Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

talexeh
post Jun 4 2012, 03:42 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,085 posts

Just to update you guys that the Ambank promotion of 3.9% has ended prematurely. sad.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 2 2012, 01:38 AM)
I hv mentioned this before

ocbc 3 mths for 4% with two simple conditions

1) open fd account on mighty weekend and
2) open a saving account rm 20 or current account (saving account is the cheapest way)

max deposit rm 50000
Me & wifey don't have a kid yet, so we're not eligible for this promotion. sad.gif

This post has been edited by talexeh: Jun 4 2012, 03:45 PM
talexeh
post Jun 4 2012, 06:01 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(ascend @ Jun 4 2012, 03:49 PM)

Added on June 4, 2012, 3:53 pm

Mighty weekend is for anyone, including people without children.
Hmm... I was there earlier inquiring about it & the CSR told me about the criteria of opening the Mighty Savers for children only. Upon reading your comment & Googling about it, I guess it's time to visit them again this coming Saturday. Here's the link for those who are interested or find the need to "enlighten" their OCBC CSR:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/ba...r2011%20ENG.pdf

This post has been edited by talexeh: Jun 4 2012, 06:02 PM
talexeh
post Jun 4 2012, 11:59 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 4 2012, 08:46 PM)
Mighty Weekend started with opening up kid account. But the rule has changed a few months back. You open your own saving account. In my earlier post, i write saving account but didnt refer to kid's account.

Yourself - saving account RM 20. FD max RM50000 , 3 mths for 4%
Your wife - saving account RM20. FD max RM 50000, 3 mths for 4%

A total of RM100,000.

But RM50k deposit has to be done in one go. No top up allowed.
Noted with thanks. I guess I was being misinformed by the OCBC CSR. Going through the link that I provided in my previous post, can you help me confirm if the below example is still applicable? As in, you are only eligible to open a Mighty Weekend FD account per savings / current / unit trust account? notworthy.gif
3.2.6. Customers can only enjoy this FD Promotion ONCE for the purchase / opening of a savings or current account. 
Example: 
Customer opens 1 Mighty Savers account for his or her child and enjoys the FD promotion of 4.00%p.a. for 3 months FD up to
RM50,000 placement. Should the customer return during another Mighty Savers weekend to open another Mighty Savers
account for another child, the customer is no longer eligible for the FD promotion as he or she has already enjoyed the FD
promotion with the opening of a savings account.

This post has been edited by talexeh: Jun 4 2012, 11:59 PM
talexeh
post Jun 5 2012, 01:59 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 5 2012, 01:27 PM)
OCBC CSR sometimes not aware on their own products.

I have opened on Mighty weekend
1) mighty saver for kid and opened a FD RM50000 3 mths for 4%
2) open saving account RM20 and opened another FD for RM50000, 3 mth for 4%

All these are done on two separate weekends

Plan to
1) buy unit trust and open FD for 3 mths for 4% since AmBank offer has ended.

All these can only be done on Mighty Weekend. Earlier it was allowed on any day except (1)
Thanks for the clarification. This means that I only have 2 options (savings / unit trust) until I have a child of my own. Thanks again! notworthy.gif

I'll pay a visit to Bank Rakyat to check out their very own FD package, which in my opinion sounds pretty good compared to the other major banks out there. smile.gif
talexeh
post Jun 6 2012, 03:17 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(missdream @ Jun 6 2012, 09:55 AM)
im so sorry, so as a conclusion, do i need a kid to enjoy the ocbc mighty weekend promotion ?
I'm not in the position to give a definite answer since I've yet to visit OCBC during Mighty Weekend but according to 2 sources, you don't need to.

Source #1: As what was mentioned by gsc.

Source #2: As per stated in the OCBC's link that I posted, Ctrl+F for Weekend Fixed Deposit Promotion:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/ba...r2011%20ENG.pdf
talexeh
post Jun 7 2012, 01:59 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Jun 7 2012, 11:02 AM)
OCBC FD promotion need to have at least 10K? and 3 months tenure?
If you're referring to the Mighty Weekend FD promotion, then yes.
talexeh
post Jun 8 2012, 09:30 AM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(o0o0 @ Jun 8 2012, 03:24 AM)
Bank Rakyat is always offering the best FD rate in Msia = 4.01% for 12 months.

But why seem like everyone here isn't flavor with Bank Rakyat FD?
One of the major roadblocks would be the fact that any deposit placed in Bank Rakyat is not under PIDM's protection.
talexeh
post Jun 8 2012, 11:34 AM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 8 2012, 11:19 AM)
Why? I tot all commercial bank deposit products r PIDM covered?
Because it's a bank koperasi, just like Agro Bank.

http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/about_us
talexeh
post Jun 8 2012, 01:25 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(heLL_bOy @ Jun 8 2012, 11:59 AM)
i wanna ask something regarding...

example :

some of the banks offer 3.2% p.a for 3month

how does it calculate?

mean i get 3.2% for the 3 month or i need to stay fixed or one year?
p.a. = per annum / year

So since you're being offered a 3 months package, you'll just need to divide the amount by 4 to get your answer. smile.gif
talexeh
post Jun 9 2012, 12:04 PM

3,085 posts

Update on the OCBC Mighty Weekend FD Promotion:

I've paid the main branch in Penang a visit for the 2nd time in a week, this time armed with the T&C that was obtained from the OCBC website itself & yet, they still insist that it's only meant for those with a kid. I even asked for the superior in some closed room to come out & clarify but still they insisted the same. I guess I'll just give up & look somewhere else. sad.gif
talexeh
post Jun 14 2012, 11:54 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 14 2012, 03:12 PM)

Added on June 14, 2012, 3:33 pm

sorry to hear your case. but I just called ocbc, beach st, Penang mighty weekend promotion still on even though you don't hv a kid. myself did enjoy the 4% FD by opening a saving account. for Penang beach st branch, July mighty weekend date is not fixed as first sat is Penang holiday and second sat is national public holiday.

since UOB and ocbc promotion end June and ocbc mighty weekend will be a month from now, I plan to place one month fd at UOB to enjoy the 3.2 % and when mature in July then open mighty weekend account.
Well... this gives me even more reasons to give up since they're being so inconsistent with their policies. I've redirected the fund that I allocated for OCBC to Ambank's 1:1 FD-investment plan.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 14 2012, 09:12 PM)
All the banks i usually bank with all require us to have a savings account with them. Which bank doesn't require us to have a savings account in order to open a FD account ?
Based on my experience so far, Ambank & OCBC.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 14 2012, 11:09 PM)
aiyo why fret about this issue? Just open a non-fee Basic Savings Account lor tongue.gif

And many dunno difference between Basic and "Normal"...Basic means ZERO ANNUAL FEE but restricted to 6 (or 8?) ATM withdrawals per month, anything more will kena charge.
Hmm... Maybank's restriction is 4 per month. The same goes to HSBC too if I'm not mistaken.
talexeh
post Jun 15 2012, 09:36 AM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2012, 07:28 AM)
That's InterestPlus FD.

Can share how it works, and the T&C? notworthy.gif
Basically you need to deposit the same amount of fund you're allocating for your FD into their unit trust. The FD numbers is very tempting but if you look at the overall picture, it's a package that benefits more on those who have been investing into Ambank's unit trust all these while. Anyway, numbers first:

FD:
1 month | 33.73% p.a. | ~2.765% upon maturity (minimum RM5K)
3 months | 12.91% p.a. | ~3.175 upon maturity (minimum RM1K)
6 months | 7.81% p.a. | ~3.841 upon maturity (minimum RM1K)
9 months | 6.09% p.a. | ~4.923 upon maturity (minimum RM1K)
12 months | 5.61% p.a. (minimum RM1K)

Ambank will incur 5% fees for the unit trust upon investing so if for example you opt for the 1 month package, you'll have to gain (5% - 2.765% = 2.235%) back to break even. This is definitely good news for those who have been dumping money into the unit trust since the FD will help them minimize the 5% fees. For people like us who are more into FD due to security, I sincerely think that 5.61% p.a. is a good deal since you still have 0.61% in excess.

Numbers to gain to break even:
1 month | ~2.235%
3 months | ~1.825%
6 months | ~1.159%
9 months | ~0.077%
12 months | excess 0.61%

Apart from the aforementioned 5% entrance fees, there is nothing else that you need to top up on & you can opt to quit the unit trust investment anytime with no penalty. For the unit trust, there is a large list to choose from: http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/ratesfeescha...rustprices.aspx In my case, I chose AmPrecious Metals.

