Cat Lovers Version 6 ^_^ Fabulous Cats & People

CutiePie69
post Mar 11 2013, 09:08 AM

QUOTE(rlky @ Mar 10 2013, 02:24 AM)
Thanks for the concern. I'll talk to my vet about AVC. My cat has been frequently visiting the vet.

Any tips on feeding the cat medicine in the form of tablets? I seem to get scratched no matter how much I try to prevent it from happening.

Another issue is while I was feeding it medication today I got scratched. The only difference is that this time my cat urinated at the moment probably out of fear or pressure and might have scratched me with its contaminated claws. There was blood in the urine. Should I be concerned? I cleaned it with soap thoroughly. Is there any disease that might be transmitted from the cat? I have got scratched countless of times but not like this.
Its normal to get scratched by cats tongue.gif
You should see the scratches on my hands and legs blush.gif
Well there are a few ways of feeding medication to your cats.
Get a tin of Science Ad or any delicious smelling wet food.
Take a small portion of the wet food and put the tablet inside the wetfood and roll the wet food into a ball so as it hides the tablet.
Give it to your cat and it will eat the wet food and pill together.
Another way is you can find a pill popper from any pet shop.
I know Mesra pet shop is selling it for RM14.90
You put the pill in between the tips
Open your cats mouth and then push the pill popper into the cats mouth and viola the pill goes into the throat.
Mind you, you will need to try for a few times before you get it right tongue.gif
CutiePie69
post Mar 13 2013, 08:47 AM

QUOTE(yonghong @ Mar 12 2013, 09:14 PM)
Any cheap reasonable price vet shop in pj area? Todaygo to one vet shop for fungal infection. Cost me rm109 . Don know reasonable or not.n need to vaccine next week. Rm45 not include the spray infection one.isit reasonable? coz I Don know the price.
I used to bring my cats to the vet when they have fungal but now I dont since its not necessary.
You can actually treat fungal yourself.
Buy a bottle of malaseb shampoo and bathe your cats with it.
Wet the cats body with water then put on the shampoo.
Make sure you shampoo the whole body with Malaseb especially the part that has fungal.
Leave if for 10 minutes but make sure that your cat does not lick the shampoo as it is poisionous.
After 10 minutes rinse the body with water and dry.
Bathe your cats at least twice a week until you see small hairs growing back on the bald spots.
You will also need to clorox your whole house to kill the fungal spores in order for the fungal not to spread to other cats.
Another way is to use Apple Vinegar Cider.
Take a cotton wool and put a bit of AVC on it and then rub on the areas that has fungal.
Do this on a regular basis and you can definitely see the results.
Both this methods does not even cost you above RM50.00 smile.gif
CutiePie69
post Mar 13 2013, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(yonghong @ Mar 13 2013, 09:53 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif nice enough. quite same method with the vet said. put the shampoo n leave for 10mins. bt sis/bro, my kitten just 3 months more, if bath her, i scare she will very cold. can i just mop her fungal place with the malasep shampoo? n where to buy the shampoo ya?
After bathing your cat, towel dry and then blow dry with hair dryer.
You MUST make sure that your kitten is 100% dry and warm after bathe if not it will catch a cold.
You can also put a bit of the shampoo on the parts that has fungal but preferably bathe it from head to toe.
You can buy this shampoo mostly at vets or petshops.

CutiePie69
post Mar 13 2013, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 13 2013, 02:31 PM)
Among all of my cats, only one enjoy getting blow dry with hair dryer.  tongue.gif

BTW, my pet shop now sell pine wood cat litter. Bought two today to try. Anyone use this brand?

[attachmentid=3344274]
I have never used this brand but have tried Feline Fresh (Pine wood).
Its quite okay if you use the double litter tray but not for the normal litter box as it is very messy.
My cats get dirty very fast and also I will need to wash the litter box at least twice a week.
I am using Oko Plus now and since I am a multiple cat owner it is very very cost savings and somemore controls odors.
Instead of becoming dust when in contact with water it clumps so the litter will not smell.
But the supply of oko plus is not stable thus I managed to find another brand called Natures Eco Recycle Paper which is even better than Oko plus. Not only it does not smell but very very low in tracking. I love using itm rclxms.gif
CutiePie69
post Mar 13 2013, 03:14 PM

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 13 2013, 03:20 PM)
Not easy to get other than clumping clay-based cat litter over here. Oko Plus based on organic fiber right? This & recycled cat litter not easily available here. I haven't found them though. I hate live in small town. tongue.gif
I managed to contact the distributor for Natures Eco Recycle paper.
Perhaps I can recommend them to supply there if there is a demand? hmm.gif

CutiePie69
post Mar 14 2013, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(yonghong @ Mar 13 2013, 08:19 PM)
bro/sis, wan ask a question.currently my kitten fungal infection there, after remove the 'dead skin', now it grow piece of red dry skin. so need to remove it also?or just left it?
Just leave it as it is.
Its a good sign meaning the skin is in the process of healing.
If you remove it your cat will have pain as the area is sore already as it is.

