Hardware NEW MacBook | Pro | Air Users Thread Version 8.0, MacBook Users, Spill Your Guts Here!

Hummingbird
post Dec 17 2011, 06:01 PM

1,007 posts

yea don't encourage people to use pirated... the software developers work hard to develop the software and using pirated one is just equivalent to stealing. Use open source softwares such as open office if you are on tight budget.
Hummingbird
post Jan 9 2012, 09:24 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 8 2012, 06:12 PM)
I have aperture 3, viewing and basic editing pics temperature is about 48-55, fans is 2003 rpm.

I think u must have some background tasks running ha.. hmm.gif
When I scroll a long document in Preview or long webpage in Safari, the temperature can rise up to 60+ degree Celsius before turning back to normal 50-55 degree Celsius. It is something weird...
Hummingbird
post Apr 29 2012, 10:35 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Apr 29 2012, 04:52 PM)
that rumor is based on the first batch of ivy bridge.
if they launch the new macbook pro during WWDC, second batch of ivy bridge is already available.
thus it gives Apple option on 13" macbook processors
Yea... For your further information, this is because Intel will just roll out the third generation quad core processor in the first stage, and followed by lower end such as third gen dual-core and budget processors. That is the reason.
Hummingbird
post Apr 30 2012, 03:11 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Apr 30 2012, 12:33 AM)
I am in dilemma of getting MacBook Air either of base model 2GB/64GB or 4GB/128GB. The price diff is 600 BTW.

Does 2GB of RAM enough for google chrome heavy browsing, Safari, Email, iTunes, etc. Since Mac is not RAM hungry.

Please give me ideas. Thanks !!
No, in fact Mac utilizes most of the available RAM.

Take the example of my macbook pro, usually the RAM will only be left around 1GB++ after a few days or multiple application usage.

Take macbook pro if you plan to expand in the future.
Hummingbird
post May 9 2012, 03:51 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(dinokun @ May 6 2012, 12:48 AM)
thanks for the feedback...just one more thing the guys at macshop cant answer me

1. i tested the MBP and MBA 13" side by side, same photo on both no edit....but somehow the screen on MBP is more warmer than the blue-ish on MBA.....then i plug the MBP to the 27" monitor via thunderbolt and MBP screen same colour...... unfortunately the MBA he dun let unlock so I could not hook it up to the monitor to see the colour difference...

Wanna know is the MBP screen colour an IPS?? the guy say the MBA should be more accurate cos it's higher resolution.....
Hi, resolution does not equivalent to accuracy of color. In fact we look at level of color gamut for the accuracy of color.

And there is no rumor regarding whether the screen will be using IPS technology. The current (and latest) macbook pro are on non-IPS technology, even though it is still good enough in viewing angle and color gamut.

Added on May 9, 2012, 4:11 pmby the way do you guys apply palm guard on the palm rest? I have been reading posts from other people which they discover a few chips appear on the edge of of the palm rest after using the macbook pro for a few months. They believe it is corrosion from the acidic sweat of their palms.

This post has been edited by Hummingbird: May 9 2012, 04:11 PM
Hummingbird
post May 18 2012, 08:39 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ May 16 2012, 06:11 PM)
13" MBP has always been on dual core processors.
its aimed at students and potential mac users.
entry level mac, so its good enough
the entry level mac was used to be macbook white. But since it is axed i think the entry level mac has been shifted to macbook air 11".

I don't mind it is dual core but the Intel HD 3000 on my macbook pro is really pathetic...

Added on May 18, 2012, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(Christopher7 @ May 18 2012, 06:54 PM)
Feel like upgrading to 15 inch after using 13 for a year :S
But i really like the size and weight of 13 inch!
Yea! I and kinda regret on getting 13" in performance wise. However, my friend complain to me how heavy it is for the 15" macbook pro and it makes to start to think twice of changing to a more powerful machine...

This post has been edited by Hummingbird: May 18 2012, 08:43 PM

0.0413sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:50 AM