Hardware NEW MacBook | Pro | Air Users Thread Version 8.0, MacBook Users, Spill Your Guts Here!

wei
post Oct 24 2011, 03:50 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

There are no recall for this issues yet. But you can try calling AppleCare and see if they willing to help you. Else you will have to replace the hinges. Do not bothered asking Apple on the repair cost as they will only replace the complete display module, which will cost you a lot more than the hinges.

Did you put on hard casing around your MacBook Pro? Which year's model is it? I presume it should be 15/17-inch?
wei
post Nov 6 2011, 05:29 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(tyuno @ Nov 6 2011, 03:03 PM)
Hi guys, planning to upgrade RAM on my MBP 15'' late 2011 model later. Kingston RAM recommended? The what's the max Hz it supports 1333?
Seriously? You spent few grand on a MBP and don't bother checking the spec?
http://support.apple.com/kb/SP644

This post has been edited by wei: Nov 6 2011, 05:30 PM
wei
post Nov 12 2011, 11:42 PM

6,496 posts

Yes you should, having backup on same drive (multiple partitions) is just playing with fire. While some ppl put backup and normal files into one external also not a good idea if you always carry the drive around. Risk of damaging/ lost increase. In the end is how much your datas value to you.
wei
post Nov 13 2011, 01:06 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 13 2011, 12:09 AM)
yes. a 3.5" external 1TB hdd right now is just about rm200. im sure whatever u will have on ur mac will be more valuable than that
Mind to share where to buy one at that price right now?

This post has been edited by wei: Nov 13 2011, 01:06 AM
wei
post Dec 12 2011, 09:04 AM

6,496 posts

Swap the plug head of your charger to the long cable if you are using the 3-pin head only. If you already using the long cable. Check your power source grounding.
wei
post Feb 21 2012, 11:10 AM

6,496 posts

The T&C is to protect Apple. Certain contents are ok in US but not in other country. For example, Malaysia. If you choose to download US content in Malaysia, and some how Malaysia's authority found it illegal or breaching the law, you can't blame Apple, cause they clearly said it the contents is for US only. You are on your own.
wei
post Feb 25 2012, 11:39 AM

6,496 posts

LOL, sparks came out I think there's circuit leakage, usually those Amp/HiFIi with bad grounding will cause this. I doubt reset SMC/ PRAM will do anything. Better send to service center ASAP.
wei
post Mar 3 2012, 10:53 AM

6,496 posts

Have you try blank? Just hit enter.
wei
post Mar 5 2012, 10:09 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(borneosailor @ Mar 4 2012, 07:42 PM)
Has anyone used Adobe Photoshop CS5 on the Macbook Air?? Does it lag badly if doing 3-4 layers of masking?

I intend to buy the 11-inch Macbook Air with 128GB SSD.
You have to be more specific, 3-4layers of masking on what file? 1000x1000px 72dpi? Or 10000x10000px 300dpi?
wei
post Mar 5 2012, 11:45 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(borneosailor @ Mar 5 2012, 11:02 PM)
1000 x 1000 300dpi , aahh finally a fellow photographer smile.gif
Hmmm... The MacBook Air you looking at is sufficient to do what you need. But it will not be on the fast side. But won't be that bad lag till you want to throw the Mac out from window. Then again, it depends how complicate is your masking, and what else you do beside masking. Some filter will need better graphic rendering and processing power. Also, we are talking about working solely with internal 11" screen (if you can survive that), you can forget about doing editing with dual screen setup.

Suggest you test out demo unit at reseller. You could also download the trial photoshop and bring along your file.

This post has been edited by wei: Mar 5 2012, 11:48 PM
wei
post Mar 7 2012, 07:51 PM

6,496 posts

@brucesss there are garage sales section to do your sale.

Apple Byte Rules and Regulations
No trading of items on Apple Byte.  Post them up in the Trade Zone instead.  Any trading threads here will be deleted without notice!

wei
post Mar 13 2012, 09:15 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Mar 13 2012, 08:15 PM)
guys leopard retail dvd can install on powerbook g5 right?
LOL, there are no such thing as a PowerBook G5.

http://support.apple.com/kb/SP517

This post has been edited by wei: Mar 13 2012, 09:17 PM
wei
post Mar 17 2012, 07:39 PM

6,496 posts

I'm not sure, but I always have a hunch Apple will soon adapt MBA type SSD across all MacBook series if they were to redesign (slim down).

Think: if the intention to reduce thickness, why bother to stick with conventional 2.5" drive? The MBA blade drive is so much thinner.
wei
post Mar 29 2012, 08:06 PM

6,496 posts

It's not they cant, but they need a clear difference between the two model. One is muscle (possible) desktop replacement, one is light travel companion. One is for working pro, one is casual and/or education. Different target audience.

See what happened to MacBook? Cause it's too confusing with 3 model in pipeline.
wei
post Apr 3 2012, 11:03 AM

6,496 posts

LOL... thats so funny ^.

The re-open apps will only start loading after the bluescreen appear. So I suspect there's some error on your system. Try perform Repair Permission on your MBP HDD.
wei
post Apr 18 2012, 11:50 PM

6,496 posts

iPad is different category, the OS is different the apps is different. Apple have engineer both hardware and software to play nice. So to layman, it should only looks sharper, not smaller. But on the Mac which will be different, things will looks smaller on higher density display. Until Apple enable auto scalling feature like iOS on OSX.

Why Apple would bother with higher resolution LCD if it has no difference?
wei
post Apr 21 2012, 10:42 AM

6,496 posts

The newer gen unibody will try to hook up to the keyboard and mouse as soon as power on (so long they are paired). But we have mix result. Sometime it won't work, the Mac will just boot into startup disk ignoring the Option command.

You might want to press power button on the keyboard at the same time you power on / restart the Mac so the keyboard is ready to pair.
wei
post Apr 26 2012, 07:38 PM

6,496 posts

Taken example for one of the LCD module: http://www.massintegrated.com/storage/1dat.../LTN154BT08.pdf

It's confirm a-si TFT. But that's only one specific module.

This post has been edited by wei: Apr 26 2012, 07:49 PM
wei
post May 5 2012, 08:38 PM

6,496 posts

I have client run FCP even on C2D machine. It's matter of investing more money on higher spec machine or spending more time to get the job done on slower machine. There are many ways to save time or multi task.
wei
post May 9 2012, 11:50 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ May 9 2012, 11:11 PM)
I got problem..My mbp lag
Startup oso slow...
If play movie it will paused every 10sec...
Then i want to open something in finder.. The rainbow circling thing will come out...
At one point i even have to hold shutdown button to turn it off
Can someone help??
First thing to do is backup your files if you haven't.
Then check if you have enough free space.
Then check your HDD health.
Do a repair permission. Then can try repair disk with Disk Utility.

Still slow then you have to try restore/ reinstallation.

0.0228sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:55 AM