CutiePie69
post Mar 14 2013, 09:51 AM

QUOTE(fyrogenesis @ Mar 13 2013, 08:34 PM)
hi guys, my cat is buncit and i am sure it have tapeworm(s) sad.gif. i occasionally encountered white segments came out of its anus. that damn thing even moved!!! scared the hell out of me the first time.. i tot it was alien species.

anyway, is there any home remedies that i can try to help my cat? i heard garlic can do the trick. i stay at kampung so vet is quite far. sad.gif

please advise. tq
Yes, it is confirmed that your cat has tape worms.
Tape worms are dangerous for cats especially in kittens.
For kittens you will need to get rid of it slowly by giving it a mild dewormer.
If you give a strong dewormer, when all the tape worms come out the kitten can die.
So you need to be careful.
Garlic is a bi NO.... NO
Garlic is piosionous for cat when given in the wrong dosage.
There is no such thing as a home remedy for worms.
You will need to bring it to see a Vet or a government clinic nearby your place.
CutiePie69
post Mar 14 2013, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(svage98 @ Mar 14 2013, 10:54 AM)

I'm having some problem starting last week got some cat pooping at front of my door. I suspect the cat is my neighbour's living 2 houses away from me.  I had to clean about 3-4 time to get rid of the nasty smell from the pop. Only this morning I find another new poop again....same location.  I read that cats hate citrus smell so I will try out that later though I don't think this will last.  Is there any other permanent solutions?
You can also try using vinegar or pepper
Spray vinegar or sprinkle pepper onto the area.
Cats do not like vinegar or pepper smell.
Please do NOT use Clorox as it is poisionous to cats.
They may lick it thinking its water and then die.
You dont want to be a cat murderer do you? shocking.gif

CutiePie69
post Mar 14 2013, 03:07 PM

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 14 2013, 01:50 PM)
CutiePie69, I'm planning to build DIY pine litter box using this tutorial:-
http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-bui...ning-litter-bo/

What do you think?
Looks great rclxms.gif
Actually, I have two units of the double litter tray.
If you want you can have it.
I dont want to keep too many things in my house blush.gif
Also not using it anymore.
So better give to someone who needs it he..he...
CutiePie69
post Mar 14 2013, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 14 2013, 06:15 PM)
Bad news...I tested pine wood with my cat (since last night), Ana, she doesn't like it. Her kittens doesn't like it either. They only go poop when they cannot "tahan" anymore. tongue.gif So, I will put back clumping litter this evening. Need to study more how to properly migrate from clumping to pine wood litter (if there is such procedure).

I like how the pine wood handle urine but I don't like the poop just sits up there. How to train cat to pee in pine wood but poop in clumping litter? tongue.gif Looks like I'm going back to regular clumping litter.

BTW, recycled paper litter is clumping or non-clumping?
You should introduce the pine wood slowly just like introducing new food.
Put in a bit of the new litter and slowly increasing it and decreasing the old litter.
Ha...ha... I dont think you can train the cats to do that tongue.gif
The recycle paper litter is non clumping but very absorbent.
It absorbs the urine and no smell at all.
You just scoop the poo and throw it.

CutiePie69
post Mar 15 2013, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(yonghong @ Mar 15 2013, 11:32 AM)
sorry bro.wan to ask wat is the stnadard price for female cats neuter n also vaccine. becoz currently i ask one vet, they quote me rm45 for vaccine 4 in 1, n rm200 for neuter service. is it reasonable? or any cheaper vet shop intro in pj area? thq. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Standard vacination prices range from RM35 to RM45 at different vets however I go to a vet in Pandan Indah that does it for RM25 only biggrin.gif
For neutering prices will range from RM180 and above at different vets however I usually go to Klinik Kembiri at Setapak where they charge RM50 for males and RM70 for females. However purebreed cats e.g. persians, maine coons are not accepted as they only accept mix breed cats.

Hope I am able to help you out.

