Gym workout gloves, Recommendations?

TSKingArthurVI
post Nov 5 2011, 08:36 PM, updated 15y ago

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

Before this I was using my old pair of cycling gloves when I work out, but now that it started having small holes I've decided to buy a new pair of gloves. Since I'll be using them for quite some time, I wanna ask if you guys know of any good brands out there, or what brands do you guys use? blush.gif

Should I buy those black synthetic leather type (about RM40-50) or Nike dri-fit material type (RM80 for the one I saw), and I checked out their site they have tons of gloves, http://store.nike.com/us/en_us/?l=shop,pwp...Training_Gloves

And I've also heard of Harbringer but kinda costly, above RM100. So what do you guys think?

EDIT: Found Harbinger Men's Power, only RM44, is it good?

This post has been edited by KingArthurVI: Nov 6 2011, 01:14 AM
mikehuan
post Nov 5 2011, 09:30 PM

6,160 posts

buy the glove which lasts the longest. but imo you get a better grip and 'feel' of the weights without one. sure, its gonna hurt for a while but you'll get used to it.
-Dan
post Nov 5 2011, 09:49 PM

4,382 posts

Harbinger gloves are good. Very tough material.
shankar_dass93
post Nov 5 2011, 10:16 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Nov 5 2011, 09:49 PM)
agreed. I bought a pair from egonutritions about a week ago.
TSKingArthurVI
post Nov 6 2011, 01:08 AM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Nov 5 2011, 09:30 PM)
buy the glove which lasts the longest. but imo you get a better grip and 'feel' of the weights without one. sure, its gonna hurt for a while but you'll get used to it.
my worst enemy is my sweating palms sad.gif

QUOTE(-Dan @ Nov 5 2011, 09:49 PM)
alright thanks, will try to find out more

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Nov 5 2011, 10:16 PM)
agreed. I bought a pair from egonutritions about a week ago.
which one did you get? is the RM44 one good? Harbinger Men's Power.

This post has been edited by KingArthurVI: Nov 6 2011, 01:12 AM
chicaman
post Nov 7 2011, 06:58 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

my harbinger said wash and dry but the fact is that when i soak it in water, the dye came off

and it worn out in less than a year

now im not using any glove!
TSKingArthurVI
post Nov 7 2011, 07:11 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 7 2011, 06:58 PM)
my harbinger said wash and dry but the fact is that when i soak it in water, the dye came off

and it worn out in less than a year
now im not using any glove!
ohmy.gif wtf. Does yours say it's machine washable? Or did the dye just come off when exposed to water?
Aztec
post Nov 7 2011, 10:37 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

get the leather ones..mine are from maxx fitness
Folio
post Nov 8 2011, 04:12 PM

55 posts

Just got my Harbinger from EGO. Not too bad RM62 after discount. Leather wash and dry.
statikinetic
post Nov 8 2011, 10:35 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Using Harbringer Flex Fit. Simple leather glove that does it's job for me.
TSKingArthurVI
post Nov 8 2011, 10:35 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Nov 8 2011, 10:35 PM)
Using Harbringer Flex Fit. Simple leather glove that does it's job for me.
yup thinking of getting that too, how much did you get it for?
statikinetic
post Nov 8 2011, 10:51 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Don't remember. Somewhere around the 70-80 range I think.

I don't like my gloves to be too chunky especially at the wrists. I prefer a little freedom and simplicity. Been using it for like almost 2 years now.
TSKingArthurVI
post Nov 8 2011, 10:52 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Nov 8 2011, 10:51 PM)
Don't remember. Somewhere around the 70-80 range I think.

I don't like my gloves to be too chunky especially at the wrists. I prefer a little freedom and simplicity. Been using it for like almost 2 years now.
Ah okay, good biggrin.gif thanks for the feedback!
Dharmain
post Nov 9 2011, 01:00 PM

65 posts

I've been using these for the past 3 years already.

http://reviews.nike.com/9191/GX0057/nike-a...ews/reviews.htm

And they've yet to show any signs of wear yet. Not too sure if you can still get them anywhere. But if you happen to see them, get it. Got mine for like 50 bucks or somethin the last time I remember
razorboy
post Nov 9 2011, 01:02 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

