Sager NP5165 vs Asus N55SF

TSfiqz4ce
post Oct 22 2011, 02:52 AM, updated 15y ago

618 posts

hey guys..
I found a Sager laptop from this website http://www.illegear.com/sager/13-sager-np5165.html NP5165.. it features same GPU and CPU like Asus N55SF.. but this Sager has a FHD screen and can customize the thermal compound and it's price is around RM3200, which is 400 more expensive than Asus.. I just want to know between these two models, which is better in term of quality? the warranty.. the heat management..

I don't really mind about the screen, I just want to know about the quality.. any idea? I'm thinking to get a new laptop soon but I'm afraid about the quality especially heat management since I've experienced dead mobo and gpu many times (with dell xps1530) shakehead.gif

thank you in advance smile.gif
ALeUNe
post Oct 22 2011, 03:02 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Oct 22 2011, 02:52 AM)
hey guys..
I found a Sager laptop from this website http://www.illegear.com/sager/13-sager-np5165.html NP5165.. it features same GPU and CPU like Asus N55SF.. but this Sager has a FHD screen and can customize the thermal compound and it's price is around RM3200, which is 400 more expensive than Asus.. I just want to know between these two models, which is better in term of quality? the warranty.. the heat management..

I don't really mind about the screen, I just want to know about the quality.. any idea? I'm thinking to get a new laptop soon but I'm afraid about the quality especially heat management since I've experienced dead mobo and gpu many times (with dell xps1530) shakehead.gif

thank you in advance  smile.gif
HP DV6-1006TX with i7-2630QM & Radeon 6770 @ MYR2599 for the win.
Irresistible price and specs. I just bought one 2 days ago.

P/S It comes with Beats Audio. Sounds better than normal notebook. Certainly sounds better than my Sager 8170.
And personally i felt it has better keyboard than my Sager 8170. The keyboard of my Sager 8170 looks like a cheapo plasticky china-made KB.

P/S Add MYR99 for 3 years warranty.

P/S If you have MYR3K of budget, spend few hundreds on SSD and you're good to go.
The 5.4K HDD in HP DV6-1006TX runs like "4200 rpm HDD". I formatted the HDD and fresh install the plain clean Win7 SP1, it still runs slower than normal 5.4k rpm HDD (and I don't know why). It is kinda jerky.

P/S The other downside could be the Radeon GPU.
The driver is not as solid as nVidia's. It still has flickering issue.
And I personally find the switchable of ATI is not as "smart" as nVidia's Optimus.
But with that price, you have got nothing to complain (unless you can get a non-crippled GT555 at MYR2599).

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 22 2011, 03:27 AM
trustmeiamlegit
post Oct 22 2011, 03:09 AM

295 posts

generally.. sagar laptops are well built and manage heat well.. at least, that seems to be the general consensus over at NBR.com.. maybe u can head over there to the np5165 tered an check it out..

the ases has 2 year international warranty, can claim from anywhere in the world LOL.. the n55 is a very popular model here.. and so far i havent heard of anything particularly bad abt the n55

therefore, i think u shud be good to go wif either one of those.. personally, i wud go wif the ases n55 becuz i think it looks better.. the sagar, well, looks abit too unker for me LOL ... to each his own biggrin.gif

Added on October 22, 2011, 3:13 am
QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 22 2011, 03:02 AM)
ayam agree cool2.gif

this one looks betta than the ases.. wub.gif

ftwinrar

This post has been edited by trustmeiamlegit: Oct 22 2011, 03:13 AM
TSfiqz4ce
post Oct 22 2011, 03:23 PM

618 posts

wow thanks for the reply.. about the hp dv6 i couldnt find it at the website with same spec.. the price show 2899 with lower graphic card.. where did you buy your dv6?
Ikmal91
post Oct 22 2011, 04:17 PM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

I vote on the N55 as well. Good laptop overall.
ALeUNe
post Oct 22 2011, 05:45 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Oct 22 2011, 03:23 PM)
wow thanks for the reply.. about the hp dv6 i couldnt find it at the website with same spec.. the price show 2899 with lower graphic card.. where did you buy your dv6?
I bought it from Thundermatch.
It is a new price, i7 with Radeon 6770 @ MYR2599.

P/S Sorry, the model should be HP Pavilion DV6-6001TX.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 22 2011, 05:53 PM
Acid_RuleZz
post Oct 22 2011, 05:53 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

^ 1006TX or 6001TX bro? hmm.gif
ALeUNe
post Oct 22 2011, 05:54 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Oct 22 2011, 05:53 PM)
^ 1006TX or 6001TX bro? hmm.gif
You're right. I got mixed up.
Cyrus2k
post Oct 22 2011, 06:42 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 22 2011, 03:02 AM)

P/S It comes with Beats Audio. Sounds better than normal notebook. Certainly sounds better than my Sager 8170.
And personally i felt it has better keyboard than my Sager 8170. The keyboard of my Sager 8170 looks like a cheapo plasticky china-made KB.

