[V6] Battlefield 3, Play It Now!

Cheesenium
post Oct 31 2011, 08:50 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Holy shit, its already V6 and i have not even reached Rank 6.

I sort of lost the urge to play BF3 MP. The maps are awful.
Cheesenium
post Oct 31 2011, 09:18 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(gbwedward @ Oct 31 2011, 08:56 AM)
thanks to mortar spammers, and campers.. the game isn't as fun anymore
well... will be waiting for the karkand expansion, hopefully they don't reform the map designs too much
Not only that, the awful maps like Seina Crossing, Operation Metro, Great Bazaar, Kharg Islands, Canals on Rush mode is putting me off. The maps feels like its made for CoD-tards where its so damn flat, so many chokes and camping spots. Just camp at chokes to revive people, you can easily get 2000 points for doing nothing. Even BC2 isnt that annoying to play. Hate those straight back alleys where its just rocket and nade spam, or its mixed with really wide open roads that is impossible to flank other than getting killed at chokes.

Conquest mode is generally good, but i still like Operation Firestorm, Kharg Islands and Caspian Borders a lot. Seina Crossing is pretty damn good at Conquest too for intense urban combat that isnt filled with chokes. Rush mode does feel like something that belongs to BC series than BF3, as the maps are completely not tailored for it. To make it worse, its gets really annoying to play Rush if you got 48 players. And with Metro. Damn meat grinders.

Mortars are damn annoying and lack of Acog scopes in low levels are really annoying as an iron sight cant hit shit after 500m. The guns at low levels are garbage, especially M16A3. So much recoil and sway where anyone using a SCAR or M416 can kill you easily because those guns have low recoil. I can get to k/d 1.5 if i use M416 but with M16A3, i only got k/d of 0.2.

Oh not to forget the wonderful "largest" unlock system in a Battlefield, does anyone really need that? Planes with no flares and air to ground missiles are just sitting ducks. Tanks with Autoloaders and smoke are considerably better than tanks without. What the hell is DICE thinking? Having a large redundant unlock tree isnt fun, especially there are so many important life changing unlocks there.

I do expect the game to be more fun later on as im getting more stuff but the way it is now, BF3 is overhyped and failed to deliver the promise.
Cheesenium
post Oct 31 2011, 09:30 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(blitzio @ Oct 31 2011, 09:18 AM)
Do you guys prefer with FF on or off? Because our server has it on, and sometimes it gets annoying with tanks running people over and with careless grenade throwers. But we think it promotes tactical behavior with people picking their targets more carefully. What do you guys think?
Off because people are stupid.
Cheesenium
post Oct 31 2011, 09:34 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(nipaa1412 @ Oct 31 2011, 09:31 AM)

Been avoiding rush like the plague. The real problem with rush is that most of the time it is very one sided. I remember playing one game with like half of the enemy using nothing but snipers( they are defenders).

But seine crossing has too many choke points sad.gif
Not as bad as Grand Bazaar. That map is damn annoying, cause the chokes are just a straight walkway where rockets can fly through and kill anyone on the other side without any problems.

Rush is only playable on 24 players servers. Its a much bigger clusterf*** than BC2's Cold War.

I wonder what DICE is smoking. BF3's MP is terrible. Bad unlocks system and bad maps.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Oct 31 2011, 09:39 AM
Cheesenium
post Oct 31 2011, 09:57 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(boblp @ Oct 31 2011, 09:44 AM)
all the maps are fine by me.. no problem here.. i think instead of complaining.. might be better for u to learn to counter all the problems mentioned..  anyway.. im just saying.. hehe

play in squads with voice on.. play with friends.. its much more better that way.. if you play solo of coz la hard.. find proper squad who actually works as a squad.. trust me.. it will be different.. this is not COD guys.. no solo run and gun..
The maps do have problems, because of poor design. Metro is clearly a Rush map, but playing it on 64 players Conquest is just ridiculous messy meat grinder.

It works pretty well solo since BF1942, why should Bf3 be any different?

Yea, this is a BF game, but why does the game feels like a damn CoD? Ridiculous unlock system. Garbage maps. BF3 even have the smoothness of the CoD, which is nice though.
Cheesenium
post Oct 31 2011, 02:37 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Oct 31 2011, 01:28 PM)
increase ur brain juice further, what he means is Defender only can damage the M-Com. <--would u self damage ur own M-com?

The situation should be something like this.

