SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V17, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 05:10 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Oct 21 2011, 05:07 PM)
Just confirm the Batista Rom 2.3 got problems... Can't install and extract from winzip... Might be the package corrupted...
it took forever for me to download! tried all mirrors, still going slow from 2-40kbps with unifi. arghhh...
KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 05:28 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 21 2011, 05:24 PM)
dat's the problem. 5 min complete? after complete check file size before flash happily first la. unifi is not so stable compare to screamyx (even though i always wanna scream when using it, compare to unifi screamyx is way more stable). my foxhound 2.3 zip file is 294mb. if urs is smaller.... goodluck have fun again
screamyx 1mb download 294mb for 1/2 hour consider fast lor~ what wireless modem u using? my gf's screamyx 1mb download 500mb movie for half a day direct download summore.
KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 05:31 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Oct 21 2011, 05:29 PM)
i got premium acc biggrin.gif
speechless doh.gif

ps: foxhound still downloading for 2 hours already with unifi. is this common? i thought server sided busy so i ignore it. arghhh
KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 05:36 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 21 2011, 05:32 PM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

2.94mb is even smaller than kernel size bro
i think he mean 294mb... LOL~ btw, full wipe does it mean :

1)Reboot into CWM
Go to wipe data factory reset.
Select yes
Once done go back to main menu.
Go to wipe cache partition
Select yes.
Once done go back to main menu.
Got to advanced.
Then go to wipe Dalvik Cache
Select Yes.
All done.

ps: so, doing a full wipe, i need to backup, is it backup just the applications? so inside my phone, will no longer have stock rom? if i wanna set everything back to default, i need to flash stock rom back in? will it be unrooted?
KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 05:45 PM

124 posts

is it necessary to back up efs? i just learn about the existence of this last 2 page! biggrin.gif and for the flash counter, anything i should know about it? can stop it from raising? biggrin.gif
KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 05:54 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Oct 21 2011, 05:45 PM)
multiupload supports download manager bro, use it icon_idea.gif

Added on October 21, 2011, 5:49 pm
no it is not neccessary la~ it is VITAL that you backup. each efs is unique to each phone, losing it means getting a new motherboard which means if ur non-g then u become g.

no way to stop, you can reset using JIG but its said there's another counter hidden inside the phone, so just flash happily, my counter 70+ ad btw  tongue.gif
okie dokie!!! never seen any where mentioned about efs before, hahaha, even other android phone i used last time, i just root and flash!

This post has been edited by KahHoong: Oct 21 2011, 05:55 PM
KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 06:19 PM

124 posts

erm, just finish download foxhound 2.3, now a noob question, im on stock 2.3.4 CF-Rooted, now i put the foxhound.zip & themes.zip in my internal memory, go in CWM mode, should i full wipe or clear anything? because on the guide page on xda, straight write select install zip... after i select d only i forget i need to wipe something!!!
KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 06:24 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 21 2011, 06:22 PM)
Im not sure if batista auto helps u wipe when flashing zip,or wipe urself. u shud clear cache and dalvik cache before flashing rom too. if after u flash but no wipe,can always go back to cwm and select factory reset smile.gif

edit:our profile pictures are so similar biggrin.gif
factory reset i will go unrooted? and reroot again? =(
or now i flash rom already, can i redo clear cache and dalvik, then reflash again? tongue.gif
KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 07:47 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 21 2011, 06:41 PM)
Hahax! tongue.gif When i was reading through the pages, i saw his pic,and my first reactiom was:did someone just hacked into my acc and posted as me?!?!
LOL~ just finish playing around with the new rom, on 2.3, when i try clearing memory that time, my phone will go back to the new phone status, asking me to touch the "android" to start!!! anyone have this problem?
KahHoong
post Oct 21 2011, 07:57 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 21 2011, 07:52 PM)
Err, that's what happens when you total-wipe?

