12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V18, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 07:36 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Oct 31 2011, 11:47 PM)
I was wondering if there was a way to remove the bootup and shutdown animation so the phone can do both of those in a shorter time?

I know in the KitchenPro there is a way to remove the sounds, not the actual animations.

Even if you get rid of the boot animation, the phone will still not start immediately. You will just get black screen during startup and think you brick your phone. tongue.gif

Added on November 1, 2011, 7:39 am
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 1 2011, 07:12 AM)
I thought you just got a new phone. What happened to it that you need to do factory reset.??
BTW., try to guess what phone in the pictures below.
SGSII vs Note or is it Note vs Galaxy Tab 7...
Note vs tab 7. Wah you got your note oledi?

This post has been edited by antt00: Nov 1 2011, 07:39 AM
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 09:21 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Nov 1 2011, 09:19 AM)
should i update my device firmware with kies first before flashing rom?
No point to so no need.

Added on November 1, 2011, 9:22 am
QUOTE(leongkokloon @ Nov 1 2011, 09:08 AM)
Im just curious any china google map application for this phone... my dad wants it...
I am not sure but isn't google map global?

This post has been edited by antt00: Nov 1 2011, 09:22 AM
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 09:37 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 1 2011, 09:35 AM)
Interesting stuff I noticed in the Siyah FAQ
Hmmmmmmmm. We should stop telling people to "calibrate their battery" because the hardware doesn't even care lol.
Yeah that is old news. Entropy found out that wiping batt stats does not work with our batt fuel gauge. So all the previous method of calibrating batt is just a placebo effect.

Added on November 1, 2011, 9:38 am
QUOTE(AstonCheah @ Nov 1 2011, 09:37 AM)
wth, checkrom2.0 with dk kernel without any oc or uv, the quadrant can hit 5+++? crazy!!
People should stop using quadrant. It is not optimized for dual core.

Added on November 1, 2011, 9:40 am
QUOTE(leongkokloon @ Nov 1 2011, 09:27 AM)
uhh is there anyway it can be viewed in chinese? e.g. china maps in chinese character
Oh you want to change the app language. That I am not sure. Have to find uncle google + xda maybe.

Added on November 1, 2011, 9:42 amDK Siyah 2.1 SOD on me suddenly. Re-try without any UV.

This post has been edited by antt00: Nov 1 2011, 09:42 AM
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 09:45 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Nov 1 2011, 09:43 AM)
so that's means even the rom using XXkI3

i'm only on XXKI1

just go with flashing rom?
Yes because the rom you flash will overwrite whatever version you have now. Example, it does not matter your on KF1 or KH2 when you flash KI4 custom rom you get KI4.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 09:59 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(AstonCheah @ Nov 1 2011, 09:54 AM)

Added on November 1, 2011, 9:38 am
People should stop using quadrant. It is not optimized for dual core.

lol, i know quadrant means nothing but just a number or a reference.. i only compare before and after with different kernels, they can make it 5+++ or even 6+++(mentioned in xda thread) with the latest kernel dk, to me, it means they have improved something on the kernel. just my 2cens.

Added on November 1, 2011, 9:56 am

sadly, our master Hacre no longer with xda.. blush.gif
Actually i find the kernel similar to 2.1 RC2 apart from 1 unexplained SOD so far. Have not tested bluetooth yet but it should have been fixed.

This post has been edited by antt00: Nov 1 2011, 10:00 AM
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 10:07 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Nov 1 2011, 10:06 AM)
which one should i get downloading for my very first custom rom?

do i need to flash the kernel first then only rom?
New_XXKI4_CheckROM_RevolutionHD_V2.0.0.zip (The thread)

XXKI4_CheckRom_Revolution_HD_v1_0.zip (The thread)
2.0 its more updated.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 10:19 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

G version users here is your first developer kernel for rooting. Have CWM as well.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1327509

This post has been edited by antt00: Nov 1 2011, 10:19 AM
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 10:20 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(JXplod @ Nov 1 2011, 10:19 AM)
hi guys, need some expert guys for help, do you guys know which digi center still selling samsung s2,  i need to get 1 soon. check a few digi store no stock.. >< hope some1 know about it thanks
We are SGS2 users not Digi center, better you call them up branch by branch to see which one have stock.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 10:39 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Nov 1 2011, 10:33 AM)
sweet! does that mean if developers put in this kernel in their rom, doesnt that mean i9100 roms + i9100g kernel can be flashed to g model?
Err i dunno, any G version wanna to try this risky thing. If it works great, if not you will still have CWM so just restore backup. brows.gif brows.gif

Added on November 1, 2011, 10:41 am
QUOTE(SilverCrimz @ Nov 1 2011, 10:37 AM)
cuz i installed an update of adobe flash 11 but then i realize i dun really need it so i decided to delete it but then it still leaves the app icon there and i couldnt find a way to remove it.
Wow talk about extreme. Factory reset to get rid of an icon.

