wow... not bad eh...
Phone was on idle for about 5-6 hours... just a few sms's and flipping through the phone...
98%
SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V18, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first
Oct 31 2011, 11:42 AM
956 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
wow... not bad eh...
Phone was on idle for about 5-6 hours... just a few sms's and flipping through the phone... 98% |
Oct 31 2011, 01:10 PM
The galaxy note certainly looks nice... but it's just like a bigger version of the SII
I'd wait out for the 'supposed' QUAD CORE SIII. woot |
Oct 31 2011, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 31 2011, 01:35 PM) hmmm... not surprised if after 10th... this thread quiets down and Note becomes the most active thread... lol... ah.... as all good things shall come to an end...Added on October 31, 2011, 1:37 pm just what i need, actually. very happy with sgs2 and if i got complaints (besides the little bugs with little things), its that sgs2 is a bit small. i'd prefer something bigger. dang... this sgn poison really kuat la... It's not the end that matters but the journey to it that brings light to the AMOLEDs\ kukukuku |
Oct 31 2011, 01:40 PM
Ooo... SIII I heard will be 5 inches too... not 5.3 though.. hehehe... I think it's 4.65'
Oct 31 2011, 02:20 PM
Oct 31 2011, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 31 2011, 02:23 PM) Anyhows, just like the iFags who think that 3.5 inches is the "perfect" screen size, I think that 5 inches is going TOO FAR, at least where smartphones are concerned. Reason why I've not bought a tablet yet is that humongous screen... which seems cumbersome to carry and to use one-handed. I'm not getting the Note as well but not plainly because it's huge. more of like it's not much of an upgrade compared to what we're hearing about the SIII... I agree too that the phone has to be manageable one-handed or not you're just venturing into tablet waters. Which then... would call for a full-fledged 10' display eh? I second you on that point.I mean, it's a phone and I use my phone one handed while on the move A LOT (for phone stuff AND surfing, hence my sub 12hour battery life most of the time, even with extended batteries). I can BARELY type single handedly as it is with the SGS2 woi, if I ever get the Note, I'll have to have BOTH my hands free before I can do anything - which is gonna cut my enjoice time by a considerable margin. So no. Sticking with the SGS2 for now, and prolly until my Blue OLEDs die off. If I EVER get itchy for a larger screen, I'll jump to a tablet of some sort. Only thing that's gonna make me even think of going anywhere else is a phone with full-stripe HD AMOLED screen (4.5 inches MAX) + properly implemented Wolfson DAC + 8MP++ BSI sensor -> specs I HOPED the GalNex would have, but it didn't either. On other unrelated news, I dropped my SGS2 today. Hard. Against a tiled floor. Battery cover popped slightly open, but that's it. It remained alive through the entire ordeal too. Managed to crack the el-cheapo bumper I was using near the DBT antenna hole though, oh well. Thankfully I plug all the antenna holes in ALL my cases with electrical tape (for some unknown reason it will ALWAYS fall to the ground that end first lol). So, score two for my heavily armoured SGS2 (BSE skin overall + Glas/Estoc front + el-cheapo ebay bumper), zero for Uncle Newton. Fuuuh. On your near death experience: Had mine, probably pee-d a little bit as I heard my girlfriend drop my phone, see her eyes pop followed by mouthful of apologies... and me trying to look cool and say "It's alright... I know you didn't mean to. It's just a phone"... ... and then go change me underpants |
Oct 31 2011, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Oct 31 2011, 06:14 PM) Yes, modem will affect data connection/WIFI/GPS. I've been on XXKI4. Maxis, everything seems fine. Not much difference with XXKH3.Try flash back to previous modem file that is working good for you. I find XXKI4 modem WIFI reception is weaker for me, XXKH3 is better. QUOTE(KahHoong @ Oct 31 2011, 06:27 PM) Flashed. Seems snappier. Had some problems with Vlingo but it seems like it's resolved.Not really much change |
Oct 31 2011, 09:21 PM
Oct 31 2011, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 31 2011, 09:19 PM) I sorta gave up with KI4 after I got echos during phone calls and ran back to trusty old KH3. Oh? That's weird.... was using CheckRom for a while... no issues like that yet... hmmm... if that happens, might revert to ol' trusty Cognition1.5.1. which was by far stable as hell for me... just tak tahan menge-flash ROMS especially when they mentioned how the 2.3.5. had better battery life. Oh, and CWM modem flashing does have one dangerous potential side effect: EFS corruption. I went through that at least once already. but... calls are still good. QUOTE(CLian @ Oct 31 2011, 09:31 PM) One question here, is the web browser fast for surfing Internet? Compared to?Because I always surf the net. It is more convenient to use SGS-2 to surf if it is fast. Thanks. |
Oct 31 2011, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(CLian @ Oct 31 2011, 09:54 PM) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bphZoV8VrLchttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pp0HlX1ySGg http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G1EBlCWBHHs hope this gives you a better idea |
Oct 31 2011, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Oct 31 2011, 10:01 PM) Dude, high time you download Titanium Backup. It saves you. That's right... it's like your savant. Download now!QUOTE(CLian @ Oct 31 2011, 10:02 PM) Let say...........Google chrome browser on PC vs SGS-2 browser Dude... Please don't tell me your computer is also dual-core 1.2GHz... hahahhaa... Which is faster? In your opinion. Since i can't deny that google chrome is fast on my PC. Thanks! cannot la dude... of course la chrome is faster. unless it's chrome on a pitiful netbook la. |
Nov 1 2011, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(cadmus @ Nov 1 2011, 02:55 PM) hi, i'm tryign to make the google map navigation to work. followed the link in page one and then tried but failed to installed. Any work around this? i think its related to country setting. Thanks for helping. QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 1 2011, 03:21 PM) Are you rooted? If you are just delete Maps using TiBu, copy the modded maps.apk into system/app (make sure you've set filesystem to r/w), set permissions and restart. Indeed... Eiraku explained wellAnd IDK about the 1st page tut, but the modded onwhere maps are now up to ver 5.11.0 already last I checked. Some ROMS also have modded GPS Navigation for global navigation. So just check if your rom you flashed has it or not. |
Nov 2 2011, 10:52 AM
am using the same flashlight app. It comes out immediately.
Non-G |
Nov 2 2011, 12:47 PM
Anyone tried the new market? any missing apps under MyApps as reported by some users?
Nov 2 2011, 02:48 PM
using the new market... so far, nothing wrong... not noticeably faster either... well... maybe a tad bit
Nov 2 2011, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(deora @ Nov 2 2011, 08:40 PM) im still confuse, after reading some of the guides and youtube videos, some ppl say need to flash insecure kernel then only flash custom rom, but some ppl said no need flash insecure kernel, just directly flash to the custom rom, how oh? It will be more appropriate to flash the custom rom first. This is with the idea that the custom rom normally comes with a kernel as well... so after flashing a kernel then rom will just overwrite the kernel you just flashed. |
Nov 2 2011, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(antt00 @ Nov 2 2011, 09:03 PM) Problem is he won't have cwm to flash most latest custom rom. Only one i know that flash through odin is outdated lite'ning. It would be easier to download <10mb cf kernel to get cwm than 300mb lite'ning rom. That is true if they wanna choose a rom that doesn't have a .tar file. Most devs provide both these daysSo my usual advice is flash cf root kernel then flash whatever rom you want. |
Nov 2 2011, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 2 2011, 10:00 PM) should read up about task killing... and ram. not necessary to keep killing tasks/apps all the time. it becomes counter productive if your aim is to conserve battery.just make sure you use the back button to exit applications(most of them anyway)... and for IMs or other networking sites/apps, sign out from the menu and you should be fine. the task manager is more than efficient in exiting applications that don't fall under these categories |
Nov 3 2011, 06:52 AM
Nov 3 2011, 08:16 AM
to tell you the truth, i'm not sure which one (watchdog or DCW) are accurate. I guess, the only way to know is to double check with your Mobile Service Provider and check the data on these apps.
However, to just avoid the hassle, just subscribe to a data plan that is slightly beyond what you would normally use. Then it's safe |
| Change to: | 0.0417sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:54 PM |