I'm curious, you lot use gloves, so your palms don't have calluses?
-Dan
post Nov 9 2011, 01:17 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Nov 9 2011, 01:02 PM)
From what I've gathered, it's either because of that, or sweaty palms.
Folio
post Nov 9 2011, 02:12 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Nov 9 2011, 01:17 PM)
For me.. both.
ZintanthraX
post Nov 9 2011, 03:18 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

i don't have the budget to buy a sport gloves. so multi-usage is the only solution. laugh.gif

TSKingArthurVI
post Nov 9 2011, 06:12 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Nov 9 2011, 01:17 PM)
Yup, sweaty palms. sad.gif

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Nov 9 2011, 03:18 PM)
i don't have the budget to buy a sport gloves. so multi-usage is the only solution. laugh.gif

lmao, I've seen people using cycling gloves, goalkeeping gloves and all other sorts of gloves too, I was using my cycling one but then it started to have lots of huge holes.
ZintanthraX
post Nov 9 2011, 07:10 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

luckily my bike glove is well padded on the palm. btw, any1 tried the nike gloves? looks promising. smile.gif
Aztec
post Nov 9 2011, 09:35 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

yeap..pretty much it..i like to keep my palms smooth
statikinetic
post Nov 9 2011, 09:57 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Yes, and the whole sweaty palms issue.
I once ripped the skin off my palms during a heavy lift so I used gloves after that episode. I don't know if there is a 'hardcore no glove' thing going on, but I've got my priorities straight.
olkooi
post Nov 10 2011, 08:36 AM

1,017 posts

i like to feel the chilled iron bar with my bare hands..
hackwire
post Nov 10 2011, 10:23 AM

4,256 posts

i think gf prefer smooth hand when they touch your palm without calluses.

mikehuan
post Nov 10 2011, 11:12 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Nov 9 2011, 09:57 PM)
Yes, and the whole sweaty palms issue.
I once ripped the skin off my palms during a heavy lift so I used gloves after that episode. I don't know if there is a 'hardcore no glove' thing going on, but I've got my priorities straight.
i dont see how not wearing gloves makes you hardcore. tongue.gif
ZintanthraX
post Nov 10 2011, 11:38 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

lol. i think wearing a glove is more hardcore. laugh.gif
mikehuan
post Nov 10 2011, 11:44 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Nov 10 2011, 11:38 AM)
lol. i think wearing a glove is more hardcore. laugh.gif
you're missing the point. its not if you're wearing gloves or not that makes your hardcore. if i see a hardcore lifter, i would be able to tell and its sure as hell not by looking at his hands.
razorboy
post Nov 10 2011, 11:47 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Nov 10 2011, 11:44 AM)
you're missing the point. its not if you're wearing gloves or not that makes your hardcore. if i see a hardcore lifter, i would be able to tell and its sure as hell not by looking at his hands.
true to that. I'm softcore. I prefer not to wear gloves because I feel it doesn't do jack for me and my palms are thick as f*ck from all the calluses I got.
ZintanthraX
post Nov 10 2011, 11:59 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

i thought its about the look. laugh.gif the only reason of me wearing gloves is to avoid calluses, which i will terribly tear it of my palm on my free time. its like a habit. dammit.
mikehuan
post Nov 10 2011, 12:02 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Nov 10 2011, 11:59 AM)
i thought its about the look. laugh.gif the only reason of me wearing gloves is to avoid calluses, which i will terribly tear it of my palm on my free time. its like a habit. dammit.
wanna look like you workout? then all you need is a wifebeater, tank top, or sleveless. your physique should do the rest. biggrin.gif.
janson_kaniaz
post Nov 10 2011, 12:13 PM

6,955 posts

used to wear gloves but gave up in the end, made my palms sweat like mad
hackwire
post Nov 10 2011, 04:45 PM

4,256 posts

wearing gloves do gives me extra workout adrenalin like fighting in the afghanistan war zone. A boost of EGO.haha
ahfish7
post Nov 11 2011, 12:30 AM

116 posts

using harbinger glove now, my fren bought back from US. Not bad but still think my old nike glove have better grip, maybe not used to the new 1 yet... u may think of glove with wristwrap giving better protection
ChinHong86
post Nov 11 2011, 12:34 AM

1,116 posts

i used the soft spongy tube which pp used for their aircon
works miracles
92alvin
post Nov 13 2011, 12:44 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Nov 10 2011, 04:45 PM)
wearing gloves do gives me extra workout adrenalin like fighting in the afghanistan war zone. A boost of EGO.haha
+1 on your ego! rclxms.gif
kaka71
post Nov 14 2011, 04:08 AM

45 posts

does wrist wraps/ gloves with wrist wraps help during training?
i have weak wrists, contemplating should i get a pair of wrist wraps...
shankar_dass93
post Nov 14 2011, 08:21 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Nov 6 2011, 01:08 AM)
my worst enemy is my sweating palms sad.gif
alright thanks, will try to find out more
which one did you get? is the RM44 one good? Harbinger Men's Power.
i bought mine from egonutritions at mont kara. Its known as some wide grip gloves. Bought it for rm 120++
Dharmain
post Nov 14 2011, 12:32 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kaka71 @ Nov 14 2011, 04:08 AM)
does wrist wraps/ gloves with wrist wraps help during training?
i have weak wrists, contemplating should i get a pair of wrist wraps...
Sure it does smile.gif. Its great if you have weak wrists. But try releasing the tension around the wrist as you get stronger. The last thing you want to grow dependent on using wrist wrap.
ChinHong86
post Nov 14 2011, 12:40 PM

1,116 posts

got my free gloves frm bb.com
lol
zephyr1986
post Nov 18 2011, 08:38 AM

Was using kettler gloves (the cheaper one) but now going on bare hands cuz i started bouldering and the calluses give me the xtra grip.
The_Rock
post Nov 18 2011, 12:16 PM

451 posts

Previously i use the air conditioner black color soft foam pipe.. cheap and better than gloves, now i go for better material.. The one they use to cover the top of office table.. That one more better.

hsienhsien
post Nov 19 2011, 12:50 AM

Safe Trader
1,490 posts

im looking for a new gloves too, i need something like provide me a comfy and painless while lifting heavy weights, using the rm12.90 gloves from max fitness, when i lift above 20kg, it feels painful on my palm .
NekoRacing
post Nov 23 2011, 11:19 AM

325 posts

My previous gloves were Nike. Now using Harbinger which wears off faster. Nike lasted me 3 years, Harbinger only been used for a year.

ZintanthraX
post Nov 23 2011, 01:28 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

just got myself a cheap gym gloves, matrix. rm30 only. biggrin.gif
kurtkob78
post Nov 23 2011, 03:25 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

when I start lifting heavy, my palm feel really pain. Sometime some calusses got rip during heavy lifting. This happen especially for pulling exercise. Will wearing glove help to lessen the pain and skin ripping off?

And ive seen people lifting with strap for pulling movement. Is this better than glove ?

This post has been edited by kurtkob78: Nov 23 2011, 03:27 PM
ChinHong86
post Nov 23 2011, 09:40 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Nov 23 2011, 04:25 PM)
when I start lifting heavy, my palm feel really pain. Sometime some calusses got rip during heavy lifting. This happen especially for pulling exercise. Will wearing glove help to lessen the pain and skin ripping off?

And ive seen people lifting with strap for pulling movement. Is this better than glove ?
glove definitely will help u
if u wan cheaper option can use aircon tubing
straps are for helping ur grip

mikehuan
post Nov 24 2011, 09:10 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Nov 23 2011, 03:25 PM)

Gloves help with the pain, for sure. Protects ur skin from callouses. Though imho i prefer no gloves. You grip better and there is no balance issues and you can feel the weight better.

Straps are to eliminate grip problems during heavy pull movements. Grip usually the first to fail and straps are used to bypass that so you can lift heavier than your grip allows you to
bigtree
post Nov 24 2011, 11:38 AM

93 posts

sorry to hijack your gloves thread, but any suggestion on where to buy wrist straps in penang?
-Dan
post Nov 25 2011, 10:07 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(bigtree @ Nov 24 2011, 11:38 AM)
sorry to hijack your gloves thread, but any suggestion on where to buy wrist straps in penang?
I got my straps from EGO.
bigtree
post Nov 25 2011, 10:53 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Nov 25 2011, 10:07 AM)
I got my straps from EGO.
thanks for your reply Dan. i checked on EGO and its available in Gurney Plaza. will be heading there tonight! rclxms.gif

