How to make it into lifestyle, How to applying it practically

TShelven
post Oct 27 2011, 12:27 AM, updated 15y ago

Doko Online
919 posts

Hello. I've been through the nutrition plan suggested on the stickies and bodybuilding.com yet I am still new.
As the simplest one is to split our daily meal into 6x small meal instead of 3x heavy one perday, this is still okay for me in a ordinary office lifestyle by following the timing below.

meal 1 - 8.00am (breakfast)
meal 2 - 10.30am
meal 3 - 1.00pm (lunch)
meal 4 - 4.00pm (pre workout)
meal 5 - 9.00pm (post workout)
meal 6 - 11.00pm (dinner)

However I find it hard to control on the food I can get especially eating out (lunch) and home cook (dinner)

Eating out (lunch)
Why I am eating out instead of preparing my own lunch box from home
- I am abit rushy in the morning because I am staying quite far away from my office
- Office got no fridge to store my lunch box
- Lunch time is the best time I can social with my colleagues, working as Web Developer, most everyone of us rarely interact with each other as we need some level of focus on our problem solving task, therefore I will try not to avoid the social session with the colleagues to get the latest happenings around, jokes and stuff, for a healthy lifestyle.

Problem I'm face:
As we notice, outside food for example mixed rice, contains high saturated fat(very oily), salt content(salty), white rice(high GI carb), minimum of protein(it is like which dish is the chicken breast?). And not even to say about wan tan mee, noodles etc which contains high fat very very little protein.

Dinner
I cant control what my mom cook, I just insist and ensure I get a piece of chicken breast and lots of veges, no white rice.

I am having cheat meals during weekend dinner, whether it is with family, friends or girlfriend.

I have limited budget and other commitment so it is hardly for me to allocate more budget to spend on whey protein, I only taking a serving(52g protein) for my post workout meal. Therefore I do understand the reason my weight is not increasing. I am trying to adjust and adjust. Budget wise, I rarely go on cinema nor high cost entertainment.

Any advise, tricks? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
ChinHong86
post Oct 27 2011, 12:37 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Oct 27 2011, 01:27 AM)
Hello. I've been through the nutrition plan suggested on the stickies and bodybuilding.com yet I am still new.
As the simplest one is to split our daily meal into 6x small meal instead of 3x heavy one perday, this is still okay for me in a ordinary office lifestyle by following the timing below.

meal 1 - 8.00am (breakfast)
meal 2 - 10.30am
meal 3 - 1.00pm (lunch)
meal 4 - 4.00pm (pre workout)
meal 5 - 9.00pm (post workout)
meal 6 - 11.00pm (dinner)

However I find it hard to control on the food I can get especially eating out (lunch) and home cook (dinner)

Eating out (lunch)
Why I am eating out instead of preparing my own lunch box from home
- I am abit rushy in the morning because I am staying quite far away from my office
- Office got no fridge to store my lunch box
- Lunch time is the best time I can social with my colleagues, working as Web Developer, most everyone of us rarely interact with each other as we need some level of focus on our problem solving task, therefore I will try not to avoid the social session with the colleagues to get the latest happenings around, jokes and stuff, for a healthy lifestyle.

Problem I'm face:
As we notice, outside food for example mixed rice, contains high saturated fat(very oily), salt content(salty), white rice(high GI carb), minimum of protein(it is like which dish is the chicken breast?). And not even to say about wan tan mee, noodles etc which contains high fat very very little protein.

Dinner
I cant control what my mom cook, I just insist and ensure I get a piece of chicken breast and lots of veges, no white rice.

I am having cheat meals during weekend dinner, whether it is with family, friends or girlfriend.

I have limited budget and other commitment so it is hardly for me to allocate more budget to spend on whey protein, I only taking a serving(52g protein) for my post workout meal. Therefore I do understand the reason my weight is not increasing. I am trying to adjust and adjust. Budget wise, I rarely go on cinema nor high cost entertainment.

