Ruzumaki
post Sep 3 2012, 06:24 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Sep 3 2012, 06:11 PM)
guess is your lucky day... Ong Ong  rclxms.gif
Mayb my complain in forum does help

QUOTE(digilife @ Sep 3 2012, 06:16 PM)
when i read his signal level, i already knoe its "his connection" problem, not Maxis fault.

dun believe? read back his posts  icon_idea.gif
Connection problem??? rclxub.gif I don't get it, the slow speed problem lasted for 2 week doh.gif
Before this I didn't encounter any problem

https://forum.maxis.com.my/forum_topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4870
This is my complain in maxis forum, there is new cell id exist in my area which is 60677, 60672 (give me better signal strength, old cell id give me weaker signal) <----I never see/connect this 2 cell ID before this 2 week.

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Sep 3 2012, 06:33 PM
Ruzumaki
post Sep 3 2012, 08:58 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Sep 3 2012, 08:20 PM)
A few dBm in signal changes wont affect the speed much.

Could it be that there were some background DL running in your PC that you were unaware of during the "problematic time" ?

Or that you were connected to a far far away Cell during that time, but who do the routing for you during those times?
Yes, I agree with you a few dBm changes wont affect much speed.
I suspect the new tower cause the problem, did u notice of different cell id I get in the MDMA (the pic i post in maxis forum) ??
The new cell id cause the slow speed problem. 2 days ago, I tried 6hours to connect back to old cell id 20478 and my speed recover but it only maintain for one minute before it switch back to cell id 6xxxx and my speed sucks again.
New tower is nearer to my area (bottom of mountain) and give me better signal. (-77dbm)
Old tower is on the middle of the mountain, far from my area, have weaker signal. (-89dbm)
Last time I never have cell id start with 6xxxx and I get descent speed all the time.
Just starting from last 2 week, I notice my modem connected to the new cell id start from 6xxxx and I couldn't get back my old cell id 20478 which give me high speed.
I am pretty sure there is no background DL running in my pc. I have bandwidth monitor tools to check and my process list is clean (no dl manager process). =)

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Sep 3 2012, 09:00 PM
Ruzumaki
post Sep 3 2012, 09:42 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Sep 3 2012, 09:13 PM)
Yes, point the Yagi to the HSPA+ tower(20478) and dun let the DC HSPA+ tower suck you in as mostly pipu connected  to that congested tower.........u sure suffer..but if at 4am, i am sure tower 6xxxx give u damn good speed, no?
Both 20478 & 6xxxx is DC HSPA+ tower
Last time there is no 6xxxx cell id and tower at my house area.
When 6xxxx appear in my area, it give me sucks speed all the time.
Even I point to 20478 tower hor, I can't connect to it anymore due to 6xxxx tower signal strength higher. cry.gif
It is super hard and rare for my modem to connect to 20478 tower now.
Only today the 6xxxx start to give me good speed but unstable compare to 20478.
I guess they started to do maintenance on new tower d wink.gif

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Sep 3 2012, 09:44 PM
Ruzumaki
post Sep 4 2012, 12:15 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 3 2012, 11:37 PM)
If your place is DCHSPA+ covered, a DC HSPA+ modem only will make full use of the dual carriage data
But for sure, need to consider congestion factor, but with E367 it can go up to 10mbps, its good to upgrade
Thanks for clearing the doubt, might consider upgrade to DC HSPA+ modem as well drool.gif
Ruzumaki
post Sep 12 2012, 11:02 AM

328 posts

My MR3420 spoil liao = ="
Keep dc for few days then yesterday suddenly kenot work liao
The system light on all the time, no more blinking... Bricked??
Gonna take to warranty, bought this unit from Jayacom exactly 1 month ago
Ruzumaki
post Sep 12 2012, 07:46 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Sep 12 2012, 11:27 AM)
change to a newer version 1  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 12 2012, 04:24 PM)
MR3420 having some weird QC problems doh.gif
Asus RT-N13U B1 support ZTE MF680 mah?
Official website on Asus doesn't have ZTE MF680 in the compatible list for RT-N13U B1.
>_< I am very dissapoint with TP-link liao, goin to try other brand
Ruzumaki
post Oct 17 2012, 07:27 PM

328 posts

My MR3420 cannot survive with TP-link official firmware.
Official firmware throttle my speed to 0.1~0.01mbps speed
So I did some research and found the tutorial to flash openwrt on this website. I find it very Newbie Friendly, so I decided to share the link here.
http://www.kaskus.co.id/showthread.php?t=10124215

Don't forget to remove the %2A when download the openwrt firmware
http://www.4%2Ashared.com/file/LqtTaVCL/openwrt-mr3420-v1-squashfs-fac.html

Flashing openwrt require patient and time, configure can be tough for newbie. I manage to install miniupnp and setup DNS myself by googling for 1 days. I brick once my MR3420 once for wrong DNS configuration, but I manage to save back my router due to the very powerful failover function.

Openwrt is damn fast and powerful, allow 3G modem to successfully dial connection within 10sec. Damn love openwrt now, my speed damn so consistent all the time 10mbps++

Now I facing a problem is that my 3G modem will dc after idle sometime (few hour), it always dc when there is very less Active IP Connections. (DC when I didn't open any download) I always face dc problem when I put the connection to be on and idle overnight. Although I have set my auto-disconnect value to 0 or a very large value, the DC problem still occur when there is very less Active IP Connections and it idle for long time. The auto-reconnect function in Openwrt is not working as what I expected

I saw something like this in my log, I notice there is auto-reconnect mechanism running but it is not successful. I click restart connection button on openwrt network interface webconfig page but it still fail to connect. I found that I have to manually restart the network interface (WAN) so that it only can successfuly reconnect. I use ifdown wan0 ifup wan0 in SSH to let it restart the network interface. Anyone have idea/script how to solve this?

Logs

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Oct 17 2012, 07:35 PM
Ruzumaki
post Oct 17 2012, 08:37 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(lenyek_penyek @ Oct 17 2012, 08:22 PM)
care to tell us what modem you are using with the MR3420
ZTE MF680

QUOTE(digilife @ Oct 17 2012, 08:34 PM)
so now i knoe why Blacktube have so good speed on his Umobile simcard+MR3420+E372+openWRT

brows.gif  brows.gif
Yea, now I only find why they so love Openwrt. It is a monster speed firmware.
I feel damn worth for spending few days to dig/research about Openwrt.
At night I can get 16~18mbps (torrent dl) drool.gif

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Oct 17 2012, 08:37 PM
Ruzumaki
post Oct 18 2012, 01:22 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(xernix @ Oct 17 2012, 10:30 PM)
Just set a cron job for the router to ping something every minute so that the connection wil not become idle.
It's under System > Scheduled Task.

Example command:
* * * * * /bin/ping -q -s 1 -c 60 8.8.8.8 & > /dev/null

That command will ping Google DNS 60 times every minute.
Good idea =) rclxms.gif
But if the 3G connection dropped, openwrt still unable to reconnect itself... haiz
Ruzumaki
post Oct 18 2012, 01:34 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Oct 18 2012, 01:31 AM)
try this open wrt but my zte mf680 stuck at 3G.  doh.gif  not even H  rclxub.gif
How come? Mine work very well
What is your Wan Protocol and Service Type??

My configuration like this:
Protocol : UMTS/3G
Service type: UTMS/GPRS
Modem device: /dev/ttyUSB1
Ruzumaki
post Oct 18 2012, 01:54 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Oct 18 2012, 01:44 AM)
i tried like 20 times,

rebooot, reboot, reboot, all 3G  doh.gif

oh, this dont support Huawei E372 too  rclxub.gif

even though is 3G 384Kbps, i have to say the connect modem and performs a lot faster for sure  nod.gif
Thats weird, mayb the one you use is old version of Openwrt?
The one I am using can support E372 and MF680, I just get it from Kaskus forum tongue.gif
Beside the reconnect issue, openwrt is Very fast, stable and powerful.
Can install extra module like transmission torrent dl laugh.gif
Ruzumaki
post Oct 18 2012, 08:13 PM

328 posts

A very comprehensive and nice guide, thanks kizwan thumbup.gif
Thank you so much notworthy.gif
Do you think usb-modeswitch and usb-modeswitch-data is require as well?

chuahcs79, remember to reboot router after install all the module
I manage to connected to 3G using ttyUSB1

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Oct 18 2012, 08:16 PM
Ruzumaki
post Oct 18 2012, 08:31 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Oct 18 2012, 08:15 PM)
i give up,...

cause tons of headaches, and back to stock firmware now,..

speed is awesome with stock firmware, so i guess i have to stay here as super noob in linux sweat.gif
chuahcs79,
I think the problem that your MF680 and E372 is not detected is due to this 2 module
usb-modeswitch and usb-modeswitch-data
I having the same problem becos I follow blindly on kizwan guide. rclxub.gif
kizwan guide is very good already, I think he just forgot to mention on usb-modeswitch and usb-modeswitch-data

Remember to reboot router after install all the module
I manage to connected to 3G using ttyUSB1
Ruzumaki
post Oct 18 2012, 09:20 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Oct 18 2012, 09:15 PM)
Thank you to both of you for pointing that out. I only have one modem, so I don't know the importance of the two packages. I already updated my guide here:-
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry55423902
That is odd. It shouldn't doesn't matter. Anyway, your feedback can help others with the same modem.
Congratulations! smile.gif
kizwan post should really pin on first page, very useful guide =D
Big clap for your hardwork and effort rclxms.gif
chuahcs79, welcome you jump ship to openwrt haha rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Ruzumaki: Oct 18 2012, 09:21 PM
Ruzumaki
post Oct 18 2012, 09:56 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Oct 18 2012, 09:25 PM)
yea let me get everything down,

and pin it in first post,

for open wrt wanna be

of course do it on your own risk too

just now i did everything in less than 2 min only, guess practise make perfect  rclxm9.gif
=D chuahcs79 no longer newbie in linux haha
Just a reminder, you can install other useful package like 'miniupnpd'

System->Software
Remember to update package list when you want to install other packages
1. Actions -> Filter -> Find package -> 'miniupnpd'
2. After install don't forget to navigate System-> Startup, Enable and start the package you have installed
Ruzumaki
post Oct 19 2012, 12:31 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Oct 18 2012, 10:40 PM)
yea, thanks a lot to you all here, sorry for so many noob question on linux  notworthy.gif
I also noob wat. laugh.gif We just sharing knowledge, no need to mention sorry =D

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Oct 18 2012, 11:37 PM)
guess u either try your luck at Garages sales to find those TP LINK product seller to see whether they have new V2 stock

or try your luck in your area at computer / IT shop  notworthy.gif

Added on October 18, 2012, 11:44 pm

after enter that command, i click submit,

seems like nothing going on/ nothing show on screen

anything i am doing wrong ?

or it just dont show the ping result on screen ?  hmm.gif
* * * * * /bin/ping -q -s 1 -c 60 8.8.8.8 & > /dev/null

& <---- this symbol means run in background
Ruzumaki
post Oct 19 2012, 12:48 AM

328 posts