Gurney Plaza, Penang
Unit No. 170-07-08C, 7th Floor,
Plaza Gurney, Persiaran Gurney 10250 Penang

Monday - Sunday: 10.00am-10.00pm
+604-227 8970 | [Click for Map]
alexooi17
post Nov 25 2011, 11:03 AM

569 posts

QUOTE(bigtree @ Nov 25 2011, 10:53 AM)
thanks for your reply Dan. i checked on EGO and its available in Gurney Plaza. will be heading there tonight!  rclxms.gif

Gurney Plaza, Penang
Unit No. 170-07-08C, 7th Floor,
Plaza Gurney, Persiaran Gurney 10250 Penang

Monday - Sunday: 10.00am-10.00pm
+604-227 8970 | [Click for Map]
do tell me the price ya tongue.gif
tenno
post Nov 25 2011, 11:24 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Nov 9 2011, 06:12 PM)
Yup, sweaty palms. sad.gif
lmao, I've seen people using cycling gloves, goalkeeping gloves and all other sorts of gloves too, I was using my cycling one but then it started to have lots of huge holes.
Cycling gloves, motorbike gloves..oke.. but goalkeeping gloves is a bit too much I think...not to mention looking stupid in one at the gym. At the gym we'll be holding metal bars, etc, hence leather or the like is material of choice... goalkeeping gloves' palms are made of at least 3mm latex foam, which if used to lift metalbars, will be gone in a week, maybe less...

Also, for my Muslim friends, most (if not all) Harbinger gloves sold at Ego are made of pigskin leather. So check before U buy. 3 years back I raised this matter with Ego becoz they dun clearly mark the material on their gloves.

Personally I use Nike gloves, which is very thin & let me feel & grip the bars better. Recently I bought Adidas gloves with longer than normal velcro straps, which act like a strap built into the gloves la... I broke my left forearm a couple of years ago, so I need more support when lifting heavy...
bigtree
post Nov 25 2011, 11:26 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(alexooi17 @ Nov 25 2011, 11:03 AM)
do tell me the price ya tongue.gif
okay, will update here once i get it
MelForC3
post Nov 25 2011, 11:29 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(bigtree @ Nov 25 2011, 11:26 AM)
okay, will update here once i get it
if im not mistaken is 80 bucks.

Perhaps, u wanna check out this website. Musclesup.com belong to my friend.

I jz gt my strap from him. only 30 bucks but i still prefer old school strap. Appear to be like a piece of cloth, doesnt 'eat' my skin like what im using now.
hakashi1
post Nov 25 2011, 11:37 AM

75 posts

i using harbinger 1250 training grip WIRSTWARP..
92alvin
post Nov 26 2011, 01:37 PM

153 posts

IMO,actually any gloves will do. just go some hardware shop and fetch some gloves. wanna last longer? go for heavy duty ones.
bigtree
post Nov 26 2011, 07:51 PM

93 posts

shop closed when i reached gurney yesterday sad.gif will go there on monday again since it is a replacement holiday
xxboxx
post Nov 27 2011, 11:39 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(92alvin @ Nov 26 2011, 01:37 PM)
IMO,actually any gloves will do. just go some hardware shop and fetch some gloves. wanna last longer? go for heavy duty ones.
hardware glove especially the leather type got one kinda funny smell. sad.gif
adix4
post Nov 27 2011, 01:45 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

used Nike for gym gloves, and then i hate the smell after using it for so long

now not using gloves, i hope i can find Chalk ASAP for deadlifts
mikehuan
post Nov 27 2011, 02:38 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Nov 27 2011, 01:45 PM)
used Nike for gym gloves, and then i hate the smell after using it for so long

now not using gloves, i hope i can find Chalk ASAP for deadlifts
i dont see why its necessary to find chalk to deadlift when you can just use straps. both are just means to an end, for you to deadlift more than your grip allows you to.

furthermore alot of gyms dont allow chalk.
bigtree
post Nov 28 2011, 05:39 PM

93 posts

bought the wrist strap from EGO in gurney with 10% discount. they have few selections ranging from rm20 to rm40 (cotton to non padded to padded).
92alvin
post Nov 29 2011, 12:47 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 27 2011, 11:39 AM)
hardware glove especially the leather type got one kinda funny smell. sad.gif
throw it in ur laundry machine and wash it with softener or downy perhaps may help . Or soak it with softener with the scent u like. lol
micksolo
post Nov 30 2011, 12:57 PM

41 posts

the point of chalk is so that you don't rip the skin of your hands by dropping heavy weights due to sweat, because then you won't be able to lift again until your hands heal.

Straps for deadlifts are basically cheating, part of developing strength in the deadlift is increasing your grip strength. Using grip straps is the same as guys benching on the smith machine.

I Don't use gloves because they make the bar too thick, plus they stink and also any padding will cause bounce, decreasing your total power. Its why weightlifting shoes have hard soles.

Does anyone know where to buy chalk or liquid chalk?

mikehuan
post Nov 30 2011, 01:04 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(micksolo @ Nov 30 2011, 12:57 PM)
the point of chalk is so that you don't rip the skin of your hands by dropping heavy weights due to sweat, because then you won't be able to lift again until your hands heal. 

Straps for deadlifts are basically cheating, part of developing strength in the deadlift is increasing your grip strength.  Using grip straps is the same as guys benching on the smith machine.

I Don't use gloves because they make the bar too thick, plus they stink and also any padding will cause bounce, decreasing your total power.  Its why weightlifting shoes have hard soles.

Does anyone know where to buy chalk or liquid chalk?
that, i didnt know. thanks for pointing it out.

i dont see anything wrong with benching on the smith, or using straps. dont see the connection between the two. if using straps means i can deadlift heavier, then by all means i would. not disagreeing with you though. there are two schools of thought on this and wont say either is wrong.

you used chalk before i assume?
statikinetic
post Nov 30 2011, 01:25 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

My 2 cents.

I've been on both sides of the fence. There was a phase where I deadlifted without straps, and now I intend to deadlift with straps. It's the same tool, but with different objectives.

If my objective was to get better and lift heavier on the deadlift, I'd do it without straps. This is, as pointed out earlier, grip strength is a crucial part of the link.

If my objective was to use the deadlift to fatigue a group of muscles especially my back, I use straps as grip is not part of my agenda. I probably have a seperate day for grip training, and to allow grip to compromise my back training isn't something I want.

To the casual observer I'm still deadlifting, but my objectives makes it different.
micksolo
post Dec 1 2011, 08:49 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Nov 30 2011, 01:04 PM)
that, i didnt know. thanks for pointing it out.

i dont see anything wrong with benching on the smith, or using straps. dont see the connection between the two. if using straps means i can deadlift heavier, then by all means i would. not disagreeing with you though. there are two schools of thought on this and wont say either is wrong.

you used chalk before i assume?
Well benching on the smith machine and benching with free weights is completely different. IF your goal is to make your pecs bigger and create muscular imbalance (which can lead to injuries) then bench on the smith machine.

But if you want to increase your true strength, build up all your muscles including the smaller balancing muscles then you should use a free weight rack or dumbells. Same goes for squatting on the smith vs squatting on a rack with a free bar.

Another thing to consider is the way your body moves. Our body never moves in a straight line, its fluid and requires constant balancing. So using a machine that only moves in one linear direction will not train your body to move better, it only trains a few muscles and the bigger ones.

For me I lift weights to get stronger and move better. If you're a body builder or you just want to impress your friends by loading the rack up with more weights then the smith machine is great.

I never used chalk before but I'm getting to a point with my BP and deadlift where I can feel the bar starting to slip because of sweat.

I found a good alternative to chalk - because a lot of gyms might not allow it because of the mess it makes - http://www.amazon.com/Metolius-Ball-Non-Ma...22700415&sr=8-7

Anyone know anywhere in Malaysia that sells something like this?
hoxy
post Dec 1 2011, 07:49 PM

1,015 posts

This post has been edited by hoxy: Jun 13 2012, 05:15 PM
mikehuan
post Dec 1 2011, 09:58 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Nov 30 2011, 01:25 PM)
My 2 cents.

I've been on both sides of the fence. There was a phase where I deadlifted without straps, and now I intend to deadlift with straps. It's the same tool, but with different objectives.

If my objective was to get better and lift heavier on the deadlift, I'd do it without straps. This is, as pointed out earlier, grip strength is a crucial part of the link.

If my objective was to use the deadlift to fatigue a group of muscles especially my back, I use straps as grip is not part of my agenda. I probably have a seperate day for grip training, and to allow grip to compromise my back training isn't something I want.

