Change Of Ownership Without Runner Procedure, D.I.Y / Runner / Home Appointment

babysiew
post Jun 13 2018, 01:13 PM

229 posts

Dear all sifus,

I recently booked a new car. Paid for full insurance for the new car. My current ride NCD is 25%. Insurance expiring August 2018. My SA told me to let the insurance expires on it own and then they will refund me the balance 5% (30%-5%) after the insurance expires. My current ride, there is a buyer already. I read that in order to transfer name I need to cancel my insurance? Can I dont cancel, let it expires naturally and transfer name at the same time? Number plate will be different as I am taking my plate to the new car. Thanks for advise.
babysiew
post Aug 15 2022, 04:43 PM

229 posts

Dear all, advice needed. I am buying a 47 yrs old classic car from a private seller. The car does not have loan anymore. I am paying by cash. I have paid the seller RM1K as deposit. The Puspakom is arranged to be on this Thurs. Seller is at Melaka. I am at Selangor. Puspakom Thurs at Melaka. Seller said if Puspakom lulus, before he thumbprint to transfer, I should settle the balance 100% but me as buyer also cautious. I suggested to pay 70% then he does the thumbprint, I do the thumbprint. Then balance 30% given on the spot once transfer is done.

He countered with:

1. Puspakom passes
2. I pay 70%
3. Car will be send to restoration workshop at Selangor via towing
5. Once we confirm car is at the workshop, we pay balance 30%
6. Seller to do thumbprint at Melaka
7. I do thumbprint at Selangor

I am a bit worried of doing it separately haha I am thinking, we should do together at JPJ Melaka. After I read many pages, I would propose this to seller:

1. Puspakom passes this thurs
2. 1-2 days before the meet up at JPJ Melaka, buy car insurance
3. both meet at JPJ Melaka
4. Seller to cancel his road tax and insurance
5. Pay 70% instant transfer
6. Both to do thumbprint
7. Buy a new roadtax with the insurance we have so the dates match
8. Car arrange to be delivered to Selangor
9. Both to sign a vehicle purchase agreement, simple only, two copies
10. Pay remaining 30% instant transfer

What do you think? Sorry first time buying 2nd hand car. Thank you.
babysiew
post Aug 15 2022, 08:14 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Aug 15 2022, 08:05 PM)
now since its a collectable or something car, its up to you how desperate you want it

easiest is physically meet at jpj, YOU get bankers cheque ready, SHOW the seller. Then do thumbprint, once all done, just hand over the cheque.

Cant do exactly at each moment its fair to both party.

again there is no fix process, its all agreement between buyer & seller.

I've sold car without taking any deposit, i've bought car with no deposit either.
I feel that i have already express my trust by giving 70% without anything in return. I just hope he trust me with the 30%. If he cant then might as well call off the deal. Tq for feedback!
babysiew
post Sep 30 2022, 03:15 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Sep 19 2022, 03:40 AM)
How did the purchase go?

If you don't mind sharing, what classic are you buying to restore?
Oh sorry I missed your question. It was not successful because of disagreement on the payment method. Guess we both did not trust each other. I managed to get another one. In the process of transferring name. Pending Puspakom inspection smile.gif

it is a VW Kombi T2
babysiew
post Sep 30 2022, 03:16 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 19 2022, 02:14 PM)
Mentioned on other thread - Nissan Kombi
VW Kombi. Not Nissan hehe

0.0294sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:43 AM