SPM grading scale in 2010, Sources unknown

TSpcccmn
post Oct 31 2011, 03:39 PM, updated 15y ago

40 posts

This is the 2010's SPM 'grading' scale shakehead.gif . This record is based on statistics from Semenanjung Malaysia. No idea which fella get this from. I got it from my friend rolleyes.gif Just sharing with you all students out there who are sitting for SPM 2011' papers.

I removed out all the 'Bs' grades because I believe majority students would prefer "A-" grade instead of a B+.. brows.gif I repost this using Microsoft Excel rather than using the original picture to protect the original owner's identity wink.gif

Plus I only have records up to B shocking.gif

*I don't think this is illegal since none of the law states that statistics cannot be shown to public whistling.gif If it is please do remove this post hmm.gif

I believe this would help to "reduce" the student's stress since left 14 days or so to SPM.. If it does increase your stress, sorry lol ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by pcccmn: Oct 31 2011, 06:12 PM

eClIpSe_R3tr0
post Oct 31 2011, 03:54 PM

832 posts

LOL , ok it reduces my stress . Wth ?! doh.gif laugh.gif brows.gif
TSpcccmn
post Oct 31 2011, 03:57 PM

40 posts

shocking.gif I seriously couldn't believe it when I saw Sejarah and Add Maths required less than 60 to get an A- doh.gif But still Sejarah is a deadly subject to me .__. even now cry.gif
iAdor3 Naz
post Oct 31 2011, 08:31 PM

769 posts

I'm a SPM 2010 candidate.

I don't think it's true lah for most cases especially Biology, Chemistry and Physics.
Not trying to show off but as far as I remember.. All sciences paper 1 , I scored 47~49/50 . Paper 2 was quite easy.. Paper 3 also can not that difficult.. But then, still not A+.. So .. I don't think the mark is like that xD.. haha..

p/s - for all my science subject, all 3 = A only.
zstan
post Oct 31 2011, 08:35 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(iAdor3 Naz @ Oct 31 2011, 08:31 PM)
I'm a SPM 2010 candidate.

I don't think it's true lah for most cases especially Biology, Chemistry and Physics.
Not trying to show off but as far as I remember.. All sciences paper 1 , I scored 47~49/50 . Paper 2 was quite easy.. Paper 3 also can not that difficult.. But then, still not A+.. So .. I don't think the mark is like that xD.. haha..

p/s - for all my science subject, all 3 = A only.
You think the paper is easy doesn't mean you didn't screw up paper 2 n 3 ma. Maybe what you wrote is not in marking scheme leh? Just saying.
Makira
post Oct 31 2011, 08:41 PM

~Strive For Stars~
709 posts

Any source?????? How do you get it????
podrunner
post Oct 31 2011, 09:07 PM

2,214 posts

OMG! A- in the real world is really C! No wonder students are getting "smarter" every year. Self-deception!
TSpcccmn
post Oct 31 2011, 09:13 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Makira @ Oct 31 2011, 08:41 PM)
Any source?????? How do you get it????
I got it from one of my friend. He wouldn't tell me where he got the source from. But I do believe that's the score because it's just like what one of my friend said to my history teacher back then and what my Additional Maths teacher said.

"Cikgu, saya lihat statistik dari Semenanjung sana 56 markah dalam Sejarah sudah boleh dapat A-" drool.gif

-He didn't know about the fact that I posted this, even until now. I got this scaling info 2 weeks after. And it matches what he said EXACTLY biggrin.gif

Secondly, my teacher said, she had a student back then, no idea which year-lah
she didn't mention shocking.gif She said that student, never got 65 above for her Add Maths in her whole life but in the SPM, she got an A+ notworthy.gif

If you look carefully at the list above, 58 is an A- for Add Maths, but she got an A+ which means she must have gotten 78 marks or above.

Relatively, we all know the scaling of the grades each year changes because as most of us know, the scaling depends on how many people scored certain results in that particular subject

There are 2 possibilities if you analyse the situation properly

1) You-Know-Who lowers the requirement so that more students can get more As & passes
Evidence : A sudden increase of 1,252 students throughout Malaysia obtaining straight As. A dramatical increase from 2009 shocking.gif Straight As some more. WALAO-EH! shakehead.gif

Source : www.edu-talk.net/2011/03/school/spm/spm-best-results-in-four-years-with-9239-straight-a-scorers/

I'm not trying to spread rumours or badmouth people, but think of it this way, if you obtained straight As, do you like the *person-in-charge-of-our-education-system*? Obviously you would prefer it right? He made you happy rclxm9.gif

2) The paper just gets easier each year <--- This fact is true, but I personally don't see much difference rclxub.gif I doubt that there will be any of you gambling the fact that the paper gets easier each year. 2005 - 2010 Add Maths paper didn't change much. Still same level of hardness. In fact in 2010 questions from the past are selected(Harder types)

This are all my speculations and from one of my tuition teacher who have an experience of 20 years above until now.

Look, I can't verify this source but I do believe in it. Don't take it for granted that you don't have to study hmm.gif The same principle still applies now.

No Study = Wait Die *Unless Lady Luck on your side or something biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pcccmn: Oct 31 2011, 09:54 PM
maximR
post Oct 31 2011, 09:16 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

Why did you post this ? Let it be . Benefit us students . tongue.gif But still , work hard . But the low grade to get A+ is appreciated . wink.gif

If you post this , chances are that government will increase the graph . biggrin.gif HAHAHA .

TSpcccmn
post Oct 31 2011, 09:21 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Oct 31 2011, 09:16 PM)
Why did you post this ? Let it be . Benefit us students . tongue.gif But still , work hard . But the low grade to get A+ is appreciated . wink.gif

If you post this , chances are that government will increase the graph . biggrin.gif HAHAHA .
To reduce students stress, I guess. Nah I just want to share it out. *If you benefit from something, you should share it unsure.gif

If increase also won't that worst de la. If You-Know-Who wants citizens to love him, he won't make it so hard biggrin.gif

But I predict by the year 2012 or 2013 or at 2020, the scale would be WOO-HOO. Increase graph .__. Cause all in BM. And the what Wawasan 2020 will achieved. Meaning we'll have something better than Proton Wira biggrin.gif
Makira
post Oct 31 2011, 09:22 PM

~Strive For Stars~
709 posts

Never appreciate lower grade for A+, screw up the whole system and cant differentiate smart and poor students when they are mixed up.....
TSpcccmn
post Oct 31 2011, 09:25 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Makira @ Oct 31 2011, 09:22 PM)
Never appreciate lower grade for A+, screw up the whole system and cant differentiate smart and poor students when they are mixed up.....
Which is why I believe they implemented A+,A and A-

A+ are for students, who truly work and deserve to have it

A are Okay-Lah standard

A- are for lazy students,

like me shakehead.gif
hairi.ariff_11
post Oct 31 2011, 09:28 PM

229 posts

thanks men.. you give me alot of motivation for me to study.. atleast education system know that A+ for physics,biology are not for 'normal human'
TSpcccmn
post Oct 31 2011, 09:36 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(hairi.ariff_11 @ Oct 31 2011, 09:28 PM)
thanks men.. you give me alot of motivation for me to study.. atleast education system know that A+ for physics,biology are not for 'normal human'
No problem rclxms.gif I'm not really sure with your last phrase though..Because you see ohmy.gif I have several friends in my school, same age as me. Scoring 90+ in every subject in their trial papers shocking.gif So well, it's possible. But..it'd take..like..a lot of effort and hardwork cry.gif
podrunner
post Oct 31 2011, 09:40 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(pcccmn @ Oct 31 2011, 09:36 PM)
No problem rclxms.gif I'm not really sure with your last phrase though..Because you see ohmy.gif I have several friends in my school, same age as me. Scoring 90+ in every subject in their trial papers shocking.gif So well, it's possible. But..it'd take..like..a lot of effort and hardwork cry.gif
You are right. It is indeed possible, but this effort and hard work starts right at the beginning of form 4, definitely not in the last couple of months.
TSpcccmn
post Oct 31 2011, 09:51 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Oct 31 2011, 09:40 PM)
You are right. It is indeed possible, but this effort and hard work starts right at the beginning of form 4, definitely not in the last couple of months.
Yeap rclxms.gif

*If people ask you what result you get, just say straight As. Don't go into the detail saying you got all straight A- s' sweat.gif
Makira
post Oct 31 2011, 10:06 PM

~Strive For Stars~
709 posts

QUOTE(pcccmn @ Oct 31 2011, 09:51 PM)
Yeap rclxms.gif
*If people ask you what result you get, just say straight As. Don't go into the detail saying you got all straight A- s' sweat.gif
Haha...then you should take 12 subjects, when you got 2 B and 10 A, you still can claim that you are straight A, dont show them the slip....... gosh.... doh.gif
podrunner
post Oct 31 2011, 10:13 PM

2,214 posts

Deceiving self will lead to a rude awakening soon enough.
iAdor3 Naz
post Nov 1 2011, 12:31 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(pcccmn @ Oct 31 2011, 09:51 PM)
Yeap rclxms.gif
last time just before the result was released..
i didn't care if i got straight A- lol.. as long as it's an A.. HAHA.. but before SPM, everybody was like .. "it's gonna be sucks if u got Straight A- " haha.. drool.gif

Added on November 1, 2011, 12:34 am
QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 31 2011, 08:35 PM)
You think the paper is easy doesn't mean you didn't screw up paper 2 n 3 ma. Maybe what you wrote is not in marking scheme leh? Just saying.
Maybe lah but I was so sure lah last time..LOL.. xD.. Nevermind.. You might be right though wink.gif..
But university life now is more fun than Highschool eventhough the grading for my programme is .. 95+ = A+ , 90 = A- , 85 = B+ .. xD..

This post has been edited by iAdor3 Naz: Nov 1 2011, 12:34 AM
kona|kona
post Nov 1 2011, 01:17 AM

arsengal u jelly【ツ】
759 posts

it getting easier to get 10A+

0.0219sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:32 AM