To the casual observer I'm still deadlifting, but my objectives makes it different.
to each their own, i guess.

QUOTE(micksolo @ Dec 1 2011, 08:49 AM)
Well benching on the smith machine and benching with free weights is completely different. IF your goal is to make your pecs bigger and create muscular imbalance (which can lead to injuries) then bench on the smith machine. 

But if you want to increase your true strength, build up all your muscles including the smaller balancing muscles then you should use a free weight rack or dumbells.  Same goes for squatting on the smith vs squatting on a rack with a free bar. 

Another thing to consider is the way your body moves.  Our body never moves in a straight line, its fluid and requires constant balancing.  So using a machine that only moves in one linear direction will not train your body to move better, it only trains a few muscles and the bigger ones. 

For me I lift weights to get stronger and move better.  If you're a body builder or you just want to impress your friends by loading the rack up with more weights then the smith machine is great.

I never used chalk before but I'm getting to a point with my BP and deadlift where I can feel the bar starting to slip because of sweat.

I found a good alternative to chalk - because a lot of gyms might not allow it because of the mess it makes - http://www.amazon.com/Metolius-Ball-Non-Ma...22700415&sr=8-7

i agree, smith, BB and DB benching are completely different. but still tools to an end. if smith benching gives me better pecs, or/and hits pecs better, then by all means i would use the smith.

free weights are not the only way to go. lots of people get bigger, and better using exclusively machines. it gives better isolation for the muscle that you're targeting, which is the goal of your workout. not saying free weights isnt good, my workouts are mostly free weights as well but i do use machines every now and then. smith in particular.

if you wanna only get stronger, then just do the big 3, squat deadlift and bench powerlifting style. thats strength. you wanna bodybuild you should at least incorporate some machines in it too.

how much are you deadlifting anyways?

VeeJay
post Dec 1 2011, 10:38 PM

3,854 posts

I oughta somwhat agree with micksolo; the overall feel is not the same, because in SM its more of a guided linear controlled movement. But on a free weight; you have to be fully in control on body movement together with the weight.

I wouldnt say one is better compared to other; its really been very very very long I tried DL on SM; for that matter even squat; I prefer of freeweights... as I really feel the muscles worked out compared to SM, I mainly feel tired, but not on full muscles....but personally I believe its best to combine both variations...
mikehuan
post Dec 1 2011, 10:43 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Dec 1 2011, 10:38 PM)
I oughta somwhat agree with micksolo; the overall feel is not the same, because in SM its more of a guided linear controlled movement. But on a free weight; you have to be fully in control on body movement together with the weight.

I wouldnt say one is better compared to other; its really been very very very long I tried DL on SM; for that matter even squat; I prefer of freeweights... as I really feel the muscles worked out compared to SM, I mainly feel tired, but not on full muscles....but personally I believe its best to combine both variations...
its a matter of personal preference. if the smith machine gives you better pecs when doing bench presses with them would you still do barbell bench as your main lift?

and dont deadlift on smith. the bar does not travel in a linear line for DL's.
statikinetic
post Dec 1 2011, 10:48 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Agree on the lifts being tools, it's not the end destination for some. If you're a power lifter, then yes. If you're a bodybuilder, it's not.
TSKingArthurVI
post Dec 1 2011, 11:44 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

lol I don't mind you guys using this thread to discuss on pros and cons of exercises and gloves/straps, but just so you know, got my harbringer from ego already, thanks! smile.gif
VeeJay
post Dec 2 2011, 12:49 AM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 1 2011, 11:44 PM)
lol I don't mind you guys using this thread to discuss on pros and cons of exercises and gloves/straps, but just so you know, got my harbringer from ego already, thanks! smile.gif
good choice, and that my favorite brand! talking of which...I need to get one...heard there is a sale going on in Subang SS13, cant recall the place name.

