LYN Mazda 3 Owners/Fans Club V3.0, ~ZOOM ZOOM~

ESP156
post Mar 14 2012, 07:08 PM

Hi, i like to intro myself, i would like to join this owner list, i just took over mazda3 a month ago, car is 2009 made and black mica.

i have the following questions and hope any mazda experts can advice :

1. what is the most suitable lubricant grade for mazda3 2.0 ? 5W20, 5W30 or 5W40.
Currently the car is using shell helix fully sync 5w40, but i am looking for anything better if any.

2. The car is due for tyres change, for those who has replaced your tyres, do u went with 215/45/17 or u 205/50/17 ?

3. I would like to know upon expiry of warranty, do u continue go back to bermaz or you rely on your mechanic to tackles the wear and tear for you ?

ESP156
post Apr 2 2012, 01:32 AM

QUOTE(mk91077 @ Mar 29 2012, 01:30 PM)
New 18" in place...
But have to scrap plan to use PS3 tyre for the wheel and go for cheaper falken tyre... huhuh
Nice rims .. i like this.
How is the rides after upgrading to 18" ?

ESP156
post Apr 4 2012, 02:10 AM

QUOTE(Mr_Rocket @ Apr 4 2012, 01:22 AM)
Yeah would love to know if anyone here change their head unit set other than the legendary slow CASKA. Thinking of changing my HU. Not user friendly at all lah.  vmad.gif
I just did that recently and i changed the HU to a 2 DIN alpine player, the result is worth it . biggrin.gif
However my case is the car warranty is expiring soon, so this don't bothers me.

to me changing player is a straight forward thing, get a facia kit, take out current player, put in the new facia kit and player then reconnect the new player without cutting any wires, an experience installer will know what to do.

Things to watch out if u want to change ur HU to 2-DIN,
1) steering control will not work, unless u got the interface kit.
2) the m3 radio antenna connector may not compatible with player, need to find an adapter for this. mine one dont work so no radio for now.

This post has been edited by ESP156: Apr 4 2012, 02:13 AM
ESP156
post Apr 6 2012, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(Mr_Rocket @ Apr 4 2012, 02:21 AM)
Excellent!  rclxm9.gif  At least someone here is using other brand than CASKA!

Bro mind sharing what model of Alpine are u using and where did you get the facia kit from? Where do you install your HU from?

Thanks!
I use my own installer, those that i trust. one in gombak and another one in Kepong. you can pm me if anyone of u wanted to do HU upgrade.
for HU i replaced the stock caska HU it with Alpine IVA-W502.

For facia kit, there are at least 2 types of design for current mazda 3 and i sourced mine from overseas seller after some googling.
I am very pleased with the look as the new facia kit and HU fit in nicely and both merged into the current daskboard pane thus meeting
my expectations. No screen tilt adjustment required because the player already in slanted position.

I will post the picture later.

ESP156
post Apr 7 2012, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(ESP156 @ Apr 6 2012, 03:05 PM)
I use my own installer, those that i trust. one in gombak and another one in Kepong. you can pm me if anyone of u wanted to do HU upgrade.
for HU i replaced the stock caska HU it with Alpine IVA-W502.

For facia kit, there are at least 2 types of design for current mazda 3 and i sourced mine from overseas seller after some googling.
I am very pleased with the look as the new facia kit and HU fit in nicely and both merged into the current daskboard pane thus meeting
my expectations. No screen tilt adjustment required because the player already in slanted position.

I will post the picture later.
picture attached..

ESP156
post Apr 8 2012, 09:14 PM

QUOTE(Digital_Life @ Apr 7 2012, 09:40 PM)
My first 1000 km service coming... wonder should i go the service centre near Federal Highway or those smaller service centre in Cheras, Taman Kencana

Any M3 owner been to Tmn Kencana Service centre, wonder how's their service ?

Added on April 8, 2012, 1:22 am
Nice, does your steering volume control still work on this double din Alpine.

Make me feel like changing mine original radio. rclxms.gif
Left side of steering control not functional currently,
But i already Bought the steering control interface device , and
Waiting for right time to install.
ESP156
post Apr 10 2012, 05:51 PM

QUOTE(cntrdctn12 @ Apr 10 2012, 02:21 PM)
All Bros and Sis,

I am proud to say that I am a future Mazdarian. Should be able to register my car next week.... (so get more cars registered in Selangor)... smile.gif

I will be getting the Aluminium Mica....

Here is the big question.... i am supposed to get 6MIL tint as advised by the SA... and I believe this will be installed in GS... The only concern is the brand that they are offering... It is branded as JP... I have not heard it before but the cost is RM1800... If the brand sucks... then I would rather use about the same amouont of money and pay for 3M or Llumar...

Any opinions??

Unless you must want security tint, i personally find at that kind of price range, you should give 3M Crystaline a try. ..
I installed 3M crystaline in my M3 and personally find it is much better than vkool & rikecool in my previous car.

ESP156
post Apr 16 2012, 12:27 PM

QUOTE(mr.jackie @ Apr 15 2012, 11:44 PM)
mazda 3 is with 6speaker....how come i only manage can see 4 only....front passenger side got 2 then back passenger got 2 ....where is the other 2 go? hmm.gif
I believe the manufacturer tend to equal no of speaker with no of ways the speakers it sound. In M3 2.0 case, it came with 6x9 speakers instead of normal 6.5" round speaker inside the front doors. 6x9 type of speaker can be categorized as 2 ways speaker because it is made up of a woofer and a tweeter, so that made up 2 speakers in marketing gimmick.

This post has been edited by ESP156: Apr 16 2012, 12:27 PM
ESP156
post Apr 24 2012, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(wailup @ Apr 24 2012, 01:25 AM)
Meaning m3 1.6, front speaker can be upgraded to 6x9? Without any modification?
Btw, I'm going to get a m3 1.6 hb. In loan application now.
I have no ideas whether the speaker in 1.6 is the 6.5 inch. Maybe someone who has opened it can comment.
Also no worries, regardless of the speaker types there, to change it to another is doable and if u ask the help of
experience installer, this kind of issues are common to them.

But if you are thinking to change the speakers, i reckon investing into a good set of 6.5 component set
would be a better option than 6x9.
ESP156
post Jun 5 2012, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(chickenshit36 @ Jun 2 2012, 10:21 AM)
Hello peeps, im also a m3 sport owner. My current stock tyres 205/50/17 needs to change. Unfortunately, this spec of tires quite rare and expensive. Rm 580 to change to. Toyo again. They recommend me 215/45/17. continental brand rm 385. any comments from fellow m3 owners that changed their tyres?
i changed mine 2 mth back, replacing 205/50/R17 toyo with Goodyear F1 A2, 215/45/R17.
Very nice tyres and price below RM500 per pc.
ESP156
post Jun 7 2012, 01:17 AM

QUOTE(kaisers @ Jun 5 2012, 11:47 PM)
bro, any noticable difference in ride comfort? by going to 215/45, you're changing to thinner sidewall tyre so comfort shall be affected, question is how much..

i'm thinking to upgrade to thicker sidewall now, either to 205/50 or 225/45 from original 215/45... reason is road to my office full of potholes  mad.gif

hope you can advice...
I hv been driving m3 for few months and I feel this car is very well tuned toward comfort and handling as a stock car. the stock suspension feel very firm, the 17 inch wheels and the brakes feel very good on Malaysian road. My previous rides uses 215/45/17 too but was a nightmare when going thru potholes and yellow stripes. Thus I would say the comfort handling is not the entirely due to tires, but also the suspension design at work. I also have same issue with u, one road near my office is full of portholes too, but i have programmed myself to drive slow and carefully for this stretch, not because the car cannot handles it, but I am trying to minimize the wear and tear to drive shaft, the lower arms and related parts by going slow.

Back to tyes change, I find the rides comfort was is about to same after switching to 215/45,
If want to be peculiar i find the steering is receiving more feedbacks on road conditions than 205/50 settings,
Thus it can be perceived as it is more bumpier however the different to me is very minute, and i dont feel any sacrifices of comfort after 2 months of driving..

Otoh i find 215/45 handles better than 205/50 and when taking corner, if there is 215/50, that would be the best of both world. cool2.gif

ESP156
post Jun 14 2012, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(gzavincent @ Jun 13 2012, 04:59 PM)
Hey guys, when my M3 running on 120km/h the steering will start to vibrate.
Anyone encounter this?
I just solved mine and i would advice anyone who experience this can seek help from mazda directly.