CutiePie69
post Mar 15 2013, 04:49 PM

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Mar 15 2013, 05:21 PM)
Normally when should complete all 3 vacination? My persian just 8 month+ and today just ask for 2nd vacination only.
Then 3 month later for 3rd vacination...means complete 3 vacination in year?
Normally when a cat is already 8 month old it is not necessary to vacinate him 3 times as his immune system is already strong.
Normally one time is enough followed by a booster injection the following year.
A kitten will need to be vacinated 3 times, one per month for 3 months consequetively as their immune system is not strong enough to fight off dieseases.
But different vets practice different ways.

CutiePie69
post Mar 15 2013, 05:31 PM

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Mar 15 2013, 06:15 PM)
But the pet shop promises to give him another 2 vaccinate for free.

BTW, seldom ppl talk abt 1st Choice and Pronature cat food? Are this 2 brand new in Market?
Currently i give him Pronature and he seems like it very much too....i'm thinking should i change brand when he is adult?
The petshop administers the vacination?
Is there a vet stationed there to give the vacination?
Is there a medical card given with the vacination sticker and endorsed by a certified vet?
If the vacination is not endorsed by a vet, the vacination will not be recognized do you know that?
Only certified vets are allowed to do vacinations.

CutiePie69
post Mar 19 2013, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(yonghong @ Mar 15 2013, 07:22 PM)
wat is the name of the vet in pandan indah?
n i just bring mix persian cat go for fungal infection, charge me rm109 for shaving, one antibodies, one shampoo n one anti-fungal lotion. is the price reasonable?bt one thing i feel nt good is when i ask for helping me to remove all the 'dead skin' on the fungal spot, they refuse to do it. n just teach me n ask me do myself home . is it all the vet also lik tat?
n then second day, i feel the kitten bit fever, then get an injection for rm15.
n then the third day, i go for asking to help remove /clean the part i really cant do it myself, charging rm10 n rm6 for vitamin?
n the vaccine , they got say if plus one vaccine for the dangeruos insect bla bla, rm75.
how is it bro? is it ok for the price?
The vet's name is Dr. Yeoh.
It is the same row as Steven's corner the famous mamak stall.
The last time I brought my persian for a shave at a pet shop near my house I was charged RM40.00 only.
Malaseb shampoo cost only RM48.00 per bottle.
That is too expensive my friend.
Usually, I treat my cats who has fever with Amoxicilyn which you can buy from the pharmacy but you need to know the correct dosage.
Amoxiclyn is the mildest broad spectrum antibiotic that can heal fever, cold, diarrhea etc.
But you must know the correct dosage to administer the medication.

CutiePie69
post Mar 19 2013, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Mar 19 2013, 03:55 PM)
I let my cat stay pet hotel for 2 day after neuter..and he look so thin....
i believe he din eat at pet hotel and forget to remind pet staff, my cat wont drink the water from bottle.....

ytd he look back to normal at home now...
I never let any of my cats or even the stray cats that I foster stay at the vet after neutering.
I prefer to look after them myself to ensure that they get all the tender loving care from me.
Usually males will be themselves after they are awake 100%
They will run and jump and play as if nothing happens as for males neutering is a minor operation compared to females.
For females, i will cage them at least for a few days to ensure they have less movement in order not to affect the stiches on their stomachs.
I will also check from time to time their operation wound to ensure that none of the stiches are loose and also the area is dry.
Usually after their operation I will give them wet food for a few days as I want them to eat soft food rather than dry and hard food.
After that they are back to themselves.
Nothing beats the owners care and love.

CutiePie69
post Mar 20 2013, 12:17 PM

QUOTE(yonghong @ Mar 19 2013, 07:52 PM)
bro/sis, which one is expensive ya?
I am not sure hmm.gif

CutiePie69
post Mar 22 2013, 11:42 AM

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Mar 21 2013, 06:17 PM)
Can we leave him alone 2 Day 1 nite? Normally i may back to home town(2 hour drive) on Sat morning and back on Sun nite.

Now he back to normal mood...can play and jump around and very happy.
Yes, of course as long as your cat is not sick you can leave him for a short period.
But make sure that your cat has lots of water and food.
Also make sure that its litter box is clean before you leave.
If possible put two litter box so that if the first one is full at least he has another one to go too.

CutiePie69
post Mar 25 2013, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Mar 25 2013, 03:47 PM)

If look on Feline 2KG RM46(23/kg) and Orijen 2KG RM54(27/kg). I m paying the 2KG RM57 for pronature.
I am glad to see that the brand I am using is on the list biggrin.gif

10 Pages « < 8 9 10Top

0.0679sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:44 PM