Or you wipe cache and dalvik only? In that case that IS strange.
i missed out wiping the cache and dalvik doh.gif
straight install from zip d only remember i need to wipe... so if this is my problem, im gonna just go in there and wipe? or i need to flash again?
KahHoong
post Oct 22 2011, 05:04 PM

124 posts

anyone using foxhound 2.3? it's quite fast to dry up my battery, charge twice already from yesterday until now, without even turning on 3g, just wifi for few hours... this morning full charge, use 20mins GPS consume about 29% battery life. :S feels like stock rom is better for this.

ps: how can i change to CheckROM? full wipe 1st from foxhound? need factory reset?
KahHoong
post Oct 22 2011, 05:14 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 22 2011, 05:08 PM)
Checkrom is non wipe rom by default,if u wanna make sure everything goes correctly,then u can do factory reset in cwm. remember clear cache and dalvik cache before flashing the rom smile.gif
hahaha... will do remember to clear it this time! tongue.gif actually clear cache and dalvik will remove what? does it intefere with my setups and anything? or just like clearing "cache" in firefox? factory reset means everything back to stock rom? without rooted? actually there is no more stock rom inside right? cause im abit confuse, with factory reset term, if since it's inside the phone, why ppl still need to reflash the stock rom?
KahHoong
post Oct 22 2011, 07:12 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 22 2011, 06:14 PM)
RM40 - 2GB
RM68 - 5GB
RM128 - 20GB
from which telco is this? hmm.gif
KahHoong
post Oct 25 2011, 03:17 AM

124 posts

my 1st try flashing into foxhound 2.3 really bad, sad.gif energy consume more, camera function decrease alot, keeps on popping out the batista70 notification, theme is so so only, a few errors and feel unstable when using apps, will jump out from it and go back in with black screen, need restart apps. the only advantage, faster speed. heat doesn't reduce. used stock rom for almost a month, i would said stock rom is better thou.

ps: any recommendation on other rom?
KahHoong
post Oct 25 2011, 06:12 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Oct 25 2011, 05:22 AM)
did you do the full wipe before load the rom?
i did!!! reflash twice... now using checkrom! XD this is fast and stable! but... now im having problems installing package using kitchenpro, installing error, i guess is it me using siyah kernel 2.0 problem? so i went into the cwm recovery to flash the package one by one.

one more thing, now my TB saids my device not rooted.

updated superuser, problem still exist.

This post has been edited by KahHoong: Oct 25 2011, 06:14 AM
KahHoong
post Oct 25 2011, 06:34 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 25 2011, 06:29 AM)
Sensation has been updated to ki3 already smile.gif
laptopguy!!! help~ seems like im having problem with my super user!!!

TB saids my phone not rooted, while i just flash into checkrom, full wipe!
using root check, seems like my su binary file location is not proper, even do su update also will failed.
KahHoong
post Oct 25 2011, 06:54 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 25 2011, 06:42 AM)
Try reflashing siyahkernel,if still no root,go to the siyahkernel page,i know theres a file that roots the device if it doesnt get rooted.
Edit:go to flashing guide part of the siyah page,the last sentence of the flashing guide paragraph,theres a link there,download the file n flash it in cwm
yea, just did it, full wipe, without installing siyah 2.0, everything seems fine... but with kernel 2.0, turn on speed was like right after the samsung SII animation, while this one wait for like 20sec. :S

edit : done, all set. thanks for the heads up! separately installing the checkrom and siyah(restart each installation) and all without problem d. XD

ps: is it necessary to install the stuff in kitchenpro in recovery mode? can i straight install within the folder?and reboot?

This post has been edited by KahHoong: Oct 25 2011, 07:06 AM
KahHoong
post Oct 25 2011, 07:08 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 25 2011, 07:01 AM)
So have u reflashed siyah? Or u just flashed the root file only?
all done!!! asking too much noob question again before posting. aiks... at 1st it was my mistake, cause didnt granted su permission.

This post has been edited by KahHoong: Oct 25 2011, 07:10 AM
KahHoong
post Oct 29 2011, 10:15 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 25 2011, 07:11 AM)
Glad that ur issue solved? So hows checkrom? Awesome right brows.gif
awesome! 1st root on the batista really makes a bad impression, but this one is way more better thou. for me la, no offense tongue.gif

0.0442sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:59 PM