Unless u know some who are real skillful and passionate about problem solving in solving,
you may ended up like me who has visited the tyre shop for few round but still not happy with the outcome.

If u are in PJ, u can try mazda at glenmarie. They have a tyreman who is familiar enough to
investigate, fix and retest the car till it feels right. I am quite happy with that experience and
regret for not seeing them earlier, as this will safe time and money of redoing certain job
(i.e. they always claimed alignment not properly done).

ESP156
post Jun 15 2012, 11:48 PM

QUOTE(kyuen7 @ Jun 15 2012, 05:04 PM)
Walau, your tint is so dark! What are you trying to hide from the public?  brows.gif
Or are you like Ryan Gosling in Drive...hehehe...getaway driver! Thanks for the tips...I live in PJ too, so damansara is very convenient for me. I was actually very inclined to 3M...all say their tint is the best...aiyah..banyak susah!  rclxub.gif

I will definitely get the reverse cam too...bout 300 right?
go for 3M and you wont regret it, i use Crystalline on my black M3 (60 on front and 50 the rest) and it worked very well for me (better than vkool Imo). Also the tint is quite special as it look darker from outside, but at inside, it feels just right.

You can checkout their outlet near sunway giza, did mine there and fount they are very efficient and remarkable workmanship.

ESP156
post Jun 16 2012, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(skywalker78 @ Jun 16 2012, 09:13 PM)
How much it cost ? Where u installed the tint? Does it affect the smart tag? Thanks smile.gif
3M crystalline will block 99% of IR signal, Thus it it wont allowed smartag signal to pass thru if u put the device
under the windscreen that guarded by crystalline.

There are workarounds, either u have to designate a small area in your windscreen and
cut a hole for IR signal and put ur smarttag there for reading. Another way is
since the tint will be joined with a top shaded tint (normally a black color tint and definitely non
crystalline type), it can be use to allow signal pass thru.

I use the latter approach since i dont like to display smarttag on top of dashboard and so far so good. rolleyes.gif

ESP156
post Jun 21 2012, 11:58 PM

QUOTE(IminmyownworlD @ Jun 21 2012, 09:36 PM)
What touchscreen player do u guys recommend? I read the oem caska player have lots of problem and not user friendly. My budget is around 2 to 3k. What do u guys suggest? Do advice. Thanks.
You need to ask what do u want from the new player? Because when u upgrade HU u are upgrading
For better features, or u r upgrading for better sound, IMO these 2 obj don't cross.

If u want the bigger screen with a better feel of integrated look, and power pack features like inbuilt GPS,
I reckon u can get the gps powered player designed for m3 from GS and on top of it it will not spoilt the warranty too.
This player has lots of nice features but not the sound quality.

Alternatively if u are looking for sound quality improvement (aka ice), then this is the different path to go,
U can start with the player and to expand later with component speaker and amplifier upgrade.
The max budget u allocate can use to source for a good 2din player (ie alpine w520 or used w502), but u will need facia adaptor And steering control kit to complete the head unit upgrade.
this path gives u the option to a good player with good sound that also support for reverse camera, iPod, and gps as optional. Those optional may cost extra $$$ and probably not worth the bucks (esp gps module).

My priority is sound quality so I had chosen the latter path, replaced the caska player with alpine w502, never regretted.. biggrin.gif

ESP156
post Jun 22 2012, 01:22 AM

QUOTE(IminmyownworlD @ Jun 22 2012, 12:18 AM)
I remember u posted a picture of your touch screen. It looks great. Do u have Gps navigation with it and Bluetooth? I prefer better sound quality and well Im not upgrading. Im changing my normal radio set to a touch screen. Lol.. How much is your alpine?
I got my w502 for slightly more than 2k and those facia kit and adaptor i sourced it myself online. Thus all less than 3k excl installation cost. It plays audio and dvd movie very nicely and certainly add values to my daily driving pleasure. The HU supports extra features like phone, Bluetooth, reverse camera, gps but requires add on components to get it work.