Any advise, tricks?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
discipline...
the only advice u nit...
btw,
lunch if u eat out
u can oways opt for chicken rice
order chick breast whole
no rice
then makan

Aztec
post Oct 27 2011, 01:05 AM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

eating out - nothing wrong with chap fan + spamming chicken/beef/pork and eggs..make smart choices

dinner - just eat whatever ur mum cooks..thts what i do anyways..1 meal wont kill u

ur weight not increasing? how big are the rest of the meals ur eating?
TShelven
post Oct 27 2011, 01:51 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Oct 27 2011, 01:05 AM)
eating out - nothing wrong with chap fan + spamming chicken/beef/pork and eggs..make smart choices

dinner - just eat whatever ur mum cooks..thts what i do anyways..1 meal wont kill u

ur weight not increasing? how big are the rest of the meals ur eating?
Simple say, I'm not eating enough, the simplest logic I think, if I want to increase weight, I have to eat more calories than I need to burn with physical activity. Carbs and fat could be easy they are cheap to get, but protein, I am not able to meet 1.5g protein / bodyweight in lbs per day, thus I'm not increasing in weight but still slightly increase in muscle mass along the way when I keep on training and adjust my meal strictly.

I'm easily full with just 2x hard boiled egg, no idea how could I eat 2x full and 3x egg whites per breakfast, perhaps half boiled egg could be easier?

Do you guys get bored/phobia with the same food stall you eat? I did and I had not visit that same chicken rice stall for like 2 months, the taste just makes me lost appetite. I keep on switching places to eat and you know in PJ area, it cost me RM4 for a small slice of chicken breast, should be roughly 19g of protein or lesser, source:http://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/calories/...of-rice-3349070, I take steam chicken most of the time, really hard to meet the 1.5g protein / bodyweight in lbs.

Whey could be the easiest for a small eater like me but it cost double than egg/protein. I am kind of stuck in the adjustment. doh.gif
mikehuan
post Oct 27 2011, 07:44 AM

6,160 posts

A matter of habit I suppose. Before I started training I rarely take breakfast. And now I take an average of four eggs for breakfast alone, plus carbs. Imo for you is finding time to eat in between the meals you can't control ie lunch, dinner.

Nothing is set in stone when it comes to nutrition. But its how well you adapt to your situation
Microsuck_360
post Oct 27 2011, 08:21 AM

241 posts

bro what is ur "limited budget"? notworthy.gif

EDIT: can u tell us what u eat from meal 1 to 6? thanks..

This post has been edited by Microsuck_360: Oct 27 2011, 08:23 AM
razorboy
post Oct 27 2011, 08:31 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

you wanna know how we do it, i ask u, how bad do you want it?
xixo_12
post Oct 27 2011, 08:59 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

breakfast?
egg + wholemeal + milk is something fast to swallow.

lunch?
I found some stall will charge u more if u only take the dishes,
My trick, focus more into fish or chicken. then leave the rice la..
don't worry ppl say what, u just need a social life rite?

budget wise?
No need for whey, u can focus on solid food, it's matter on how long u can try to make variety by using same types of source.

preworkout and postworkout meal is so huge in gap.
enough power meh? laugh.gif
kurtkob78
post Oct 27 2011, 09:16 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

you dont need 1.5g of protein for every lbs of bodyweight. You can reduce it to about 1.8g per 1kg of bodyweight since you are on a budget.

Since you want to increase your weight, you need to eat more calories.

Eat nuts because they are high in calories and also contains protein. Also Take omega3 ...

This post has been edited by kurtkob78: Oct 27 2011, 09:31 AM
Aztec
post Oct 27 2011, 12:00 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Oct 27 2011, 01:51 AM)
I'm easily full with just 2x hard boiled egg, no idea how could I eat 2x full and 3x egg whites per breakfast, perhaps half boiled egg could be easier?

Do you guys get bored/phobia with the same food stall you eat?

Whey could be the easiest for a small eater like me but it cost double than egg/protein. I am kind of stuck in the adjustment.  doh.gif
if ur easily full then just blend it..very simple and fast way

YES YES..very much.the smell of steam chicken makes me wanna puke..eggs too..still eat it though..

drench the chicken in tabasco..egg with a little sambal will mask the taste as well.. smile.gif

gotta learn how to adapt
theCrab
post Oct 27 2011, 12:05 PM

1,093 posts

1g per bodyweight
not everyones aiming to be a bodybuilder
1.5g will burn their pocket a hole
TShelven
post Oct 27 2011, 03:23 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 27 2011, 07:44 AM)
A matter of habit I suppose. Before I started training I rarely take breakfast. And now I take an average of four eggs for breakfast alone, plus carbs. Imo for you is finding time to eat in between the meals you can't control ie lunch, dinner.