Attack can destroy the detonator if he spam a planted M-com charge with Mortar/RPG/Grenade multiple times
Defender can destroy the M-Com itself if they blow things there multiple times.

that means both attacker/defender need to use Man to defend the M-com. no explosive spam.

I dont see a reason why this shouldnt be implement to prevent explosive spam near M-com area.

it is clearly the designer of BF3 is an idiot who have noidea what MP should be.
They should do what MoH has, RPGs only kill you if you manage to get a direct hit on that guy. If not, you get a small splash damage.
Cheesenium
post Oct 31 2011, 02:43 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Oct 31 2011, 02:40 PM)
then again
in reality
we all scare of rpg
even if its explode 3 feet from us
I rather have a bit of unrealism than having realistic RPG.

RPG is a far bigger problem compared to BC2. At least BC2 have open field you can run around. In BF3, sometimes you are trapped in the alley where there isnt anywhere you can hide.
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2011, 01:58 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Nov 3 2011, 01:22 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif 

mind tell me if your AVG is legit copy?
be seen that no good crack at internet easily downloaded
Avira is a free antivirus software.

Mine pick it up too.

Seeing how the Germans responding to this, this isnt good because i do not want EA to know what i am doing on my PC. Hell no if they are picking up what games im playing and so on.

Added on November 3, 2011, 2:00 pm
QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Nov 3 2011, 01:18 PM)
NONO.........they actually have a TROJAN in the game. A f***ING TROJAN!!!

My Avira picked it up 6 times until i updated it. It was the EXE file itself. Downloaded using Origins.
I have been getting that warning since the Beta and i thought its a false positive. After hearing about the German's reaction over this, i think i should start worrying about this.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 3 2011, 02:00 PM
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2011, 03:16 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(gempakstarz @ Nov 3 2011, 02:44 PM)
Eh I found new dupe of mettalica_fan2 (ghostrecon)

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2093797  wink.gif
Again?

At least he has decent evidence now, and its no longer RM100 for LE which is way too suspicious.
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2011, 04:11 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(gbwedward @ Nov 3 2011, 04:00 PM)
really? last time he posted pictures from BF3 for his thread, the picture was stolen, not his
no telling if the picture he has is authentic or not, but i'm not gonna say anything more than this

anyways, hope they'll release karkand expansion this month or early next month
can't wait to play karkand and gulf of osman
As long as he did not spam in this subforum, i dont really care. It is still very suspicious to me, as i never believe in any cd key seller.
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2011, 04:36 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Nov 3 2011, 04:21 PM)
Bro,someday i will visit aus server to play with you biggrin.gif
maybe tonight
LOL~

Added on November 3, 2011, 4:22 pm
tapi tapi....saya smooth kalau takda orang gila bandwidth kat rumah
kenapa?
icon_question.gif
Come, my brother, i need good squad mates. Playing alone sucks.
Cheesenium
post Nov 4 2011, 02:11 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ryder @ Nov 4 2011, 02:01 PM)
HK 03 ConquestLarge < Full of faggots...32 people and most of them are all Recons and spend their time hiding and not doing sh*t.
No offence, the chinese are like that since BF2.

Even when i see them on Aussie servers, they are also like that. Hiding in a bush with a sniper rifle at the spawn point.

Its their stupid national hobby.
Cheesenium
post Nov 5 2011, 07:09 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Nov 5 2011, 07:03 PM)
players from all countries do the same liao. better don't generalize all -nyan
No, aussies are generally more cooperative. Mainland chinese are the worst campers i ever seen. If you see one squad of chinese gamers, all of 4 them will usually be recon and camp in some bush.
Cheesenium
post Nov 7 2011, 09:44 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Nov 7 2011, 02:33 AM)
One of the potential FPS winner game of the year huhhh?
Well, would like to ask anyone here..
comparing with other FPS, particularly COD, what makes you buy Battlefield 3 ???
Just asking, since i cant choose between BF or COD...While waiting for CODMW3 to come out, at least i can grab some info from you guys =)
Anyone =) ?
I buy BF3 because:
- it has proper dedicated servers, not some half assed non rank dedicated servers in MW3.
- Battlefield always have better multiplayer due to the large map sizes, number of players and usable vehicles. Therefore, there are more options, more variety and much more epic moment. Be the air strike, not just call an air strike.
- I am sick and tired of the abusive nature of cod multiplayer where you have to abuse the most powerful weapons to do well.
- I'm also sick of those aim bots in heli that win the game for you. Or any other ridiculous kill streaks.
- I'm sick of those tiny maps that you just run circles in them. That's not war, that's freaking paintball field.
-CoD always have garbage sounds that is the same since MW. Same garbage looking engine.