P/S Add MYR99 for 3 years warranty.

P/S If you have MYR3K of budget, spend few hundreds on SSD and you're good to go.
The 5.4K HDD in HP DV6-1006TX runs like "4200 rpm HDD". I formatted the HDD and fresh install the plain clean Win7 SP1, it still runs slower than normal 5.4k rpm HDD (and I don't know why). It is kinda jerky.

P/S The other downside could be the Radeon GPU.
The driver is not as solid as nVidia's. It still has flickering issue.
And I personally find the switchable of ATI is not as "smart" as nVidia's Optimus. 
But with that price, you have got nothing to complain (unless you can get a non-crippled GT555 at MYR2599).
So the KB build on NP8170 is not good? hmm.gif

The HP Pavilion DV6-6001TX price is tempting, but I prefer the chiclet keyboard on Sager tongue.gif
ALeUNe
post Oct 22 2011, 06:46 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Oct 22 2011, 06:42 PM)
So the KB build on NP8170 is not good? hmm.gif

The HP Pavilion DV6-6001TX price is tempting, but I prefer the chiclet keyboard on Sager tongue.gif
Both are using chiclet.

KB button on Sager 8170 is hard and very plasticky.
The ones on Asus and HP/Compaq are more rubber-feel.
Prince J
post Oct 22 2011, 06:50 PM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 22 2011, 06:46 PM)
Both are using chiclet.

KB button on Sager 8170 is hard and very plasticky.
The ones on Asus and HP/Compaq are more rubber-feel.
NP8170 keyboard is nice. However, the space bar is a little harder to be pressed.
ALeUNe
post Oct 22 2011, 06:56 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Oct 22 2011, 06:50 PM)
NP8170 keyboard is nice. However, the space bar is a little harder to be pressed.
I think it could be personal preference.

The KB button on my Sager 8170 is just too plastic too me. I feel like pressing China-made calculator with plastic button.

Current chiclet on HP, Compaq, HP and Acer have more rubber feel. I feel like pressing Japanese-made calculator with "rubberish" button.
iguana_dude_619
post Oct 22 2011, 07:20 PM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Oct 22 2011, 04:17 PM)
I vote on the N55 as well. Good laptop overall.
same here icon_rolleyes.gif
prozai
post Oct 22 2011, 07:33 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 22 2011, 06:56 PM)
I think it could be personal preference.

The KB button on my Sager 8170 is just too plastic too me.  I feel like pressing China-made calculator with plastic button.

Current chiclet on HP, Compaq, HP and Acer have more rubber feel. I feel like pressing Japanese-made calculator with "rubberish" button.
hei are u sure dv6001tx @ rm2599?
with ati 6770 1gddr5?
if yes i would grab it now drool.gif
ALeUNe
post Oct 22 2011, 07:39 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Oct 22 2011, 07:33 PM)
hei are u sure dv6001tx @ rm2599?
with ati 6770 1gddr5?
if yes i would grab it now  drool.gif
Yes, I bought one.
I bought it from Thundermatch. I was told it's a new price.
Extend to 3-year warranty for additional MYR99.
prozai
post Oct 22 2011, 07:43 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 22 2011, 07:39 PM)
Yes, I bought one.
I bought it from Thundermatch. I was told it's a new price.
Extend to 3-year warranty for additional MYR99.
hm...last time i bought hp g4 extend to 3 years y kena charge RM199 de sad.gif
is it new price for warranty or i got conned sad.gif

This post has been edited by prozai: Oct 22 2011, 07:43 PM
ALeUNe
post Oct 22 2011, 07:50 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Oct 22 2011, 07:43 PM)
hm...last time i bought hp g4 extend to 3 years y kena charge RM199 de sad.gif
is it new price for warranty or i got conned  sad.gif
If I'm not mistaken, the price of extended warranty is determined by the notebook price.
Higher the price, you need to pay higher insurance premium.

The DV6-6001TX is now at MYR2599 (as compared to MYR3299) and hence cheaper extended warranty.
chewkl
post Oct 22 2011, 10:02 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Which Thundermatch branch did U buy it from Aleune?
ALeUNe
post Oct 22 2011, 11:17 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Oct 22 2011, 10:02 PM)
Which Thundermatch branch did U buy it from Aleune?
It's HP Pavilion DV6-6001TX.
prozai
post Oct 23 2011, 11:05 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 22 2011, 11:17 PM)
It's HP Pavilion DV6-6001TX.
i suppose he mean where u buy the dv6 @ which thundermatch shop laugh.gif

0.0182sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled