Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice

spcx
post Dec 1 2011, 12:40 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(liewjs @ Nov 30 2011, 11:32 PM)
I've been following this thread for quite some times already. Really impressed with this car but not yet test-driving. Need some opinion from you guys in few aspects which i think i'll rather concern: engine's noise, cabin's noise insulation & comfort of riding.

Currently, i owned a 7 year-old manual Wira (my first & latest car, paiseh). I don't bother much about 2nd-hand value and don't mind to get a conti car. Thanks.
ahaha welcome. i upgraded from my 6 years old wira smile.gif trade in price for my wira was like 12.5k.. mehh!
spcx
post Dec 1 2011, 03:10 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(liewjs @ Dec 1 2011, 01:30 PM)
Not going to trade-in my current car, will keep it. Spcx, have u got ur car? Please share with us.  thumbup.gif
collecting tomorrow =( will post a picture when I do! smile.gif
spcx
post Dec 7 2011, 06:38 PM

207 posts

if talk about features, I think 508 wins between the 3. What 508 lack is the engine.. smile.gif
spcx
post Dec 27 2011, 01:23 PM

207 posts

how about the new Kia Optima K5? smile.gif RM145k

im driving the 508, so far im still loving it. FC is not impressive but overall it's a good car, lots of family n friends sat in the car going 150km+ and most of them said it's more quiet and stable compared to other D Segments like Camry / Accord.

some small lil problems like mine was having wiring probs on the gear box, was fixed in a day at the SC. and now some squeaking sounds on the absorber/suspension when going through a bump. suspension like what you mentioned, a lil rough but it gives you really nice and solid cornerings. power wise n gear box transmissions, it's not impressive like the Mondeo, but it's good enough.

other than that, it's all good! oh ya, pearl white is a biatch, haha got to clean her so often.

Hitting 2500 mileage now, sending in for first service next week.
spcx
post Dec 27 2011, 01:50 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 27 2011, 01:43 PM)
I test drove the 508 again last weekend. This time had 3 adults in the back seat. According to them it was quite bumpy and uncomfortable especially over bumps and uneven roads. That is a concern for me cz it didnt feel like a premium car. Power, pickup and specs are great but the suspension is starting to become another issue. The more i drive the 508 the more convinced im that its not the car for me. With 3 adults at the back, the rear end becomes really low and unimpressive as well.
Yeap I do agree over bumps and uneven roads is not comfortable, that's probably due to the settings of their suspension. It's supposed to be a more sporty ride. Can't really have a perfect car with that price range, if it's comfortable on bumpy roads then you might lack the grip and handling during higher speeds on curve roads etc. unless you opt for recond premium cars wink.gif

I heard Teana / Camry is really comfortable, but the looks put me off. Common and dated looking car, specs wise Camry is not on par with the 508. I'm just 28, so maybe it's not my cup of tea.

it really depends to one's preference! smile.gif Pros and cons no matter which you pick, and pick what suits you the best.
spcx
post Dec 27 2011, 02:16 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 27 2011, 01:55 PM)
The Teana has always been an Uncle's car. Poor design. The Camry is not too bad and has that premium look which the 508 lacks. But the upcoming Camry will be better with better specs. Im quite sure ill end up with that. Gonna see the Optima now.
which showroom got the Optima ? biggrin.gif Interested to kepo as well

0.0565sec    0.32    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:56 AM