Nothing is set in stone when it comes to nutrition. But its how well you adapt to your situation
Yea you're right, i found my problem is about adaptation, before I start, I don't really into breakfast but now breakfast seems to be a must, body has already get use to it. I guess it takes time for my body to adapt more food intake. And also discipline.

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Oct 27 2011, 08:59 AM)
breakfast?
egg + wholemeal + milk is something fast to swallow.

lunch?
I found some stall will charge u more if u only take the dishes,
My trick, focus more into fish or chicken. then leave the rice la..
don't worry ppl say what, u just need a social life rite?

budget wise?
No need for whey, u can focus on solid food, it's matter on how long u can try to make variety by using same types of source.

preworkout and postworkout meal is so huge in gap.
enough power meh? laugh.gif
I roughly got the my lunch by 1.30pm include travel to the restaurant,takes me 20min to finish, Im slow eater. Tried take only dishes and I was WTF the price,even for chicken rice stall. And yeah seriously not enough power and I do need to slot in 100plus during training to slightly give some extra energy to continue, as the weight I can lift is getting heavier, also has been reducing the calories burn of by the warm up cardio from 5min to 3min on treadmill. Maybe I should adjust the pre workout meal to 1 1/2 hour before workout, let more gap between lunch and pre workout meal.

Thanks for all the replies notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Kyoyagami
post Oct 27 2011, 03:35 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Some tips i could offer:

-Jusco sell chicken products at reduced prices at night time after 9. Quarter chicken can net you Rm 3. You buy 2 of that and it can become your lunch or even snack. It'd be a bit cold, but if you leave under room temperature it should still be fine.

-Spoonful of Peanutbutter. There's good protein in 2 table spoons of it. Recommended for Pre workout.

-leave dinner alone. Try asking for more meats. Because I too am in the situation. laugh.gif My mother would just randomly cook whatever she wants (even though she asks me what I want) and the only request I make is more meat. regardless, fish, chicken, meat. I don't take pork, but maybe you can. biggrin.gif

-Whatever you do, never leave me a meal without protein. I think you can find some time to make mashed boiled eggs with a bit of mayonaise before you head to bed for next day consumption. Or like some BBer I remember who cooked 1 whole turkey and devoured it slowly in a whole weak, eating only what he needs.

Good luck! biggrin.gif
-Dan
post Oct 27 2011, 03:58 PM

4,382 posts

A tip for eggs. Poached or half-boiled eggs will go down much easier than hard-boiled ones. I can stomach maybe only 3 or 4 hard-boiled eggs in a sitting but if I poach them, I can go on and on and on. laugh.gif
Kyoyagami
post Oct 27 2011, 04:04 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I think Ken86's tips and tricks sticky would be able to give you more ideas on easy and speedy cooking. If not, try looking at pizzaboy's sticky on meal plans. that's a good rough idea too.
mikehuan
post Oct 27 2011, 05:48 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Oct 27 2011, 03:23 PM)
Yea you're right, i found my problem is about adaptation, before I start, I don't really into breakfast but now breakfast seems to be a must, body has already get use to it. I guess it takes time for my body to adapt more food intake. And also discipline.
I roughly got the my lunch by 1.30pm include travel to the restaurant,takes me 20min to finish, Im slow eater. Tried take only dishes and I was WTF the price,even for chicken rice stall. And yeah seriously not enough power and I do need to slot in 100plus during training to slightly give some extra energy to continue, as the weight I can lift is getting heavier, also has been reducing the calories burn of by the warm up cardio from 5min to 3min on treadmill. Maybe I should adjust the pre workout meal to 1 1/2 hour before workout, let more gap between lunch and pre workout meal.

Thanks for all the replies  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
lol, i cant count how many times my friends and colleagues wtf me when i order chicken rice. they actually had to serve mine in a bigger plate because its 2 portions. i eat chicken rice at least 3 times per week, from the same place. the tauke knows me so well i dont have to order when i reach, just sit down and wait for food lol. this goes the same for breakfast at the kopitiam i frequent tongue.gif
razorboy
post Oct 27 2011, 06:33 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 27 2011, 05:48 PM)
lol, i cant count how many times my friends and colleagues wtf me when i order chicken rice. they actually had to serve mine in a bigger plate because its 2 portions. i eat chicken rice at least 3 times per week, from the same place. the tauke knows me so well i dont have to order when i reach, just sit down and wait for food lol. this goes the same for breakfast at the kopitiam i frequent tongue.gif
so good. i once went an order a whole chicken from the auntie, until today she rmb me, that was last year. once only

oh, i also finished it right infront of her btw.

This post has been edited by razorboy: Oct 27 2011, 06:34 PM
The Silent Killer
post Oct 27 2011, 09:05 PM

657 posts

just to share with ts my idea. this is what i do everyday:

class at 8am, so basically i woke up at 5 everyday. eat my breakfast (6eggs, bread), 30min cardio, and prepare 3 meals in advance before i go to class (1 meal of spaghetti with 1 can of tuna, 2 meals of chicken breast with lotsa vege and rice).

yeah i got weird stares from friends especially when i eat in class (the odor of the food especially tuna). but eventually u will get used to it. i see my goal bigger than the embarrassment i get from other people.

and chicken breast meals are the worst thing to swallow, especially after few hours when the thing feels like tasteless chewing gum
zoraya
post Oct 27 2011, 10:35 PM

155 posts

I grill a few chicken breast one shot in a day. Then put in fridge in individual plastic bag.. take them out in the morning (without heating) and by the time lunch rolls around, it's already warm. If I'm lazy to bring pre-cooked carbs, I just buy whatever's available.. but chicken breast is a must-bring.

There's quite a big gap between your pre and post-workout meal. How long do you workout?

TShelven
post Oct 27 2011, 10:56 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(zoraya @ Oct 27 2011, 10:35 PM)
I grill a few chicken breast one shot in a day. Then put in fridge in individual plastic bag.. take them out in the morning (without heating) and by the time lunch rolls around, it's already warm. If I'm lazy to bring pre-cooked carbs, I just buy whatever's available.. but chicken breast is a must-bring.

There's quite a big gap between your pre and post-workout meal. How long do you workout?
Do you put the chicken on the frozen part of the fridge? I used to bring my own lunch to office long time ago, dishes from last dinner, I found my dishes smell one kind, im not sure it is already spoiled, since that time, I never bring my own lunch to office. Im thinking to get a Thermos food container, that i reheat the food from home, and preserve it until lunch. Still forging cash for it

I took roughly 2 hours of workout, total of 8 to 9 exercise per work out, 2-3min rest between sets.
I follow this, moving to phase 4 soon.
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/beginner-t...ks-phase-3.html
zoraya
post Oct 27 2011, 11:08 PM

155 posts

Nope, I don't put it in the frozen part of the fridge. I season with salt, pepper and a whole load of cumin.. so I only smell cumin.

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/video-jami...oaf-muffins.htm - this is quite yummy too. I don't add mustard or chipotle spice (cause I can't find it).. substituted with paprika and some chilli paste.

Microsuck_360
post Oct 28 2011, 08:43 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Oct 27 2011, 10:56 PM)
Do you put the chicken on the frozen part of the fridge? I used  to bring my own lunch to office long time ago, dishes from last dinner, I found my dishes smell one kind, im not sure it is already spoiled, since that time, I never bring my own lunch to office. Im thinking to get a Thermos food container, that i reheat the food from home, and preserve it until lunch. Still forging cash for it

I took roughly 2 hours of workout, total of 8 to 9 exercise per work out, 2-3min rest between sets.
I follow this, moving to phase 4 soon.
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/beginner-t...ks-phase-3.html
2 hrs workout only of including shower/cardio etc?..that routine is fine with me but if 2hrs only for that routine workout hmmm... whistling.gif
Alphaproject
post Oct 28 2011, 10:20 AM

Yeah, buddey!
688 posts

when i think back... i have no idea how i made it tis far...

the "eat/train/sleep" becomes so routine, it almost invisible....

