LYN Proton Wira Club (LYN-PWC) V-XXVII, Come in & let's discuss about Wira

ryan_hustler
post Jan 13 2012, 02:32 PM

889 posts

Hi guys, wanna check if any of you VDO guys have this problem before :

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2180416&st=

Hey guys, wanna ask about an annoying problem with my wiSE vdo 2005..every time run on highway above 3000 rpm the check engine light will come on..so far ive been to two proton center with their MUT and my usual workshop and done the following over a period of 6months :

1) clean TB (diy) usually do every 2 oil change
2) replace O2 sensor
3) done mut engine diagnostic, no error code (wtf?) so they reset it to factory setting
4) my usual mech did normal inspection check for fluid leaks, check vacuum leak (test drive and monitor vacuum meter) ,check whatever wiring he knows etc...doesnt seem like anyone knows the problem..and in 6 months i have nothing unusual like no increase in FC,no breakdown,no smoke, no rough idle..

any ideas?

forgot to mention, my service is always on time, semi-syn engine oil every 5k,clean air filter, change oil filter
every 2 oil change clean TB, replace spark plug

no major changes or modifications done before problem started
ryan_hustler
post Jan 14 2012, 04:39 AM

889 posts

daym..2 days i dont drive manual ill start having withdrawal symptoms already..
ryan_hustler
post Jan 14 2012, 04:44 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 14 2012, 09:36 AM)
WiSE decision. rclxms.gif
Last time my company car also have this problem, when go above 100km/h the check light appear. The mechanic check and say it might be the ECU got problem, change ECU gonna cost 1k. sweat.gif
I dont think ECU.. it should be one of the sensor ko..i suspect it was the O2 sensor cuz after 3000 rpm, vdo will go into open loop..screwed up part is its not consistant..few days rempit no prob..then suddenly will appear..go mech,pulg in the pdt2000 no error code..damn headache

QUOTE(Arkaine @ Jan 14 2012, 11:41 AM)
so if siemen vdo ecu spoiled can changed to mmc ecu?? hmm.gif
lol..damn a lot need to change..all the sensor,full wiring,ecu,TB..VDO is actually a pretty decent ecu..good FC and self learning capabilities
ryan_hustler
post Jan 14 2012, 11:04 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 14 2012, 06:35 PM)
it can't be O2 sensor, coz you said the problem appear over 3k rpm, means that time the ECU stop reading signal from O2 sensor already.
Once pass 3k..the only thing that came to mind was the O2 sensor cuz that cuts off at 3k blush.gif

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jan 14 2012, 07:59 PM)
For VDO, after drive at high speed then appear check engine light are normally cause by the faulty speed sensor. It is located behind our speedometer. Very cheap only, I DIY changed mine before and the problem gone.
Speed sensor? what does it look like?what do i need to look for and diy? also how much? so far your solution seems the most promising..

is it that thing that looks like a fuse, near the star ground point?

This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Jan 14 2012, 11:24 PM
ryan_hustler
post Jan 15 2012, 01:35 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jan 15 2012, 01:18 PM)
I can't find the picture of it. But is a black plastic part with 2 legs screwed behind our speedometer. The speed sensor is also known as Reed Switch. Is cheap only if u get it from spare part shop... Below 30 bucks i guess. If this sensor is totally dead, then your car might experience stalling when u suddenly decelerate after driving at high speed. For DIY, u need to know how to remove the dashboard and the meter cluster.
I not sure if MMC got this sensor or not, mine is VDO. Since Wira changed to VDO ECU, it has a lot more sensors than before. As the name of this sensor, the ECU directly read vehicle speed from this sensor. I guess it helps ECU to determine when for close loop or open loop system.
Found it..sure its a reed switch? Reed switches are usually magnetic in nature,this fella got no shielding at all..
yup, i think youre right. VSS used to determine open loop,closed loop operation which is why mine shows up at 3k rpm, which is the switch point from closed to open loop.

Hope your right, cuz if you are, youre the only person who managed to solve my problem compared to my sifu mechanic, few proton guys with their pdt's and my usual kaki kereta mamak shop gang.

Attached image(s)
ryan_hustler
post Jan 16 2012, 12:10 AM

889 posts

bought the sensor for RM25 and diy installed it in the afternoon..havnt "test power" yet tongue.gif
ryan_hustler
post Jan 18 2012, 09:50 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jan 15 2012, 01:39 PM)
yea is magnetic reed switch  nod.gif  It uses the speedometer magnet that is spinning under it.
didnt work dude rclxub.gif cry.gif
ryan_hustler
post Jan 28 2012, 06:53 AM

889 posts

fast signal usually because one of the signal bulbs burnt out. Put on your hazard light and do a quick check around the car to see if all the signal are blinking.

