Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.
z21j
Jun 26 2012, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(dewVP @ Jun 26 2012, 04:13 PM) Maybank 2 months onwards only need 1k, 2 mths 3% and 3 months 3.05% Do you all advice to put for 2 months or 3 months? I plan to put 1k for every month, so that every month one FD mature, and I can still take it out if I need them. Advice? 5k MBB eFD a month @ 3% rate better. This post has been edited by z21j: Jun 26 2012, 05:08 PM
z21j
Jul 15 2012, 02:17 AM
QUOTE(mark001 @ Jul 14 2012, 11:08 PM) oh.. meaning if i put for 1 month and its 3% basically it would be 0.xx% lor? in simple the interest would be around 0.2465% PER MONTH (if you consider 3% pa). If you invest RM10,000 at 3% PA, 10,000 * 0.2465% = This is what u get monthly.
z21j
Jul 15 2012, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 15 2012, 10:36 AM) If we have RM1 million, we can get RM2465 a month of passive income  Yea, it's true. But if you have 1 mil, you wont bother about rm2465 passive income ady. Too little to mean anything to you by then.
z21j
Jul 16 2012, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 15 2012, 07:53 PM) if you have RM1 million , your passive income is no longer RM2465 only. It could well be in the range of RM5800 a month. Even though RM 1 million is considered peanut, we must not forget alot of people dont even have 500k by the end of their life. Correct. Higher capital may yield higher interest rate, can the rate can nego with the banker. Even if you have 500k at the end of their life, it would turn it to property form ady, not cash and cash equivalent. I think most generation Y would have the same faith
z21j
Jul 17 2012, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 17 2012, 12:35 PM) Well, on paper, yes but not necessary true in real life. When you have only RM1million to RM3million cash, you still don not have enough "bullet" to nego with the banker. Why not you may ask ? Because, in real life practice, you would want to play FD musical chair with different maturity dates, you would want to split the eggs to several baskets, you also want to set away as much fund as possible to the higest return instruments such as Amanah saham, Sukuk,.....etc etc... So you end up spliting the money to just few hundred k per bank. You only can nego when there is still excess eggs but no more new basket. Agree with u. Just to point out the possibility that... at least with 1mil, 4%-4.5% pa is negotiable.