Other than the single player, MW3 is just completely unappealing for me to buy at all. I doubt the new points streak gonna fix any imbalances.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 7 2011, 10:18 AM
Cheesenium
post Nov 7 2011, 10:17 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Nov 7 2011, 10:12 AM)
battlefield 3 is also have huge amount of aimbot too, DICE decision to put hit register or anything at client side is biggest mistake, besides the killdeath ratio also the main reason that why people aimboting because without skill u cant really boost ur killdeath hence Aimboting.

They should really remove the killdeath ratio and death count, boost the amount of winning team ribbon bonus. (500 aint enough, make it 1K) then u'll see many would die for objective alone just to win.

Also fix the imbalance team swap every round, make the dominance team slightly slower spawn as they capture more flags, right now u have more advantages as u gain more flags, other than ticket penalty, things such as more spawn points. What we need is a game that "it is easier to break the dominance team full defence, and it is harder to gain full dominance." I mean if u can hold the flags despite slower spawn time u really deserve a win. but now it gets easier as u control more flags.  doh.gif  In rush mode, some map it is easier to defence the first 2 M-com than the last one.   

Besides there isnt any points for "stopping" the flag capture while the enemy is rising it. A lot of things I can see can easily make this game more teambase centric and balance. DICE clearly still have no idea how to make a good teambase MP game.
Thats up to the server admins to fix it or DICE could fix it.

In CoD's case, you cant do anything to those aimbot heli that is entirely legal in the game.
Cheesenium
post Nov 8 2011, 09:14 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

As expected those reviewers will only praise MW3 with great story, great graphics(vomit), great weapon handling(vomit), great story(vomit), great multiplayer(3 buckets of vomit) and ignore MW3's flaws while complain BF3 to have linear, "been there done there", crappy campaign while ignoring the awesome multiplayer's fun and some of it's flaws.

BF3 is not perfect but it's definitely a damn good game for me. It might need to take a while to get used to the gameplay but once you get used to it, no other military shooter can give the same feeling. MW3 is just a big piece of shit that never changes.

That's why I rather buy Skyrim this year than another CoD. Hopefully Skyrim's reviews isn't filled with rose tinted praises only.
Cheesenium
post Nov 8 2011, 09:17 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(DrBlueBox @ Nov 8 2011, 08:38 AM)
goddamn game is not optimised for the PC at ALL. I refuse to believe a game can't breach the 60FPS barrier on this rig.
Wow that's really next level of bullshit. MW3 looks so much uglier than BF3, and you can't even run it with the same fps you run BF3.

Hated black ops optimization where even till now, there are still micro lag in that crap game.
Cheesenium
post Nov 8 2011, 01:21 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Nov 8 2011, 11:56 AM)
OK, so I did not "purchase" this game on PC due to one reason - origin. Launching a game from a web browser, come on, please. Going over the number of issues/so-called spyware software is a mega turn off for me.
Initially, i was put off by the idea of launching the game from a browser. You can ask some of the regulars here how much flame from me when DICE said we are using browser to launch the game. It sounds awkward on paper, but in practice, it's actually better. The game launches faster with no more splash screen and slow, buggy server browser in every Battlefield. It is not perfect but it's decent. The use of browser also allows quicker UI patching. There are so many improvements on the whole "browser" thing since release.

Not to forget every Battlefield launch is buggy, but BF3 has a lot of improvements over any previous Battlefield. Remember the 1 week down time when BC2 released? Or BF2's extremely slow server browser.

Speaking of spyware, Steam does the same thing with all the stats shown here. I am assuming that you are not using Steam then, because Origin does the same thing, except they did not disclose the information on their website. Blizzard does it too and no one knows what the hell they are collecting too.

So here goes- MW3 is going to kick BF3's a** until BF4 can feel it.
Do i care? No i dont because of sick of all this arguments on whose is better.

I am happy with my game and every CoD after MW1 have been a huge regret. Not to forget the double standard multiplayer on PC where if you play on dedicated servers, you cant rank up. In order to rank up, you have to play on matchmaking. Also the double standard with console and PC, where console gets CoD Elite and PC gets nothing, even if PC gets Elite, we cant subscribe to the content on Elite. DLCs are only purchasable on ala carte like previous map packs, while console have the subscription option. It's a dated piece of shit.

