its the same spark plugs that i'm using which is denso irridium..dunno why they gave me free of charge..
vr2turbo
post Nov 18 2011, 08:17 AM

QUOTE(botack @ Nov 17 2011, 11:20 PM)
hey guys,just got the car back..the SC changed the harness wiring and they changed the spark plugs for free..its the same spark plugs that i'm using which is denso irridium..dunno why they gave me free of charge..
Wire harness also, probably scare you complain to media, wire harness also need to change then spoil reputation........ha! ha! biggrin.gif
Anyway, check and see if the problem still arises. If not, then congratulation, your problem solved..... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Nov 18 2011, 08:18 AM
TSbotack
post Nov 18 2011, 09:21 AM

349 posts

seriously? change wire harness is such a big issue is it? does the harness wire was build to last a lifetime? ya,will be doing a complete check and see if the problem arises after a few month.

anyway, i've already checked with the SC, the ignition coil assy does not need to changed as it is build to last until 250k km.. and the ignition coil assy is still ok based on his story..
vr2turbo
post Nov 18 2011, 09:55 AM

Wire harness of the car is like the blood arteries and veins in human. Connects the ECU to every part of the car, that is engine compartment, under the dash , under the carpet too for connection to the rear for control of the lights behind.
There are many many tiny wires inside all wrap up, so if there is a fault, they cannot pinpoint where, then the whole harness have to be changed.
Read more here:-

http://www.sws.co.jp/en/product/wireharness/car.html
felicia666
post Nov 18 2011, 12:32 PM

Validating

This post has been edited by felicia666: Jun 2 2012, 02:06 PM
vr2turbo
post Nov 18 2011, 01:55 PM

Now, I wonder how come SC have expensive sparky also?
TSbotack
post Nov 19 2011, 08:25 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(felicia666 @ Nov 18 2011, 12:32 PM)
I'm certainly keen to know if the wiring is the real cause of it in the next few months.

Ignition coil assy can last a lifetime but people do change at half life when it starts to degrade.

How come sc concluded that the ECU and spark plugs is ok earlier on then later changed it? Makes no sense.

I thought you already changed the spark plug earlier? You changed it again? Did they return you the old spark plugs? Free expensive high performance spark plugs sounds fishy. I'd stick to original spark plugs if I were you.

Good luck dealing with the sc!
ya, they say, aybe the on that they changed got some problem,so they changed to a newer ones at no cost..

earlier on, they could not detect the problem because simply the problem does not occur when the car was with them, the second time i handed the car to them, after a few days, then the problem occurs. then they start bombing me with phone calls telling that this might be ECU problem, spark plugs problem, throttle body problem, piston problem, wiring problem, transmission problem and so on..so many problem might just change to a newer car liao..

they changed it for free..so i get my old old spark plugs back which has only run for 40k now..still left another 60k on the spark plugs life, the second spark plugs in chich they say was faulty and it only runs for 5km oni..haha..they gave me for free lo..what to do..sad.gif

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 18 2011, 01:55 PM)
Now, I wonder how come SC have expensive sparky also?
back then, they have this promotion on the denso iridium spark plugs..but i'm not the one who sends the myvi for service..so my dad changed from the regular spark plugs to the new iridium spark plugs which cost 180 back in 2010..now dunno how much liao coz already 2011..and they only stated FOC for the denso iridium spark plugs on the paper.

felicia666
post Nov 19 2011, 10:30 AM

Validating

This post has been edited by felicia666: Jun 2 2012, 02:06 PM
TSbotack
post Nov 19 2011, 11:51 AM

349 posts

2 times..now i'm using the 2nd spark plugs that they are giving me for free
vr2turbo
post Nov 19 2011, 02:49 PM

Just hope the problem is solved....... nod.gif
TSbotack
post Nov 19 2011, 03:40 PM

349 posts

hopefully itwill.anyway..thanks a lot guys..will close this thread now!..
olman
post May 11 2017, 07:55 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(botack @ Nov 6 2011, 01:48 AM)
hey guys,

i have a problem where my car is literally shakes like hell when i dont step on the gas.it happened a couple of days ago and its getting me worried. It seems like the shaking came from the engine itself but i cant confirm whether or not its a transmission problem or a spark plug problem or is it something else going on inside the engine itself. The engine itself is shaking and choking like its going to die on me. Does anyone have encountered this sort of problem before and what are your countermeasures? Any sifu please help especially myvi sifus..i'm driving a myvi 2006 auto.

Dei i know this is very old thread but is your myvi issue fixed?
Am having similar case but doubt it is totally the same
prozdennis
post May 12 2017, 09:17 AM

127 posts

maybe distributor issue.
dstl1128
post May 12 2017, 10:35 AM

4,464 posts

MyVi don't have distributor.

TSbotack
post May 12 2017, 11:51 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(olman @ May 11 2017, 07:55 PM)
Dei i know this is very old thread but is your myvi issue fixed?
Am having similar case but doubt it is totally the same
Its the engine mounting. Change it and problem fix.
wrx7
post May 12 2017, 11:54 AM

Check the fuel injector.. a problem where the engine diagnostic cant pick up..
olman
post May 12 2017, 12:39 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(botack @ May 12 2017, 11:51 AM)
Its the engine mounting. Change it and problem fix.
Hhmmm, my rpm drops to 500 or might be abit lower then it vibrates alot.

Possible for outside shop to adjust rpm higher?
therain01
post May 12 2017, 02:33 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(olman @ May 12 2017, 12:39 PM)
Hhmmm, my rpm drops to 500 or might be abit lower then it vibrates alot.

Possible for outside shop to adjust rpm higher?
Check for misfire, vacuum leak, Map sensor, or the basic, clean throttle plate first.

There is no easy way to increase the idle rpm with ignition coil system.
olman
post May 12 2017, 06:01 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ May 12 2017, 02:33 PM)
Check for misfire, vacuum leak, Map sensor, or the basic, clean throttle plate first.

There is no easy way to increase the idle rpm with ignition coil system.
It goes down when idling, its fine while moving

I just service engine oil + change spark plugs but its still there.

During service i see the throttle body that round cap is still clean. What determines it to be dirty?

therain01
post May 13 2017, 12:58 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(olman @ May 12 2017, 06:01 PM)

During service i see the throttle body that round cap is still clean. What determines it to be dirty?
A dirty throttle plate is either sticky or with very thick carbon buildup.

Guess you will need to go with the easier one first then. Remove the map sensor see if the idle rpm stay the same go crazy. If remain the same means that something is not right with the sensor.

Vacuum leak will be harder to check. One of the example will be brake vacuum leak. If the rpm is affected greatly when depressing the brake then there is leak with somewhere connected to the brake system.

therain01
post May 13 2017, 01:16 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(olman @ May 12 2017, 06:01 PM)

A dirty throttle plate is either sticky or with very thick carbon buildup.

Guess you will need to go with the easier one first then. Remove the map sensor see if the idle rpm stay the same go crazy. If remain the same means that something is not right with the sensor.

Vacuum leak will be harder to check. One of the example will be brake vacuum leak. If the rpm is affected greatly when depressing the brake then there is leak with somewhere connected to the brake system.

0.0380sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:28 AM