Never tried the Bluetooth and was thinking of adding gps in earlier but turning off with the price quoted, it is way cheaper to get a standalone garmin or Papago.
ESP156
post Jul 5 2012, 06:07 PM

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jul 5 2012, 04:52 PM)
Hi bro,

I kinda disagree with you.... I am not sure, but maybe that's just me... I am driving 2.0 sedan too. I feel that the steering is still quite heavy when the car is cruising above 140km/h....The handling is very good imho... If compare to Honda Civic, you will be amazed with the difference, their steering are very light sweat.gif

Any other members feel that the steering is light? hmm.gif

Btw bro, please let me know what color is your car so that I can add in the details in the owner list.

Cheers biggrin.gif
I second that also, i reckon the steering feels just right during high speed driving.

Not sure whether due to very good wind noise insulation,
I kind of feeling that the car is a bit slow at high speed, esp when keeping the driving speed between 110 to 160.

ESP156
post Jul 19 2012, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(williamng @ Jul 19 2012, 01:23 PM)
2012 Mazda 3 1.5 Supreme new facelif from hk

2012 Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2.0 with i-stop from hk
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Bermaz should incorporate Vehicle stability control into M3. then it would be the best
eventhough it is not skyactive.
ESP156
post Jul 25 2012, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(bmkia @ Jul 25 2012, 10:14 AM)

Have you soundproofed ur car already? I couldnt stand the road/ tyre noise also (my M3 sedan 1.6 is 3 weeks old). Went to KL auto, and did the 4 wheel arches (queit drive), autofoamed the chassis as well as well as the boot treatment all recommended to reduce the road/tyre noise. All in spend RM3k plus...

In the end, I don't feel much difference... just slight improvement only. The handling is better, goes over uneven patches and bumps better but road/ tyre sound still......

Anyone successfully managed to soundproof/ reduce the road/tyre noise succesfully? Please share ur experience. The KL Auto owner says changing tyres will really help, anyone changed their tyres already and find that there is much sound improvements? Please share as well.
Bro can u explain more what product did u apply on the wheel arch ? coz i am tempted to go for STP magic for noise reduction.

for My case, i find changing to a good tyres really help, i replaced the stock toyo to Goodyear F1A2 and the cabin noise reduce tremendously.

2ndly i suggest to check the rims and balancing as well, for my case, i felt further noise reduction after fixing crooked rims (was told very minor) and ensuring all rims are in proper balancing.

ESP156
post Jul 26 2012, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(bmkia @ Jul 25 2012, 10:47 PM)

For the benefit of members here, let me give share the details of what I have done and spent to try to cut the tyre/ road noise:-

Money Spent:-

1) Application of "QuietDrive" on all 4 wheel arches (grey thick paint stuff that deadens noise- apparently adopted from the US Navy stealthboat technology) - RM1,000ish
2) Boot Treatment (Same QuietDrive but in the form of sticker on the whole boot, boot lid as well as under the back seat) - RM1.2Kish
3) Autofoaming the chassis " Comfort Package", Autofoam the 2 A pillars and Dash Treatment (i.e. some cloth damping stuff put into the Dash) - RM1,000ish

Effects of the Above:-

1) Quietdrive on wheel arches - No difference IMHO
2) Boot Treatment - No difference IMHO
3) Autofoaming the chassis - Better ride over uneven roads, bumps. The Dash Treatment and A Pillars autofoam did reduce some road noise. (ard 10-15% IMHO)

Btw, all the treatments (in the order above) was recommended by the Autofoam boss. He said he will call me when the "Roar Buster" material is in stock (dont know will charge me or not) as I think he also realizes just minor improvement only when I went back to remove the foam and he drove the car.

Sigh  sad.gif I was really hoping that KL Auto can at least reduce the tire/ road noise at least 40-50% . Looks like only left some hope on the Roar Buster and changing tyres maybe a year down the road. I travel long distance on the NSE frequently thats why I was willing to spend the $$$ to reduce the noise.
Bro thanks for the detailed info. Look like have to reconsider the fender treatment after
reading your posting.
I share the same objective with u, hopefully we can reduce the tyres noise from M3.
I will update later once i tried mine.

May i know what tyres are u using now ?

0.0721sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:45 PM