Unless you intend to play on 360, i dont see any reason to buy MW3 at all. PS3 have better first party games than 360 while on PC, you have other shooters that is better than MW3.

BF3 did not have this kind of double standard, except the number of players in multiplayer or maybe graphics, but not everyone is running on Ultra anyway.

I rather buy a game that features new technology, revamped multiplayer than an annual release of the same shit every year. Even FIFA have more innovation than CoD these days.

No, I am honest here. Every game has expectations. If it lives up to it, great. If it does not, another will take its place. Quite simply, MW3 is going to be a winner on all fronts. Yeah, who needs shadows on rocks or blinding glares.
BF3 lives up to my expectations because the multiplayer feels like a Battlefield game. It's massive, chaotic and it feels like figthing in a war. Battlefield has always been a multiplayer focused game since the very first one. If you are judging the game solely on the single player, you have only seen a glimpse of what Battlefield can offer.

Single player and co-op? Thats just chocolate powder on a nice cup of mocha. Battlefield has always been a multiplayer game, stop thinking that every single game out there has to feature single player, multiplayer and shit. Some games works better as just single player alone like Witcher, while other works like Battlefield better off as just multiplayer.

Hey, I still love BF3 in many ways. There are plenty of happy folks playing BF3, so there you go. Just the whole idea of launching from a web browser. Thanks EA.
Nope, you doesnt look like at all. The idea of launching from the browser isnt that bad. Have you even tried it?

The last time I had this sort of disappointment was with "Medal of Honor". I was forced to choose between MoH (2010) and "Black Ops". I bought both but was utterly disappointed with MoH, so this is no surprise.
MoH was pretty good. The single player is actually quite good while the multiplayer is just average.

It's just your CoD mentality saying it sucks.

Black Ops is a even bigger piece of shit. Sure it has a damn good single player but multiplayer is so bad till i stopped playing after a month.
Cheesenium
post Nov 8 2011, 01:27 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Nov 8 2011, 01:21 PM)
Eh... just ma opinion based on feedback and of course my unwillingness to launch from browser. I will never stoop to lowlife level commenting, e.g calling people names and such.

I never personally commented to anyone in particular.

But oh well, some people are just plain <insert>.
yeah, your biased opinion towards CoD, just like the gaming media.

Tell me, whats wrong with launching the game from the browser? Because there arent any flashy main menu accompanied with music?
Cheesenium
post Nov 8 2011, 02:01 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Nov 8 2011, 01:37 PM)
There is advantage launching from web brower
pros and cons, I did say

It show alot stat and info but the game suck too many RAM, Origin+Web Brower + game itself = eat alot RAM
and sometime eventhough it say fail to launch BF3, the web Brower still appear but then you cant launch game at all.
and for some new user, you wont know the game fail to launch or something because it keep show connect to server, no loading bar or some sort.

I dont see any web brower compatibility, which is a good thing here.
Need time to biasa game launch from brower though.

Another thing is Origin, it wasnt stable yet, if origin crash so did my game
and yesterday it show alot of bug in origin itself.
As i said, i did not hate the whole browser idea. Just that someone is still not buying the idea of launching the game from browser.

What i like:
+ Faster UI updates, with the little things such as now there is a button to join game now, more filters and so on
+ Join games faster, as you skip the splash screen, the slow BC2 styled login, wait for browser to load.

What i hate:
- The browser + game does suck up a lot of RAM
- Origin is redundant
- The whole browser, game and Origin might cause problems, like i could not play the game initially due to some problems.

Origin is still new, and Steam wasnt this perfect in it's first 3 years, so, Origin gets the benefit of doubt for now. It's ok, not awesome. I did have random crashes for no reason too.

Its not bad, but just like any Battlefield, the game is just average at the beginning and it will get better as time goes on. DICE will refine the whole thing, but that takes time.

Saying MW3 is much superior because it doesnt use a browser to launch the game is just an understatement of what Battlefield can offer. Do note Battlefield 3 is not perfect to begin with. There are some problems with BF3.

MW3 isnt bad, despite the really again engine, especially the new Spec Ops mode looks really fun. The maps seems so much better than the airport maps in Black Ops.

0.0431sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:11 PM