Nokia N9 - V02 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

zero_kbom
post Dec 11 2011, 11:16 AM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

As a Ranger, sadly, I'm never in the competition (Heh, lucky u guys, less competitor laugh.gif), but I secretly rooting for Andy to win!

Now2, AFAIK there is no news at all regarding Android App repackage (Alien Dalvik). And I'm sure this will be the case for a long, long time.

Except if there is a brave soul who managed to port ICS on N9 (No button requirement sure is a plus)
Or better, porting the DVM ala what RIM had done with their Playbook.

Oh, if only......... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Dec 11 2011, 11:16 AM
zero_kbom
post Jan 9 2012, 10:50 PM

965 posts

Hmm, it seems like someone is selling me his N9 64GB for 460 Euro (around rm 1.8K). New set, unopened box btw.

Should I take the plunge? I wavered quite a bit cuz at that price, I can get a brand new SGS2 plus a 64GB Micro SDXC card (Yes. SGS2 supports it)

BUT that N9 design....Hngggghhhh!
Thoughts welcome!

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Jan 9 2012, 10:54 PM
zero_kbom
post Jan 9 2012, 11:19 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Jan 9 2012, 10:57 PM)
er.. .what does hngggghhhh means?
Means I'm salivating over N9 design laugh.gif

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jan 9 2012, 10:59 PM)
64GB model bit overkill for N9 because there's hardly any proper applications that needs large space.Unless you store lots of movies & songs then it's a different story.
I suggest you to get the 2nd hand 16GB model from garage sale.There are some people selling for decent price.

I'm looking for N9 16GB model for around RM1.1K.I know it's a quite low price but can't afford to throw money around now sad.gif
If I managed to get it's back to having fun with terminal & hacking.Android sucks in this department.

I've been using SGS II for almost 4 months now.Although I'm very happy with the general performance & there's just things that keeps me look for N9.Everytime I go to DiGi center I'll definitely play around with N9.For me this plastic slab is simply irresistible.
Sadly I'm not in Malaysia now. So no buying from LYN.

Yes, I'm well aware of the fact that its a tad overkill for having 64GB on N9. Kinda pointless, considering it cant even handle 720P video well, unlike my tried and tested N8. A lil bit frustrating on that.

I've been using wp7 nowadays thru my Dell Venue Pro, and trust me, its really good. But little that I know, I become more and more dependent on Google services (Music, Email etc.). So using android is a no brainer. And my Galaxy Tab clearly cant cope with my usage, and its a lil bit too big laugh.gif

Thats why I'm eying SGS2 now. Which is such a pity, as I really, really loved Maemo (and to some extension..Meego ha3). Heck, my N810 still going strong as my glanceable, always connected bedside tablet.

But that design! Haha3, maybe I'll follow your advice, scavenging for good deals on N9 16gb. Or should I get the Lumia 800? Hmm.....new dilemma.

*in b4 first world problems*

zero_kbom
post Jan 11 2012, 06:35 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jan 10 2012, 12:14 AM)
Where are you now?
There still some good deal in ebay.Try searching there.

For WP7,fluidity is there but in term of functionality it's not even on par with Symbian.
I'm not a big fan of Android (or Samsung average software department) but Android does the most things for me with some degree of openess.
Currently in Dublin, Ireland.
Well checked Ebay, and trust me, its quite expensive.
Just to confirm again, how much for N9 in Malaysia nowadays? For both models.

And does N9 support Bluetooth DUN? Currently playing around with Blackberry Playbook, which supports Bluetooth Dun tethering, and it'll be pretty cool to have a constant tethering connection that doesnt drain my battery in minutes, like on my N810

QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jan 10 2012, 07:37 AM)
@zero_kboom if u r deeply reliant on google services, it is pretty much a no brainer that you should go for Android or even iOS for they have the most complete android experience especially on google's mapping department or even the places function on the browser.

i am avid google user myself, mainly gmail sans the contact, calendar and reader so i can still work with those on n9.

Regarding 64gb version, if u have thebudget for it, it is a good idea. I already starting to feel the constrain of a 16gb model. The music i put, the podcast i download and the occassional movies i put, i see those numbers dwindle so fast that i have to micro manage them.

