6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Spark plug

vr2turbo
post Nov 22 2011, 08:16 AM

QUOTE(kahsoon0020 @ Nov 22 2011, 01:35 AM)
super 4 is copper core, so it's actually lousier than platinium? D:... The guy said it has 4 points so better ignition. lol.
Have to see how your look at it. Different materials are more for durability. Then there is also design. Each brand have their own design and have said their is the best but there are no actual comparison done.
If you look at the normal plugs. One curve ground electrode over the center one. In a single cam engine these plugs are mounted at an angle therefore the spark is slight more opened towards the head of the piston. In a twin cam engine these plug will be directly on top, then the spark is actually shielded by the ground electrode. That is why Split fire mentioned for this area their design with the split ground electrode plays a part. The spark now is direct towards the piston head. I think NGK have one plug with V cut on the center electrode. Denso design is the U groove on the ground electrode. These two design is to move the spark to the side so that the ground electrode will not block the spark.
Then now come to your 4 ground electrodes. This design do not cover the center electrode but are at the side, therefore the spark is more open. Moreover with 4 grounds they can spark to any, therefore said to be more efficient.
There are many more, like iridium and platinum saying with the smaller diameter center electrode the spark is more concentrated. And the list goes on. So you have to find out which works best for you...... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Nov 22 2011, 08:17 AM
alexng2208
post Nov 22 2011, 01:32 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

Is it possible that changing of Spark plugs alone can increase HP?

some dudes seem to swear by a certain brand through dyno test...
vr2turbo
post Nov 22 2011, 01:45 PM

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Nov 22 2011, 01:32 PM)

Like what 2hp, hardly can feel but on dyno will show.....
If you read most of the sparky websites, I don't think this is even mentioned....
Most will ask you to change accordingly to the right heat range......

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Nov 22 2011, 01:46 PM
alexng2208
post Nov 22 2011, 01:53 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

Oo... got it boss smile.gif
vr2turbo
post Nov 22 2011, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Nov 22 2011, 01:53 PM)
Oo... got it boss smile.gif
Found one webpage on it. Denso mention improve 0.5ps. This website mention Iridium increase by 2.9whp which is not bad, but still can feel much in daily drive....
scorgio
post Nov 22 2011, 09:17 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Nov 22 2011, 01:32 PM)

When I 1st changed from Bosch Super 4 to Bosch Plat-Ird Fusion, I can really feel the car more responsive & better pick up. Plus consumed slightly less petrol.

BUT, it only lasted like 20000km, then it's like back to b4. At 60000km, I took the Fusions out to inspect, bcos at that point, my car would need 2-3 cranks in the morning. I can see some irregular trails of spark, the Fusions have 4 electrodes, so there're 4 trails, some the trail is weaker than the other.

So I decided to swapped them back to the OEM spec FR7DTC. FC slightly higher than on Fusion, but it also could be due to I'm now running 200kpa tire pressure compared to 220kpa previously. But in the morning, 1-2 cranks enough to get the engine running.
vr2turbo
post Nov 23 2011, 07:53 AM

Yup, the main feedback is smoother acceleration.....

You running on twin cam? If yes, the open design of the platinum fusion has a more direct spark down to the piston top
TSbladekiller
post Nov 24 2011, 08:57 AM

363 posts

Shit I just open the cover n unable to close back. Found out that the metal thing holding the rubber stopper is soft 1 , bendable.
Hav to ask the serviceman to close it back aft wiping the top part later
vr2turbo
post Nov 24 2011, 02:32 PM

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Nov 24 2011, 08:57 AM)
Shit I just open the cover n unable to close back. Found out that the metal thing holding the rubber stopper is soft 1 , bendable.
Hav to ask the serviceman to close it back aft wiping the top part later
Cannot bend back??
TSbladekiller
post Nov 24 2011, 09:31 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Nov 24 2011, 02:32 PM)
Cannot bend back??
solved it. bend to normal place, then hit the cover hard to make it snap back!!
do not push it slowly cos it'll bend the metal thing
vr2turbo
post Nov 25 2011, 07:29 AM

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Nov 24 2011, 09:31 PM)
solved it. bend to normal place, then hit the cover hard to make it snap back!!
do not push it slowly cos it'll bend the metal thing
I have to be careful too then...... blush.gif
Jajay Chong Hon Keat
post Dec 3 2011, 05:16 AM

20 posts

Good morning all sifus, may I know Bosch Super 4 or NGK platinum spark plug can have better performance on wira 1.5M carb?
vr2turbo
post Dec 3 2011, 08:53 PM

QUOTE(Jajay Chong Hon Keat @ Dec 3 2011, 05:16 AM)
Good morning all sifus, may I know Bosch Super 4 or NGK platinum  spark plug can have better performance on wira 1.5M carb?
Based on design, then Bosch...... tongue.gif
Jajay Chong Hon Keat
post Dec 4 2011, 01:10 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Dec 3 2011, 09:53 PM)
Based on design, then Bosch...... tongue.gif
Lolx brother sweat.gif ...Hide inside the engine nobody will care about the design de lah~! How about performance orh?? icon_question.gif
How about Denso iridium and NGK iridium? Which is better for performance?
vr2turbo
post Dec 4 2011, 09:36 AM

QUOTE(Jajay Chong Hon Keat @ Dec 4 2011, 01:10 AM)
Lolx brother  sweat.gif ...Hide inside the engine nobody will care about the design de lah~! How about performance orh??  icon_question.gif
How about Denso iridium and NGK iridium? Which is better for performance?
That was what I meant, the super 4 design has an open center electrode, with 4 ground electrode at the side. Spark can come from any of the 4 ground. If driving twin cam engine, plug tip is open directly in the path of the piston head, therefore getting combustion.

Denso Iridium has 0.4mm center electrode, and NGK I think is 0.6mm/ Denso claim the 0.4mm smaller sharper tip, collects or concentrate all the spark together giving a stronger spark.

The above are all claims by their respective spark plug company/distributor...... brows.gif
Jajay Chong Hon Keat
post Dec 4 2011, 12:32 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Dec 4 2011, 10:36 AM)
That was what I meant, the super 4 design has an open center electrode, with 4 ground electrode at the side. Spark can come from any of the 4 ground. If driving twin cam engine, plug tip is open directly in the path of the piston head, therefore getting combustion.

Denso Iridium has 0.4mm center electrode, and NGK I think is 0.6mm/ Denso claim the 0.4mm smaller sharper tip, collects or concentrate all the spark together giving a stronger spark.

The above are all claims by their respective spark plug company/distributor...... brows.gif
For 4G15, Denso iridium or NGK iridium can get better performance? ohmy.gif
mADmAN
post Dec 4 2011, 12:48 PM

10,530 posts

a few years ago there was a website that i used to follow.....it was about mods on his B18C integra GSR

one of the mods he tested was spark plugs.... with platinum plugs vs cheap ngk plugs....

cheap ngk plugs gained 3hp more thumbup.gif
SweeJ
post Dec 4 2011, 04:55 PM

64 posts

how often does one have to change spark plugs? if they haven't been changed for over ten years? safe to change them now?
vr2turbo
post Dec 4 2011, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(Jajay Chong Hon Keat @ Dec 4 2011, 12:32 PM)
For 4G15, Denso iridium or NGK iridium can get better performance?  ohmy.gif
I won't spend that kind of money on iridium plugs. Have used them before and actually I find them the same.
I would say the different makes of material is more for durability. Iridium being the hardest last a longtime, the platinum, then copper and so on. Platinum can be considered as they cost around RM70 (I think) and Iridium are doubled that.

Added on December 4, 2011, 8:36 pm
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 4 2011, 12:48 PM)
a few years ago there was a website that i used to follow.....it was about mods on his B18C integra GSR

one of the mods he tested was spark plugs.... with platinum plugs vs cheap ngk plugs....

cheap ngk plugs gained 3hp more thumbup.gif
Wah! that is a good one.....

Added on December 4, 2011, 8:38 pm
QUOTE(SweeJ @ Dec 4 2011, 04:55 PM)
how often does one have to change spark plugs? if they haven't been changed for over ten years? safe to change them now?
What? 10 years never change the plugs? I wonder if the plugs are now fused in to the engine already?

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Dec 4 2011, 08:38 PM
Jajay Chong Hon Keat
post Dec 5 2011, 12:19 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(SweeJ @ Dec 4 2011, 05:55 PM)
I think the car can't start ady~ hmm.gif

Added on December 5, 2011, 12:22 am
QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Dec 4 2011, 09:35 PM)
I won't spend that kind of money on iridium plugs. Have used them before and actually I find them the same.
I would say the different makes of material is more for durability. Iridium being the hardest last a longtime, the platinum, then copper and so on. Platinum can be considered as they cost around RM70 (I think) and Iridium are doubled that.
No orh... NGK platinium is around RM70 but the NGK iridium is around RM180... Hmm... Those accessories shop said iridium can get the best performance for the engine ><

This post has been edited by Jajay Chong Hon Keat: Dec 5 2011, 12:22 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0240sec    1.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:51 PM