Added on January 28, 2012, 6:53 amScared join monster TT..

This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Jan 28 2012, 06:53 AM
ryan_hustler
post Jan 29 2012, 08:21 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jan 28 2012, 06:39 PM)
thx for all d sifus...
most problem solved...
btw...
my car rpm is like @ 1.2k+- while rolling and free gear...
and onli drop to 0.9k when i dully stop...
sometime when i start my car...
d rpm oso quite high...
around 1.2k oso...
is dis normal...?
Should be ok..when cold start or your first start of the day, rpm will be higher because of autochoke..

the reason the signal blink faster when one bulb burnt is because the overall resistance of the circuit seen by the relay is less, so will on/off/on/off faster.. the longer you prolong this, the other bulbs or the relay will KO next.
ryan_hustler
post Jan 29 2012, 09:33 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(4128 @ Jan 29 2012, 05:36 PM)
Gong Xi Fa Chai Everybody!
Face bit problem on my Wira SE.
My car tempature hit up & air con not cold at all...
when i open the hood & check, air cond fan keep spinning while the other fan does not spin at all...
What problem am i facing?Any advice?
10Q
hmm.gif problem you are facing is radiator fan not working..
ryan_hustler
post Jan 31 2012, 11:48 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jan 30 2012, 07:50 PM)
pocket pecah again today.....
Radiator fan dead then caused the 30amp fuse blown, then ECU shut off my air-con compressor for this damm hot days. Radiator overheat till the fan blades warped till can't use.
Denso fan motor - RM160
Fan blades - RM25
30amp Fuse - RM10
Workmanship - RM30

cry.gif
ouch..10 bucks for fuse? ive seen few ppl fitted the evo2,3 fan on the outside of the radiator, claim better cooling..what you guys think?
ryan_hustler
post Feb 1 2012, 02:02 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jan 31 2012, 07:21 PM)
I hate hydraulic clutch! Always problem...
I feel cable worse..harder to press sad.gif
ryan_hustler
post Feb 1 2012, 10:48 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Feb 1 2012, 09:26 AM)
last time got a Waja. The hydraulic cluth always leak here and there. Causing the gear cannot be engage, also the clutch pedal feel not nice. Maybe for Wira is much better  hmm.gif
my slave cylinder bocor after work once..i use duct tape to wrap it up nicely and top up with new motorbike dot4..managed to make it back and service.

If cable putus, cant do any DIY at the roadside
ryan_hustler
post Feb 3 2012, 11:12 PM

889 posts

ex BOT..retired d blush.gif
ryan_hustler
post Feb 4 2012, 04:31 AM

889 posts

now running on super stock 4g15 biggrin.gif
ryan_hustler
post Feb 5 2012, 12:50 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Feb 4 2012, 10:25 AM)
Black bonnet is not stock. Carbon fibre bonnet . tongue.gif

Added on February 4, 2012, 10:25 am
Last time BOT also on 15?
yup, on my dinosaur 4g15

QUOTE(titaniumboyz @ Feb 4 2012, 10:43 AM)
guy.need to ask sum thing.power window problem is command thing for wira right?.any suggestion regarding this?ma windows stuck and cannot open already lol.it is advisable to change all the motor power windows set or still can send it to repair.and how much repairing or changing cost of it?
Power window normally got 2 things go wrong. Either the motor jam/farked or the cable mechanism farked..have to open the door panel and check to be sure
Workshop price im not sure as i change myself, the motor last time was RM40++ and the cable mechanism thing is RM28 For WiSE and RM20 for normal wira..

QUOTE(GKWong @ Feb 4 2012, 12:57 PM)
i thought 4G13 block can't handle that turbo boost that much  hmm.gif
not really because of the block, but the piston crown is dome shaped for high compression..normally for turbo prefer lower compression..
ryan_hustler
post Feb 5 2012, 12:16 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Feb 5 2012, 01:24 AM)
so is not that suitable and will cause denonation rite?
Must lower the compression..Need to change the pistons to lower compression..I know a few 4g13 bot..but mostly bore to 4g15
ryan_hustler
post Feb 7 2012, 12:51 PM

889 posts

mine as well..the rubber foam thing all reput in my car already..removed the dashboard, vacuum everything out and fill the gaps with the superlon..now no sound already
ryan_hustler
post Feb 7 2012, 02:13 PM

889 posts

I think I bought at brothers..been some time already
ryan_hustler
post Feb 8 2012, 05:24 PM

889 posts

Wow distributor so expensive? If im not mistaken normally when dist KO, its just the dist cap that needs replacement because the contact brushes work out/ bakar etc..thats relatively cheaper brand new right? Not very sure on this though..

0.0539sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:49 AM