ANd sorry for highjacking your thread... icon_rolleyes.gif
VeeJay
post Dec 3 2011, 11:21 PM

3,854 posts

Those who are around SUbang area, could visit Sports Direct, new UK based sports warehouse. its at SS13/5. There's some sale up 60% discount is going on till Monday, I think.
razorboy
post Dec 3 2011, 11:37 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

I'm actually thinking of getting chalk ,I hate gloves, tearing one of those calluses hurts like a b**** , the tearing doesn't hurt, the workout following is a pain in the ass. Chalk actually helps in keep calluses from forming and keeping your hands dry which is good but in no way that it helps your grip which is also wonderful. Problem is, how many gyms allow the usage of chalk ?
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 3 2011, 11:51 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(micksolo @ Dec 1 2011, 08:49 AM)

But if you want to increase your true strength, build up all your muscles including the smaller balancing muscles then you should use a free weight rack or dumbells.  Same goes for squatting on the smith vs squatting on a rack with a free bar. 

Another thing to consider is the way your body moves.  Our body never moves in a straight line, its fluid and requires constant balancing.  So using a machine that only moves in one linear direction will not train your body to move better, it only trains a few muscles and the bigger ones. 

For me I lift weights to get stronger and move better.  If you're a body builder or you just want to impress your friends by loading the rack up with more weights then the smith machine is great.

wow.. this sounds promising... i refuse to use gloves because i can get a good grip ... and this eco ball is a very cheap alternative...probably try to get it from ebay

Added on December 3, 2011, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Dec 3 2011, 11:21 PM)
Those who are around SUbang area, could visit Sports Direct, new UK based sports warehouse. its at SS13/5. There's some sale up 60% discount is going on till Monday, I think.
woh... that means 1U jusco's branch would have that discount too? is it all Sports Direct stores? or only the one in SS13/5?

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Dec 3 2011, 11:52 PM
VeeJay
post Dec 4 2011, 04:44 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Dec 3 2011, 11:51 PM)

woh... that means 1U jusco's branch would have that discount too? is it all Sports Direct stores? or only the one in SS13/5?
I'm not sure if the sales is at both place? Here is the website http://www.sportsdirect.com.my/

VeeJay
post Dec 4 2011, 04:48 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Dec 3 2011, 11:37 PM)
I'm actually thinking of getting chalk ,I hate gloves, tearing one of those calluses hurts like a b**** , the tearing doesn't hurt, the workout following is a pain in the ass. Chalk actually helps in keep calluses from forming and keeping your hands dry which is good but in no way that it helps your grip which is also wonderful. Problem is, how many gyms allow the usage of chalk ?
I'm not sure if I understand your statement correct? Are you saying glove caused Callus? Gloves suppose to help prevent from frequent rubbing which causes Callus. Unless the glove is not right-fit which causes the rubbing/friction.
mikehuan
post Dec 4 2011, 05:12 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Dec 4 2011, 04:48 PM)
I'm not sure if I understand your statement correct? Are you saying glove caused Callus? Gloves suppose to help prevent from frequent rubbing which causes Callus. Unless the glove is not right-fit which causes the rubbing/friction.
he dont wear gloves cause he hates them, i should think.

and chalk does give an edge doesnt it? ive read from some forums it increases their poundages than without. have not tried chalk so im just saying from what ive read.

has anyone here used chalk? can give insight a bit please lol.
micksolo
post Dec 4 2011, 08:53 PM

41 posts

Gloves will never fit well, plus they are cushioned. Any cushioning will cause a little bit of bounce and if things are bouncing you'll lose power. also, gloves will increase the overall thickness of what you're grabbing onto, and obviously thicker things are harder to hold than thinner (just ask your GF biggrin.gif)

Anyway, I've never used chalk, but I've read enough about it to know that proper lifters and weightlifters all use it because it dries out the hands and stops slippage. If there's no slippage, there shouldn't be any skin tearing. Callouses or tough skin are part of the biz.

Tomorrow I'll use chalk for the first time, I found the Metolius Eco Ball at Camp 5 rock climbing center at 1Utama. 17 RM each which wasn't too bad as they usually sell online for $4 + postage

http://www.metoliusclimbing.com/eco_ball.html

We'll see how much it improves after tomorrow session.
razorboy
post Dec 4 2011, 08:59 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Dec 4 2011, 04:48 PM)
First off, glove destroys your grip. Second, glove do shit for calluses, ask anyone that's been lifting for a while, glove or no glove calluses are there. I've got no problem with my grip, but I gotta keep my palms dry or I am going to tear another one of them calluses on my palm. Any one that's been there would know how much of a b**** it is.

VeeJay
post Dec 4 2011, 09:35 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(micksolo @ Dec 4 2011, 08:53 PM)
Gloves will never fit well, plus they are cushioned.  Any cushioning will cause a little bit of bounce and if things are bouncing you'll lose power.  also, gloves will increase the overall thickness of what you're grabbing onto, and obviously thicker things are harder to hold than thinner (just ask your GF biggrin.gif)

Anyway, I've never used chalk, but I've read enough about it to know that proper lifters and weightlifters all use it because it dries out the hands and stops slippage.  If there's no slippage, there shouldn't be any skin tearing.  Callouses or tough skin are part of the biz.

Tomorrow I'll use chalk for the first time, I found the Metolius Eco Ball at Camp 5 rock climbing center at 1Utama.  17 RM each which wasn't too bad as they usually sell online for $4 + postage

http://www.metoliusclimbing.com/eco_ball.html

We'll see how much it improves after tomorrow session.
mick had said it well.....if you can take it as micksolo said"Callouses or tough skin are part of the biz." then by all means rclxms.gif

I start lifting with chalk long long time ago (1998); as things got heavier, I felt too rough on my skin, hence started using gloves. initially it was not comfortable compared to bare hand, which i feel has better grip....as time went with better grip glove with less padding and leather grip, it help to get back the grip, at least for me...and had sticked on with it ever since.

which is better? I think its individual preference.....

my personal experience, chalked worked well with lesser reps/set; but when your volume increases it takes a toll, hence glove helps.

BTW, rock climbing chalk powder should give the same effect; its magnesium carbonate.
micksolo
post Dec 4 2011, 09:40 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Dec 4 2011, 09:35 PM)
mick had said it well.....if you can take it as micksolo said"Callouses or tough skin are part of the biz." then by all means rclxms.gif

I start lifting with chalk long long time ago (1998); as things got heavier, I felt too rough on my skin, hence started using gloves. initially it was not comfortable compared to bare hand, which i feel has better grip....as time went with better grip glove with less padding and leather grip, it help to get back the grip, at least for me...and had sticked on with it ever since.

which is better? I think its individual preference.....

my personal experience, chalked worked well with lesser reps/set; but when your volume increases it takes a toll, hence glove helps.

BTW, rock climbing chalk powder should give the same effect; its magnesium carbonate.
yeah i wanted to get the eco ball because its "invisible chalk". I'm going to FF and I dont think they would like if i was spilling chalk all over their nice clean floor biggrin.gif

Added on December 5, 2011, 1:17 pmfirst session with the eco ball today and was very good! Basically you press the ball between your hands and chalk comes out. I wouldn't hold it too close to your eyes because it does shoot out. Good thing is it leaves no marks and no mess and works well to dry out hands.

I really noticed the difference on the deadlifts, no slippage at all but because of that I had a little skin tear but nothing that stopped me from lifting. I can probably just shave off the loose bits of skin to stop that happening next time. All in all its a big help, no mess and I also broke 2 records today, overhead press and deadlifts which I'm really stoke about. Next session is bench press which i also felt the bar slipping too so that should improve.

Very happy with eco ball.

This post has been edited by micksolo: Dec 5 2011, 01:17 PM
hoxy
post Dec 5 2011, 07:57 PM

1,015 posts

This post has been edited by hoxy: Jun 13 2012, 05:14 PM
Mihawk7
post Dec 5 2011, 09:38 PM

943 posts

is the material in lifting weight's chalk similar to the one used for the blackboard at school? i got a lot of those in stock.
micksolo
post Dec 6 2011, 01:39 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(hoxy @ Dec 5 2011, 07:57 PM)
Where do you buy them? How much? If online... how much is the shipping charge and how long does the delivery takes?
I got them at Camp5 Rock Climbing Center at 1Utama. They were 17RM each. Online from Amazon they are about $4 USD + postage so it probably works out to be the same.

Added on December 6, 2011, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Dec 5 2011, 09:38 PM)
is the material in lifting weight's chalk similar to the one used for the blackboard at school? i got a lot of those in stock.
Gym chalk is magnesium carbonate. Blackboard chalk is calcium carbonate but it can't hurt to try! I remember blackboard chalk is quite firm so it might take some effort to break it down into powder form.

This post has been edited by micksolo: Dec 6 2011, 01:41 PM

0.0450sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:56 AM