As for apps, i pretty have all my needed apps apart from the obvious whatsapp which i found work around, push mails amd ebuddy xms, convinced my close friends to use them. Shaman Is missed as well.
I'm an avid Gmail, Google Calendar, Music and Contacts user. And a light Reader user. Is there anyway for me to sync all that into N9?
Well aware there is no way for me to use Google Music tho...

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jan 10 2012, 08:09 AM)
The 16GB N9 will only give you storage space of 9GB. If you have a lot of music this is not enough. Do consider this.

Between WP7 and MeeGo, WP7 is simple and non-customizable like iphone. It keeps the user at arms length while MeeGo allows you to go into terminal mode and do a lot of things. Developers have less scope in WP7 because they cannot touch the OS while for MeeGo you can customize this and that.
Aha3. Yep, for me, 16GB were not enough. My N8 were running low on storage, eventhough it have 32gb (16+16gb) worth of storage. Thats why the prospect of having 64 GB worth of data in my pocket makes me drool...

And have to agree on you there. WP7 is limiting. Very limiting. Yet, tbh, the main reason why it (My Dell Venue Pro) replaces my N8 as my main phone is purely due to the fact that everytime I picked it up, it just work. No lagging, no hanging, just fluidly moving between apps to apps. And boy do I love that Peoples hub. Thats why N9 struck me the most. Its like an uncuffed WP7! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Jan 11 2012, 06:38 AM
zero_kbom
post Jan 11 2012, 07:30 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jan 11 2012, 07:21 AM)
RRP in Malaysia : 16GB-RM1799    64GB-RM2088. You can get a bit of discount buying online from Superbuy.my

N9 is integrated closely with Gmail (push email) and GTalk. There is a Google Reader app, NewsG. Rest of them I don't know. As an alternative to Google Music there are a few Spotify clients.
Thanks for your reply. May I know how much exchange account N9 can support in one time? And does N9 support contact and calandar sync over Exchange like in Symbian?

Thanks in advance!
zero_kbom
post Feb 6 2012, 10:42 AM

965 posts

Heh, who am I kidding? I'm too much of a geek to leave this phone alone.

TS, please add me as a user for Nokia N9 64GB Black color please icon_rolleyes.gif

Funny enough, the first thing I did after I got the phone was enabling the developer mode. So much joy in having a terminal in my phone, eventhough not using for now, except for some simple commands. Kinda nostalgic, considering I haven't carrying my N810 around as frequent as before. And screw jailbrake and rooting, I can have root thru devel-su!

My take? So far, I'm loving this to death! Except this one issue when bluetooth and wifi switched on at the same time, the wifi will have severely reduced speed. Lurking in the bugtracker confirms that this is a bug sad.gif

But hey, Swipe is addictive as hell! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Feb 6 2012, 10:50 AM
zero_kbom
post Feb 6 2012, 11:03 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 5 2012, 01:13 AM)
Another impressive thing on the Lumnia is the voice command and recognition, from the short demo, seems it can recognize very accurately (no mistake) without requiring special American accent thing, but that was a short demo with short command/message, but still impressive. Need to test further to know how good or bad is it; even Google's one don't do so well.
Yep, the voice recognition on my Dell Venue Pro also quite impressive. But it sure have problems in detecting accents, something that you will get the hang of it, if you use it more and more.

One great thing about TellMe feature in WP7, if I connected to my phone via Bluetooth, as soon as I receive a text message, the phone will read it to me, and I can reply and send messages (Only short ones, as longer message will definitely have problems to be transcribed into text. Our Malaysian accent sure not the easiest to decipher laugh.gif) without even getting my phone outta my pocket. Very convenient IMHO.

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Feb 6 2012, 11:09 AM
zero_kbom
post Feb 6 2012, 11:08 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(k@|i0s @ Feb 6 2012, 11:01 AM)
welcome to de club  thumbup.gif
Thanks!

Been a Maemo user since N810 days, still kicking myself for choosing the craptastic N97 over the uber-awesome N900 and definitely not going to miss out on the N9 laugh.gif

0.0449sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:00 AM