TShelven
post Oct 28 2011, 10:23 AM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Microsuck_360 @ Oct 28 2011, 08:43 AM)
2 hrs workout only of including shower/cardio etc?..that routine is fine with me but if 2hrs only for that routine workout hmmm... whistling.gif
Say for pull day, which im going to train today
Barbell Row: 3 sets of 8 reps 2-3 minutes rest
Lat Pulldown: 3 sets of 10 reps 2-3 minutes rest
Seated Cable Row: 3 sets of 15 reps 2-3 minutes rest
Barbell Shrug: 3 sets of 8 reps 2-3 minutes rest

Roughly 10min rest, grab 1/5 cup of 100plus to rapid rehydrate and energy, my energy level is almost depleted, like 20% left

Barbell Curl: 3 sets (i've slightly changed this exercise - [7x from low to 90 degree > 7x from 90degree to upper chest level > 7x ordinary biceps curl] not sure im doing right)
Incline Dumbbell Curl: 3 sets of 8 reps 2-3 minutes rest (this took me the longest one especially for my right hand, im using 5kg for left and 7.5kg for right) Most of the time when i reach rep 6th, i need to rest for like 15sec to finish the rest 2 reps
Preacher Curl: 3 sets of 15 reps 2-3 minutes rest (i will do min 12 reps, depends on my energy level)
Wrist Curl: 3 sets of 10-12 reps 1-2 minutes rest (i skipped this if my forehand feels real sore)

Sometimes, gotta wait for bench especially during chest day.

Edit: is it okay if I slot some 100plus in during workout? Because of the sugar content and gas.

This post has been edited by helven: Oct 28 2011, 10:25 AM
Microsuck_360
post Oct 28 2011, 10:31 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Oct 28 2011, 10:23 AM)
Say for pull day, which im going to train today
Barbell Row: 3 sets of 8 reps 2-3 minutes rest
Lat Pulldown: 3 sets of 10 reps 2-3 minutes rest
Seated Cable Row: 3 sets of 15 reps 2-3 minutes rest
Barbell Shrug: 3 sets of 8 reps 2-3 minutes rest

Roughly 10min rest, grab 1/5 cup of 100plus to rapid rehydrate and energy, my energy level is almost depleted, like 20% left

Barbell Curl: 3 sets (i've slightly changed this exercise - [7x from low to 90 degree > 7x from 90degree to upper chest level > 7x ordinary biceps curl] not sure im doing right)
Incline Dumbbell Curl: 3 sets of 8 reps 2-3 minutes rest (this took me the longest one especially for my right hand, im using 5kg for left and 7.5kg for right) Most of the time when i reach rep 6th, i need to rest for like 15sec to finish the rest 2 reps
Preacher Curl: 3 sets of 15 reps 2-3 minutes rest (i will do min 12 reps, depends on my energy level)
Wrist Curl: 3 sets of 10-12 reps 1-2 minutes rest (i skipped this if my forehand feels real sore)

Sometimes, gotta wait for bench especially during chest day.

Edit: is it okay if I slot some 100plus in during workout? Because of the sugar content and gas.
cut down ur time (10 mins rest/carry ya bottle around u) or some of ur routine/reps...the key is keep it simple go home and rest..ya muscle will be grown when u get good rest.. notworthy.gif

Edit: personally i dont drink 100 plus during workout or any other days...up to u.. nod.gif i actually have almost same routine like ur (except i combine back with triceps cuz back already eat my biceps...and chest with bicep..and lastly legs)..i try to keep it short dont talk to ppl around 2 much..and i still can maintain around 50mins-1hrs..

if bench not available go for machine instead dont wait..next workout u can do free weight.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Microsuck_360: Oct 28 2011, 10:58 AM
mikehuan
post Oct 28 2011, 03:18 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Microsuck_360 @ Oct 28 2011, 10:31 AM)
cut down ur time (10 mins rest/carry ya bottle around u) or some of ur routine/reps...the key is keep it simple go home and rest..ya muscle will be grown when u get good rest..  notworthy.gif

Edit: personally i dont drink 100 plus  during workout or any other days...up to u.. nod.gif i actually have almost same routine like ur (except i combine back with triceps cuz back already eat my biceps...and chest with bicep..and lastly legs)..i try to keep it short dont talk to ppl around 2 much..and i still can maintain around 50mins-1hrs..

if bench not available go for machine instead dont wait..next workout u can do free weight.. thumbup.gif
dude, is that you in your avatar?
Microsuck_360
post Oct 29 2011, 09:15 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 28 2011, 03:18 PM)
dude, is that you in your avatar?
yes...but now i with short hair... notworthy.gif

0.0224sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:33 AM