This post has been edited by talexeh: Jun 15 2012, 09:41 AM
talexeh
post Jun 15 2012, 10:03 AM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 15 2012, 09:46 AM)
I dont understand the bold part can elaborate a bit ?
Erm... that's the different rate for the FD if you chose InterestPlus FD. Basically if you have a lot of spare cash & you want to invest into the unit trust progressively, little by little, then you can opt for the shorter term FD. However, if you want to enter once & leave it to mature, then you can opt for the longer duration FD. Not sure if I'm answering you there. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2012, 09:54 AM)
ALL AmInvestment funds also can pick? hmm.gif

AmDynamic Bond got no entry fee...I doubt they'd allow u to pick it
I'm not sure if all the unit trust in the list is applicable. notworthy.gif

Moreover, AmDynamic Bond's progress is very slow so I didn't think about it. However, I did remember someone telling me that now is a good time to invest into AmDynamic Bond since they're paying dividend twice a year (July & March). Oh by the way, there's a 1% exit fee on AmDynamic Bond.

This post has been edited by talexeh: Jun 15 2012, 10:06 AM
talexeh
post Jun 15 2012, 10:25 AM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2012, 10:11 AM)
AmDynamic Bond SLOW??? rclxub.gif
It averages 10%+/- p.a....even on a bad year managed to achieve 6%++ hmm.gif

U high risk investor notworthy.gif
But... but... the top 2 companies issuing bonds in AmDynamic are PLUS, which might be impacted should the coming GE swings to the PR. Just my opinion, please don't quote me. notworthy.gif
talexeh
post Jun 15 2012, 11:38 AM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 15 2012, 11:26 AM)
Thanks, dont understand but never mind..
Assuming you have RM10K. Since you have to invest 1:1, RM5K goes into FD & another RM5K goes into the unit trust. Since your question touches on the FD, I'll ignore the RM5K that was channeled into the unit trust.

With RM5K for FD you have a few options:

If you place it into the 1 month FD duration, you're entitled for 33.73% per annum. Since the duration is only for 1 month, 33.73% divide by 366 days in a year times 30 days in a month equals to around 2.765% of return. This means that after 1 month, you can withdraw approximately RM5138.25.

However, if you decided to go for the 3 months duration with a single deposit of RM5K, then you'll have to divide the per annum percentage by 366 before multiplying it by 90 days (12.91% / 366 * 90 = 3.175%). Once the 3 months are up, you'll gain back a total of RM5158.75.

Feel free to question me. Who knows, I might miss out some vital points here that could have caused some flaw to my calculations. notworthy.gif
talexeh
post Jun 15 2012, 12:47 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2012, 11:45 AM)
I answered earlier than u tongue.gif

Still, I'm curious whether there's a shortlist of funds that can be bought...cos there are bond funds with zero entry fee...surely the bank won't be that dumb hmm.gif
I'm a bit of a slowpoke. tongue.gif Anyway, why don't you pay Ambank a visit & tell us if those bonds with 0% entry fees are available for the InterestPlus FD package. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 15 2012, 12:19 PM)
Yup, this i could understand. Thanks
You're welcome. icon_rolleyes.gif
talexeh
post Jun 15 2012, 02:48 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(klangite @ Jun 15 2012, 02:44 PM)
Bond fund is risky. But you can mitigate your risk by selecting those that buy safer bonds like A rating and above. Some of my friends are investing in foreign bond eg US bonds. Risky but gain could be as high as 10% on top of capital gain, if any. However, min investment is RM200+K
All the bonds covered in AmDynamic Bond are AAA companies but with Malaysia being Malaysia, I guess it's not very wise to trust these triple-As alphabets especially with the GE looming near.
talexeh
post Jun 15 2012, 03:30 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2012, 02:58 PM)
AmDynamic majority holding is NOT AAA, but AA. That's why it could deliver above average returns.

And they're mostly Corporate Bonds e.g. Maybank, CIMB, Public Bank, Sarawak Energy, PLUS etc etc etc, very little MGSs which offer very low yield
You are right. I searched around & came upon a much more updated information: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...eetMYAMDNMB.pdf

The previous document that I had clearly stated PLUS being the top holdings but based on the link above, it's no longer there. sweat.gif
talexeh
post Jun 15 2012, 03:43 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2012, 03:31 PM)
AmInvestment should know better than u to have high exposure to GE-sensitive holdings at this times laugh.gif
And thus with that statement of yours, the teh tarik agreement is now officially declared as null & void. smile.gif
talexeh
post Jun 20 2012, 12:21 AM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Jun 19 2012, 02:12 PM)
previously read abt bank rakyat 4% but missing d now... smile.gif
Missing? Here you go: http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/126

0.0234sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled