Household [WTA] how much to build a double story bungalow?, estimated price to build this?

TSmiss mandy
post Nov 3 2011, 01:25 AM, updated 15y ago

159 posts

Hi, does anyone know roughly how much to build a double story bungalow?

Not sure how to mention the size of the house cos i m new to this.. but the house i m thinking is like those normal bungalow by those developer. just build on my own land only.

the bungalow is to build on a land size of 70x100.

Hi my build up area is about 4000 sq.ft
so how much to build a complete house like tat? from design to complete house.. (normal materials will do..)

so roughly how much huh?

thanks in advance smile.gif

This post has been edited by miss mandy: Nov 3 2011, 10:37 AM
RadioShack
post Nov 3 2011, 01:30 AM

A really nice 1 should be between 100-200k , depends on your design
TSmiss mandy
post Nov 3 2011, 01:55 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(RadioShack @ Nov 3 2011, 01:30 AM)
so cheap only? house with building materials, workers etc..?
ManutdGiggs
post Nov 3 2011, 02:11 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(RadioShack @ Nov 3 2011, 01:30 AM)
Boss u can onli build w RM200k in ur dream. I hav just done a bungalow for my boss at RM350 psf. Onli to build a complete bungalow with top quality materials. ID another RM150psf. Dun forget bout appliances.

Let's assume normal materials to build within RM200k, u can onli use RM100psf to build a 2k sf bungalow on a land of 7k?!?!? Weird??? Single storey with mini futsal? Or a large swimming pool which u hav forgotten to mention de cost???
TSmiss mandy
post Nov 3 2011, 02:21 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Nov 3 2011, 02:11 AM)
Boss u can onli build w RM200k in ur dream. I hav just done a bungalow for my boss at RM350 psf. Onli to build a complete bungalow with top quality materials. ID another RM150psf. Dun forget bout appliances.

Let's assume normal materials to build within RM200k, u can onli use RM100psf to build a 2k sf bungalow on a land of 7k?!?!? Weird??? Single storey with mini futsal? Or a large swimming pool which u hav forgotten to mention de cost???
so how much to build a complete house like tat? (normal materials will do..)

btw wat do u mean by ID??
And wat are the appliances like huh??

thanks smile.gif

Added on November 3, 2011, 2:24 amoh ya, for ur info my land is in a small town in johor. so kindly advice. thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by miss mandy: Nov 3 2011, 02:24 AM
scorgio
post Nov 3 2011, 05:39 AM

4,695 posts

on current material price, expect RM130psf (built-up) for structure & basic finishing.
TSmiss mandy
post Nov 3 2011, 07:43 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Nov 3 2011, 05:39 AM)
on current material price, expect RM130psf (built-up) for structure & basic finishing.
if includes everything from design till finish?

wat are the steps to build a house? thanks

This post has been edited by miss mandy: Nov 3 2011, 07:43 AM
ManutdGiggs
post Nov 3 2011, 08:33 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(miss mandy @ Nov 3 2011, 02:21 AM)

thanks  smile.gif

Added on November 3, 2011, 2:24 amoh ya, for ur info my land is in a small town in johor. so kindly advice. thanks smile.gif
ID = Interial Design.

Appliances are mostly basic needs like, washing machine, fridge, maybe some oven if u bake, u can oso include TV, air cond.

RM100 psf is very hard a doable thing now for a bungalow. Bear in mind wiring is something expensive. Dun expect much discount on tis. U can save from plaster ceiling, cheap sanitaries, pretty normal roof tiles (in fact u can get 2nd grade if u dun mind, price is very much cheaper), no IKEA (overpriced furnitures), pretty normal alu window frame, pretty normal grille, pretty normal tiles from dunno who n who etc etc.

I suggest u to spare at least RM150 psf. With 4k b/u, inclusive of all needs but exclude architect charges n authority approval expenses, u need about RM700k. Move in with CF with another RM50k - RM100k. Alwiz remember architect n local council dun work for free.
simplicio
post Nov 3 2011, 09:27 AM

277 posts

TS, you too raw
its better for you to find a few contractor and ask your question face to face rather then here in a forum.

Its too long to write and list down for you.
one big free point for you =
GET A REPUTABLE AND RELIABLE CONTRACTOR !!

because these days...a lot scammers!!!

good day !!!
kelvinfixx
post Nov 3 2011, 09:46 AM

1,590 posts

QUOTE(miss mandy @ Nov 3 2011, 01:25 AM)

Not sure how to mention the size of the house cos i m new to this.. but the house i m thinking is like those normal bungalow by those developer. just build on my own land only.

so roughly how much huh?

thanks in advance  smile.gif
1.5 Mil.
M2K2Land
post Nov 3 2011, 09:50 AM

Inevitable 忍者
2,407 posts

so roughly how much huh?

for build I think you can done it with < 500k but remember ID (furniture and electrical applicants cost alot too) smile.gif will double up ...
tiensong
post Nov 3 2011, 11:13 AM

2,237 posts

Give you a rough idea..

double storey corner house with almost 80% restructured..built-up around 3000++ sq ft..

MPSJ Submission 4K
hacking + extension + re-locate all bathrooms + fencing + pillars + countertop + other wet works around 150K
whole house re-wring + aircorn piping 25K
whole house re-plumbing + kingkong stainless steel water tank 10K
whole house re-tiling (labour + material) 40K
whole house re-plastering 10K
whole house grille + gate 12K
whole house painting (labour + paint) 8K
whole house doors 6K
whole house power-coated windows 15K
replace whole roof tiles 3K

*only normal workmanship

*only normal materials used...

*not included any appliances...

*not included Interior Design

My estimation for your case is around 500-600K without appliances...

This post has been edited by tiensong: Nov 3 2011, 11:15 AM
kelvinfixx
post Nov 3 2011, 11:16 AM

1,590 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Nov 3 2011, 11:13 AM)
Give you a rough idea..

double storey corner house with almost 80% restructured..built-up around 3000++ sq ft..

MPSJ Submission 4K
hacking + extension + re-locate all bathrooms + fencing + pillars + countertop + other wet works around 150K
whole house re-wring + aircorn piping 25K
whole house re-plumbing + kingkong stainless steel water tank 10K
whole house re-tiling (labour + material) 40K
whole house re-plastering 10K
whole house grille + gate 12K
whole house painting (labour + paint) 8K
whole house doors 6K
whole house power-coated windows 15K
replace whole roof tiles 3K

*only normal workmanship

*only normal materials used...

*not included any appliances...

*not included Interior Design

My estimation for your case is around 500-600K without appliances...
Miss mandy want to renovate or built a new bangalow from scratch?

tiensong
post Nov 3 2011, 11:16 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Nov 3 2011, 11:16 AM)
Miss mandy want to renovate or built a new bangalow from scratch?
Built a new bangalow from scratch...

Added on November 3, 2011, 11:18 amoh ya...I just remember my contractor also building new bangalow from scratch while doing my house...he said 800K...but i don't know built-up size...

This post has been edited by tiensong: Nov 3 2011, 11:19 AM
kelvinfixx
post Nov 3 2011, 11:23 AM

1,590 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Nov 3 2011, 11:16 AM)
Built a new bangalow from scratch...

Added on November 3, 2011, 11:18 amoh ya...I just remember my contractor also building new bangalow from scratch while doing my house...he said 800K...but i don't know built-up size...
I think built new bungalow now is not that cheap, need at least 900k to a mil for just a simple design.

I have few uncles building it for their own few years ago, for about 1 mil without much design.

tiensong
post Nov 3 2011, 11:26 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Nov 3 2011, 11:23 AM)
I think built new bungalow now is not that cheap, need at least 900k to a mil for just a simple design.

I have few uncles building it for their own few years ago, for about 1 mil without much design.
yes, depend on the built-up size...

materials costs increase all the time...you see the price of red bricks also know..should be already double the price of last year price...

Seremban_2
post Nov 3 2011, 11:43 AM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(miss mandy @ Nov 3 2011, 01:55 AM)
so cheap only? house with building materials, workers etc..?
Cannot rely on this. Workmanship already RM100k and imagine a long run to build the house.
TSmiss mandy
post Nov 3 2011, 01:40 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:43 AM)
Cannot rely on this. Workmanship already RM100k and imagine a long run to build the house.
er.. workmanship is not under constructor?
kelvyn
post Nov 3 2011, 03:50 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(miss mandy @ Nov 3 2011, 03:21 AM)

thanks  smile.gif

Normal design, without ID works, using ceramic/ porcelain tiles (no marble/ granite) in small town in Johor.
Can take RM160 per sq ft as a guide. For more accurate figure, you will need to engage an Architect to draw out the plans, C&S Engineer and M&E Engineer to prepare the relevant drawings. Then, get reliable contractors to quote.

Be careful of conman contractors. Don't get misled by them.

Good luck
scorgio
post Nov 3 2011, 08:51 PM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(miss mandy @ Nov 3 2011, 07:43 AM)
if includes everything from design till finish?

wat are the steps to build a house? thanks
U should start by engaging a competent architect.

Let the professional handle the design, submission, implementation, supervise construction up until issuance of CF. This part must not be neglected nor exempted.

Never let a contractor 'sapu' the above works.

EMYGHT
post Nov 3 2011, 09:34 PM

97 posts

so how much to build a complete house like tat? from design to complete house.. (normal materials will do..)

so roughly how much huh?

a speedy approach that i use to screen through construction cost is to tag it against the land price.. usually @ a ratio of 30:70..

example, if your land is 90 psf, then the estimated construction cost is 210 psf [(90*70)/30].. by using the land price as a factor, it moderates the corresponding cost that u shud be spending on the building itself..

of coz, the actual depends on how basic or luxurious u want it to be, i.e. the quality.. and also bear in mind the variances, often rising material costs from the moment u embark on the project.. u may not want to commit too early i.e. cashflow, but generally, and in recent times, the cost can fluctuate up between 40%-60% throught the course of the construction period.. have to be extra diligent on this part, make sure your project manager or architect lays out the procurement plan..

then the part on financing, i assume u need it.. get a building plan prepared, may not necessarily be the final version.. a draughtsman can do it provided with the certification of an architect, and the official quotation for the project.. if your land is free from encumbrances, it's still adviseable to raise some additional cash out of it as buffer, or to ease on the furnishing costs, and a few months of installments after settling in..

and yes, try not to do everything on your own.. consult the professionals, but at the same time, shud have your say in what u have in mind, plus managing your budget, compare a few other quotations.. hope it helps and good luck..

u may visit propertyWTF.com.my to check out some of the topics that may be relevant.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by EMYGHT: Nov 3 2011, 09:52 PM
Phoeni_142
post Nov 3 2011, 10:02 PM

753 posts

SIFU EMYGHT TAI KOR TAI TAI TAI TAI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! notworthy.gif

What a pleasant surprise to see you here! Great to know u will be sharing your experience with others smile.gif

This post has been edited by Phoeni_142: Nov 3 2011, 10:04 PM
EMYGHT
post Nov 3 2011, 10:08 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Nov 3 2011, 10:02 PM)
SIFU EMYGHT TAI KOR TAI TAI TAI TAI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  notworthy.gif

What a pleasant surprise to see you here!  Great to know u will be sharing your experience with others  smile.gif
duty call.. kekekeke

getting use to it, TNS got to re-edit each time.. sian..

----------

The Property-Deals Forum

propertyWTF.com.my

www.facebook.com/propertyWTF

This post has been edited by EMYGHT: Nov 3 2011, 10:13 PM
beandk
post Nov 4 2011, 12:36 AM

365 posts

OMG!!! It's EMYGHT!!!! rclxms.gif ....and a newbie too!!!!!! kekeke.....
thunderaj
post Nov 4 2011, 10:03 AM

General Manager
1,175 posts

Usually the hard part of building your own house is the workers ..
Sometime they turn up to work and sometimes not.

kelvyn
post Nov 4 2011, 11:42 AM

3,173 posts

If you engage competent consultants (Architect & Engineers) plus a reliable main contractor, less of a headache.
mazer6446
post Mar 26 2014, 12:46 PM

81 posts

Hi, i don't know whether this is a right thread, i'm also planning to build a house on my own land in Bangi area, care to share any reputable contractor to liaise with? thank you
Lyh2929
post Mar 27 2014, 01:07 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 4 2011, 11:42 AM)
If you engage competent consultants (Architect & Engineers) plus a reliable main contractor, less of a headache.
1.For submission and ccc purpose. u need lots of consultant. Like planner, license surveyor, architect, civil engineer, structure engineer, m&e engineer and landscape architect depend on with local authority u submit to.
2. From the first day u engage an architect to the day u get the approval may need 6-12 months depend on how soon u can confirm the design and the local authoties (small town will be easier)
3.For construction u need another 12 -18months (depend on how many round of changes u want and the contractor speed)
4. If u want to have a team of consultants work for u, u need to budget about 10% of the construction cost as consultant fees.
5. Or else get one good contractor and as him to include all this.
techhunter
post Apr 13 2015, 05:31 PM

232 posts

Hi all,
A friend of mine completed on of his project at Damansara.

Total land size 48'X100'
Build from scratch
Total build up area 4200 sqft

Total build up cost RM630,000 inclusive of everything [everything as in plumbing/electrical/wiring and etc]

Add on huge water fountain, and koi fish = RM35k.

ID charge = RM30k one time fees (inclusive coordination and project management)

Aircond, tv, bed, and etc = RM200k
Curtain = RM25k
Kitchen spoon fork plate bowl and etc from distributor = RM15000

Total up: RM935k, and he said he additional spend 15k for a bose system import from US.

So back your shirt and move in at RM950k
happygolucky8688
post Jul 21 2015, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(techhunter @ Apr 13 2015, 05:31 PM)
Hi all,

Total land size 48'X100'
Build from scratch

Total build up cost RM630,000 inclusive of everything [everything as in plumbing/electrical/wiring and etc]

Curtain = RM25k

Total up: RM935k, and he said he additional spend 15k for a bose system import from US.

Hi may I have your friend contractor contact number? Can PM me? Thank you. biggrin.gif
Xenian
post Jun 21 2016, 08:52 AM

QUOTE(techhunter @ Apr 13 2015, 05:31 PM)
Hi all,

Total land size 48'X100'
Build from scratch

Curtain = RM25k

Thanks for the great info..can i know if the 950k included all the consultant's fee and submissions fee?

techhunter
post Jul 3 2016, 01:22 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(Xenian @ Jun 21 2016, 08:52 AM)
Thanks for the great info..can i know if the 950k included all the consultant's fee and submissions fee?
Yes, all in.

0.0238sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:50 AM