Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

BoomChaCha
post Jan 10 2012, 12:54 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jan 10 2012, 12:45 AM)
well it all depends. as my housephone hardly anyone pick it up. as everyone has their own cellphones. registered it just for sake of internet.hehe
I have received many phone calls from foreign con women who
called to my house phone, they said I won a lottery and bla..bla.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 20 2012, 06:03 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 10 2012, 01:22 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jan 10 2012, 01:04 AM)
well there isnt really any 100% privacy in bolehland..even UK have phone hacking scandal...lol
Don't say like this ouh... biggrin.gif

Bolehland is really boleh:

I read newspaper yesterday, based on the report from Retirement Index 2012,
Bolehland ranks # 4 for world best retirement country after Ecuador, Panama and Mexico..

And Bolehland ranks #10 for world best friendly country, after New Zealand, Australia, South Africa,
Canada, USA, Turkey, UK, Spain, Phillipines. Singapore ranks #14... biggrin.gif

Added on January 10, 2012, 1:27 am
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 10 2012, 01:11 AM)
It is the main creditor of the posh Pavillion Shopping Mall  smile.gif
Their weak point is they have few branches in Malaysia sad.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 10 2012, 01:27 AM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 12 2012, 05:32 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jan 12 2012, 05:18 PM)
no need.  i opened 2 savings a/c - normal and islamic; minimum RM20 each
Could you please describe it in more detail?
Except your deposit amount.

What rate did you get? And how long the tenure?

BoomChaCha
post Jan 12 2012, 05:58 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Jan 12 2012, 05:51 PM)
I think the rate of 4%pa (Kuwait Finance House) for choice of period 6, 12 and 24 mths will be the best for most of us due to its low qualifying amount (RM20K) and interest up front. So it's slightly more than 4%pa. It's Islamic banking and PIDM insured.
How do they pay interest upfront? hmm.gif

Do they pay monthly interest upfront?
Do they issue a FD certificate?

Their 4% FD promo is very straight forward and easy to understand if versus to OCBC..

Kuwait House probably is the best option for this time being... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 12 2012, 06:01 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 20 2012, 04:54 PM

2,490 posts

I just called to Kuwait Finance House for their recent 4% FD promo.

According to them, they will pay 4% interest based on the exact deposit amount in one week later.

For example:
If you deposit RM 20K in their FD for one year tenure, you will receive RM 800 in one week after you
make the FD placement.

Kuwait Finance House has been running business in Malaysia since 2005, and in Kuwait since 1977.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kuwait_Finance_House

Just noticed that Kuwait Finance House is a public listed company in Malaysia..

Added on January 20, 2012, 4:56 pm
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 20 2012, 02:21 PM)
By the way, does anyone know the 4% interest promotion for 12 months OCBC GIA is until when?
31 March 2012 too?
Yes, it will end on 31 March 2012.

Please refer to the main page's spoiler:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2070535

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 20 2012, 05:21 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 29 2012, 05:26 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 29 2012, 04:45 PM)
I passed by an AMBank branch and caught a glimpse of a banner with 4.45%, any one got any idea what is this promotion about?
I just called Am Bank at 1 300 80 8888, according to them, there was no
FD promotion for 4.45% at this moment..

Added on January 29, 2012, 5:30 pm
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 29 2012, 04:45 PM)

BNM meeting this coming Tuesday.

Captain, usually how soon do we know the result after this BNM meeting?

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 29 2012, 05:30 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 29 2012, 08:39 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 29 2012, 06:38 PM)
The result is on the day itself by major news coverage.

If the central rates retain unchanged, no change from the bank.

If there's change in the rate, the bank will take time to implement the rate. Maybe 1 to 2 weeks my guess.
Thank you.

Hopefully we can get a instant news here right after the BNM meeting.. biggrin.gif

Added on January 29, 2012, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(1282009 @ Jan 29 2012, 08:04 PM)
Hi guys, do u understand how this rate works?

http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso...prosperity.html
Add all the FD rates, and divide the total rates by 12 months = average is 3.49% for 1 year tenure.

This 3.49% for 1 year tenure is not competitive at all...

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 29 2012, 08:45 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 29 2012, 08:56 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jan 29 2012, 08:06 PM)
CIMB got 4.5 right?
You must be talking about this FD promo from CIMB:

http://www.cimbbank.com.my/promo/stepupfd/...p-Up_FD_Eng.pdf

The average FD rate for 8 months tenure is only 3.275%... sad.gif

This CIMB FD promo is not attractive at all....

Thank you for your update market info anyway.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 29 2012, 08:58 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 29 2012, 10:18 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 29 2012, 08:54 PM)
Thanks Bro.
Wah, really appreciate your initiative to go find out  notworthy.gif
No problem.. biggrin.gif

by evening time, all the news portals will have a statement issued by BNM.
Thanks Captain biggrin.gif

To attract customers and trap those who don't read the fine prints or don't understand.
To make it simple, they try to mislead depositors who do not make a careful calculation..

Bro, I think you miscalculated, should be 3.505%  ?
Captain, I am afraid Public Bank made a mistake for their first 6 month
FD rates calculation:

Refer to this:
http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso...prosperity.html

Month #1: 3.18
Month #2: 3.28
Month #3: 3.38
Month #4: 3.38
Month #5: 3.38
Month #6: 3.68

The total is 20.28 / 6 months = average 3.38%
The average FD rate for the first 6 months is supposed to be 3.38%,
but why Public Bank put 3.28% instead of 3.38% for Month 1-6?

Yes, you are right. Based on the PBB data from the last row (3.28% + 3.68% + 3.98%) / 12 months,
the average FD rate is 3.505%. Sorry, I calculated wrong.... doh.gif

Added on January 29, 2012, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jan 29 2012, 08:58 PM)
so which is the most attractive?
Please always check out the main page for FD promo update:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2070535

For 6 months to 24 months tenure, I would say the beat deal is Kuwait Finance House, 4% rate,
they will pay you full interest in around one week after you make the FD placement with them.

Or you can consider OCBC, 4% rate for 1 year term, or 3.8% for 9 months term

If you have 1 million, you can go for HSBC Amanah (for new Premier account), the average FD rate
is *4.965% for 3 months term. This HSBC FD promo will end on 29 Feb 2012.

*(6.88% + 3.05% Islamic) = 9.93% / 2 = 4.965%

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 29 2012, 10:45 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 31 2012, 04:47 PM

2,490 posts

I just read this news about BNM 's latest announcement of interest rate dated 31 Jan 2012.

Source: http://www.blr.my/

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BLR.MY
we focus on BLR

Home Loans | Loan Calculators
Latest BLR | Historical BLR
Mortgage Guides | Financial Glossary | Banks Directory
Home Loan FAQs

31/1/2012

中文版

Bank Negara keeps OPR, cautions impact of global economy on local growth

PETALING JAYA: Bank Negara has maintained the overnight policy rate (OPR) at 3% but cautioned that international financial developments could affect the overall growth prospects of the local economy.

In the latest Monetary Policy Statement released 11 Nov 2011, the central bank’s Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) made an assessment that the global economic outlook was expected to be weaker and international financial market conditions would remain highly uncertain and volatile, going forward.

“While the domestic economy is expected to expand, these external developments could affect the overall growth prospects of the Malaysian economy,” Bank Negara said, adding that it would monitor the developments and assess the risks to domestic growth and inflation.

The central bank said inflation was projected to remain stable for the rest of this year and moderate in 2012.

It expects global energy prices to undergo some moderation and the impact of domestic demand on inflation to remain contained.

BoomChaCha
post Jan 31 2012, 05:22 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Jan 31 2012, 05:16 PM)
Dude not yet
What do you mean? ohmy.gif

BoomChaCha
post Feb 9 2012, 03:27 PM

2,490 posts

Just want to share I came across with OCBC that they called credit link investment
from Bank of China.

Minimum investment is RM 250K for 5 years tenure, no limit of maximum investment.
Dividend payout is guaranteed for 4.5% per year, dividend will be paid quarterly.

For example:
If invest RM 250K, dividend payout for every 3 months is RM 2812 for 5 years.

This investment plan ends on 24 Feb 2012, or will end when they hit their target for
100 million Ringgit.

The drawbacks:
(1) Require minimum RM 250K investment

(2)
No guaranteed for capital investment in case if some crisis events happen on Bank
of China in next 5 years. For example if Bank of China bankrupts, then the capital
money will gone... sweat.gif

(3)
No PIDM protection

(4)
Need to keep an eye on Bank of China activities for 5 years.. since there is no guarantee
for capital investment. sweat.gif This may cause high blood pressure ah.. biggrin.gif

--------------------------------

Other FD alternatives for 5 years tenure and do not require RM 250K, but without PIDM protection:
(1) Bank Raykat: 4.6%
(2) MBSB: 4.7%

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 9 2012, 03:47 PM
BoomChaCha
post Feb 9 2012, 03:52 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 9 2012, 03:49 PM)
boc 2 big 2 fail under communist govt 

plus not attractive at such rates even ambank gives better rates than that doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Bank of China 2 big 2 fail under communist government..? sweat.gif
What do you mean..? rclxub.gif

What is AMbank offer..?

BoomChaCha
post Feb 20 2012, 02:03 PM

2,490 posts

Schedule of Monetary Policy Committee Meetings for 2012

1st ---- 31 January 2012 (Tuesday)
2nd ---- 9 March 2012 (Friday) sweat.gif
3rd ---- 3 May 2012 (Thursday)
4th ---- 5 July 2012 (Thursday)
5th ---- 6 September 2012 (Thursday)
6th ---- 8 November 2012 (Thursday)

Source: http://www.bnm.gov.my/microsites/monetary/03_schedule.htm

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Feb 20 2012, 02:19 PM
BoomChaCha
post Mar 9 2012, 09:36 PM

2,490 posts

Monetary Policy Statement --- 9 March 2012

At the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) meeting today, Bank Negara Malaysia decided to maintain the Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) at 3.00 percent.

The global economic and financial conditions registered some improvements since the previous MPC meeting. Stress in the international financial markets has been partially alleviated by the introduction of measures to address the European sovereign debt crisis. In North America, there have been tentative signs of improvements in the economy. Notwithstanding these improvements, growth in the advanced economies remains subdued. In Asia, while growth continues to be supported by domestic demand, the growth momentum has moderated amid a slowdown in trade activity.

In the domestic economy, latest indicators and surveys of businesses point to continued expansion in private consumption and business spending. Going forward, domestic demand will continue to drive the expansion of the Malaysian economy. Private consumption will be supported by stable employment conditions, income growth and public sector measures. Investment activity will be supported by the domestic-oriented industries, the commodity sector and the public sector. However, the overall growth momentum in 2012 is expected to moderate largely due to the weaker external environment.

Headline inflation is expected to moderate in 2012. Nevertheless, upside risks to inflation could emerge arising from the risk of supply disruptions and the possible financialisation in commodity markets, which would result in higher energy and commodity prices.

In the MPC’s assessment, while global financial conditions have improved, downside risks to the global economy remain. The high global commodity prices continue to pose risks to inflation. The MPC will continue to carefully assess these evolving conditions and their implications on the overall outlook for growth and inflation.

Schedule of MPC Meetings

Due to the revised schedule of international meetings, the May MPC meeting will now be held on Friday, 11 May 2012 instead of the earlier date, Thursday, 3 May 2012.

Bank Negara Malaysia
2012-03-09 18:00:00 2012-03-09 18:00:00

© Bank Negara Malaysia, 2012. All rights reserved.

Source: http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=8&pg=14&ac=2420

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OPR Decisions & Statements

http://www.bnm.gov.my/microsites/monetary/04_decisions.htm

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Mar 9 2012, 10:21 PM
BoomChaCha
post Mar 9 2012, 11:27 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(wallE3 @ Mar 9 2012, 05:00 PM)
Rhb bank is now offering 5 percent on 3 month fd rate base on Rm 50k. Anyone here participated?
Can provide more info please..?

Added on March 9, 2012, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 9 2012, 11:01 PM)
RM500K can get 6% 3 yrs tenure <--- Got it from a manyzer friend @ OCBC.

3.6% tell the bank fella to go fly kite la.
6% for 3 years tenure..? hmm.gif

It seems too good to be true....?? Is it pure FD?
Or does it need to participate in some investment plans like uni trust?

Do you have more info about this 6% FD rate?

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Mar 9 2012, 11:33 PM
BoomChaCha
post Mar 14 2012, 11:38 PM

2,490 posts

Schedule of Monetary Policy Committee Meetings for 2012

1st ---- 31 January 2012 (Tuesday)
2nd ---- 9 March 2012 (Friday)
3rd ---- 3 May 2012 (Thursday) ----> postpone to 11 May 2012 (Friday)
4th ---- 5 July 2012 (Thursday)
5th ---- 6 September 2012 (Thursday)
6th ---- 8 November 2012 (Thursday)

Source: http://www.bnm.gov.my/microsites/monetary/03_schedule.htm
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=8&pg=14&ac=2420

BoomChaCha
post May 3 2012, 11:17 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2012, 01:32 PM)
A follow up to my query. Got a reply from BR, the applicants for Joint Acc can be both or either one having the age of 45 and above. And an additional of 0.5% from current rates  brows.gif
I just called to Bank Rakyat at 03- 2617 3888, this extra 0.5% rate was a promotion
during last year. Now this offer is no longer available.

BoomChaCha
post May 18 2012, 12:29 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ May 17 2012, 10:51 PM)
For 3-month FD, the best is below so far. Correct me if I'm wrong.

UOB: 3 Months Step Up - 1st and 2nd Month 3.2% and 3rd Month 4.2%. Average 3.53%
The best FD rate for 3 months tenure perhaps is HSBC.

50% of the FD will get 5%
50% of the FD will get 3.05% (HSBC's 3 months FD board rate)

Average rate is 4.025% ---> (5% + 3.05%) = 8.05% / 2

But the drawback is: the minimum FD has to be RM 200K

This FD promo will end on 30 June 2012.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0476sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:14 AM