This post has been edited by antt00: Nov 1 2011, 10:41 AM
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 10:49 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Nov 1 2011, 10:49 AM)
my hand so itchy dat i go update n now the widget gone doh.gif
Err uninstall update then.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 11:00 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(SilverCrimz @ Nov 1 2011, 10:52 AM)
hmm. when i first got the phone it wasnt at the app menu. it only came when i installed the update.
May i ask is there anything wrong with the icon being in the app drawer. hmm.gif
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 11:17 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ian913 @ Nov 1 2011, 11:08 AM)
hi all,
i just flash to checkrom and i tried the kitchen app to install one of the boot animation
but after install, i still get the same reboot animation
any one know the reason?
Flash DK Siyah 2.1 Kernel. The rom comes with hellcat kernel that looks for the boot animation elsewhere.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 11:44 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ian913 @ Nov 1 2011, 11:34 AM)
thanks will flash the kernel later
btw i saw one video on checkrom thread regarding a full screen dialer
i think i dont have that feature
is it they remove it in 2.0 update?
They have not yet uploaded full screen call as far as I know but i have not check the kitchen lately. Those videos are from old checkroms.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 12:00 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ian913 @ Nov 1 2011, 11:52 AM)
thanks  notworthy.gif so the full screen dialer is not come in default la?
coz i dint do a full wipe when flashing the rom
thought i miss out sth
No it does not come with the rom. The rom comes with all standard un-touched apps. Any modification you need to download from kitchen. Thats the kitchen concept. Everyone wants different things, so rom apps are stock and you customize yourself from kitchen.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 12:06 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Nov 1 2011, 12:02 PM)
if you're rooted you can try these tweaks by adding them to your build.prop in system folder

# Signal tweaks
ro.ril.hsxpa=2
ro.ril.gprsclass=10
ro.ril.hep=1
ro.ril.enable.dtm=1
ro.ril.hsdpa.category=10
ro.ril.enable.a53=1
ro.ril.enable.3g.prefix=1
ro.ril.htcmaskw1.bitmask=4294967295
ro.ril.htcmaskw1=14449
ro.ril.hsupa.category=5

# Net tweaks
net.tcp.buffersize.default=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960
net.tcp.buffersize.wifi=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960
net.tcp.buffersize.umts=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960
net.tcp.buffersize.gprs=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960
net.tcp.buffersize.edge=4096,87380,256960,4096,16384,256960

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1210341

i always put these tweaks everytime i flash a rom especially checkrom revolution. i dont know why but my connection sucks with checkrom's modem+tweaks, had to remove their network tweaks and apply mine. if not my connection will work for 1 min, then hang, need to off network data and on back only can work, for 1 min then jam again  shakehead.gif
Just realized the signal tweaks is not in checkrom 2.0. Added back n restarting... hmm wonder why he remove it. hmm.gif
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 12:35 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Nov 1 2011, 12:18 PM)
is there anyway to fix my GPS? is taking more than 5 minutes to detect my location  icon_question.gif
Some recommend fasterfix app, or you can turn on data to get agps or if your rooted edit your gps.conf.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 12:38 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(FutureME92 @ Nov 1 2011, 12:31 PM)
Any idea how to know whether it's legal or not? smile.gif
What website? If all the app is free of cos illegal. If they got paid apps but give some free apps like getjar, amazon then most probably legal.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 12:59 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Nov 1 2011, 12:44 PM)
can u teach me d 3rd one? i tried fasterfix and agps but still no result
I am outside now. Will post later. But dunno how effective it is cos I normally use agps.
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 01:03 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(FutureME92 @ Nov 1 2011, 12:43 PM)
It's from getjar. What do you think about this site?

Getjar is legal. That site looks illegal. Better remove the link before u get vacation
antt00
post Nov 1 2011, 02:23 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Nov 1 2011, 12:44 PM)
can u teach me d 3rd one? i tried fasterfix and agps but still no result
Have you tried the link from destEX

If not you can get this gps.conf. Just drop it in systems/etc and reboot. Try and see if you can lock faster outdoor.

Attached File  gps.zip ( 275bytes ) Number of downloads: 11

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:48 PM