158 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Cat Lovers Version 6 ^_^ Fabulous Cats & People

shukri77
post Feb 3 2012, 06:31 AM

24 posts

My cat was spayed yesterday rm120 with antibiotic, ubat bengkak and cream, she was already a little bit active compared to my mom's cat just laying down on the floor for two days which was spayed at govt animal clinic.

This post has been edited by shukri77: Feb 3 2012, 09:56 AM
luc
post Feb 3 2012, 11:48 AM

295 posts

hi cat lovers,

just would like to know if any of you experience your cat having FIP?

may i know from where this decease comes from?
CutiePie69
post Feb 3 2012, 11:54 AM

QUOTE(luc @ Feb 3 2012, 12:48 PM)
hi cat lovers,

just would like to know if any of you experience your cat having FIP?

may i know from where this decease comes from?
Hope this will help you to know about FIP.

http://www.marvistavet.com/html/body_fip.html

Usually, cats diagnosed with FIP have very low chances of survival. However I have heard that the supplement Transfer Factor can help to boost up the cat's immune system and contain the diease.

This post has been edited by CutiePie69: Feb 3 2012, 11:56 AM
luc
post Feb 3 2012, 12:07 PM

295 posts

within 1 week, 4 of my cat died due to this....at first the doc said normal fever, then doc gave antibiotic....a day after...gone....same goes to others, then the last 2 cat, went for check up, and the doc said got FIP cause showing some signs already....haih..
__mill
post Feb 3 2012, 01:16 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(luc @ Feb 3 2012, 12:07 PM)
within 1 week, 4 of my cat died due to this....at first the doc said normal fever, then doc gave antibiotic....a day after...gone....same goes to others, then the last 2 cat, went for check up, and the doc said got FIP cause showing some signs already....haih..
\

oh no.. that's sad .. sad.gif hope the last 2 can survive .. perhaps need to quarantine ?
luc
post Feb 3 2012, 01:26 PM

295 posts

doc just called me up, as yesterday go take for blood test...

doc said that her body now is on hay wire....white blood cells are greater than the red blood cells, and the doc advice to bring it in and to jab on steroid....

i hope she can survive though!...damn it....

yeap..all quarantine....its just that, i dont know how and where this decease comes from...

is it from the food or stray cats or whatever?...
__mill
post Feb 3 2012, 01:31 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(luc @ Feb 3 2012, 01:26 PM)

doc said that her body now is on hay wire....white blood cells are greater than the red blood cells, and the doc advice to bring it in and to jab on steroid....

yeap..all quarantine....its just that, i dont know how and where this decease comes from...

could be from strays if your cats are left outside. anyway need to clean up all the carpets especially.. so the house is free from the virus. (that's what it says on the article given )
luc
post Feb 3 2012, 01:58 PM

295 posts

thanks _mill....appreciate it alot..
CutiePie69
post Feb 3 2012, 02:18 PM

QUOTE(luc @ Feb 3 2012, 02:26 PM)

If I am not mistaken some cats are born with FIP meaning to say that they are carriers and will not die from the diease however they can spread to other cats. The other cats will easily get infected with FIP especially when their immune body system is low. When the immune system is low, then the FIP will easily attack the cat especially in young kittens. That is why when we buy cats from breeders we must ensure that their cats is free from these kinds of dieases. Vets can only suspect a cat having FIP by looking at the hemoglobin of the cat. If the hemoglobin is dangerously high there is a high risk that the cat is suffering from it. A blood test that cost RM60.00 can also be done to determine if the cat has FIP but the test is not 100% accurate. Today negative and then few months down the road it will be positive. So.... basically FIP is a very complex diease.

Like the article says if you have multiple cats, try to keep them in small groups so that they are not prone to this diease as cats are easily stressed in large groups.

Also all cats must be vacinated on a regular basis to boost up their immune system so that their antibodies are strong.

Lastly, if you have cats that is confirmed having FIP and have died from it. Please clean your house with clorox. Mix 1 cap of clorox with half a bucket of water and mop the entire house for at least a week (especially where the cats like to be) and then wash their litter box with clorox (rinse properly with water to ensure clorox is removed). Do this with their feeding bowls too.

Then please do not get another new cat for at least 6 months as the FIP virus can be dormant for 1 year.

luc
post Feb 3 2012, 03:10 PM

295 posts

noted!.... many thanks!!!!
Listiani
post Feb 3 2012, 03:54 PM

Stray cats are the easy scapegoat for all disease. Most people blame strays for bringing FIP, FIV or FELV. But they never think about the cats got this diseases from the vet clinic or boarding. My cat got his FELV when I boarded him while I was away. The next thing I know, he got FELV and spread it to his siblings and friends at home. 5 of my cats died due to FELV. As what Cutiepie69 post, it is hard to pin point where these diseases come from.

Compare to FELV, cats with FIP still got chance to survive. Cats with FELV equivalent human with AIDS. No cure at all.

QUOTE(luc @ Feb 3 2012, 01:26 PM)

dfcloud
post Feb 3 2012, 03:59 PM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

from the link

Here are some basics about this virus:
-It is common wherever cats are housed in groups and it is readily transmitted between cats.

-Transmission is typically by contact with infected feces. This means that the litter box is the usual place where infection takes place. This infection is unusual in cats that free-roam outdoors (no litter box) or who live in homes where there is only one cat. The virus enters the new host’s body via the nose and mouth.

-An active infection lasts several weeks to a few months. Virus is shed in the infected cat’s stool during this period. If the cat is reinfected, virus sheds again for weeks to months. During this time, the cat may or may not seems at all ill. Some infected cats do not shed virus.

-Households with fewer than 5 cats eventually spontaneously clear of coronavirus. Households with more than 5 cats virtually never clear of coronavirus.

-Most household disinfectants readily kill coronavirus immediately. Room temperature kills coronavirus within 48 hours. Carpeting is protective to the virus and the virus is able to survive in carpeting for at least 7 weeks.

-Once a cat has been infected with the virus and recovered, the cat can be easily re-infected by continued exposure to infected feces. In this way, many catteries where there are always cats sharing litter boxes never rid themselves of this infection.

-The enteric coronavirus attacks intestinal cells and creates GI upset. As the long as the infection is confined to the GI tract, there will be no FIP.
luc
post Feb 3 2012, 04:33 PM

295 posts

thanks alot for the info.......
appreciate it so mcuh
dfcloud
post Feb 3 2012, 04:49 PM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

just got back home. my little shiro feet looks healing. no more limping.
thank god sweat.gif
__mill
post Feb 3 2012, 06:48 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(dfcloud @ Feb 3 2012, 04:49 PM)
just got back home. my little shiro feet looks healing. no more limping.
thank god sweat.gif
good to know ~

but dont be surprise if that happen again. cat never learn. hahaha

luc: hows ur cat? any improvement ?

This post has been edited by __mill: Feb 3 2012, 06:49 PM
dfcloud
post Feb 3 2012, 11:03 PM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

aiyo no la.. i got heart attack later sad.gif
very garang this shiro. maybe gonna be the big boss man at my house laugh.gif
spidy tak boleh harap punya. badan saja besar
arashirott
post Feb 4 2012, 02:00 AM

Hi all,

If you are on facebook, can you please LIKE the picture on this link!

Thank you!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=101...&type=1&theater

Please note;
This is NOT a virus. It's a picture of a design I created.
The winner gets a free design in a magazine. Thank you
Clem1982
post Feb 4 2012, 05:59 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

Guys, i have A 3 yr old cat n recently she developed a liking to lick plastic bags. its pretty rampant and im worried tht she might get sick from it.. any tips?
demolationz
post Feb 4 2012, 06:34 PM

LYN Dedicated Member
2,250 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Feb 4 2012, 05:59 PM)
Guys, i have A 3 yr old cat n recently she developed a liking to lick plastic bags. its pretty rampant and im worried tht she might get sick from it.. any tips?
spray cat repellent. STAY AWAY ftw ! brows.gif

This post has been edited by demolationz: Feb 4 2012, 06:35 PM
Clem1982
post Feb 4 2012, 09:40 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ Feb 4 2012, 06:34 PM)
spray cat repellent. STAY AWAY ftw ! brows.gif

on all the plastic bags?? I'm talking abt wrappers, shopping bags, cling wraps etc lol now i've kept most of it stored but there is still a few

158 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:41 PM