SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V17, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 03:10 PM

743 posts

It is hard to choose between an iPhone 4S and SGS-2. sad.gif

However, I would like to confirm some things.
Hopefully u guys can help out. notworthy.gif

1. I searched on Internet before. So, we have an app known as BUMP? Can we use it to transfer files between iPhones and SGS-2? Did anyone try before? Otherwise, it would be a trouble. This is super important to me!

2. How do u guys pay for the apps? I never use android. I used Symbian before, I paid for Symbian apps using my prepaid digi balance. I don't have a credit card.

3. Does SGS-2 video recording have continuous autofocus?

5. Does this SGS-2 come with free documents editor? User friendly? Videos and images editor is free or not?

6. Is there any app to download YouTube videos? Can choose HD to download or not?

4. Does anyone encounter problem with this phone before? Which would u recommend? G or non-G?

Thanks! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by CLian: Oct 30 2011, 03:13 PM
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 03:19 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Oct 30 2011, 03:17 PM)
2. using credit card or google checkout, so yes u need credit card
3. yes
5. yes free, user frenly or not depends on you, market got alot apps brah
6. yes got, in market slowly browse and choose
Can I use debit card or bank card?
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 03:47 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(CLian @ Oct 30 2011, 03:10 PM)
It is hard to choose between an iPhone 4S and SGS-2. sad.gif

However, I would like to confirm some things.
Hopefully u guys can help out. notworthy.gif

1. I searched on Internet before. So, we have an app known as BUMP? Can we use it to transfer files between iPhones and SGS-2? Did anyone try before?  Otherwise, it would be a trouble. This is super important to me!

2. How do u guys pay for the apps? I never use android. I used Symbian before, I paid for Symbian apps using my prepaid digi balance. I don't have a credit card.

3. Does SGS-2 video recording have continuous autofocus?

5. Does this SGS-2 come with free documents editor? User friendly? Videos and images editor is free or not?

6. Is there any app to download YouTube videos? Can choose HD to download or not?

4. Does anyone encounter problem with this phone before? Which would u recommend? G or non-G?

Thanks! notworthy.gif
More answer notworthy.gif
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 03:54 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 30 2011, 03:50 PM)
i tot u edi got all the answers??  shocking.gif  shakehead.gif
I would like to double confirm ab't the BUMP app. biggrin.gif

I want to see if anyone tried to transfer files between iPhone and SGS-2 before.
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 04:15 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(noeltwt @ Oct 30 2011, 04:04 PM)
I need help here,my wifi is not working and I can't figure out why(actually it didn't working for a long time already) =(
When I ticked turn on wifi,it just showing "turning off"
when it's turning on,it search wifi bt it ends up with nothing and automatically turn off
Im sure the wifi modem is working well because im using it to surf internet also~
i din root my phone b4 so i duno whats the problem i need help from u guys =(  icon_question.gif
How old is your SGS-2?

Got wifi problem?

U r convincing me to take iphone4S!!! cry.gif

CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 04:27 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(noeltwt @ Oct 30 2011, 04:16 PM)
I think thats the only solution  sad.gif
thanks 4 ur answer! notworthy.gif

Added on October 30, 2011, 4:19 pm
I think im just an unlucky user lah dun affected by my problem  smile.gif
Believe me galaxy s2 is definitely a high-end phone u'll not regret it  nod.gif
for iphone 4s...no comment  brows.gif
I like SGS-2 because of its bigger screen being compared to iphone4S. rclxms.gif

Added on October 30, 2011, 4:28 pmDoes it have whatapps?

This post has been edited by CLian: Oct 30 2011, 04:28 PM
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 04:49 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(MEAKU15 @ Oct 30 2011, 04:39 PM)
hi all,

im having problems with my usb connection. Like my tab ( 10.1 ) i just need to connect to my pc then it will show up in my computer. For my sgs2 g-version, i can't get it to work. i've installed kies , reinstall again, still doesn't work. I've check debugging mode, still not working, check off, still not working... i've even tried the usb utilities setup,it say to connect usb cable to use mass storage, then i connect, nothing happens... is ther a prob with my comp or my phone??? issshhhhh...... been cracking my head looking for the drivers can't find them anywhere... anyone has the same problem?/?????
This guy is convincing me to go for iphone4S as well. sad.gif
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 05:25 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Oct 30 2011, 04:54 PM)
Then u should get iPhone 4s lor doh.gif
But, SGS-2 has a bigger screen. sad.gif
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 05:36 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 30 2011, 05:00 PM)
he had been fked up once in IP4s thread, n now he come here to troll instead.grow up man, here is discussion thread not small kid's playground. since so many ppls had successfully convinced u to get IP4S, den go get one. orelse get a life.
I wasn't trolling here. Not spamming as well. sad.gif

Added on October 30, 2011, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(rattan @ Oct 30 2011, 05:31 PM)
Me coming from an iPhone background. Started off with the first model of iphone2g and eventually upgraded to the others. I got fade up with the restriction on iPhone and the jailbreaking process + frequent problems with the iOS.

Decided to go Android. Flexibility is given. Plenty of ROM & custom kernels to choose from.

I can access my SD card and phone memory when ever I want to. I can upgrade the SD card when ever I want to. I can replace my battery when its faulty, I can even carry a spare battery with me when travelling. No issues on coverage signal strength. No need to rely on iTunes.

End of the day its individual preference.
thumbup.gif

However, did anyone experience problem with SGS-2 before?

Does it support all media files?

Tq

Added on October 30, 2011, 5:39 pm
QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 30 2011, 04:56 PM)
Then please go get a iPhone 4s instead of spamming up the thread.
I was not spamming.

This post has been edited by CLian: Oct 30 2011, 05:39 PM
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 05:41 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Oct 30 2011, 05:33 PM)
+1  rclxms.gif

I can also use a 3500maH battery on it if I want to. haha

3500mah S2 Battery Pack
Wow, 3500mah.

But, needs their back cover instead.
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 05:44 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Oct 30 2011, 05:41 PM)
Have to be specific on what kind of problem you worry about. So far all media file I watched play smoothly on sgs2.
Have u ever used media encoder to convert medias files in order to play them on your SGS-2?

If u never convert, that means it really covers a lot of formats. smile.gif
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 05:50 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Oct 30 2011, 05:46 PM)
Nope. Never convert anything. Just copy as it is to my SD card.
Can I play videos of very big capacity? Like 3gb/4gb/5gb.

Will SGS-2 allow? hmm.gif
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 06:10 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Oct 30 2011, 06:00 PM)
The biggest I've tried so far are around 2gb+. Have yet to try the other bigger capacity.
That is great enough thumbup.gif
CLian
post Oct 30 2011, 06:29 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 30 2011, 06:11 PM)
@rattan: I have the MHL cable (ori) and am using it often now to output streaming Anime to my Samsung HD plasma. No issues what so ever except the inability to shut the SGS2 screen off and use the TV out exclusively. Also (prolly because the screen is on all the time), with every other kernel BESIDES Siyah + increased charging input hack, the battery WILL drain while MHL is in use.

@clIan: 4GB files are max, due to Fat32 limitation. Can be solved by using a kernel with FUSE NTFS modules (Siyah has them) and mounting the module with droidscript (allowing you to use NTFS formatted sd-cards, HDDs and pendrives), but I malas wanna try.

Also, 64GB SDXC cards can be used, with the above limitations kept in mind (we can't use exFat yet, only NTFS/Fat32).

And yes, the SGS2 plays a shitload of formats w/o conversion. I convert anyway because watching 720p anime on a handheld is like listening to uncompressed wav files from an iPod shuffle.

Honestly speaking, the ONLY real advantage of the 4S is the DAC (better music SQ, on a minuscule comparison level), and camera (the BSI sensor on the 4S IS better, don't kid yourself guys). As the SQ problem WILL be solved once we have ICS (which allows us to use USB DAC Amps), the camera is the only remaining plus point IMHO.
Thanks you notworthy.gif

What is BSI?

Btw, SGS-2 has continuous autofocus for video recording. But, can I touch the screen wherever I want to focus while recording videos? hmm.gif

Tq again!

0.0321sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:07 AM